Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2006
it must have been great watching this story first time around. the usual but great Doctor/Sarah team getting themselves caught up in unexplosions and the like.

I liked this story very much and on viewing it, i realised that it was Sarah's last outing as a compnaion.

The content of the main story involves our Eldrad, played eventually by Stephen Thorne with his typecast 'WHAT IS THIS' line in shouted form. i think he has excellent acting abilities for radio though. But i quite liked Judith Paris acting as Eldrad.. again, quite a vocal actress, but i don't know why, she just seemed better..

The story, usual run of mill in many aspects, and Sarah's strop at the end initially made me think that she was going to walk out of the TARDIS for ever (again realising that this was her last story), but the reaction and the general lack of tears/emotion (except for perhaps, a bit of shock) didn't half make me feel a bit... emotional. the freeze frame ending made me feel cold, as if id just lost something.

All in all, a fantastic story, well worth buying, even if you don't go forthe extras on the dvd, the story itself is well worth a purchase
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
The last of Sarah Jane... until Sarah Jane. Tom Baker and Lis Sladen's last appearance in Doc Who. Good solid story. Involves a new villain to make a change from the run of the mill Daleks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Just finished watching the DVD-excellent, really enjoyed it. Enjoyed Liz Sladen's performance, and am slowly building up my Dr Who Collection. Subtitles extremely helpful!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2006
Great classic story. My memory of this story is the hand crawling around a tupperware/sandwitch box. The mustard coloured Austin Allegro! zipping the Doctor to the powerstation. Plus the scene when the Kastrian Eldrad finally meets his King who had him executed a very long time ago.

Eldrad enter's the King's chamber and say's "Row-kon!" (deep slow voice). Followed by a bit louder "Rokon..........you scorn ME, your SUCCESSOR".

Fantastic stuff. I've waited thirty year's to see that again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
like tom bakers dr
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2007
This story sees a rare outing for the BBC's infamous gravel pit as an actual gravel pit for once.

When the TARDIS materialises in a pit, the Doctor and Sarah Jane start looking round to see where it had dumped them this time. So intent are they on that, that they fail to spot the safety officer trying to warn them off...

With Sarah Jane caught in the resulting explosion, something else is blasted free from the rocks, something caught from deep space millions of years before.

Sarah Jane and the fossil are taken to a local hospital where Sarah is put under observation and the fossil examined.

The fossil proved to have special powers and controlled Sarah Jane into visiting a local power station...

This had plenty of particularly good special effects - in particular the way the stone hand regenerated into something more lifelike.

Eldrad's home planet was well realised as well, especially the regeneration chamber. Of the two versions of Eldrad, the most chilling in a way was Judith Parish as the human form, though Stephen Thorne as the Kastrian Eldrad was on good form as well.

This story sees Sarah Jane leave the Doctor, finally put off travelling with the Doctor over his high handed tactics in this story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2007
Story: 3/5 - Extras: 4/5

"The Hand of Fear" is generally thought of as "Sarah Jane Smith's last story". Indeed, the four parter by Bob Baker and Dave Martin does feature the departure of Elisabeth Sladen's popular character, but only really as an afterthought, or footnote, to what is essentially a very routine and somewhat unmemorable Doctor Who story.

"The Hand of Fear" also has the unfortunate distinction of being a story that gets progressively less interesting as it continues. To begin with, Sarah Jane is possessed by the petrified hand of Eldrad and heads for the nearest nuclear reactor (Sladen puts in quite a good "sinister" performance as the possessed companion), which brings her to the "Nunton Experimental Complex", opening up the opportunity for some great, expensive-looking location shooting at the real-life Oldbury Power Station. The location filming really makes the first two episodes of the story, which have a very distinctive feel. Things go off the plot, however, when the Doctor, Sarah Jane and a newly regenerated Eldrad (Judith Paris) journey to Eldrad's home planet of Kastria, and we get the unfortunate combination of cheap-looking sets and a cheap-looking, shouty monster played by Steven Thorne, that is eventually defeated in the most banal manner possible. The final episode almost, but not quite, redeems itself with a nicely written scene in which the Doctor is summoned to his home planet of Gallifrey and realises that he has to leave his companion behind on Earth.

The DVD presentation of this story is decent, with the usual excellent picture and sound quality, some bits from the archives, a commentary and a documentary. The commentary is a slightly confused affair with Tom Baker, writer Bob Baker, actress Judith Paris, and an unusually quiet Elisabeth Sladen. Producer Philip Hinchcliffe also makes the odd appearance. The 50-minute documentary, meanwhile, is solidly done but slightly repetitive of earlier documentaries when it covers the more general period of Doctor Who outside the confines of this story. Not the very best, but "The Hand of Fear" is a good DVD for the series' ongoing fans.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
I remember this story being broadcast originally. Excellent tale from a very good Doctor Who era and sad to see the final story for Sarah Jane. (Or was it?)
Delivery on time and in good condition, loved watching it again. Great value for money, would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Love It
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Brilliant Classic Dr. Who With The Late Elizabeth Sladen. The best and most sexiest of all the Dr`s Assistance! XXX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse