Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London at her best, 1 July 2009
By 
Robert the Bruce "Bob" (New Milton, Hants. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This compilation of Julie London's work is fine example from her early days to the last recordings. Surprisingly much of it is in stereo or digitally remastered to give a stereo effect. All the standards of the time are there, many performed better than the iconic performers associated with the numbers. All in all an excellent addition for those
who are addicted to the singers of the 1950' to 1970's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great 3-CD Set, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Avid Reader "DMP" (North Yorkshire, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is a very good value CD set of the wonderful and timeless Julie London. If you are a fan of hers then you won't be disappointed in this. If you are new to her then try it out - it's good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars julie london ultimate collection, 24 Feb 2011
By 
B. S. Luff "Brian S.Luff" (Northampton U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This album of the delectable Julie is just wonderful,she has the voice that speaks of speakeasy's in the golden days of club singers,she is of course so much better than that,her beautiful voice flows from my speakers,I close my eyes and I am in a small club in Greenwich Village New York,she sings the great American Songbook with all the beauty that the writers of those great songs deserve,so very few singers can convey those lyrics,they are usually sung by men of course,Sinatra,Tony Bennett,Dean Martin,but forget those guys for an hour or more,listen to Julie,close your eyes and imagine a small club in downtown New York,oh yes I am there now,a large glass of something,a cigarette,and a fond ear for beautiful music sung by a beautiful lady.with Love and Respect to Lovers of great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best jazz singers.., 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
For anyone who loves female jazz singers, Julie London ranks among the best. This collection shows her versatility and will be a pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fifties Style That Sounds As Great Today, 11 July 2007
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
To quote from the liner note, Julie London said "I only have a thimbleful of voice", which self-deprecating remark was only half the truth. Granted, her voice lacked volume, but it made up for it in all sorts of other ways, which combined to create the sort of haunting atmosphere that lingered long after she'd finished singing.

She was selective about her choice of material, and this compilation rounds up some of her best sides. Accompaniments are superb, and sound quality first-rate, but I've stopped short at four stars for two reasons. First, I'd like to know who's playing behind her on each track, but the listing is silent on that score. Secondly, because a 3-CD set really ought to provide more than a total of just 45 tracks, and that paucity is redeemed only by the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure pleasure, 3 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
What a joy Julie London is to listen to, smooth,relaxing,beguiling,seductive,captivating.Each song is delivered in that warm smooth smokey voice with class and flawless style.Buy this album and enjoy the glorious intimate rendition of these songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Julie London Review, 14 July 2012
By 
Mr. Brian R. Allmark (Chester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
If I had the financial resources to set up an easy-listening radio station then this is the type of album that I would feature. Very pleasant listening & a marvellous tribute to an icon..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stress free, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Not the greatest voice ever, but then she never claimed to be. Nevertheless Julie London is good to listen to, smokey, atmospheric and takes you back to an era when things felt less complicated. I play this collection when I want to escape from this media mad, cyber driven society that we live in today and it never fails to work its magic. Good with a glass of wine and some expensive chocolate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I`m in heaven, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I love just relaxing,eyes closed and forget the hassles of the day.
the easiest way for me to relax is with music. Soft easy music is the best. Nobody does it better,for me, than Julie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality recording, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I have two Julie London Vinyl LPs and got this 3CD set as it's a really good price. The quality of the recording is really good and the musical accompaniment is well balanced. Very good for relaxing to with a glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by Julie London (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews