Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tribe DVD box set - series 1 to 5
I thought every single episode made was fantastic. What a story! To the lady who says that "Cloud 9 didn't take their responsibilities seriously" by not making Series 6 ... it was because the UK's Channel 5 declined support for Series 6 because of the raised adult content. So why waste money filming something that nobody wants to buy? As for the rumour that Series 6...
Published on 10 Jun 2007 by NEMESIS

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little, Too late
Yes, I am in the States (Virginia). Please, don't hate me for that. I am rather disappointed in Season 5. Which, by the way, I have seen on WAM over and over, again. I guess they thought, as many of us did, that there surely would be a Season 6. The reason everyone thought this? Because Season 5 set everything up to continue to another season. I believe that Cloud 9...
Published on 3 Nov 2006 by Jennifer Brewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tribe DVD box set - series 1 to 5, 10 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought every single episode made was fantastic. What a story! To the lady who says that "Cloud 9 didn't take their responsibilities seriously" by not making Series 6 ... it was because the UK's Channel 5 declined support for Series 6 because of the raised adult content. So why waste money filming something that nobody wants to buy? As for the rumour that Series 6 WILL be made, the Official Tribe Website reports that because many of the cast now have varied jobs and lives it seems unlikely that Series 6 will be filmed and aired. (that would be like trying to get the Beatles back together when they were all still alive - something that was destined never to happen). KEEP THE DREAM ALIVE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little, Too late, 3 Nov 2006
By 
Jennifer Brewer (Bristol, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, I am in the States (Virginia). Please, don't hate me for that. I am rather disappointed in Season 5. Which, by the way, I have seen on WAM over and over, again. I guess they thought, as many of us did, that there surely would be a Season 6. The reason everyone thought this? Because Season 5 set everything up to continue to another season. I believe that Cloud 9 hurt their credibility by not bringing the series to a proper conclusion. I know that I would not start watching another Cloud 9 series because I would not want to be left wondering what happened to the characters, as we all are wondering about the Tribe. Alice, K.C. and the Guardian are being held in a dog kennel on some distant island by an unknown tribe. According to K.C., Bray is alive and being held somewhere else. Ah! what will happen to Amber's relationship with Jay, if she finds Bray? Will Lex ever find Tai San or will he find her in time to say goodbye to (yet another) dying spouse? Will Jack and Ellie put the past behind them and tie the knot? Or will Luke arrive on the scene to tie Jack and Ellie's relationship in knots? We'll never know because Cloud 9 didn't take their responsibility to the viewer seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another review of The Tribe series 1-5, 23 Feb 2009
By 
Karen Hornyak ""avid eclectic"" (Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The Tribe was a TV show targeted at young people from late preteens to early twenties. Labeled "science fiction" because it takes place in a post-apocolyptic society, the show attracted a fan base far beyond that genre. The cast is refreshingly diverse, making believable the premise of children gathering from distant areas to form the tribes. (Note: for details about the show, see previous reviews, but beware of spoilers!)

I was initially drawn to The Tribe for its cute kids, elaborate costumes, and colorful makeup. It was fun to see my childhood fantasy, "what if the adults were all gone?", brought to life on the t.v. screen. The sets are enchanting (you'll wish you could jump in and explore the mall), and the wasteland of the city is as compelling as the beach and mountain scenery is beautiful.

The acting is occasionally over the top, but the characters are valid in that there are few absolute heroes or villains. The "good guys" have flaws, the "bad guys" have redeeming qualities, and well-intentioned plans go awry as often as they succeed.

Although critics may dismiss the show outright as a teen melodrama, repeated viewing reveals a multitude of moral and ethical questions contained within the saga. When society as we know it collapses, what should be preserved? What should be changed? What defines the line between leadership and oppression? What does one do when fanatacism threatens freedom? Living in a world of warring factions and changing allegiances, whom--if anyone--can one trust? The writers rarely give us answers, just plenty of food for thought.

When viewed from this perspective, it's no wonder that the show's loyal viewing audience included adults as well as children and teens. What is surprising to this reviewer is that the show didn't rise to greater popularity in America.

Perhaps more than any of the others, Season 5 stands fairly well on its own, largely due to the introduction of new central characters. The story line still focuses heavily on issues of leadership, revenge, power, and control; but it does so in a fresh setting and with surprising new alliances.

The show in general has received criticism for minor lapses in continuity and frequent character disappearances. The greatest fan discontent, however, seems to center around the issue of unanswered questions left at the end of the show's fifth (and final) season. There is some validity to these claims, particularly in terms of individual characters. However, the final episode of Season 5 does bring closure to the entire run, generating a warning to heed the lessons of the past while offering hope for the future.

Anyone with more than a casual interest will find it rewarding to start with Season 1 and watch the subsequent seasons in their proper order. The Tribe, Season 5, offers a satisfying conclusion to this unique series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's Happened To The Tribe?!?!, 27 July 2006
By 
S. raza "Shaznay Lewis Fan" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
After the mediocre season 4, I hoped that this season would improve...looks like I didn't hope enough.

At the end of season 4, The Mall Rats and The Eco Tribe (Ambers / Eagle's Tribe) banded together to defeat the Technos - with also the help of a Techno called Mega.

Mega helped create a false illusion to the Techno leader RAM by giving him a pair of sunglasses to which Mega called it 'ring-side seat' (allowing RAM to see what was going on while he was going to get Cryogenically frozen). Mega tricked him, and through reality-space, RAM was dumped on a waste-land with his little wheelchair stuck in mud!

Also, Tai-San appears amongst her fellow Mall Rats and states that she was held prisoner. Also, Ebony hears her name being whispered. She goes to a room and exclaims to the whispers that she's not afraid. The person emerges from the shadows....it is none other...than Zoot. Ebony utters that this is impossible, to which Zoot replies, "Everything is possible now that my prophecy is done. The Techno's have brought power.........now here comes the chaos..."

Very gripping stuff we all thought.

Season 5 started, yet again, with the disappearance of some characters. Patch and Dee left a note saying that they decided to leave to be together, Salene apparently got captured by 2 Techno's . Pride went in search to finds Salene. Sadly, he got into a fight with the 2 Techno's that captured her, and they killed him with their zapper.

Lex went in search to find Tai-San because she 'disappeared' (surprise, surprise!).

We, yet again, lose another character - Mouse. Thankfully they didn't kill her. Mouse decided she would rather be with Pride's tribe - The Eco's - because she would have felt safer there. Salene took her there, and shared a tearful goodbye to her little friend.

But, there is some good news. Jack and Ellie arrive back. Jack escapes from the prison he was at due to what happened at the previous season. Ellie comes back, but not knowing who she is. (Java some how gets released and takes advantage of a vunerable Ellie. She puts a mechanism on her, takes her back to the Mall, allowing Java to hear what the Mall Rats are doing).

We continue to get a fresh batch of new characters this season. They are Slade, Ruby, Darryl, Gel and Lottie.

Okay, the storyline for this season. I have to admit, I dipped out on some episodes near the middle to the end because it just bored me to tears.

What I could muster is that Mega and Java were still plotting together. They made Ebony go crazy by making Zoot appear before her eyes. Because of this, Ebony resorted back to her old ways and ignited the passion and crazed respect that she had for Zoot. Mega hired a guy called Darryl to dress up as Zoot to fool Ebony. Soon enough, people were chanting Zoot's catchphrase, 'Power and Chaos'.

RAM ended up at a place called 'Liberty' which resembled a Western place. He doesn't get along with most people due to the fact they know who he is. He meets Slade and they both help each other (Slade tries to help Ram walk again).

We see KC, Alice and a rather insane Guardian. The Guardian continues to keep Zoot alive! He reconises KC and Alice due to the fact that they have the Pentagram on their hand. He scares the hell outta them.....and me! Haha! (This is a very good storyline that they could have developed more in this season).

Mega continued to develop technology, however, he mutuated something and appeared to be the virus. But this time, this virus had developed and became deadly. To which everyone has to leave the City, or die. The Mall Rats all get on a boat, and look at the City that they grew up in, and move furthur, and furthur away from it. Ellie says, "But it's our home!"

To which Lex replies, "....Not anymore...."

Well, this looks like the end of the road for 'The Tribe'. It's very sad that there was no happy or concluded ending to it. The Tribe kids needed that after what they've been through the past 5 years.

This season was a big let-down. The writing resorted back to the first season in some ways. The tackled issues again such as; alcoholism, infidelity, sexuality, pregnancy, sibling rivalry etc. The changed the characters personalities too much.

They made Jay a two-timer far too many times.

Amber and Trudy lost their beautiful friendship they once had.

It felt like the writers were watching soaps and science-fiction programmes whilst writing the scripts, so they could merge the 3 things together.

It seems that we are not going to get a season 6. It's been far too long since season 5 was aired. But the way I see it now, it season 6 was made, it wouldn't be in the City after what happened. We would see a whole new place, definitely with a bunch new characters and perhaps more death.

We have 'The New Tomorrow' but that doesn't hold a candle to 'The Tribe'.

The Tribe is finished. As I said before, Season 1, 2 and 3 is what 'The Tribe is all about, and always will be.

Keep The Dream Alive xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 5, 2 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The tribe series 1,2 & 3 where the best series out of all 5 they had great storylines where as series 4 & 5 where disapointing because alot of charaters that we all loved were taken away by the techno's some did return including May,Tai-san(then disapeared again),Jack,Ellie,Alice,KC & The Guardian.

Series 4 was far better than series 5 but i still think it was good.

The Tribe Series 5 introduced some new characters Slade,Ruby,Gel,Darryl & Lottie and also lost some chacters during the series Pride (deceased) & Mouse went too live with the Echo Tribe.

Series 5 didnt have a great storyline it was very much like series 4 with the techno's! In this series of the tribe we see a diffrent location a place called Liberty a little town outside the city and also we see the school where a lot of the characters from the tribe went too Ebony,Trudy,Bray,Martin(Zoot),Java,Siva & The Guardian.

In my opinion the series got better as it went along with storylines such as The Love triangle between Jay,Amber & Trudy and the return of KC,Alice & The Guardian on an island.

I think this storyline was going to be used in series 6 but now unfortunalty i don't think we will ever know unless a series 6 is made.

I gave this series 4 stars because though it wasn't the best series of the tribe it was good and i thought i would be loyal and give it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
It's not the best series to ever hit the screen and it definitely takes a knock when you re-watch it as an adult (doesn't everything) but, in general, it is great fun and very much worth the money. Some of the concepts explored are surprisingly dark - and more honestly dealt with than you get in equivalent series for 'grown ups'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the tribe a good storyline, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
i enjoy all my purchases and always pleased with delivery time never tire watching this series cant wait for six to be released issues raised bring awareness of many problems and give better understanding of these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Worst of the Lot, 29 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I really had to work to get enjoyment out of this series, as there were so many things I disliked right from the beginning. Tai San's return at the end of series four was great, yet she just vanished again; Dee and Patch's departure was ludicrous; Pride was killed off in a very rushed way and Salene returned for most of the series, into a pathetic sap again. The only character with any sense in this series was Mouse, who left the city behind to go live with the Eco's.

Nevertheless, there are still a few endearing qualities to this series. The plot with Mega is certainly more interesting and engaging than in series four, and we also have the return of Jack and Ellie, which is certainly welcome. Unfortunately, the new arrivals in this series are quite unremarkable and don't really seem to fit properly into the show, particularly those in Liberty, although at least Ram's presence there made things interesting. Unfortunately, much of this series felt very dragged out and the plots were kind of recycled. The love triangles involving Jay were irritating and made him unbelievable, Ebony's constant scheming (except when she was brainwashed) a continued annoyance, and then there's the end of the series itself.

Much like it has been since the climax of season three, the tribe builds up great endings, but doesn't live up to it, in this case, the show was cancelled. It is a shame because we saw the return of KC, Alice and The Guardian, plus it was hinted that Tai San, Bray and several other mallrats were still alive. Unfortunately we never got to see what life was like beyond the mallrats beyond the city, which is a great shame and undeserving end of an otherwise excellent show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tribe 5, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This was the season id never seen before, loved it! This is one show you have to have, even if you only buy it to get the series complete! Too bad this is the last season! Looking forward to the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This final season is based on computer wiz's and how they come to dealing with something that they create to try and save the city but the sad part is, is when the computer activates a virus ready to explode and everyone has to evaccuate the city leaving everything behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD]
The Tribe - Season 5 [DVD] by The Tribe (DVD - 2006)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews