Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just So Wonderful
I first saw this musical when I was 17, I'm now 33 and have seen it about five times in four different productions. Its a show that lives with you. The music is tuneful, moving, up-lifting and a real theatre score. The lyrics elegant, witty and shot through with humour. If you havent seen it or have heard about it give this CD a whirl, its well worth the chance. There is...
Published on 27 Jun 2006 by Mr. G. Sloan

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Barrowman
This show had a brilliant cast, including the gentle, friendly Junix Inocian as the Eldest Magician. The magic of the stage production loses a little of its sparkle in the studio, and John Barrowman is just dire in Junix's role, with his uber-theatricals tearing through the once uplifting finale like a rusty knife. However, still worth it for the excellent songs and some...
Published on 27 Oct 2010 by thelovepigeon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just So Wonderful, 27 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. G. Sloan (Rochester, Kent England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just So (Audio CD)
I first saw this musical when I was 17, I'm now 33 and have seen it about five times in four different productions. Its a show that lives with you. The music is tuneful, moving, up-lifting and a real theatre score. The lyrics elegant, witty and shot through with humour. If you havent seen it or have heard about it give this CD a whirl, its well worth the chance. There is not a single dull track on the album. In fact its a complete and utter delight. Its cheered my weekend up no end! Just So is a brilliant diamond of a musical. Discover it for yourself, you will end up humming it for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Just So (Audio CD)
I like John B. and noticed he had done the recording of this album.
Without knowing anything about the show i Bought it.
After the album arrived i learned the story behind the show and how John came to record the Just So album.

The show took a long time to write, it started in 1984 and is based on the Rudyard Kipling Just So stories. With rewrites and a very long story, the recording of the album happened in 2004. With the cast from the Chichester Festival Theatre, becouse of other work commitments the producers were unable to mix the album at that time. They got back to work in 2005 and wanted to change the opening song, so had to do some more recoding, But all the Chichester cast were not avalible, But an old friend was, enter Mr Barrowman, saying that John B. did not appear in the show and only had a few days to learn the songs and do the recoding. He has done the company proud, He sings with his ease and quality of tone.

Quote from The Mail on Sunday about the show, "A Funny, Feel-Good Triumph that's JUST SO, So good i can't wait to take the children".
Not just for children any one, any age will enjoy.
Well recomended if you like Musicals or Mr Barrowman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST SO FUNNY AND GREAT, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just So (Audio CD)
Very, very good. Loved the music will save it for my Grandchildren to enjoy. John is just perfect as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It will make you smile, 26 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just So (Audio CD)
Having loved the production of Just So I saw in Chichester years ago I wondered if the CD would capture the fun of the original. Based on the stories of Rudyard Kipling and with original music by Stiles and Drewe (who wrote the recent west End show "Betty Blue Eyes") this did certainly not disappoint. The addition of John Barrowman to the original stage cast is inspired as he brings his beautiful baritone voice and just the right amount of fun to the role of the Eldest Magician. Barrowman's performance of "If" brought a tear to my eye but this was just one highlight. All the singers are superb and there is not a weak track on here. Many of the songs made me chuckle out loud.
If you are a musical theatre fan who has grown up loving Kipling you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just So (Audio CD)
item as described ..... arrived very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Barrowman, 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: Just So (Audio CD)
This show had a brilliant cast, including the gentle, friendly Junix Inocian as the Eldest Magician. The magic of the stage production loses a little of its sparkle in the studio, and John Barrowman is just dire in Junix's role, with his uber-theatricals tearing through the once uplifting finale like a rusty knife. However, still worth it for the excellent songs and some great vocals from Alexis Owen-Hobbs, Julie Atherton, Simon Grieff and Ahmet Ahmet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just So
Just So by Barrowman John & The (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews