Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Wing - Series 2
Just when I thought it couldnt get any funnier than the first series, it did!!!!!!!

I would give it a 6 if I could!

Series 2 picks up where series 1 left off. We find out Mac is in a coma, Guy has had his driving licence revoked, Martin has the use of his legs back and is excited about having found out that he has a brother and Caroline acting like...
Published on 24 May 2006 by shell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No longer quirky, just a bit annoying
If series one of Green Wing was a stand alone thing, it would be the pride of my DVD collection. I would think it was one of the best things since... well, sliced bread. But despite it being one of the most watched DVDs on my shelf, it is now tainted by its older brothers sat next to it. Series 2 tries very hard to recapture what made Series 1 so groundbreakingly fab;...
Published on 3 Dec 2007 by Ms. B. Harper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Wing - Series 2, 24 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just when I thought it couldnt get any funnier than the first series, it did!!!!!!!

I would give it a 6 if I could!

Series 2 picks up where series 1 left off. We find out Mac is in a coma, Guy has had his driving licence revoked, Martin has the use of his legs back and is excited about having found out that he has a brother and Caroline acting like Florence Nightengale at Macs bedside (thats when shes not lying on the hospital bed with him!).

Watch out for Sue White and her obsession with Mac as it escalates into something you could never in a million years contemplate. Hysterically funny and downright wrong!

If you saw the original series you wont want to miss the second.

An absolute must have - and I cant stress that enough!

Cant wait for the third series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 Oct 2006
By 
J. Campbell "Beeblebrox" (my house) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Still hasn't lost the charm it had in the first series.

All the characters still incredibly funny, and overall, just generally great!

buy this if you want 9 hours of pure laughter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tremendous follow up, 29 Sep 2008
By 
D. Gallacher "Goat" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Imagine a British version of Scrubs, and you're almost 75% there. Only scrap the sentimentality, scrap the pretty cast, and inject some series surreality. Now I know, Scrubs has surreality, but it is always kept firmly behind the curtain of imagination. In Green Wing, the crazy stuff genuinely happens, and no one makes any concessions to make it plausible. Crude, subtle, and epicly British, this is a must see for all fans of good British comedy. Anyone who can watch Mark Heap truly master his craft and not be crippled laughing is truly one with no soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No longer quirky, just a bit annoying, 3 Dec 2007
By 
Ms. B. Harper "Bry" (Flackwell Heath, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If series one of Green Wing was a stand alone thing, it would be the pride of my DVD collection. I would think it was one of the best things since... well, sliced bread. But despite it being one of the most watched DVDs on my shelf, it is now tainted by its older brothers sat next to it. Series 2 tries very hard to recapture what made Series 1 so groundbreakingly fab; but it is so obvious that they are trying hard - the visual gags, fast forwards and fast editing style are all still there, the jokes are as thick and fast as before. Some scenes are so much funnier than any in the first series, but it doesn't work this time, there is a real feeling that it is contrived and forced. Some bits work better than others, what really switched me off was the constant ups and downs between Caroline and Mac - it was a lovely storyline, but will-they won't-they was fairly tired at the end of series 1.... no episode is complete without an absurd twist in their tale. This stopped being quirky to me and became attention seeking - it was as though a whole new creative group were trying to eminate the first series.

If you are desperate to buy a quirky, fast, hilarious comedy and loved series 1 of Green Wing, buy Spaced, Darkplace or the Boosh before this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius!!!, 20 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Green Wing gets better and better!! I love this series!!

It's refreshing to see a British comedy that is so experimental with the style and content, pushing the boundaries of the conventional sketch show format, by having a much stronger narrative structure.

It's a welcome departure from the usual half hour comedy sketch shows currently on offer, and by composing sequences of shots to music, and varying the speed of shot in-between perfectly timed visual gags and one-liners, it really is the epitome of innovative and clever comedy writing.

The cast are funny and fit too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Quality Humour, 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth watching, equally as good as series 1, may need to watch it a few times to appreciate everything you missed first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A long absence, then a pale reflection of series one..., 19 Sep 2009
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
When Green Wing Series Two finally saw the light of day, well, even in an intermittently funny first episode, there were warning signs that the show was on life support. The repetition of the joke where someone sings to the comatose Dr McCartney, then Tamsin Greig (Dr Todd) visibly corpsing to Dr Secretan's old lady disguise, when the script indicates the character should be fooled by it. From then on, it becomes a silly romcom with annoying twists, even less emphasis on the hospital environment than in the first year, and fewer and fewer laugh out loud moments.

Worse, one is tempted to reconsider series one, with its cruel humour and schoolyard politics, beginning to leave a bitter taste in the mouth. Oh well, it's Channel Four and it's only an hallucinatory comedy, right?

As with America's CalifornicationCalifornication - The First Season [2007] [DVD], or so it seems, Green Wing Series One has the good luck of being a stand alone comedic gem which shouldn't be sullied by putting this lame duck second year boxset alongside it. Keep the faith and stick to that first great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There goes another rib..., 27 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so series 2 isn't quite as funny as series 1, but come on, when you look at the total rubbish on TV at the moment, series 2 still stands head and shoulders above the rest. The first series was always going to be difficult to beat, but this isn't far off, and there are plenty of laugh out loud moments to keep all Green Wing fans happy for hours. Some of the reviews for series 2 have been very harsh indeed, and totally unjustified.

Bottom line - if you enjoyed the first series, you WILL enjoy this too - I promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant comedy, 5 Jun 2006
By 
C. Nobes (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After becoming a huge favourite of mine, it was quite a wait for the second series. However, it was worth it, and Green Wing series two is as funny as the first, whilst developing the characters in all kinds of directions, giving them a greater depth and yet retaining and building on what makes them all so appealing.

Whilst series 2 has more emphasis on the plot-side than series 1, (predominantly the changing relationship of the 3 main characters, which is fascinating, very funny and quite painful at times) it still has its random comedy moments that made the first series for me, mainly courtesy of the fantastic Sue White and the so-cringeworthy-it's-funny Alan. Though Guy and his keyboard will always be my favourite!

Its fair to say that if you liked series 1 you will definately like series 2. If you haven't seen series 1 I'd still recommend getting series 1 first, as it will allow you to fully appreciate the development of the characters, but you will be back for series 2 I'm sure of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but a bit of a let down., 1 July 2007
By 
Sam Taylor (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In a way it pains me to give this DVD only a 3 star rating, yet I feel it is justified when it is compared to its predicessor, series one.

Series One of Green Wing was fantastic, it had moments that had me laughing in hysterics and is still, even over a year after buying it something I love watching. Having recently bought Series 2 I was expecting to once again be buying something I would tressure and re-watch for years to come. I'm sad to say I was rather dissapointed. Series two does have it moments; there were parts that did have me laughing out loud and the trademark 'style' is still there, but in comparison to the magnificent series one it is a let down. If you buy it you won't regret buying it but if you have experianced the first series then it will be a dissapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5df69a8)

This product

Green Wing Series 2 [DVD]
Green Wing Series 2 [DVD] by Tamsin Greig (DVD - 2006)
16.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews