Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever
Tom and Diana return for the third series. Nothing much has changed, Diana is still as politically incorrect as ever and continues to wage war on the Bayview manager - The Idiot Bains and on anyone else who gets in her way. Tom, Diana's trusted sidekick is happy to join in.

This series introduces the Vicar Denis Sparrow
Published on 12 April 2007 by M. J. Collins

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed
this was the second time I had ordered this dvd for my elderly parents and for the second time it was returned as faulty with no response from Amazon except just a refund and would I like to purchase more products the answer is NO not DVD's of Waiting for God as I have now given up. Will look in a shop and see if I can get one the old fashioned way.
Published on 4 July 2010 by Fiona


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 12 April 2007
By 
M. J. Collins "mjc121" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Tom and Diana return for the third series. Nothing much has changed, Diana is still as politically incorrect as ever and continues to wage war on the Bayview manager - The Idiot Bains and on anyone else who gets in her way. Tom, Diana's trusted sidekick is happy to join in.

This series introduces the Vicar Denis Sparrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable bit of nostalgia, 4 Jun 2010
By 
J. M. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
We, like many others no doubt, watched 'Waiting For God' as a television series many years ago. This time round it was no less enjoyable, which is not always the case when returning to something one really enjoyed time back. Staphanie Cole as Diana and Graham Cowden as Tom are absolutely superb as are the other characters in this most enjoyable series. How I envy them the life and humour they still have at quite a mature age. How wonderful if we could all feel and be like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 10 Sep 2009
By 
I. Ch Bos "Gravin" (Grou, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is on of British finest. I hope that one day when I'm old and retired to have the same spunk in my body as Diana and Tom have.
Never give up! Great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Oldest Are The Best., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This sit com is brilliantly casted.

Harvey the spiv of the series. Jane well she really get crushed in every episode.

Tom and Diana - Cheese and chalk but they gel. His boring son Geoffrey who's passion is shelf building, little wonder with a wife Marion Ballard, a pill popping drunk who is also a bit of a tart. Which brings me to the male equivalent -basil the 80 year old stallion.

Stephanie Cole and Graham Crowden (Tom & Diana) really are the stars, and it shows. Top notch comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Series three, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Well, it was worth waiting for and still had me laughing my head off, just like the previous two series. If you love British humour at it's best, do buy all five series. I have, and am about to start watching Series four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars waiting for god dvd, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
love this comedy series .. janine duvitski is wonderful as jane as is the reat of the cast laughs galore ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacularly funny: real old school comedy., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Waiting for God was one of the finest shows of the sitcom genre. Wickedly funny on so many levels, the humour relies on the superbly drawn character profiles, combined with excellent realisation by the cast.

If you're new to it, the 'plot' as such centres about a highly intelligent and previously outstandingly successful international photo-journalist, Diana Trent, who finds herself in a retirement home, and her neighbour, an ex-accountant, Tom Ballard, whose son and daughter-in-law now want him out of their house. To compensate for his previously rather staid existence, he invents a form of lunacy, in which he appears to believe he's exploring the Amazon, climbing Everest or going to the moon.

This apparently bizarre setting is rescued from ignominy by superb scripting, excellent acting but, above all, by the tactic of making only one character completely normal, around whom insanity whirls. On paper, this doesn't look much, but on screen it comes alive and it's easy to see why it was Bafta nominated and still shown around the world.

To complete the scene are the home manager, Harvey Baines, the personification of sliminess, and his hapless assistant, Jane, who experiences continual on-going unrequited love for her boss. It is the battles between Baines and Diana which create the tension and humour throughout, and this is aided by appearances from Tom's son and his daughter-in-law, Marion, arguably one of the greatest comedy creations in the show.

This is intelligent humour and outstandingly funny, providing wonderful comic moments as well as the occasional touching interlude, such as when Diana's niece, Sarah, played by Lucy Ashton, the one-time spouse of Martin Clunes, becomes pregnant.

The series is doubly interesting, as it paints the older folk as comparatively well-adjusted and, in Diana's case, extremely successful high achievers, and the younger players as generally inept and naive. The entire series is well worth getting, and will provide hours of cackling amusement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting For God, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I've bought all the Waiting for God series. A great comedy from the late 80s. I just wish they'd made more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. P. S. Freeman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I missed these when they came out as I lived abroad. It is wonderful to see TV aimed at older people of which I am one. I thoroughly enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD]
Waiting for God - Series 3 [DVD] by Graham Crowden (DVD - 2006)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews