Customer Reviews


876 Reviews
5 star:
 (705)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin
I felt compelled to write this, my first Amazon review, given that this product really does deliver on its simple aims.

As other reviewers have noted, it is ergonomic and comfortable to hold, intuitive and straightforward to use, and above all simply works allowing you to focus on delivering the message of your presentation rather than the presentation...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Mr. Mathew J. Newton

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless if your presentations include showing web pages
If you need to show web pages in a browser as part of your presentation there is a major problem using this pointer. For some insane reason the manufacturer has designed this pointer so that ever time you use the laser function to highlight something on the screen it will do a refresh of the web page showing in the browser. This makes the item totally useless if you need...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by D. Richman


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin, 1 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
I felt compelled to write this, my first Amazon review, given that this product really does deliver on its simple aims.

As other reviewers have noted, it is ergonomic and comfortable to hold, intuitive and straightforward to use, and above all simply works allowing you to focus on delivering the message of your presentation rather than the presentation itself.

It implements the common USB Human Interface Device (HID) standard and hence is widely supported on most, if not all, platforms without the installation of specific drivers hence is ideal for use on company PCs whose security policy may not allow the installation of non-sanctioned 3rd party software. It works by emulating the key presses of Page Down, Page Up and B for next, previous and blank/black respectively. Perhaps less obvious is that the laser pointer button also sends an F5 key press - this is used by Powerpoint to start a presentation if still in design mode. All-in-all, if your application can be driven by these keys it can be driven by this.

A useful feature not mentioned elsewhere is that the USB wireless receiver contains a discreet LED which illuminates green in response to each key press. This positive feedback confirms the working range and that the batteries are healthy. If the batteries are on their way out the LED instead illuminates red. This completely eliminates any 'I hope the batteries are going to be okay' concerns you might have prior to delivering that keynote presentation!

Incidentally, I note that there appears to be a version of this device without a laser pointer so make sure you're buying the right one as they look similar!

All in all a high quality product - if you're looking for a decent straightforward presenter with laser pointer stop now - you've found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


178 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionised my teaching!, 31 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
I'm a University lecturer, and I have long hated being confined behind a lecturn to change slides in a Powerpoint presentation by using the mouse or keyboard. I have just bought one of these remote control units, and it is quite brilliant! It is literally Plug 'n' Play (i.e. you don't have to reboot the computer with the USB receiver in to have the computer recognise it) and means you are free to wander the room as you speak, and deliver a much more interactive experience to your audience. The laser pointer is an added bonus, and the fact that the USB receiver sits inside the main unit when not in use (disabling it so that battery power isn't wasted by accidental button pressing) is a fantastic piece of design. Absolute genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bin the mouse and look more professional, 26 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
Very easy to use for any computer and any presentation. This handy little gadget fits snuggly into the palm of the hand and gives you the ability to wander around when presenting. No more need to keep returning to wherever you've managed to stretch the mouse cable to for a click to advance a frame (that is so distracting). I bought this gadget and also bought a USB extension cable to ensure that the receiver was in clear line with the remote. No need. The receiver USB port could be tucked under a desk behind a door in the next room and each click of the button would still advance you a frame. Tiny little receiver also tucks snuggly into the handset which de-activates the handset and prevents battery waste. Easy to use buttons and absolutely no software to use. Just plug it in and you're ready to go. Added bonus with the laser pointer .... great if you have cats to play with!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin!, 1 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
I do a lot of presentations with my job, and wanted a reliable & simple means of controlling Powerpoint etc remotely. This does the job perfectly.

It's plug & Play (both on my XP machine, and also my MacBook) and has controls to enable you to: -

1. Move forward (i.e. page down in PPT)
2. Move backward (i.e. page up in PPT)
3. Blank the screen (i.e. pressing B in PPT)
4. Fire the laser pointer

It fits nicely into the hand, too, and the USB receiver stick clicks into the body of the handset for easy storage. Obviously it works for other applications, too, and not just Powerpoint. It just emulates the keypresses shown above, so you can view PDFs, Word docs etc in the same way.

All in all, an excellent bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be better, 14 April 2008
By 
A. West (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
I bought the remote, not actually needing it for a week or two, with next day delivery. I've seen the remotes in action, and have used one in the past and I was terribly eager to get my hands on one... The first thing I did (after tearing through the packaging like a kid on Christmas morning) was plug it in and open up an old presentation. My lord! I sat there for hours going back and forth, using the blackout function (the screen fades to black at the touch of a button, incredibly helpful if you need to move on to something else for a while, or there is a break). The design is perfect, the way the usb receiver fits into the remote and turns off the power, and so elegantly retracts back out aswell.

I bought this especially for an AGM which I am chairing, and I refuse to return to the lecturn for every click when I am on a massive stage. For those who want to give really good presentations, and want to move around more and interact more with the audience, this is great. You are never tied down to returning or standing by the laptop/computer just to carry on. The lazer is also brilliant for pointing out things in pictures or videos (yet another way to keep the audience amused).

I always buy products from Amazon according to what others say in their reviews, and to anyone reading this and thinking about buying it. Then all I can say is don't hesitate one more moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great changer - don't get ripped off, 27 Aug 2009
By 
C. Kenny (Co Down) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
I was delighted by this slide changer but please don't get ripped off by DON RUFFLES.
They charged be 13-90 for delivery but when the package came the postage was 1-30 in a light envelope.
This means that the company made a profit of 12-50 on the postage.
Great product just don't but from this company and shame on Amazon for colluding in this highway robbery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gee Whizz - it's Great!, 15 Jan 2008
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
Great value for money, and after fitting the two AAA batteries works intuitively and instantly straight out of the box (well, plastic blister pack to be precise) without any drivers to load. Very ergonomic with a tactile rubbery finish on the underside. Probably the best gadget I'll buy this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Rob Elmour (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This gadget is amazing! I'm very pleased indeed with it and a lot of people who've seen me use it have now bought one of their own.

It's simple but extraordinarily effective and goes about its job with no fuss. You just plug the dongle in (no drivers are required) and you're unchained from your laptop. Left and right buttons page back and forth though your presentation. Down blacks out / restores the display and up works the built in laser pointer. That's about all you need when doing a presentation really.

It fits neatly and discreetly in the palm of your hand. Though the design looks a bit clunky it's actually very well thought out from an ergonomic point of view. Very easy to use without looking. The wireless range is also very good indeed, as is battery life.

I've tried it with Microsoft Office 2003, Open Office 3.0 on Windows XP and Open Office 3.0 on Linux. All worked perfectly.

The only additional feature that might be nice is the vibrating time alert that the Logitech wireless presenter has, but I can live without that quite happily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleek little gadget, 6 April 2009
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
Just as everyone else has said, it's a great product. To complement some of the other reviews I have the following to add (this is also because some of these aspects I wanted to know about before buying the product!):

1. Vista/Office 2007 - If you were in doubt, generally it works great with Vista & Office 2007 (and right out of the box)
1.1. Adobe Reader v8 - It works with Adobe Reader (ver. 8), both normal, and full screen modes (obviously however the bottom button i.e. blank screen button does not work as this is more of a PowerPoint feature)
1.2. Word 2007 - Only the back and forward buttons work in Word 2007 (they allow scrolling). If you press the laser pointer button, it brings up the "Find an Replace" window with the "Go To" tab selected, therefore I assume it correspondes to the Ctrl+G function. If you press the black screen button, it types a common "b" in Word (therefore corresponding to the "b" and its use in Powerpoint to provide blank screens).
1.3. Firefox3/IE7 (yes, believe it, I did try it in these! :)) - Just like with Adobe Reader and Word, back and forward allow scrolling. Pressing the laser button however refreshes the page! The blank screen button again results in a "b" keypress.

5. Linux (Ubuntu 8.10 - Live CD) - Plug and play works fine. (Yep, that's right, plug and play works great even on the Live CD!)
5.1. Couldn't install Adobe (as it was a live cd) but I figure it should work fine.
5.2. Document Viewer 2.24.1 - Worked excellent! All buttons worked exactly like in Powerpoint 2007
5.3. OpenOffice Presentation software v.2.4 - All buttons worked exactly like in Powerpoint 2007

6. Linux (Red Hat 3.4.6) - Plug and play works fine.
6.1. Adobe Reader v7 - Top three buttons work well. The blank screen button doesn't apply, so of course it doesn't work.
6.2. OpenOffice Presentation software v.1.1.5 - Forward and back buttons work fine UNTIL you use the laser pointer, then it no longer works.. it seems that using the laser triggers the Navigation panel?!

So in summary, "Sleek little gadget"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple Mac, 19 Jan 2009
By 
Seamus Kelly (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kensington 33374EU Wireless 2.4GHz USB Presenter + Red Laser;Compatible with PowerPoint(TM)/KeyNote(TM) (Office Product)
Just to let you know that this also works a treat on Apple Mac
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews