Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This album really signifies everything that she had done in the past.,
After hearing this album for some time I realize that this album is not "Classic Janet" or "New Janet" or anything. It just a celebration of 20 year in the music business. It is what it is. People will probably be playing her previous albums such as 'Control,' 'Velvet Rope' and/or her other works just to celebrate her 20 years in the business. To be honest I really...
Published on 1 July 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars 20 Years Ohhh
The title and opening suggest we reflect on her first twenty years (see later correction) where J pores over the ground covered between Control and 20 while voicing over samples from your favourite JJ&J releases.
Preparing us to embark on a new direction? I think Not!!! Why don't you just Hit me baby yet one more time....
Junkyard drum samples? .....check...
Published on 12 Aug. 2008 by Blackmale


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This album really signifies everything that she had done in the past.,, 1 July 2007
By 
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
After hearing this album for some time I realize that this album is not "Classic Janet" or "New Janet" or anything. It just a celebration of 20 year in the music business. It is what it is. People will probably be playing her previous albums such as 'Control,' 'Velvet Rope' and/or her other works just to celebrate her 20 years in the business. To be honest I really haven't heard the `Damita Jo' album but I'll probably go back and listen to that just for the connection to this album but as for now it is a mix of music styles from all her albums recollected.

Although '20 Y.O.' only has 11 tracks, you won't find much filler here. Even the interlude are better this go around. Although it may not have a true break-out single, the album as a whole is pretty good. From the female anthem "Show Me" to the Escapish "Daybreak" to the rockish "This Body", there's something for everyone on this album. It's also nice that she got back with Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis but you can't really tell that they're together until you flip to the last page of the booklet.

The songs that stood out to me was of course was the chart-topping hit, "Call On Me" (with Nelly unfortunately), "So Excited" featuring Khia, "Love 2 Love," "Daybreak," "With U", "Get It Out Me", "Take Care", and "This Body".

20 Y.O. is fun and simply consistent. You can play this album from the beginning to the end and almost not skip a track including the interludes because each track flows perfectly well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ''20 Y.O. Janet Jackson'' CD 2006, 21 May 2012
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
Janet Jackson's career has been one of the most celebrated of the last few decades in pop music, and yet this album ''20 Y.O'' is perhaps her most overlooked and one of the very few mishaps in her recording success. However, this album is not a bad album at all. The problem with it is that it is good, but not phenomenal, which is what people expect of someone of her talent and fame. When an artist like Britney turns out a mediocre album, people shrug and move along, but when Janet Jackson releases a below-standard album people really notice.

And this album, realistically, isn't as good as Janet's previous masterpieces ''Rhythm Nation'' or ''The Velvet Rope''. However, like I mentioned, this is not a bad album. Actually it's a nice little RnB flavoured confection that has some real Janet gems that will go down as some of the most underrated songs of her career.
It kicks off with the urban dance track ''So Excited'' featuring rapper Khia. While it has a strong beat and some experimental instrumentation, it already sounds dated just a couple of years after it was released. It's not bad, but not my favourite of the album.
Next is a more modern RnB sounding come on ''Show Me''. The lyrics are sexy and defiant with a playful chant half way through, and Janet sounds like she really enjoyed singing this song. One of the best faster songs on the album.
''Get It Out Me'' carries on the sexy vibe established (it seems to be the main theme for Janet albums since the early 90s) and is similar to the first track except a little more raw with some great percussion rhythm shuffling the track along.
''Do It To Me'' is a very urban track similar to early Destiny's Child songs, with an appearance from Jackson's then producer boyfriend and rapper Jermaine Dupree. It's provocative and wild but can't compare to Janet's earlier dance hits like Rhythm Nation or the Knowledge.
''This Body'' is a nice rock tinged track with some great electronic sounding production. Janet always likes at least one heavy rock influenced track on each album, and this is it for 20 Y.O.
''With U'' is in my opinion one of the sweetest ballads Janet has ever recorded, and a real gem from the album. It's tender without being sappy and is reminiscant of early Janet ballads like ''Come Back to Me'' or ''Someday Is Tonight''.
''Call on Me'' is a duet with then superstar Nelly, and the big single of the album, deservedly so. It has been critisiced for sounding so similar to Nellys earlier duet with Kelly Rowland ''Dilemma'' which was a huge hit, but this song is a lovely RnB uptempo ballad with a really catchy chorus that is ready-made for summertime.
''Daybreak'' is a nostalgic look back on teenage romance, where Janet sings about sneaking out to meet her boyfriend. It's a fun, sweet song, catchy enough but not really spectacular.
''Enjoy'' is one of the nicest songs on the album that highlights the layered harmonys that Jam and Lewis produce so well with Janet's vocals. She sounds fantastic here and the song is similar to ''Better Days'' off the All For You album in 2000.
''Take Care'' is one of the baby making songs that make an appearance on every Janet Jackson album, except this one has a difference. Instead of your standard love song, it is instead her lament at being left home alone, with no hope of her boyfriend coming back. Therefore she has to 'take care' of herself. It's provocative, but is handled tastefully and isn't vulgar in the way the ''Damita Jo'' album was.
''Love 2 Love'' is more of a standard baby making song, but is beautifully sung and has the sexy atmosphere of an old Donna Summer record. It's a nice ending to the album.

So this is an album of hits and misses. It doesn't compare to ''janet.'' or ''Rhythm Nation'', but it's a nice modern album in it's own right that has a lot of merit, and of course the pristine production that Jam and Lewis always bring.
It's more of an album for the fans rather than an out and out commerical smash, but it deserves a listen and is good in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a time for reflection with janet's 20th anniversary!, 13 May 2009
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
Janet Jackson way be a very underrated star upon recently, now only making a million sales and barely that with recent album Discipline (2008), one thing is for certain, she releases mega epic albums every single time and 20 y.o is no exception.
here she celebrates her 20 years as the biggest success since the epic,beautiful and revolutionary 'Control', the daring and epic 'Rhythm Nation', the glorious and soulful 'Janet', the dark, epic and groovy 'Velvet Rope', the soft and funky 'All For You' and the erotic and underrated retro class act that was 'Damita Jo'.
now she reflects on her career by providing a different sound altogether on her celebratory album giving fans what they want, a fresher new sound and something that competes with the market of that year, in my opinion it was one of the best r&b albums to arrive in 2006, others that matched were Christina Aguilera's Back To Basics , Nelly Furtado's Loose and Beyonce's B'Day.
overall, this album is probably the most daring Janet has ever given us because this is such a major celebration to reflect on her career and she delivers a complete U-turn, which in my opinion works really well if a little patchy in places.
So Excited, Enjoy and Daybreak are (for me) my favourite songs of the album but all in all this album really is a major event in music and the sounds here are more different than anything we have encountered in Janet's music before.

retrospect review-
Control-11/10
Rhythm Nation-11/10
Janet-11/10
Velvet Rope-11/10(the best r&b album of the 90's)
All For You-10/10
Damita Jo-9.5/10
20 Y.O-8.5/10,it's fun fuelled and a very different album.
while not a classic in music like her albums from Control-Velvet Rope. Nor is it a modern era multi pltinum gem like All For You.
but it has an edge that makes it a must have album due to the great songs produced here.

a very good album fuelled with looking back and moving on, a welcome to new Janet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 20 Years Ohhh, 12 Aug. 2008
By 
Blackmale (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Years Old (Audio CD)
The title and opening suggest we reflect on her first twenty years (see later correction) where J pores over the ground covered between Control and 20 while voicing over samples from your favourite JJ&J releases.
Preparing us to embark on a new direction? I think Not!!! Why don't you just Hit me baby yet one more time....
Junkyard drum samples? .....check.
Four by four-square rigid syncopation? sparse urban production...check, check.
Paula Abdul Militant choreography?...check.
Philosophical (well she seems to think they are) interludes to link the tracks?... oh Janet do we have to?... check!
All proving that in twenty years we have come exactly nowhere.

Preceding the Twenty years between the first record(that you want us to remember) and this, there are a few very carefully forgotten bits of musical embarrassment locked in the Jackson "family" albums marked Early Childhood. Two early 80's pieces so awful they simply ceased to exist before the JJ engine reboots for the dance floor smash that was Control. 20 takes us right back to those fragile beginnings.

Just as Miss Spears is starting to lose it, J picks up one of her discarded jump suits, noting the similarity to her own spandex and tries it on for size.... Oh Dear.
The target range for this album lies approximately between that of a Bratz doll and your first dental retainer. And for the first time in years there is no set piece pornographic Parental Advisory to worry your (Republican) Mom & Dad that your rebellious tendencies will bring about your retirement from beauty pageants before you've graduated to cheerleading - although Love 2 Love "comes" (sic) desperately close. So Excited can't even live in the shadow of Herbie Hancock's monumental ROCKIT. Sampling this was a bad move for track #1 proper. It takes ten more (if you count the wretched interludes) before I'm woken up by the rolling chugger that is Enjoy, then we have to crawl back under the covers again, because it's time for the sorry Miss Jackson to sleep with the listener again through Take Care.
Wait a minute! What if 20 celebrates two decades with Flyte Tyme?
Jimmy - Terry - Andre.....YOU can do better than this.

Someone once said "Never impersonate yourself, somebody else always does it better..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 20 Years... and Janet's still got it!, 28 Oct. 2007
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
In September of 2006, Janet Jackson released what is probably her most Urban album yet, 20 Y.O., follow-up from DAMITA JO (2004). 20 Y.O. itself isn't one of Janet's best efforts to date by any means; it has its faults and weaknesses, but for the most part the songs are tight and slick. Janet took a slightly different turn with this album also, working with her current boyfriend Jermaine Dupri. She has said herself that the album is meant to be an anniversary of her breakthrough set, CONTROL (1986), though in my opinion it really sounds nothing like it.

1. 20 (Intro) (00:53)
2. So Excited (featuring Khia) (03:14) - 10/10
3. Show Me (03:38) - 10/10
4. Get It Out Me (03:04) - 10/10
5. Do It 2 Me (04:06) - 10/10
6. This Body (04:10) - 10/10
7. 20 Part 2 (Interlude) (00:27)
8. With U (05:08) - 9/10
9. Call On Me (with Nelly) (03:24) - 8/10
10. 20 Part 3 (Interlude) (00:28)
11. Daybreak (04:21) - 10/10
12. Enjoy (04:30) - 10/10
13. 20 Part 4 (Interlude) (00:43)
14. Take Care (05:43) - 10/10
15. Love 2 Love (05:03) - 8/10
16. 20 Part 5 (Outro) (01:03)

The album begins with an Interlude with Janet speaking about what she's talked about through her songs in the past twenty years of her career, and at the end she states on this effort she wants to have fun. Which is exactly what the album is. It starts the album off quite well. The next four tracks: "So Excited" featuring Khia, the second single, "Show Me," "Get It Out Me" and "Do It 2 Me" are the dance tracks of the album, and work really well on the album. I can't choose a favourite out of the four - they're all so brilliant! "This Body" has an rock feel to it, but is still an Urban cut. It could have been Janet's 2007 Black Cat, but unfortunately it is not. Great song still. The album continues with yet another interlude, before the next two tracks: "With U" and "Call On Me" (with Nelly). The former is a mild R'n'B number while the latter is really the worst song on the album. Why it was chosen as the first single from the album I do not know. Followed by another meaningless Interlude, "Daybreak" and "Enjoy," the latter being one of my favourites on the album, pick things back up. 20 Y.O. continues with a sexy interlude, which puts the listener in the mood for the next track, "Take Care." I sometimes find Janet's baby-making songs quite tiresome, but this is easily the best song on the set for me. It's done in a much more classy way to her usual baby-making songs. Reminds me of her hit single "Anytime, Anyplace" from the amazing "JANET." (1993) album. "Love 2 Love" is only slightly better than the worst song, "Call On Me," and really isn't a good closure. The Outro is hilarious and by far the best Interlude on the album.

In conclusion, 20 Y.O. isn't really on par with Janet's other albums, but it's definately still five-star worthy and worth a listen from anyone who is a fan of any of her past work or anyone who likes Urban music. Personally, I prefer her pop/rock music, which seemed to stop at DAMITA JO, which may explain the reason for me thinking this is Janet's worst album yet. Or maybe it's the fact that longtime producers Jam & Lewis weren't involved in this album as much. Although it's a nice album to listen to, you see a dramatic change in Janet's music and even her vocals also. I'm hoping her next is better, even though 20 Y.O. is still excellent and proves that Janet really is still in control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this woman's career is without flaws, 26 Mar. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
"20 YO" is yet another great album in Janet Jackson's discography. She has made some musical decisions over the years and this indeed seems a return to more upbeat music, but I cannot point out one bad album in her career. After 'Control', 'RN 1814', 'Janet', 'Velvet Rope', 'All for You' & 'Damita Jo', I make it her 7th album though. Strange habit of always including best-of albums and remixes (in cases where the artist is not in charge of them) in the scoring line-up. And confusing for buyers who want to build up a collection. I agree with other reviewers that I don't understand all the negative articles written about Janet's albums. Even Damita Jo was a knock-out. My favourite on this album : "Enjoy" . Well, we can certainly do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM!, 10 Dec. 2007
By 
Ms. J. Marshall "J" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
This is the first Janet album I bought! At first I listened, skipped a few tacks and just added it to my collection, few months later I listened again and it was on non-stop! I didnt realise how good this album is, now that i have just about neally all her albums, i know it isnt her best work but there's some cool tracks! I was starting to type the tracks i like and realise theyr all great. Dont listen to the bad reviews! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars coulda been better, 4 Oct. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
Contrary to other reviews this is no classic anniversary album..i was expecting big things for this album but largely she's failed to deliver. The main mistake was having jermaine dupri(the current boyfriend of ms jackson) to produce this album..jermaine is a good producer but he's never held up when producing a whole cd or the bulk of it in this case and this is no different..the album only really comes alive at the end when jam and lewis(janets regular producers) make their mark on tracks like Enkoy and take care whic are briliant...this could abeen great as it is it's her worse album since the velvet rope..better luck next time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to lose Control, 28 Sept. 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
This dream collaboration of Janet Jackson, Jermaine Dupri, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis marks the 20th Anniversary of the release of Janet's career-making album "Control". This strong dance album proves that even at age 40, Janet has the energy of a 20 year old, and judging from the cover art, she looks pretty fabulous too.

The album starts off with a blast, thanks to the sample of Herbie Hancock's "Rockit" on the track "So Excited" (featuring Khia). This is the second single from the album, and demonstrates the type of entertainment that distinguishes the Jackson family from the wannabes.

First single "Call On Me" is a mid-tempo track which happens to be a smokin' duet with Nelly, and there are many other possible singles to choose from. "Show Me" is a hot track, as well as "Get it Out Me" which samples Afrika Bambaataa. "Do it 2 Me" is also a sizzler.

On the slower side, there's "With U", which seems to tell the rest of the story of "Let's Wait Awhile", but the excellent slow song of the album is "Enjoy" which is about appreciating your life one day at a time. There are a few tracks that didn't do it for me, these being "This Body", "Love 2 Love" and "Take Care", but this is probably more a matter of personal taste than a musical short-coming. The inclusion of the two Japanese bonus tracks "Roll Witchu" and "Days Go By" would have been a perfect way to end the album on a high note, but unfortunately they're not on this version.

The dance tracks define this album, which marks a welcome return to form for Janet, Queen of the Dance. (Rated: 4.5 stars)

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing to get so excited about!!!!, 1 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 20 Y.O. (Audio CD)
janets latest album is released 20 years after "control" and after the "damita jo" album which flopped and the popping out fiasco...i was hoping for a lot more than what is here!

ive listened to it about 10 times now and although it potters along very inoffensively nothing stand out and says "wow"

there is nothing bad about the album...but its like listening to a cd single of the same song with different mixes!

even the duets with nelly and khia lack sparkle! Thats it! The album lacks sparkle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

20 Y.O.
20 Y.O. by Janet Jackson (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews