Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£22.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2006
I've had the privilege to listen to this album about a week before its actual release date through a friend of mine. Since then, it's all I ever play and what I like to listen to now and I love it! ASOT 06' is by far Armin's best work. It's an album that can move every bone in your body and it's one with balance, beautiful vocals, and new mixture of string and electro vibe elements added that's makes this album so unique and inspiring. You won't be disappointed. What I enjoy listening the most from this album is the harmonic mixing key each song transitions into the next, especially at the release of bass synths. This is the driving force in Armin's work and he really knows how to draw out those sounds to their fullest extents leaving a trancy layer of melodies and killer bass lines with an uplifting force behind it. It's simply beautiful and exciting. I love all the tracks, especially "Whitesand". Don't ask me why. Just listen to it. Most of the tracks in the first cd are at a moderate 132bpm. With perfect pitch speed sets this as the mood. As for the second cd has bit more uplift at 138bpm. It's hard hitting and energizing. I love them both and I give this album my highest grade, 5 stars!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2006
I ve been a trance fan for nearly 10 years, and its as good as its ever been. Armin Van Buuren is probably even better than Tiesto in terms of his tune selection on this album in comparison to his new `In search on sunrise`. What happened to the days when you would find this sort of quality on a Gatecrasher and Euphoria album anyway. Not any more, this stuffs in a different league!!

Both of these discs are amazing and slightly more uplifting than ASOT 2004 and 2005. This album is more like Universal Religion 2004. The standout tune on the album for me has to be the bittersweet `Envio-For You` which closes the first disc in epic syle with souring violins reminiscent to that on the soundtrack to House of Flying Daggers.

You must buy this album because it will probably be the best trance album youll hear this year unless Armin releases another one.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2006
How to describe this album in a few sentences? it simply would not do this album justice, after ASOT 2005 many people would expect a similar format, infact Armin Van Buuren has gone for quality over quantity in this masterpiece.

Now i love my classic compliations, but this album has dragged me straight back to the present, and possibly into the future. Whilst it has also installed new belief that Trance indeed is not dead. CD1 is destinctly chilled out with melodic tracks would bring a smile to even the most stressed out soul. CD2 should be played when about to endure a night out,

Distinctly though as CD2 is more progressive than CD1 it sounds disjointed if played out of Sync, but that only gives the album more purpose as you will find it impossible to put down. By the time you hit M.I.K.E. Voices from the Inside, which is only track 6, your ready to hit the dance floor. But it doesn't stop there, it goes much further from first to last track simply one if not the best Trance album i've ever heard.

I've never rated an album before but this gets a 5 out of 5. AVB is showing why he's regarded as one of the best DJ's in the world.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2006
SoT '05 was spectacular, and SoT '06 is on a par. It is another truly sensational mix by Armin van Buuren who must be one of the best trance mixers and artists around today. He has taken the best trance songs around, no matter how mainstream, and transformed them into an album of trance heaven.

This time, the album is split into cd1 'On The Beach' and cd2 'In The Club,' and it works perfectly. Get carried by the sea breeze on a scorching day with cd1; the drifting vocals in songs such as Edge Of Space act as an uplifting sensual motion, whilst the typical heavy beats and basslines pump volume and desire into this drifting feeling. It is just what trance is supposed to do, make you feel, reflect and think.

Shipwrecked by Mike Foyle, track1, is a truly sensational song, with minutes soothing piano sounds to open up the album. It then explodes into life in a way that van Buuren and his fellow songwriters only know how.

Then prepare for take-off in cd2. Armin has got it spot on; this is certainly the album for the club, as it is more focussed on hard beats and repetitive riffs, from infamous trance artists like M.I.K.E (aka Push). I suppose I must make one criticism; this is, perhaps, the lack of vocals on cd2. As much as I believe the power of music alone is fantastic, sometimes soft or powerful vocals can really expose the mood of the song. The best of such songs is offered from Kyau vs Albert, who, if you've bought their album, use Albert's unmistakeably haunting vocals.

This said, Armin has mixed them in such a way that they sound spectacular. A perfect release date, because this album really does fit with the hot passion of summer.

A MUST for all trance lovers, whether you like to be uplifted, or you prefer to bang your head to heavy club tunes, this album is for you. I hope you enjoy the journey that SoT will take you on.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2006
This album is amazing, i highly reccomend it!! This beats many of the DJ's out there, even better than Tiesto?!!

Brilliant tunes and the best thing about this album is that it FLOWS so easily and its powerfull trance will blow your mind. I cant rate this album enough! BUY IT.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2006
What can I say for this episode of ASOT? Absolutely amazing! Flowless mix that blows your mind away! The selection of the tracks is a piece of art. Armin did it again! No Oops! Definetely an excellent buy for everyone who wants to own something of, probably, the best DJ at the moment...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
A State of Trance: 2006 is, even today following the release of the 2007 edition, the finest and most perfectly balanced album van Buuren has ever produced. For Disc one (titled "On the Beach") alone this album is worth the purchase.

This is most aptly titled, as throughout the disc the songs conjure images of the beach, the sun, and a bright summers day. It begins with Mike Foyle's "Shipwrecked", a haunting, delicate and yet powerful introduction to the album. This theme continues with the typical chilled song from Sunlounger, and then follows with heavier and more vocal tracks, such as the beautiful "Your Loving Arms". Shah's "Beautiful" is more electronic, and then this is expertly mixed into the standout track on the album: "Dilruba". This track, I find, acts as a separator between the initial "lighter" part of the disc, and the heavier, deeper, more intense second half. The second half in particular flows so perfectly that I can listen to the entire disc time and time again all the way through, with rich and diverse tracks such as "Cold Drink, Hot Girl", and then what I find to be the climax of the album "One With Sancutary". Each track is exceptionally unique, yet they are so well mixed it is difficult not to listen to it as one.

Disc Two (In The Club) is certainly for the club, with harsher beats and sounds, and more frequent crescendos and breakdowns. It still begins in a relatively relaxed manner, however this does not last long. Standout tracks are those of Kyau & Albert, particularly "Walk Down" with the instantly recognisable vocals. This is no doubt an excellent Disc, but is definitely less chilled and, for the most part, not to my tastes.

I have decided to give this album Five stars based on CD1. CD2 is good, and some may prefer this, however it is not for me - I consider it a bonus to "On The Beach". The mixing throught both parts is absolutely flawless.

Thanks for reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Have been a big fan since the 2008 ASOT compilation but didn't like the '07 (too many vocal tracks....) - skip back a year to the 2006 though and it's the usual fantastic mix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
CD arrived a on time and in good condition, I like Armin Van Buuran and have a few of his CD's and this is one of the best in my collection. I will be buying 2005 soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2007
i borrowed this cd from my local library,and having listened to disc one,and having listened to disc two of the album,and i must say that cd two is much better than the first disc,and cd one dosent do much justice,as im a big trance fan myself,and ive decided to listern to any trance albums that my local library has to offer,and chose to listern to them before i decide to buy them,so you have a rough idea wherever to buy the album or not,as i like the good old trance albums,and many of the new ones dont have many tracks that i recognise,and its cheaper in the long run to download all the tracks that i like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)