Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form for best band in my world!, 22 Jun. 2006
By 
MCFCTrick "MCFCTrick." (Republic of Manchester.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
After the somewhat disappointing 'Special One, I had high hopes for this album. And, other than one weak track, 'One More', the album is a real return to form for the boys from Rockford, Ill.

'Welcome To The World' is a storming opener, that sets the standard for the rest of the album. Yes, a couple of ballads, but a lot rockier than recent albums.

Couple of curve balls thrown, with O Claire, and Come On, Come On,being titles of earlier CT songs, but these are new numbers!

Dream The Night Away, and All Those Years are reworkings of earlier demos, that I'm glad have finally seen light of day.

It end on a great rocker, Decaf that rounds off for me, their best complete effort since 'All Shook Up'.

Highly recommended.

MCFCTrick. Manchester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like CT buy it!!, 4 Aug. 2006
By 
A. Murdoch (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
I don't really buy into this "return-to-form" nonsense that people do for older bands and is constantly inflicted on the Trick whose back-catalogue is an embarassment of riches (ever tried to wait for a dull moment at a CT show for a pee-break? There are none!!). OK,some albums are better than others but whose aren't??

What we have here is a damn good Trick album which deserves your attention.Us veterans should all buy it, young hipsters who wonder what all the fuss is about should buy it and see.

Complaints? None. Suggestions? Yes - tour Britain properly and come to Glasgow!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BACK TO THEIR BEST!, 29 Jun. 2006
By 
M. Pritchard "SUNSPY" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
Cheap Trick are one of the most frustrating bands going. Their last few records have not been anything to shout about and after seeing them live in London a few years ago I thought it was time for them to hang up their guitars BUT... I am so pleased to be wrong... Rockford is an absolute cracker of a record.

This is the best record from CP since Heaven Tonight and Dream Police. "If it takes a lifetime" is a classic, swooning harmonies and Robin Zander on even better form with "Decaf" and "Every night and every day".

It's not one of those - get it and judge for yourself - CD's. It's a "take my advice - buy it" CD. My faith has been restored.

Anyway. If you like good, rockin' Cheap Trick of old, you will love this. Theres not a filler in sight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Spectacular Return To Form', 17 Feb. 2008
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
After the truly abysmal (worst of their career) 'Special One' album, I as a long standing CT fan had begun to fear the worst. Had my beloved hero's finally lost it? Had so long out of the studio taken it's toll? Well, I am SO glad to be able to tell you that the answer to both questions on this evidence is a resounding NO! From the opening bars of 'Welcome To The World' to the last chord of the last track, this record is a triumph. 'Rockford' quite simply has put the rock back into CT! Back are the glorious melodies, back are the great harmonies, back are the chaotic, crazy and energetic performances and the bands timing, but best of all.. back are the SONGS. 'If it Takes A Lifetime' for example is EVERYTHING you've EVER LOVED about CT and has got to be one of the best trick songs ever (should have been a hit single too). Most of the songs on this record see the band in rockin' mood and the groups pop sensibilities once again match perfectly with some good old fashioned 'dirty rock n' roll'. Robin Zander sings like he really means business again and most of all the group sound like their enjoying themselves. Such freshness and vitality you would have expected to come from the band at the start of their careers, but after the dismal disappointment of 'Special One', it is indeed a tribute to the guys that with this record they've come back stronger than ever! ESSENTIAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding Record, a true return to form, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
This is by far their greatest record since "Dream Police", bar none.

Sure, "Cheap Trick" (1997) may have been a return to their hard rocking sound, but "Rockford" is where it's at. There are no bad songs on the entire album, and they stick to their "Heavy Beatles" formula, just the way it should be.

Here's another amazing thing about this album: Even if you're not a Cheap Trick fan, this is a good place to start. It beats most of their other records, more than 30 years into their career.

It's pure joy to hear that Cheap Trick still rocks the socks off of most other bands today.

If you haven't bought this record yet, now's the time.

HIGHLIGHTS: "Welcome to the World", "Perfect Stranger", "If It Takes a Lifetime", "Come on Come on Come on", "This Time You Got It", "Dream the Night Away".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best for years, 6 Sept. 2010
By 
P. Wilkinson "cleanersvenus" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
Rockford is the best Cheap Trick album since their heyday in the late 70's. It sounds contemporary and retro at the same time. Most songs are uptempo without any of those wet ballads they started getting bogged down by in the late 80's early 90's. They rock loudly and tunefully which is what every real Cheap Trick fan wants.
It's much better than their 'The Latest' and much much better than the, best forgotten, 'Special one' so if you were put off by those then don't hesitate to buy this one.
Genuinely worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHEAP? Priceless is more like it!, 8 Feb. 2007
By 
David Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of these guys since the 70's and though most of their albums contain a good mix of tracks (with the odd poor one) this one is a belter all the way through! It is difficult to find fault with it and I'm pleased that the George Martin inspired sound is still there too. It's a rarity these days to find an album that is virtually perfect, but there's no 'Trick' here - it's for real! Go invest in a little piece of brilliant, classic rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cheap Trick since Heaven Tonight!, 19 Jun. 2006
By 
Jon P. Whipple "snoopy133704" (St Petersburg, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
This is the Cheap Trick CD I was waiting for. It brings back the rock and pop of their first three releases. It rocks and Messrs. Nielsen,Zander,Petersson, and Carlos have a hot number here! As somenoe said about a Jerry Lee Lewis album "all killer no filler"!!!! Buy it NOWWW !!!! You will rock.....you will roll... Dooooo IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovering Cheap Trick, 3 July 2011
By 
J.P.Gomes (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
Thirty or so years have evolved since I lost track of Cheap Trick. While searching for iconic albums from my teens, namely 1979' "At Budokan" and "Dream Police" albums among others, I stumbled onto something new (to me) too; a series of more or less 20 albums from the early 80's onwards!!! A lot of catching up to do!!! Getting to know how they sounded now, by comparison, would be a fair enough criterion. Thus, the acquisition of 2006' "Rockford". As it turned out, expectations were met. That familiar rocking sound is still there as in "Come on Come on Come on" as well as great ballads as in "O Claire"! In short, Cheap Trick are still Cheap Trick, fortunately! For late "rediscoverers" of Zander and co. "Rockford" is undoubtedly a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as Special One and Cheap trick, 1 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Rockford (Audio CD)
Rick Nielsen and the boys must be mystified. This album has attracted rave reviews and even a listing in Classic Rock's top albums of 2006, but the truth is that it's no better or worse than Special One or Cheap Trick (the Albini-produced album of the late 1990s, not their first album). What that means for fans is that you will not be disappointed. No five stars, then? No - but not three either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockford
Rockford by Cheap Trick (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews