Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant game!
It arrived today, on release, around four o'clock... and it's now nine, and I still can't stop playing it!

The music... is so awesome... going to some areas and hearing classic Mario tunes really brings a smile as you instantly remember it!

When you fly through the Galaxy ... the only word that can be used is... Wow!

Its a really really...
Published on 16 Nov 2007 by B. M. Jones

versus
117 of 135 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe good for experienced gamers, not so good for younger kids
If you're a "serious" gamer ie teen or adult thinking about buying this game for yourself, don't bother reading this review, but if you're a parent with younger children looking for a fun game it may be helpful.

I bought this game soon after we got our Wii, mainly because of all the brilliant reviews it got. The main Wii players in our house are my 11 year old...
Published on 18 Dec 2008 by Elise Ferguson


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant game!, 16 Nov 2007
By 
B. M. Jones "bethangwyn" (Ty Fi) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
It arrived today, on release, around four o'clock... and it's now nine, and I still can't stop playing it!

The music... is so awesome... going to some areas and hearing classic Mario tunes really brings a smile as you instantly remember it!

When you fly through the Galaxy ... the only word that can be used is... Wow!

Its a really really beautiful game, It's so relaxing, and some of the levels are fiendishly clever, with tricks everywhere.

The Graphics... are AMAZING! They really must have been working on this game's looks because it looks like a 360 title! This raises the bar for future Wii games... and (hopefully) stops lazy developers taking Playstation 2 ports to the Wii.

This is the game of the year IMO.
Mario is back on form. Well done Nintendo, you deserve a pat on the back... *pat pat*
It's a Me! Mario!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


212 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Revolutionises gaming again., 19 Nov 2007
By 
S. Ruck "go" (bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
Super Mario Galaxy was one of the most eagerly awaited games for Mario fans and Wii owners alike. It was set to be the next leap in platforming games, much like Super Mario 64 was in 1996. To achieve this, the team at Nintendo worked space and gravity into the equation whilst keeping the core Mario gameplay we all know and love. So just how good did this game turn out?

The answer is quite simple. Super Mario Galaxy is arguably the best platforming games released in recent years and quite possibly one of the best, if not the best, games ever released. This may sound slightly exaggerated but trust me, it's not. The gameplay is flawless, the graphics are polished, the soundtrack is phenomenal and the presentation is sublime. What more could you ask of a game.

Gameplay

Like most Mario games, Super Mario Galaxy provides an excellent experience for the gamer. The controls are tight and have very few flaws. If there is one problem with the controls it would be when Mario is swimming. During this period sometimes it can be quite frustrating when it doesn't do exactly what you would have wanted. The camera very occasionally (and I mean very occasionally) leaves you a bit stuck when you cant quite see what comes next. For those of you worrying don't, as it's 10 times better than the camera in Super Mario Sunshine. It is automatic and does a very good job of keeping you right next to the action. The new special power-ups such as Bee Mario and Ghost Mario all control well and add some variation to the game.

Graphics

Super Mario Galaxy features the most gorgeous and polished graphics we have yet to see on the Nintendo Wii. The slowdown is minimal and it runs at a very constant 60fps. The animations are gorgeous and all the characters are flourished with detail and personality.

Presentation

You've got the basic Mario storyline of Princess Peach gets kidnapped and you have to rescue her. If you are buying Super Mario Galaxy for its story then think again because it is hardly the most original story. This time there is a slight twist and you get the option to hear a `side story' which tells the story of Princess Rosalina and how she ended up where she was. There is WiiConcect24 support where you can send shots of your high score tables for your friends to view. Overall presentation is fantastic.

Sound

The music which Koji Kondo and his team have conjured up for this game is incredible. The orchestrated music contrasting with the classic Mario themes works a treat. The minimal voice work which is in the game is also good and Mario is well voiced by Charles Martinet. This is definitely a massive plus for the game.

Overall

Super Mario Galaxy is clearly one of the best games ever made. Nothing else could really be done to make this game any better and to call it anything but perfect, would be a lie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best game I have ever played in 25 years of gaming, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Paul Lemon (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
It is simply stunning. What more can I say? As a somewhat jaded 49 year old gamer, I have been laughing with glee, my jaw has been dropping time after time. The graphics are the best I have seen on the Wii to date. The controls are easy to pick up. Don't waste any more time reading this and hit Buy Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gaming event, 19 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. J. L. Clayton (Stirling, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
Super Mario Galaxy finally highlights the sheer genius of the Wii gaming console. The gameplay and controls of the game are so well integrated that you feel like Nintendo MADE the Wii simply to play this game on it. While the Wii is up against the Xbox 360 and PS3, the graphics on Super Mario Galaxy are, forgive the pun, out of this world, and hours slip by while you steer Mario through the galaxies, defeating bosses and collecting star bits. Cons: Storyline not great - but this is Mario!! If you want a great story, play Zelda - The Twilight Princess. Pros - fantastic gaming experience, relive Super Mario highlights (reminiscient of Super Mario Bros 3), atmospheric music and scenery, and don't even get me started on the fantastic use of camera while you play in 3D - upside down and back-to-front! As many reviewers have said - a must-own game for Wii owners - and a reason in and of itself to purchase a Wii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Mario 64 taken to a new extreme, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Philip J. P. Wood (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
Just had 1.5 hours having a look around. Graphics are excellent. Gameplay looks stunning, so much to take in. Slow start, but starts to build nicely. The planets and going upside down makes your head spin a little at first, but you'll soon get used to it. Had the Wii for a year now, and glad that finally a game that does the console full justice has been released. It takes some getting used to, but if you persevere this will be in anyone's top 5 games of all time.

What are you waiting for. If you have a Wii, this is a no brainer. Buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, sheer Nintendo brilliance, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
Where do I start with this? This game is amazing and really has to be seen to be believed. I was initially sceptical about the whole planets/space theme, but my god does it work.

Each level or "galaxy" is broken down into several islands/floating planet things, with each having their own obstacles to negotiate. The key to this game though, is that generally speaking, you can go "under" the level as well across it as you normally would. This is extremely difficult to describe and has to be seen to really understand it. This key feature introduces a whole new dimension to the game, and gives it staggering potential for level design. It is very weird at first with the controls and camera leaving you unsure initially, but it doesn't take long at all to get used to them.

The other thing about this game that really stands out is it's visuals. This game is absolutely gorgeous, and I was playing it without the HD component cable! As is typical of a mario game, the colours are so rich and everything looks perfectly designed. The music as well, is typical mario, and effortlessly combines the feel of 16-bit gaming with grandiose, scene-perfect music.

Finally, the controls are extremely intuitive and are pretty much the same as Mario 64 & Sunshine. This helps, as the game is different enough as it is with all the gravity/camera shifting to deal with.

Another plus point, is that the controls aren't over "Wii'd". What I mean by this is that on Super Monkey Ball, everything is controlled "Wii-style". For instance, to scroll through the menus you need to tilt the remote left and right. JUST SET IT UP TO USE THE D-PAD! Not everything needs to be incorporated into the remote! Thankfully, Mario Galaxy keeps things simple and uses these useful features where appropriate, rather than for everything. Like Resident Evil 4, the nunchuk and remote combo works effortlessly without over-complicating anything.

Bottom line is, why are you reading this? Go out there and buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is unbelievable!, 25 Nov 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is brilliant in so many ways including:
graphics, story, length, replayability, sheer awsomeness, gameplay, difficulty, etc.
I couldn't stop playing this amazing game!
Get this game NOW before you regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars from a bona fide amateur, 28 May 2008
By 
Angus Grant "angusgrant3" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
To be honest I feel a little ill-qualified to write a review about a video game since I am not what you would call an avid gamer, but I hope that my amateur status will provide enough recommendation for those of us who do not spend our entire lives in front of the video console! I recently got a Wii for my birthday and its the best present I ever had. Along with other games I also got this one and I'm so impressed with it I feel compelled to celebfate its brilliance with everyone else.

It is an extremely playable game with controls which are easy enough to understand but also varied enough to allow your character to do a host of different moves. You wont easily get bored.

The concept of the game is also simple (even if the storyline is a little childish) and this makes it accessible for everyone and anyone. I have to add to all of the other reviews and champion the stunning graphics and compelling music. They really are exquisite.

Some of the reviews mention the annoying sense of the consistently changing viewing and playing angles. I have to say that this is not something that irritates me, in fact it makes it far more original and fun.

The last time I played Mario was about 18 years ago on the Game Boy. Times have changed and this is an incredible game if you enjoy the platform format. If you buy one game this year, you could do a lot worse than Super Mario Galaxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Game on the Wii so far, 26 Dec 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
Before you ask, yes I have got Twilight Princess and in my opinion this is a better game. Gameplay is amazing as ever with Mario games, and the levels are brilliantly created. The challenges may seem easy at first, but they get harder (MUCH harder) as you progress. Challenging is the word for the ones that make you want to rip your hair out! The Wii controls are also used well and they definately add to the gameplay. The game will also keep you playing for months, especially if you are going the distance and collecting all 120 stars. The graphics look beautiful and although they are not exactly groundbreaking they are good enough, especially when you take into consideration the quality of the gameplay. Many good things to say about the game and so few bad things to say. Maybe the only thing is that the final boss is a bit underwhelming (perhaps), but that really is scraping the barrel. Other than that it is a masterpiece in gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than 64? ... hell yeah, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Levi Minett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) (Video Game)
ive always loved the old 2d mario games, there great fun and really dont have much wrong with them. whne i played mario 64 i wasent over the moon, i found it a tad boring and the same with mario sunshine. Now galaxy is right back on track! its much more fun than both the prevous to console mario games and has far better ideas and level design. if you own a wii get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Mario Galaxy (Wii)
Super Mario Galaxy (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
£17.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews