Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2006
I just love everything about these programmes. Neatly packaged, opens like a book. Only criticism would be not including a synopsis for each title. You just have to watch them to remember! This set includes 10 episodes:

Blue Herrings

Judgement Day

Garden of Death

Destroying Angel

The Electric Vendetta

Who Killed Cock Robin?

Dark Autumn

Tainted Fruit

Market for Murder

A Worm in the Bud

For some unknown reason, 'Beyond the Grave' has been omitted. This was broadcast in April 2000 after 'Judgement Day' bringing the third series to a close. Series 4 started with 'Garden of Death'. 'Beyond the Grave' may appear in a later set but it can still be obtained individually!
11 comment|70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
What more needs to be said about the finest detective drama series ever to grace the ITV schedules? Tireless Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby and his faithful sidekick Sergeant Troy return for another ten occasionally surreal and always bonkers adventures, in the fictional English county of Midsomer. Chocolate-box villages, all with a dark underbelly; furtive locals and crazed murderers with smiling faces inhabit this world, and the dynamic duo staunchly investigate and inevitably solve a series of crimes of passion, crimes of greed and crimes of sheer insanity amongst the leafy Midsomer copses (or should that be corpses?)

I have seen all ten of these stories at least once on TV, but I have found that I can revisit them again and again with a suitable break in-between. Midsomer Murders struck TV gold back in 1998 with its mix of unreal yet somehow recognisable settings and characters. John Nettles' phlegmatic DCI is the glue that holds the show together, as he and Troy seem to be the only working police detectives in the county! Sergeant Troy has matured somewhat from the first series; although he is still almost as mildly abrasive and gloriously un-PC as ever.

For the price this is a steal, so to speak; the box-set is beautifully packaged as a faux book, and sits nicely on the bookshelf, ready to be pulled down and savoured on those long winter nights. If you've never seen this programme I heartily recommend that you give it a go (and buy series one too!) Hole yourself up, pour a glass of Pinot Noir, grab a six-pack of Snickers bars and indulge in a feast of Midsomer Madness.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2007
This box set contains 10 episodes from the 3rd and 4th series of Midsomer Murders. These 10 episode collections are very nicely packaged and can be picked up for a cheaper price if you shop around. The major annoyance and my reason for only giving this set 3 stars instead of 5, is that it is missing an entire episode - Beyond The Grave. While this episode is not one of the better ones it now means the set is incomplete as none of the subsiquent box sets have included it either. Even if they did include it on the 6th box set the story would be out of sequence as it has Troy rather than Jones or Scott. A real shame.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2008
This is another excellent collection of 'Midsomer Murders' episodes. All the episodes are enjoyable; amongst the best are 'Judgement Day' with its disturbing opening sequence, 'Destroying Angel' and the subtle 'Blue Herrings' which features a particularly moving performance from the talented Angela Down. Oh, and don't worry if you can't follow the explanation for one of the murders in 'The Electric Vendetta' - apparently, the programme-makers edited it out by mistake!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Midsomer Murders is a great murder series but this box set has one problem. Episode 4 "Beyond the Grave" from Series 3 is missing from this box set. It jumps from Episode 3 "Judgement Day" from Series 3 to Episode 1 "Garden of Death" Series 4. I wonder why Episode 4 "Beyond the Grave" from Series 3 is missing. The problem with these box sets with ten investigations, they have a number of series all mixed in. The first investigation box set has Series 1, 2 and the first episode from Series 3 in it. Then series 3 resumes in this box set apart from the last episode from Series 3 missing that I mentioned twice before. In all honesty I'd recommend buying Midsomer Murders by either buying the complete series in one big box set or buying them as in buying ordering Series 1, Series 2, Series 3 and so on where each series will be in a small box set each or in a multi-case each where each series will be separate from the other series' and then you'll get all the episodes and have them in the correct order. I gave this Midsomer Murders box set a four-star rating because of that missing episode and I want to let as many people as possible know so that as many of you know buying this box set won't provide you all of it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
This is the second series of detective stories I have bought about Inspector Barnaby after having watched a few series in German, far too late at night. The original in English is much better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2007
Altough excellent viewing the box-set prices are prohibitively high. Has anyone any idea why they are so much more expensive than many other box-sets of a similar genre?
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Loved this, brought for a gift and gave hours and hours of fun watching it. Good value too and easy to store
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
i have most of the series in 10 box set i will get more when they are the right price thank you.sam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
All the Midsomer Murders are excellent nice to cozy up and try to figure out who done it and why.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)