Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked but excellent
I will admit from the start that I am an admirer of both Stephen Fry and Oscar Wilde, so this film is a dream come true for me. However, if you're not a fan of either, this could just be the thing to convert you.
Fry gives a simply amazing performance as Wilde, at times heartbreakingly touching; he almost makes you go through the emotions with him. Jude Law as the...
Published on 18 July 2004 by Sometimes Things Get Whatever

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars An incomplete and misleading account of this criminal
Whatever the quality of the acting, the score, the cinematography, I do not care, this film being politically motivated 'gay' propaganda.

Firstly, Bosie Douglas was a lover of boys, not men, and yet there are scenes of him in bed with men. Indeed, Wilde's group comprised of mostly pederasts: Ross was firmly a lover of boys, as was Gide, the latter having lost...
Published 22 days ago by Andre Gide


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilde Review, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant DVD. Our reading group have just read the recent biography of constance wilde by Franny Moyle and it was really interesting to see this film which focussed on Oscar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wilde: DVD, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy watching films or reading books that relate to real life people or situations and this film did not disappoint. I love Stephen Fry so the fact that he starred as Wilde was an added incentive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Fry is great in this film very entertaining. Stephen at his best. Dvd came on time and was well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRY COULD ACTUALLY BE WILDE, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Mrs. Judith Lugg "Judith Lugg" (Wolverhampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Just watched this again on BBC4 and have to comment.
Stephen Fry is excellent in all he does, but this acting role far surpasses anything else he has ever done in my opinion - in fact the whole cast is superb, particularly Jude Law as Lord Alfred Douglas.
I do not know why there has been no special recognition for this production!

The tragedy and intellect of Wilde is so brilliantly portrayed here along with the morally hidebound, bigoted nature of Victorian society and the tragic consequences resulting from same.

Having looked up the characters along with photographs, I also have to say that the casting is superb - in the main the actors actually look like the people they are portraying, which makes a very refreshing change.

All in all a great film and well worth anyone's time and money.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hhhhm, interesting!, 2 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I ordered this item which was used because it is a film I've always loved. I ordered it with two other items that arrived alot quicker than this one but when I got it it had a weird plastic cover with a sticker on it which looked like it had come from a DVD library or something. I'm sure the quality of the filmis absolutely fine which is the main thing but the packaging was pretty weird!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilde about Fry, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Fry IS Oscar Wilde! He turns in a perfect performance. The film has a few flaws but overall a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The pollution of Oscar Wilde, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Since I first read a line by Oscar Wilde I have admired his genius. He was a Victorian gentleman whose language and manners never dropped below drawing room standards. Though he was homosexual I feel it is sad that that particular lobby has monopolised him. Stephen Fry has polluted him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars where was oscar?, 24 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Oscar Wilde was a drunken, fat, Irish genius who wasn't in this film!Stephen Fry was, of course, and maybe that is the fatal flaw. Perhaps only the BBC are capable of making the most interesting story as boring as this. The great film about Oscar is yet to be made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wilde [1997] [DVD]
Wilde [1997] [DVD] by Brian Gilbert (DVD - 1999)
£16.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews