Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low Key character driven latter day Western
Superb effort from Tommy Lee Jones - this is both restrained and intense at the same time, telling a story of unexpected redemption. Fans of Jones or Westerns beware - this is no action movie or thriller - this is low key and driven by the characters. And what great characters they are, with superb performances, especially from Barry Pepper. The Texas / Mexico border...
Published on 3 Dec 2006 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three stars for three burials
Three Burials or 'The three Burials of Melquiades Estrada' is an engaging film in a way that a 12 course meal is engaging. It isn't edge of your seat, but it keeps you wondering what the next course is going to be and at the end of it, you don't quite remember the first courses, but you have this overall feeling of being well-fed.

Poor analogy, but i...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by Peter R


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mexican Hat Dance, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. I. E. Wason (Doncaster Yorks England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD after reading that it was the third of a trilogy by Tommy Lee Jones. I had seen and very much enjoyed "No Country for Old Men" and "In the Electric Mist", the "Three Burials of Melequaides Estrada" has proved somewhat different. I am still practicing to get my toungue around the name for starters.
The story takes some getting into and due to the way that the movie has been made takes a while to realise that it is both retrospective and current.
Without giving away the story line, I believe that the simple man shows through well, and it is his way to do what is right, that borders on the comical in places, but when you think about it a little you begin to ask, "What would I do differently", answer, "Nothing".
The ending is a little in the air, but it reflects the rest of the story so it fits. All in all I believe that it is a good depiction of life along the Mexican/Texas border and that gets it its highest marks.
I have now watched it 3 times, and I have enjoyed it each time. I like the movie and I like Tommy Lee Jones in it, its just trying to learn colloquial Texan that is hard, you do have to concentrate on both the script and the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone cold classic, 17 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD] (DVD)
I only wish Lee Jones started making movies 20 years ago. I bought this movie 4 years ago, and i have watched it many times. Stone cold classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne would have hated this film...So, thumbs up!, 4 May 2007
This review is from: The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD] (DVD)
A great action packed film worth viewing. The good U.S bad Mexican type guys do not have a place in the movie. The scene that has attracted me was when a blind farmer who was left on his own by his own boy tells the cops that he hadn't seen the fugitives. His behaviour represents the real humane side of the film. Also worth praising the actors. (The over-zealous policemen who behave inhumanely to refugees)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meandering and lost in the desert, 24 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD] (DVD)
This film meanders and soon fails to live up to its early promise. Any dramatic tension is dissipated by the poor plotting and flat characterisation.

The story does not know where it is going and seems like a failed improv session. One character in the story - the blind man seems to sense this and asks to be shot.

Save yourself some time and take a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love Tommy Lee Jones, 13 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD] (DVD)
and maybe my fault I had not read the reviews to realise it was not one of his action fast paced films. Beware it is slow and really no thriller at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring, 30 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Riley "mike" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD] (DVD)
i dont get why people seem to be giving this film good reviews. nothing happens there is no ending and the old man probably only wanted to die to get out of the film nothing to do with being starving he was just bored.

its not a western of any sort some people seem to think it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 18 Nov 2006
By 
CAIN (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this film was boring and almost turned it off half way, I kept watching because I thought something interesting would happen but I was wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD]
The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada [DVD] by Tommy Lee Jones (DVD - 2006)
£3.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews