Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best multiplayer out there!
I'll address this review to people who aren't too familiar with Smash Bros, since those who are, probably already have the game and don't need any convincing from me.
Basically this is a very unique fighter since instead of walking around, trying to depleat each other's health bars (yawn), you jump around building up you opponents' damage. The aim is to knock your...
Published on 1 July 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game... but majorly let down by poor online play!
I know this game is based mainly as a multiplayer game, and when you have a group of friends round it's great!
But... the online play is very disapointing, I was looking forward to playing against friends and other random gamers all over the world smashing about and hitting famous game characters into oblivion, but hardly anyone seems to be online so I can never get...
Published on 28 July 2008 by Gordz


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best multiplayer out there!, 1 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
I'll address this review to people who aren't too familiar with Smash Bros, since those who are, probably already have the game and don't need any convincing from me.
Basically this is a very unique fighter since instead of walking around, trying to depleat each other's health bars (yawn), you jump around building up you opponents' damage. The aim is to knock your opponent off the screen using a huge variety of moves and techniques, and the more damage they have, the further they fly. Of course the game is packed with old and new Nintendo characters, plus Solid Snake and Sonic. The game is very wacky and Japanese-y so don't expect it to make a whole lot of sense.

SINGLE PLAYER- The thing to remember is that this is a multiplayer game. Single player is really there to brush up on your skills for your next multiplayer match. Of course single player is good fun- but not the key focus of the game. The new Adventure mode (subspace emissary) is so-so. You play through arcade-style levels. Whilst it's cool seeing your favourite characters from different games interact, it's a shame that the levels aren't set in the characters' games (levels and most enemies are just unique "Smash bros" ones). All this is still a great addition for old Nintendo fans, but definitely not the primary reason for buying the game.

ONLINE- You can play against friends online, with loads of options, but so far I have only tried random matchmaking. Two problems I found with this was: Long waiting time to connect to other players, and some laggy slowed-down play. As I understand, however , playing friends online is a much better experience.

NINTENDO NOSTALGIA- This game is packed with it. All I need to point out in this category is: If you don't know much about Nintendo and it's past games, a lot of the game's elements will be lost on you. But that's not to say you won't enjoy it.

So overall I'd highly reccommed this game, just as long as you know what you're getting. People who buy this based on hype alone with no understanding of what the game's about may fail to grasp the nature of it (which is always the case when someone has a negative opinion of it). But if you have a wii, a few mates (if they're Nintendo fans that's even better), and a touch of competitiveness, then chances are that you'll be enjoying this for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you could want in a Super Smash Bros game and more..., 12 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
I've been playing the Super Smash Bros series since its debut on the N64, and really must credit it as being one of the finest multiplayer games of all time. The Wii version brings far improved graphics, an online mode and a host of new characters made possible by their deals with Sega and Konami.

I must admit I haven't yet tried the online mode (my internet is playing up a bit), but it is a welcome (perhaps overdue?) addition to the game.

It's very hard to review this game on its own, as it isn't as much of revolution over its predecessors as, say Super Mario Galaxy is, and makes no effort what-so-ever to take advantage of the Wii remote's unique capabilities (a welcome break, in my opinion), but brings whole new dimensions to the game (perhaps I'm exaggerating) with new items such as 'Final Smash', which is great fun, as chaos breaks out as all the players are suddenly chasing a glowing ball which allows the obtainer to perform a move of immense destruction unique to their character (for example, Fox summons a flying tank which blasts players off the screen).

Single player, though not as fun as playing with mates, has its perks too, with a storyline with some very nicely animated (and skippable!) cut-scenes and side-scrolling action remenissant to Super Mario Bros with the ability to smash anything that gets in your way off the screen, as opposed to tamely jumping on it.

Summing Up:
To those of you who loved the last games, buy this one. This is the first Super Smash Bros game I've ever actually owned, and it's endless fun. All the best bits from the last game are back in full-detailed texture, including moves, scenarios, and there are loads of new features.

As for those of you who are unfamiliar with the series, buy this with an open mind. Your expectations are wrong, and you cannot get a real feel of the game simply from trailers and images. Play it with a few mates, and you'll see why this game is the holy grail of multiplayer mayhem. If your the type that spends every Saturday night in with pizza and Assassin's Creed, then don't expect any wonders from the single player - it's just not that kind of game.

For the rest of us, a colourful near-flawless must-have to brighten up an increasingly stale collection of Wii titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun,, 26 Feb 2009
By 
Linda Proctor (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
Having bought the Wii for the children (girls aged 11 and 6) as a Xmas present, we bought several games to go with it. Some of the games the 6 year old found too frustrating and arguments ensued. We even started to regret the purchase, however we borrowed Super Smash Bros. Brawl from a friend and both girls absolutely love it. (We then HAD to buy the game)Despite the fact that it is a 12+ rating the 6 year old is managing to win the battles and earn trophies. When the children play together all I hear are fits of giggles and laughter, it entertains them both.

I'm not sure why it is rated a 12+ as there is nothing untoward other than the fighting aspect which isn't gory or anything. It doesn't appear to require any skill either - I haven't played it myself though! - All I know is that it has bridged the age gap between my two girls, given them a lot of fun and allowed them to play together, without the usual arguments.

Even the music isn't too annoying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's progress Mario, but not as we know it, 6 May 2009
By 
Peter Bloomfield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
I bought this game because I loved the Smash Bros. games on the N64 and GameCube consoles, and hoped this would be an exciting update to the series.

I cannot deny that the graphics improvement is good. Lots of very detailed characters and animation, and some good ambience in-game. The menus are very much fancier now too. But for me, that kind of makes the game lose a little of the character I had come to expect. I fully appreciate the effort that has gone into the visual update though, so perhaps my expectations were just a little misplaced.

There is certainly lots to do in the game. All the classic action is there, and there are many characters and levels to try. The gameplay hasn't evolved a whole lot though... it's still pretty much the same as ever. That can be good or can be bad, depending on your tastes.

Controlling the game with a Wiimote alone is not really practical, and Wiimote + Nunchuk configuration isn't a whole lot better. It's definitely best played on a classic GameCube controller. I was hoping for more change there as well -- not a lot, but just enough to make better use of the Wiimote potential.

All in, it's a solid game in its own right. As a fan of the series, I'm not 100% satisfied with the progress it has made to its Wii incarnation, but it's very enjoyable nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Multiplayer. Ever!, 24 Aug 2008
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
God, what a game. For the multiplayer. After playing the first two, I couldn't imagine it would get any better, but hey, it did! It's much better than Melee, in terms of new and unlockable stuff, graphics and all the tech side of the game. But Melee was, in my opinion, the birth of the multiplayer fighter. Forget Street Fighter, forget Tekken, forget MK, forget Dead or Alive, Melee was the one. And this game improves on Melee in many ways, with more characters, more items and a some what fun single player mode. Those are the stand out new features, but the graphics obviously seem much sharper, with more attention paid to the detail of the arenas.
What about online? Tried at my mates house, and it was a bit slow but nevertheless fun to see Diddy Kong get a Final Smash and blast all the opponents into next year (I was ROFLing at this point!). The best thing was, I didn't get sprayed with a torrent of abuse by the players playing with me (which I no doubt would have got on Xbox Live)!
The best Wii game by far I reckon, it's going to keep my guests amused until the next one comes out! ;D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest, 24 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
this game for me is one of the 2 best wii games that have ever been created. the only other game i can give that title to is pikimin2 i love that game and this game is good as well
this game has exelent graphics and the players respond well to damage when they are hit from an opponent or an enemy. i think that the way that u get the characters is good and the event mode is good aswell plus i like pretty much all of its features which can be accessed in the game.
most of the songs are good as well, actually i think that nearly all of them are just as suited to battling and listening. the opening title movy plus music is good and i enjoy viewing it i hope you buy this game because it is worth thanks for reading my review and please rate as helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Bright, It's Colourful, It's Nintendo!, 23 July 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
Super Smash Bros. is a series that started life as a not so well known N64 beat em' up... but with a twist, the twist was that you could choose as any one of 12 well known (and the not so) Nintendo characters from past and present. Anybody who owned an N64 would have likely played this game, anybody that didn't probably wouldn't have. Jump to 2001, the Gamecube has just been released and it's announced that the Smash Bros. will be back for another bout of face slapping and butt stomping. Originally lined up for a release title, Melee took the world by storm, both critically and publicly. It stands today as the biggest selling Gamecube game of all time and the pinnacle of Multiplayer fun. The character roster was turned up a major notch to now include 25 of Nintys colourful freaks, and thats not to mention the plethora of stages, modes, items and sheer content in the game. What more could one ask for?

Well, It's 2008 and the third iteration in the smash series is finally upon us (even in Europe =P) Anticipation for this game has reached fever pitch, and has been since it was first announced pre Wii in 2006. So does this game live up to it's absolutely colossal expectation, I would most definitely argue that it does, and then some. The graphics have been bumped up, the sound is now even crisper and it's hard to imagine how it all fits onto a single disc, Super Smash Bros is Back!!!

Lets start off with what has changed, we now have an even bigger character roster than before, including some 35 brawlers (37 if you include Sheik and Zero Suit Samus), even more stages including old and new, new modes, new items, new customisable options... you get the idea. Of these worthy mentions would go to the inventive and rather fun stage creator, the new and uber powerful final smash balls which unleash a deadly and unique attack on your opponents. For those who are looking to go solo there is also a new adventure mode called the Subspace Emissary which can also be played by two people. It isnt going to break any ground, and it does fee a little awkward but its a nice lengthy addition none the less and the best way to go about unlocking all the characters, stickers and trophies.

Possibly the best new option, WIFI

WIFI online play was what this title was screaming out for right from the start, and the only REAL addition to this game other than aesthetics. It has it's faults (lag-o-riffic) but the fact it is there and for the mist part it works is enough. Finally, even the loner with no friends can enjoy SSB the way it is meant to be played. Chances are, if you are planning on buying this, or already have then you had made your mind up long before actually playing or seeing it, if you enjoyed any of the previous titles then you will love this.
I know it may just seem like Melee with a few more bells and whistles, and you may be right but there is no denying the sheer excitement and joy that this game brings. With it's smooth controls and tons of options andunlockables you will be playing for months, as this is certianly one game that does not get old fast.Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this game!, 4 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
when i got this i heard on the ONM forum about the laser problems and was panicked by them. but mine works so i'm happy!

before brawl came out my friends and i played melee for 4, near 5 years and were addicted.
now brawl.....

classic - this is where i started. this mode comprises of you fighting your way through a lineup of challenges, and some (like the final challenge) are more difficult than others. this is where you will meet new characters and fight to face them.

subspace emissary - a real adventure. a side-(and up and down) scrolling part to the game where you will unlock music, trophies and characters. this may be one of the best ideas EVER put into a smash bros game and is a real challenge with wonderful cut scenes and your actions decide your story.
a new form of powerups and collectable items are stickers which can power up your character in this mode!

Brawl - basically the vs mode for against mates in the room and cpu opponents. also a way to unlock stuff!

wifi - apart from lag at times, this is the biggest reason to have the wii connected to the internet! you can have random matches from people around the world, or against friends. and if you decide you need a break, you can bet some of your coins earned in the game on spectator mode, where you place bets on who will win a match.

graphics - amazing, especially with a proper component cable on an lcd!
gameplay - 4 control methods ( i chose to go with gamecube controller as it is what im used to)
best bits - wifi, assist trophies and the subspace. amazing stages to brawl on!
my only complaint (and a minor one) - lag during wifi.

there is also a snapshot mode built in to the pause menu which means any funny pics created when paused can be saved to the wii or an sd card, 2gb recommended. from the album they can be sent to other friends wii's. i already have some funny ones.

my first reaction - WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

if you have a wii, this is an essential buy, whether a casual or dedicated gamer! you will have many hours of fun and will bring you back for years to come, much like its predecessors. believe me and other gamers, this game is worth the wait! it wont leave the wii for around 6 months now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive version of Smash Bros to date, however online mode has problems..., 8 Dec 2008
By 
James Petford (Stourbridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
This is the latest in the smash brothers series of games and is the best version yet. For those who dont know smash bros started way back on the N64 as an addictive fighting game that was sublime in multiplayer and this new game is no exception.

Ever wondered what it would be like to punch princess peach in the face?? Now you can find out amongst other Nintendo paraphenalia.

Pros: 35 Selectable Characters from Nintendo history come to fight each other (Including Solid snake and Sonic the hedgehog as special guests)

A blast in multiplayer, one of the best 4 player experiences out there.

Fantastic pick up and play controls (4 Methods of Control are supported meaning classic brawlers would be right at home here.)

A huge plethora of unlockables and modes which will take ages to unearth.

Cons: Some character selections seem poor... Cpt Olimar? Seriously?

Online mode lacks polish, problems with bad connections are frequent.

Overall if you have a wii this is a must buy despite its very minor short comings. A Nintendo classic by all accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game... but majorly let down by poor online play!, 28 July 2008
By 
Gordz (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) (Video Game)
I know this game is based mainly as a multiplayer game, and when you have a group of friends round it's great!
But... the online play is very disapointing, I was looking forward to playing against friends and other random gamers all over the world smashing about and hitting famous game characters into oblivion, but hardly anyone seems to be online so I can never get a quick brawl going, and when I finally do the game is generally quite slow and just doesn't some how have the same effect as when not online.
So by all means if you have a lot of people in your household who you can play against, then this is a top notch game, dare i say it unbeateable for multiplayer fun. But if you don't always have people to play against/with, then I wouldn't get your hopes up about the online play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii)
Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
Used & New from: £13.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews