Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Season!
An excellent season and a vast improvement from Series 3. The stories of the Skarloey railway are some of the finest, and are quite a nice break from the regular characters.
Published on 6 Jun 2010 by G. A. Pitts

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New faces, new stories
I got Thomas the Tank Engine & Friends: Series 4 to replace my videos of Rock 'n' Roll and Other Stories & Thomas & Stepney and Other Stories which have severe wear and tear. All 26 stories are on this disc with different characters like Duke, Sir Handel, Peter Sam, Skarloey, Rheneas & Duncan. My only complaint is that the storyteller Michael Angelis seems to have gone...
Published on 15 Jan 2008 by Stevo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Season!, 6 Jun 2010
By 
G. A. Pitts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent season and a vast improvement from Series 3. The stories of the Skarloey railway are some of the finest, and are quite a nice break from the regular characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New faces, new stories, 15 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
I got Thomas the Tank Engine & Friends: Series 4 to replace my videos of Rock 'n' Roll and Other Stories & Thomas & Stepney and Other Stories which have severe wear and tear. All 26 stories are on this disc with different characters like Duke, Sir Handel, Peter Sam, Skarloey, Rheneas & Duncan. My only complaint is that the storyteller Michael Angelis seems to have gone back and re-narrated the first 13 stories again, just like he did in Series 3, for the DVD release, which is really annoying. To me, he did it perfectly on the video releases. Obviously he wasn't happy with the narrating that he did the first time around and decided to change it. But that criticism aside, this DVD is still worth owning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy., 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is one of my better buys. It was a good price. My 2yr old Granddaughter loves it. I think I'm her new B.F.F.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worht buying for the last few stories, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
Most of the collection is about the little mountain engines and is quite boring, as my grandson would testify. But, toward the end there are a few gems and good crashes which he likes very much. He watches Bulls Eyes (starring Daisy), Toad Stands By (starring Scruffy), Special Attraction (starring Bullstrode the barge), Henry and the elephant, Fish, Bowled Out (starring a diesel), Train Stops Play (starring a cricket match) and mind that bike (with Tom Tipper the post man) repeatedly.
The only problem for me is that I have to keep the remote handy to comply with his requests as he's only 2 and can't operate it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas tv series at its best, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
In this series we get a slight refresh of characters as we are introduced to the small and narrow gauge engines. The stories told are pretty faithful retelings of those in the original Awdry stories and with Rhenaus, Skarloey, Peter Sam and, of course Duke, there is a new dynamic to the relationships. For me this is something of a swansong: after this the stories were increasingly written by Britt Allcroft and co (which are not always as bad as people make out) and lack some of the authenticity and depth of the originals. Also, you don't get those annoying sing-alongs for which I won't be so forgiving of Ms Allcroft!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Getting worse!, 10 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
After the dross that was 3 this perked up a little when it feature the stories of the Skarloey Railway. Then shot vertically down when the engines appear throughout in different liveries instead of the red livery as seen in the proper books!
Also Thomas and co started to creep into stories which they had no appearance in originally, eg Thomas telling the others about Duke the Lost Engine. Then appearing in Bulldog story too. Some new scenes added to the stories and the narrow gauge line did give the series a bit of an uplift, if only for a little while.
One of the worst episodes has to be Rusty to the Rescue! Where the little diesel rescues a standard gauge loco called Stepney. My advice is skip that story. If you want to know about Stepney, visit the Bluebell Railway and learn about him there. He might not be in steam at the moment due to overhaul but you'll have a good day out never the less.
A couple of other stories like Fish, Toad stands by and Bullseyes appear but these weren't brilliantly done and could of been better. Also the story about Tom Tipper the postman, last one on DVD was garbage compared to the story written by Christopher Awdry.
I got bored quite easily with this one. Also annoyed too. Anyone who has knowledge of the books knows that the Fat Controller doesn't run the narrow gauge railway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The acid test is -, 23 April 2012
By 
J. N. Melone "jomell" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
The acid test is what my two-and-a-half year old grandson thinks of it. The dvd is fine and works ok, and he was initially very keen. He is very keen on lorries, trains, planes, etc, and has great enthusiasm of Thomas - watches youtube videos of Thomas the Tank Engine crashes online with great interest.

Liked the idea of the dvd at first, as I have said, but he tired of it fairly quickly and doesn't ask for it. However, that's just one opinion, from the target audience, so others may be more enthusiastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so..........buying for the sake of buying??, 17 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
The 1st series is still the absolute favourite of my son although he owns Series 1-4 (when 5&6 weren't out yet)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews