Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films you've never heard of..........
'The Moguls' (or 'The Amateurs' as it's known in America) was released in the UK without fanfare, or from what I could gather, any promotion at all. Which is shame considering the quality of the film.

The plot is simple enough; Andy Sargentee (Jeff Bridges) is always on the look out for ways to make a quick buck. It's not long before he realises that nothing...
Published on 20 Feb 2008 by H. Baker

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I bought this dvd after being a fan of Jeff Bridges films for quite some time and after watching it I felt totally deflated. I found it totally devoid of charm and even felt like Bridges himself didn't put much effort into his performance. I had to watch the Big Lebowski straight after just to wash the memory of this away, as I'm writing this it's obvious it didn't work.
Published on 4 Nov 2009 by C. J. Tibbs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films you've never heard of.........., 20 Feb 2008
By 
H. Baker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moguls [DVD] (DVD)
'The Moguls' (or 'The Amateurs' as it's known in America) was released in the UK without fanfare, or from what I could gather, any promotion at all. Which is shame considering the quality of the film.

The plot is simple enough; Andy Sargentee (Jeff Bridges) is always on the look out for ways to make a quick buck. It's not long before he realises that nothing sells better than sex, so he convinces his close friends to help him make an amateur porn movie.

It's hard to believe that a film about making a porno could turn out to be the sweetest and most touching film about friendship i've ever seen, but it really is. There is some strong language, but despite the subject matter, virtually no nudity. The supporting cast is nothing short of incredible, Ted Danson (Cheers), Patrick Fugit (Almost Famous), William Fichtner (Prison Break), Tim Blake Nelson (O' Brother Where Art Thou), Joe Pantoliano (The Sopranos), Jeanne Tripplehorn (Basic Instinct). It's obvious that everyone is having a great time with their roles especially because some are cast against type (you'll rarely see Joe Pantoliano in a role like this). The film wouldn't attract such a wealth of talent unless the script was excellent.

'The Moguls' is also writer Michael Traeger's directorial debut and he handles it well, never letting the pace of the film drop. He is yet to direct anything else but I look forward to whatever he does next. The conversational narration by Jeff Bridges' character is also a nice touch. It makes the experience a little more personal.

Any film that makes you feel better after watching it is a winner in my book. 'The Moguls' has great re-watch potential aswell. I've seen it a few times now, and the feel-good factor never diminishes. Highly recommended.

THE DVD: There aren't many extras, but they make up for in quality what they lack in quantity. Thirteen deleted scenes and a behind the scenes featurette (with contributions from all the main members of the cast and crew) showcase the affection that everyone has for the film. The picture and sound quality are fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Misfits on the make, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Franimi (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moguls [DVD] (DVD)
Well, I have to say that I'm totally in agreement with the 4 star reviewer and bemused by the comments of the 2 star. Frankly, what's not to like? It's a great ensemble piece by a sympathetic cast, and yeah, it's basically about friendship and sticking together. Sure, it's basic premise is a bunch of lovable losers trying to make a porno movie, but, although the language is fitting to the subject, there is no nudity or graphic sex, what undressing goes on is treated lightly. I love everything I've seen by Jeff Bridges so it had a head start, but everyone is terrific, I can only think the slightly tacky sounding nature of the subject matter stopped this being a hit. The other good review has already used all the right adjectives, so all I can say is "Get it".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 4 Nov 2009
By 
C. J. Tibbs (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moguls [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd after being a fan of Jeff Bridges films for quite some time and after watching it I felt totally deflated. I found it totally devoid of charm and even felt like Bridges himself didn't put much effort into his performance. I had to watch the Big Lebowski straight after just to wash the memory of this away, as I'm writing this it's obvious it didn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The moguls, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moguls [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for a friend who is a huge Jeff Bridges fan. She loved every moment of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good until the end, 3 April 2011
Actually, 2.5 stars. Taking the conceit of Waiting for Guffman a little further, The Amateurs follows the misadventures of a troop of small-town losers as they take a shot at fame and fortune--by making a do-it-yourself porno film. The cast is terrific--Jeff Bridges, Ted Danson, Glenne Headly, Joe Pantoliano etc. And the group's fumbling, embarrassed efforts to recruit amateur porno actors--and film them--are oddly sweet and affecting. Of course, things go hilariously wrong at the end, but the day is saved (in a way that was predictable 20 minutes into the film). And here the movie goes entirely off the tracks with its ridiculous Hollywood ending. It would be one thing if the amateur pornographers had gotten a hint of success at the end--a spot of hope and pride. But the excessive money and success they receive shows how little the writer respected everything else about the movie that was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet natured and enjoyable., 22 Sep 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Moguls [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the risqué plotline of a group of small town friends who decide to get into the amateur porn business, this is in fact quite a sweet and gentle film about putting friendship above financial gain and really has very little to offend anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity, 6 May 2010
This review is from: The Moguls [DVD] (DVD)
This film has a wonderful cast and a potentially hilarious storyline. But it fails to express all the possiblities it promises and ends up being no more than a slightly humourous morality tale. A shame because the premise of a group of small-time townies making a porn movie in order to grab a quick buck has great potential for a classic comedy. This film would have been a hit in the 70's but in today's sex-dominated media society it is a lame effort. The only scene worth watching is Bridges conversation with an Afro-American in a cafe about the relevence of the size of black men's "appendages" in porn films, the only scene that touches on modern, cutting edge comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good until the end, 4 April 2011
This review is from: The Moguls [DVD] (DVD)
Actually, 2.5 stars. Taking the conceit of Waiting for Guffman a little further, this flick (known as The Amateurs in the US) follows the misadventures of a troop of small-town losers as they take a shot at fame and fortune--by making a do-it-yourself porno film. The cast is terrific--Jeff Bridges, Ted Danson, Glenne Headly, Joe Pantoliano etc. And the group's fumbling, embarrassed efforts to recruit amateur porno actors--and film them--are oddly sweet and affecting. Of course, things go hilariously wrong at the end, but the day is saved (in a way that was predictable 20 minutes into the film). And here the movie goes entirely off the tracks with its ridiculous Hollywood ending. It would be one thing if the amateur pornographers had gotten a hint of success at the end--a spot of hope and pride. But the unrealistic money and success they receive show how little the writer respected everything else about the movie that was good and honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moguls [DVD]
The Moguls [DVD] by Michael Traeger (DVD - 2006)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews