Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2006
I am a huge fan of this marvellous series, but I do agree that it waned very slightly after the sad death of Jimmy Beck during the filming of series 6. While the writing and the performances of the other actors were as strong as ever in series 7, somehow the dynamic of the ensemble had lost that certain something that made it so magnificent. The Cheeseman character brought in didn't really work as a regular (and was dropped for Series 8) and without Walker, the platoon was missing a vital part. This is not to say that Series 7 is bad, far from it - even when not quite firing on all cylinders this wonderful programme still stands head and shoulders above all other TV comedies.

Watch with pleasure guaranteed but with also just a touch of sadness for the untimely death of Jimmy Beck. His passing not only robbed his family and this series of a fine actor, but denied the rest of us witnessing what he might have acheived had he lived.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2006
By Series 7, Dad's Army was definitely enjoying its own unique Indian summer. Much of the magic had been lost but the original cast was still largely in evidence and their misadventures remained refreshing enough to still amuse and entertain.

However, as has been mentioned already, the series was certainly incomplete without James Beck as Walker. Talfryn Thomas as Cheeseman seemed an odd appendage, and his introduction to the platoon was unconvincing, his integration none existent. This, of course, is not a complaint at the man himself, but he was unsuited to continual involvement.

Also, the development of Pike changed the chemistry in his relationship with Mainwaring, and although this was to be expected as he grew older, his newfound cockiness is a surprise to the Pike we came to know and love from Series 1 through 6.

A gem on the DVD is a featurette on Arthur Lowe, a very accomplished actor by all regards. It is certainly interesting to see him talk (in later life), about his role in Dad's Army and to hear the opinions, views and recollections of the surviving cast members.

Overall, I think it fair to conclude that this remains a good purchase, and not only for the hardcore Dad's Army fan. Viewers merely need to adapt to the platoon's change of circumstances and enjoy the differences in the comedy they indulged in.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
As always first class service from Amazon and the price is right!! Like all the other episodes of Dad's Army you can't help but laugh as it's so well written and the cast are brilliant and even though I have seen the same episodes many times I never get bored with them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
In a review of an earlier season, I wrote that Dad's Army fell into three phases: charmingly British, hilariously funny, and charmingly British again. This season definitely marks the start of phase three. Bereft of James Beck's charismatic villain, John Laurie became Mainwaring's chief bugbear: but there was no real substitute for that wonderful mixture of humour and shadiness. And in this series, an unattractive element of self-parody began to creep in. Corporal Jones became so confused it was almost unbelievable that he would be retained in even an auxiliary unit. Fraser became ever more bolshie. Wilson and Godfrey became vaguer. And Talfryn Thomas's bizarre and completely over-the-top Welshman was simply out of place, allegedly causing tensions to run high behind the scenes. But there's still plenty to savour, not least the greater maturity of Ian Lavender in an enhanced role, and some superb location shoots. The plotlines also remained, if ridiculous, at least funny. It's worth getting, despite the fact that there are only six episodes and still only one extra, a minor documentary on Arthur Lowe. But don't expect a reprise of season 6.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
The seventh series of Dad's Army was the first series without James Beck as Private Walker, and unfortunately, the show was not the same without him.

True, this series still feature a few good episodes in 'Man of Action', 'The Captain's Car' and 'Turkey Dinner', but something was still missing with the absence of one of the main characters. The arrival of news reporter Mr Cheeseman didn't really help matters, as he came across as more of a supporting character and just wasn't as funny as Walker.

Series 7 is still worth a look at, but if you want to catch only one of the later series, you'd be better off catching series 8.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
As with all the Dad's Army series, this one had me laughing all the way through, whenever you need a laugh, Dad's Army is great! Or just watch them over and over anyway!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2006
I'm afraid I cannot agree with the previous reviewers - for sheer consistency of funniness, this is the greatest Dad's Army series of them all, despite the sad loss of James Beck. No weak episodes here such as 'Round and Round went the Great Big Wheel' (Series 5) or 'The Royal Train' (Series 6).

The cast were the finest group of actors ever assembled for a sitcom and by this stage were at the peak of their powers, despite their advancing years. This fact, together with the sheer quality of the writing ["I'm not behaving like a dictator Wilson, I'm simply asking people to do as they're told" (A Man of Action)] makes this the definitive Dad's Army series. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
I think this contains some top episodes of the series - please don't just stop before you arrive here. :)

I've surprised myself at how much I've been bursting into laughter during some of these as I thought the quality may have dropped a little. Even though I've seen these dozens of times when I used to have them taped from the tv, a little reminder sometimes goes a long way to be reminded of the series' brilliance as a whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
I bought this DVD to complete my Dad's Army Collection. The series is an absolute classic, and I've watched it over and over again. Great writing, and fantastic characters make this a must for young and old alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This is a perfect gift for either Christmas or Birthdays, it never dates and it doesnt matter how many times you watch it you always see something that you have missed in previous watchings
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)