Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked but excellent
I will admit from the start that I am an admirer of both Stephen Fry and Oscar Wilde, so this film is a dream come true for me. However, if you're not a fan of either, this could just be the thing to convert you.
Fry gives a simply amazing performance as Wilde, at times heartbreakingly touching; he almost makes you go through the emotions with him. Jude Law as the...
Published on 18 July 2004 by Sometimes Things Get Whatever

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I thought it would be better, but it's still not bad
I like both Oscar Wilde and Stephen Fry (who I know also adores Wilde), so I had high hopes for this film. I wasn't so much disappointed, as a little underwhelmed. There were parts that I really enjoyed, but overall film didn't really flow well and, if I am honest, the acting wasn't top notch. 3/5 is not really a fair reflection however, I would be more inclined to say...
Published 12 months ago by Woodster


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilde on DVD, 23 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I originally purchased this film on VHS and had a long wait for it to come to DVD.
I was thrilled with the improvement in both the sound and picture.
A worthy production artistically and a great tribute to the life and times of Oscar Wilde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wilde: DVD, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy watching films or reading books that relate to real life people or situations and this film did not disappoint. I love Stephen Fry so the fact that he starred as Wilde was an added incentive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilde Review, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant DVD. Our reading group have just read the recent biography of constance wilde by Franny Moyle and it was really interesting to see this film which focussed on Oscar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Wild about this fantastic movie! Stephen Fry at his true best as 'Oscar' opposite the
delectable Jude Law as 'Bosie'. Facinating story and beautiful to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in Every Way, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
A sympathetic telling of a difficult period in the life of Wilde. The emotional scenes were sensitively done. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 28 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Fry is great in this film very entertaining. Stephen at his best. Dvd came on time and was well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hhhhm, interesting!, 2 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I ordered this item which was used because it is a film I've always loved. I ordered it with two other items that arrived alot quicker than this one but when I got it it had a weird plastic cover with a sticker on it which looked like it had come from a DVD library or something. I'm sure the quality of the filmis absolutely fine which is the main thing but the packaging was pretty weird!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilde about Fry, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Fry IS Oscar Wilde! He turns in a perfect performance. The film has a few flaws but overall a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The pollution of Oscar Wilde, 21 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Since I first read a line by Oscar Wilde I have admired his genius. He was a Victorian gentleman whose language and manners never dropped below drawing room standards. Though he was homosexual I feel it is sad that that particular lobby has monopolised him. Stephen Fry has polluted him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars where was oscar?, 24 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Wilde [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Oscar Wilde was a drunken, fat, Irish genius who wasn't in this film!Stephen Fry was, of course, and maybe that is the fatal flaw. Perhaps only the BBC are capable of making the most interesting story as boring as this. The great film about Oscar is yet to be made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wilde [1997] [DVD]
Wilde [1997] [DVD] by Brian Gilbert (DVD - 1999)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews