Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Conqueror of Shamballa
Before I start, I'd like to say that this review may contain spoilers for those who have not seen all of the original series. After an impressive 51 episode run, the series of Fullmetal Alchemist has come to an end. However, if you still haven't had your fill of Alchemic action then rejoice, there is more. This release sees the hugely popular anime series continued in...
Published on 9 Jun. 2009 by J. Snook

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu-Ray, Shame About the Plot
As a physical product there is very little I can fault with this Blu-Ray, as an entertainment experience, however, the film itself leaves a lot to be desired.

To start with the physical product, the film looks stunning with excellent animation throughout, and is encoded in h.264 at 1920x1080p. The Japanese audio track is of an equally high standard and comes...
Published on 24 Dec. 2009 by LesserShadow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Conqueror of Shamballa, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
J. Snook "Ichigo_2020 - Anime Buff" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Before I start, I'd like to say that this review may contain spoilers for those who have not seen all of the original series. After an impressive 51 episode run, the series of Fullmetal Alchemist has come to an end. However, if you still haven't had your fill of Alchemic action then rejoice, there is more. This release sees the hugely popular anime series continued in this full length animated movie; 'the Conqueror of Shamballa.

With Edward Elric stuck in 'our' world, during the time when the nazi's were beginning to mark their authority in Germany, our Fullmetal hero is determined to get back to his world, Shamballa, so he can be reunited with his brother Alphonse and the many other people he has left behind. Meanwhile, Alphonse has been training to become a great Alchemist like his brother and consequently dons the same red cape that Edward did in the series. This movie progresses, by switching the narrative between both worlds and following each brothers journeys.

It becomes instantly evident that the movie incarnation of the Fullmetal Alchemist franchise is a higher budget and ultimately bigger scale project than the series. The full length outing oozes quality and style from every frame and is a brilliant finale. If you loved the series then you are bound to enjoy Conqueror of Shamballa as it basically more of the classic action and adventure that made the show so great. Through the course of this movie, it is difficult to tear yourself away from the gripping and involving story.

Like the series, the movie contains some great music with the main highlights being a song by popular J-rock band Larc~en~ciel (the guys who did the series' second opening song) and a spectacular latino sounding song, sung by a band of gypsies at the start.

This special edition release of the movie is beautifully presented in a book design case, which is protected by a cardboard slipcase. Inside the case is a 64 page art and info booklet and an envelope containing artwork postcards as well as the 2 discs. The first disc contains the film with the choice to watch in either English or Japanese with subtitles as well as trailers, production art and a documentary with the Japanese staff. The second disc contains cast and crew interviews for the English dub as well as 3 audio commentaries. Funimation have really pulled out all the stops with this release and rightly so as this movie is well deserving of all the pampering and bonus material that has gone into it.

If you have watched the entire 51 episode run of Fullmetal Alchemist, then you need to watch this movie. And at £12 for this awesome, special edition, this is practically a steal. It is possible to watch the movie and find some kind of enjoyment if you havent seen the series, as the movie goes about briefly recapping the basics of the show. However, for the full experience, you need to watch the series first. Conqueror of Shamballa marks the end of Fullmetal Alchemist...for now. It's been an epic journey and one helluva ride. Any true anime needs this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is the Fullmetal, 10 Sept. 2007
By 
Adam Clarkson (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a huge fan of Fullmetal Alchemist, both in the anime and manga forms, but I had big expectations of the movie to wrap up the series effectively, and I have to say it was better than I could have dared hope for. I loved the TV series thoroughly so of course when the US got the movie over a year ago I wasted no time in importing it, and now seeing the UK is finally seeing it released I thought I'd give the rest of you the lowdown.
You really need to watch the TV series first, while the film is watchable on it's own you will be at a huge disadvantage plot-wise if you haven't (and if you're new to anime completely it'll make even less sense - this isn't going to win any new fans that's for sure). Following on a few years after the last episode we find Ed still trying to find his way back home from our world, and getting mixed up in all the usual calamity as he goes along.
The movie is brilliantly animated, with some fantastic effects and action sequences, and it wraps up the FMA story very nicely. It isn't as funny as the series but it still throws in a few of the trademark laughs, and all the old favourites are back in action.
I've watched many anime series hopelessly finish without completing plotholes or just leaving many aspects unfinished, but FMA was a solid series and the Conquerer of Shambala is a superb ending to it all, FMA fans will love this but I advise newcomers to start on the TV series first.
It's insane that it took so long to reach the UK, especially considering how long the American's have had this but it's finally here, and if you enjoyed the TV series then you absolutely must watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A True Movie To Enjoy, 26 Dec. 2010
Im always a little negative and positive even in 5stars rating but this is a truly great movie

i wont deny some points did leave me a little dissapointed but all in all its great
the movie contains a few humorous scenes along side some real true epic action packed plot twisting story lines. the movie was very enjoyable and truly part of FMA franchise, i personaily found it intresting how it kept it together with being on "Earth" no alchemy could be performed but it did work well.

My biggest problem with this movie was as people say it tried tieing up some loose ends left behind by the great anime series and that it did do a ok job but honestly these "loose ends" semt to be quickly sorted, Example being (NOTE SPOILER) when Ed finds Envy as the dragon form he took on after passing through the gate the chat between the two was short and snappy and with a battle scene of less than a minute this was pretty much all to envy, yes later he did have one final small scene but unfortunatly it didnt last long and have anything real to do with him. also the ending was quite a let down, after helping "Shamballa" and knowing Alphonse was safe Ed leaving again to his life on "earth" semt kinda dumb and sad... espically with not even a word of goodbye to friends such as winrey, in reality to make his choice would be tough but he would surly give farewells to his loving friends but it cut that again. and finally i felt Ed's choice semt a little dumb but as most say Alphonse joining him in the "earth" type world was kinda lame as it ruined most cuts and basically removed them as ever exsisting in the real world

that being said i did still enjoy the adventure they both went upon, very intresting and intreging, i know i did mention a lot of negatives but im a bit like that but its deffenetly a 4star film, maybe even 5, i only gave 4 due to the dissapointing ending, otherwise its one my favorite films and well worth the buy for any real full metal alchemist fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Conqueror of Shamballa, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
J. Snook "Ichigo_2020 - Anime Buff" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Before I start, I'd like to say that this review may contain spoilers for those who have not seen all of the original series. After an impressive 51 episode run, the series of Fullmetal Alchemist has come to an end. However, if you still haven't had your fill of Alchemic action then rejoice, there is more. This release sees the hugely popular anime series continued in this full length animated movie; 'the Conqueror of Shamballa.

With Edward Elric stuck in 'our' world, during the time when the nazi's were beginning to mark their authority in Germany, our Fullmetal hero is determined to get back to his world, Shamballa, so he can be reunited with his brother Alphonse and the many other people he has left behind. Meanwhile, Alphonse has been training to become a great Alchemist like his brother and consequently dons the same red cape that Edward did in the series. This movie progresses, by switching the narrative between both worlds and following each brothers journeys.

It becomes instantly evident that the movie incarnation of the Fullmetal Alchemist franchise is a higher budget and ultimately bigger scale project than the series. The full length outing oozes quality and style from every frame and is a brilliant finale. If you loved the series then you are bound to enjoy Conqueror of Shamballa as it basically more of the classic action and adventure that made the show so great. Through the course of this movie, it is difficult to tear yourself away from the gripping and involving story.

Like the series, the movie contains some great music with the main highlights being a song by popular J-rock band Larc~en~ciel (the guys who did the series' second opening song) and a spectacular latino sounding song, sung by a band of gypsies at the start.

If you have watched the entire 51 episode run of Fullmetal Alchemist, then you need to watch this movie. It is possible to watch the movie and find some kind of enjoyment if you havent seen the series, as the movie goes about briefly recapping the basics of the show. However, for the full experience, you need to watch the series first. Conqueror of Shamballa marks the end of Fullmetal Alchemist...for now. It's been an epic journey and one helluva ride. Any true anime needs this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Equivalent exchange, 13 Oct. 2007
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, if you haven't see the series that Conqueror of Shamballa follows on from, please go and watch that first. It is one of the most brilliant stories I have ever seen, continually raising its game and going out brilliantly. You owe it to yourself. Plus there is a lot that happens in this story that if you haven't seen what comes before will have no significance to you and may baffle you.

For those of you who have seen the series or don't care about spoilers, you'll remember the end of the series as being a highly satisfying event in itself, which tied into the thematic concerns of the series about growing up, life philosophies, moving on. Al has his body back and Ed has passed through the gate to our world in the 1920s. There are a number of loose ends to be tied up and this movie deals with a number of those, including the fates of the remaining homunculi, Wrath, Gluttony and Envy, Al's quest to become a full blown alchemist and who the mysterious society Hoehnheim was seen with at the end of the series turns out to be. However, the loose ends become impetus for the story of the film, which is bigger than just tidying up leftovers.

In post WW1 Germany, a certain Austrian is starting his rise to power and the Thule society seek to aid him by transposing technology from another world they call Shamballa. They know how to open the gate but they don't have the means, even though they have captured a great dragon and an immortal. Ed, still seeking to return to his own Earth, is involved with a group of rocket enthusiasts including Al's aryan doppelganger. Al meanwhile is searching for a way to find Ed, when armoured troops appear in Lior through alchemy.

The animation is fantastic, boosted by the budget of a film, it still retains the charm of the TV series. The story is gripping and funny and has a message, and as you'd expect, while there is a happy ending, it's bittersweet. It's not quite as multi-layered as the series, and some of the appearances by old characters are quite brief, and it does leave the way open for future stories, but it is really rather excellent and a superb way to top off the series. My only niggles would be that we don't learn how the gate came to be, why alchemy doesn't work in our world and that Winrey's story doesn't get a proper ending, she's just left behind again.

But the niggles are made up for by Fuhrer Bradley having a famous counterpart, Hughes being alive in our world (if not quite as much fun) and a brilliantly funny cameo by Scar.

It's really very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars at last, 2 Feb. 2011
By 
Gerard Egan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i have watched the original anime as well as brotherhood. for those who do not realize that this movie is for the original series as the was a very abrupt ending on it. this movie ties up the series with most of our questions answered at the end of the series in cinematic fashion. i perfer the first series any day over brotherhood and this movie is a great addition to the full metal franchise. i recommend this movie ten times over. if you like the original fma then you will love this movie and watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fullmetal returns, 20 Sept. 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking forward to seeing this film since I finished watching the series earlier this year and Conqueror of Shamballa more than lives up to my expectations. The film begins a couple of years after the end of the series with Ed still stuck in Germany between the World Wars. In the time between the series and the film Ed has befriended Alphonse Heiderich, the doppelganger of his brother Al, and has been working on the science of rocketry. Meanwhile back in Ed's own world Al has been studying Alchemy all the while looking for his lost brother.

This film is a great follow-on from the excellent Fullmetal Alchemist series and if anything outdoes its parent series in animation, story and excitement. Although the film is slightly more serious than the series there are is still the odd comic moment to brake up the drama. The animation is great, as would be expected, and I liked the choice of using more muted tones to represent this world compared to the brighter tones of Ed's world. Conqueror of Shamballa is a great way to rap up the Fullmetal Alchemist series and although anyone new to the series should watch that before attempting to understand this film, any true fan of the series will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hard call..., 22 Feb. 2008
By 
H. Matthews "A. Matthews" (Ulster, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved Fullmetal Alchemist, by far its one of my favourite Animes of all time, but i have to admit, i prefered the story until i saw the movie. The movie does pick up effordlessly from where the series left off and does finish well, even though i have to admit it is too much of a bittersweet ending for me though. It does still get a five star rating from me because its still a good movie and fans of such an ending will love it. I would've prefered a happy ending but thats not always in the cards. I would've prefered a bigger part from some of the other characters, especially from Armstrong, Mustang and Hawkeye (especially if it was about their seemingly hinted at relationship). The story mostly revolves around Ed and occassionally Al but because of the setting there is basically none of the funny interaction that comes when Ed comes in contact with other main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must see, but not perfect., 17 May 2008
By 
Mr. T. Mitchell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have watched the series from start to finish, then this is an obvious must see. And whilst i did really enjoy the movie i do not think it was perfect.

Good points: Great action, compelling plot, good overall ending to the series.

Bad Points: They didn't round up some of the other characters stories (Winry for example). I wasn't convinced by the story and found it a bit botched in places, i thought it was a good idea to include aspects of our world into the overall story but to be honest i was expecting a little more alchemy.

Overall: A great way to end a fantastic series and a must watch. However, for me it failed to live up to the epic standards of the series and really i would give "The Conquer of Shambala" 3.5 stars if i could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
JurgZ (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
I really enjoyed this movie. And looking forward for a new one. I hope there is going to be one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews