Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best PSP games
Vice City is one of the best PSP games by far. The gameplay is very similar to San Andreas. The ability to swim, fly planes, and do loads of mini - games. The game has very good missions although I am only on the first part of the second island.

The ability to control your own company is good. It is a good way to earn money. Exept the downside, it gets...
Published on 23 Dec. 2006 by M.White

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liberty city stories was better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I was actually really looking forward to playing this game having enjoyed the original Vice City immensely but I found it a bit of a let down myself. This game isn't really suited to the psp because it's not the type of game that you can just pick up and play on the bus due to some overlong and extremely hard missions, I did complete the game but I found it much more...
Published on 27 Feb. 2008 by G. Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liberty city stories was better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 27 Feb. 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
I was actually really looking forward to playing this game having enjoyed the original Vice City immensely but I found it a bit of a let down myself. This game isn't really suited to the psp because it's not the type of game that you can just pick up and play on the bus due to some overlong and extremely hard missions, I did complete the game but I found it much more frustrating than any of the other GTA games and the Empire building is very repetitive and also get's very annoying after a while, if you're on your way to start a mission and one of your empire's comes under attack then you have to stop everything you were doing to go defend it and then once it's defended and you resume what you were doing another Empire'll come under attack, I ended up doing this 5 or 6 times once on my way to a mission, once i'd finally done I then had to go back to top up my weapons and armour and save my game just so I could get back into actually doing a mission, I found this more annoying than fun and it ruined the game for me, the Territories in San Andreas were nowhere near this annoying although they did have their moments.
Overall I think if they'd got rid of the Empire building rubbish and added more side missions instead then this game would've recieved a higher score from me, but as it is I think Liberty City stories was much better due to it's shorter main story missions and better side missions.
But hey ... that's just my opinion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best PSP games, 23 Dec. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
Vice City is one of the best PSP games by far. The gameplay is very similar to San Andreas. The ability to swim, fly planes, and do loads of mini - games. The game has very good missions although I am only on the first part of the second island.

The ability to control your own company is good. It is a good way to earn money. Exept the downside, it gets frequently bombed...

The game is just like San Andreas for the PSP. Making Vice City Stories one of the best Rockstar Games to date

*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Vice City it's self!!!, 14 Nov. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
To start with the graphics are incredible!!! The ghosting that Liberty City Stories suffered with has (almost) completely gone and the sunshine is blinding. It goes right down the details of the engines. It looks better than ANY GTA before it, mainly due to the very high quality screen. The only draw back with the graphics (and indeed the game) is the pop up but even this is better (you only notice it when you crash into a fence) and on the whole it's a VERY minor problem...and after all it is a PSP ;)

But really you shouldn't be driving into a fence because of the best improvement...the controls, I myself use the "Control Setup 2", which allows for easier handbrake turns and looking left and right. The difference in class is clear when you're speeding down the road, weaving in and out of traffic like Jason Bourne! You couldn't do that in "Liberty City Stories" without clipping at leased one car. It's all down to the PSP's analog stick, which is notorious for being touchy but here Rockstar have managed to make the most of it.

Close Combat is...well, it's good, the triangle button is used to grab your victim and holding him there until he's "done"! Grabbing from behind and your victim is helpless! ;)

The targeting system picks out anyone shooting you, even when someone is standing in front of you. Which is what everyone wants.

The sound is as good as ever. When you shoot a gun you can hear the shot echo around the buildings, incredible!!! The cars roar and the 80s music is great.

The game is amazing, with the police crashing around like nutters, passers by talking rubbish and people running away from you...or attacking you! The best part of the game is the new mode "Empire Building", which is the way forward for this game. By triggering an attack on a rival business (blowing up a car outside), the whole area becomes full of "business" men...gang men, once you've dealt with them, you enter the business and fight off the last of the gang members. Once in the building you (and this is the fun part :)) smash the place to bits until there's nothing left of any worth (I can't wait 'til you can level the building :D), the site is now yours to do want you want with (And how big you want it, right up to "High Roller"). Build a "Protection Racket", "Loan Shark", "Prostitution", "Drugs", "Smuggling"...you get the idea. Each section has their own set of missions, like smashing up a shop for protection money. Unsurprisingly other gangs don't like this and soon you can't move without The Bikers hunting you down!!! Sometimes they don't hunt you down because they're round your place doing exactly what you did...smashing the place up!!! So you have to fight back, by recruiting gang member, just like in San Andreas...but better because you're fighting for something, not just territory! You can stumble on a war between other gangs, which you don't want when you're on your own!

Once you get enough money to build on your sites, the money rolls in and so do the gangs. Bottom line, you could play it like this forever without ever playing the story. Play the story though, the mission where you first met Lance is reason enough :)

Here are somethings I love, when you get "Busted" or "Wasted" you have the option to buy back your weapons, great :) When you're swimming there's a gauge, if the gauge hits zero you're a goner, so swim fast :D The game seems to run on very little power, which is incredible, I played for 4 hours and had 33% left on my battery!!! (this of course depends on screen brightness, volume, temperature and whether you charged your battery fully from the start, which alot didn't!) and my favourite thing, this left me opened mouthed, I had no guns and had no health left...so I stole a bike from the Bikers and drove it into the sea, triggering a war, I was trapped so I jumped into the sea. One of the Bikers saw me...and followed me!!! I don't want to find out if the army can swim! :D

This is definitely the best game in the series but I don't know how this would translate to the PS2 because the graphics might suffer on a normal TV...but I'm sure I could over look that, if they added an online mode. It would sure save my hands :D

If you're a person that doesn't like violence or under 18 then fair enough but for others YOU MUST HAVE THIS GAME!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An impressive achievement!, 28 Dec. 2006
By 
Chesty (Loonited Wingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of GTA and not only was GTA: Vice City the greatest in the series but it was also one of my favourite games of all time.

Then came along Vice City Stories. Put simply, it's a superb achievement and a fantastic game. How on earth can a PSP title look better then its PS2 counterpart? Well, whatever the reason, it is true. Vice City is now blur free, sharp and even pulls of a fantastic draw distance on the tiny machine. The game is a technical masterpiece, with short loading times in between each island and I could even turn my PSP onto sleep mode and come back to were I was exactly with less than a second load. The game plays just like any GTA and I had no problem adjusting to the PSP controls. The soundtrack is brilliant - another GTA triumph with some superb music with various genres and VCPR to supply the humour!

Why four stars? It would have grabbed all five except for the niggling technical faults (sometimes objects can appear in front of you, especially at speed) and general lack of anything that is really that new to GTA as a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 16 Aug. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
my sister recently bought a PSP and the game itself and when she let me have a go i was addicted which has prompted me to save up hard and get my own PSP and the game itself.

Back to the game its graphics are awesome depsite being contained in a small hand held system somthing which many critics may eat their own words since they feel these hand held devices will never hold their own against the big consoles that are more advanced and faster i remember having the sega Game Gear when i was eight as its draw back was it ran out of battery juice in a short space of time so it can only be played with the lead.

anyway this game gets 5/5 and is awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING for something so small!, 20 Jun. 2008
By 
A. eastwood "PLAYER" (Bromley,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
Well, what can i say! rockstar have done it again, The simerlaries been the old vice city and this are tingleing!Thats start with the graphics: 4/5: brillant for a miget like a psp! but be warned things can pop up unrelisticly at speed causing a bit of damege to your motor!

Game play
4/5:There are so much things to do like missons Killing people and exporering it will easy keep you entertained. but the missions are not very good when you lose you feel like kicking your psp! also theres a thing about buieses its annoying because you have to go to your buiesses to proteck them its anoying! expecaily when you are the way to a misson!

FUN
5/5:Its never boring I like killing people and nickig their cars! also the missons are fun (if you dont lose them)

OVERALL:THE BEST YOU CAN GET FROM YOUR PSP, BUY IT NOW!!

You play a pussy man called victor vance who was lances brother in vice city(the first one) so its a before time of the first vice city a very good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars psp must-have!, 17 Jan. 2007
By 
Abe (Eastbourne) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
if you have a psp you must have this game, yeah there are some slight glitches involving objects appearing, and garages not saving your cars, oh and the main character is a bit of a pussy... but come'awn people vice city in the palms of your hands!!! the missions are short and sweet making it ideal for a train commute or car journey. and the main thing i love about this game? THE MULTIPLAYER! its absoloutly awesome!! for those of you who dont like this game.. try the multiplayer.. the game modes include - race to the hunter (helecopter) and then stalk down the other players; kill the marked man (everyone except this person is visible on the map); and just plain racing among others. Its just brilliant to be playing muliplayer GTA, which apart from san andreas's crappy 2 player, is a first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should be good......, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
I have been a great fan of all of the GTA titles, and owning a psp console, I am hoping that this is the game we have all been expecting. Many new features since LCS:

There will be 70 storyline missions in the game

The game takes place in 1984 - two years before GTA: Vice City

Victor and Lance have grown up poor and you start off in a trailer park - a new section in Vice City made for VCS

Victor is a 28 year-old US Marine and is said to be in peak physical condition

[...] confirms that Ving Rhames will be voicing Victor Vance.

Due to mobile phones not being a common thing in 1984, Victor will be making use of a pager to receive text messages (This feature was also in GTA III)

Lance Vance, Victor's Brother, is a ''drug addicted wreck''

Phil Cassidy has been seen in the Vice City Stories load up titles

Vice City Stories will feature more characters, mostly being new to the series

The animations are more life-like and are "a step-up from previous titles in the series"

New animations which give both the lead characters and pedestrians a whole new degree of humanity

Time-contextual NPC behaviour is now included, which indicates major events, like hurricanes, may be part of the storyline

A multiplayer feature similar to the PSP version of LCS is in the game

There are said to be some ''innovations'' in the multiplayer mode.

VCS is said to be "much, much bigger than Vice City"

There are new or altered locations and buildings

Some landmarks are half-built or yet to be refurbished to their state circa 1986

Vice City will have a new surrounding area

There are more poor neighborhoods (slums) in the game

The Magazine confirmed that Leaf Links will be in the game

The game will feature golf caddies, which further suggests that the Leaf Links golf course has not been removed from Vice City

There are all new vehicles and weapons

You can fly helicopters and the sea plane again

Helicopter missions would be a common thing in the later part of the game

A Hermes with flames has been seen, indicating that the Cuban gang may return.

Bikes handle better than before

Players can now take to the waters of Vice City with jet skis

You can swim in the game

The silenced pistol returns

Silenced SMGs have been seen

A new type of rocket launcher

New weather effects that could include hurricanes

The water of VCS is now much more realistic, behaving more like a real ocean with upgraded tide and current handling

The water physics have been overhauled and handle very differently than land physics

Radio stations from Vice City make a return

Rockstar Custom Tracks will be reappearing, allowing you to play your own music once again as a radio station

More interiors than its predecessors

There is also no more seamless exterior-to-interior gameplay as seen in LCS (there will be a slight loading time)

A new addition in Vice City is a Ferris Wheel, which you can ride in first-person view

Trip skips make a return (If you die or get busted a taxi will take you back to the location where you received the mission from)

Binoculars are in the game

Draw distance has been improved and is said to be better than the original Vice City

Far richer color palette that brings sunsets to all new levels of beauty, and realism

Pop-up of map models is now minimal

The version of the game that they saw showed pop-ups and fade-ins, but Rockstar Games assured this will be solved in the final version.

Increased density of pedestrians, cars and objects

Explosions not only consist of a circle of fire, but also of hissing fire jets and individual parts flying around.

Reduction in clumping (where groups of the same people appear together) for pedestrians and vehicles

Controls are the same as Liberty City Stories.

The developers promise a more intelligent targeting system, which avoids you from shooting at civilians during large enemy engagements.

I personally cannot wait for this game, and have already preordered a copy, like most psp owners! There are many rumours circulating, but none others than those that have been mentioned in other reviews. Just a month and a bit left........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Gamer. It'll Have A Hold On You, Believe It., 6 Dec. 2010
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
Vice City. A city so nice they named it after some 80's American detective show that I've never seen before in my life. But enough about my TV distastes. It's time to talk about another PSP review. This time it's the turn of Rockstar Games' Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories. GTA:VCS is a prequel to GTA: Vice City (a PS2 game released in 2002) just like GTA: Liberty City Stories is a prequel to GTAIII. VCS was released in 2006.

The game is set in 1984, about two years before the events of Vice City. You play the role of Vic Vance, an honest hard-working army soldier who ends up getting his marching orders after performing some dodgy missions for his heavily stoned sergeant, Jerry Martinez. Vic is now looking to get his revenge on Jerry. But first he has to complete a long list of missions before he can get a shot at his former boss, because life is complicated like that.

Once again Rockstar have thrown up a Grand Theft Auto game with a large and widely varied selection of missions, which include your usual driving-to-destinations and shooting enemies jobs. You also have to perform some tasks that you weren't expecting, but this helps with the variety and makes VCS a very enjoyable game. In one mission you have to drive an elderly man from the stadium to his house. But the man has a dodgy ticker, so you have to drive carefully. Driving too fast or into the view of an enemy car will cause him to get too stressed out and die of a heart attack.

There are numerous minor touches that make Vice City Stories an improvement over Liberty City stories. Helicopters, which made their debut in Vice City, make a return after being absent from LCS. So now you can fly to your destinations and enjoy the view of the city from the sky. Swimming also returns, but unlike GTA: San Andreas you can only swim on the surface and for a limited amount of time before you run out of stamina and drown. Also there's a nice little feature for whenever you get busted or wasted. When either of these things happen a weapons icon will appear outside the police station or hospital. If you have the money you can walk into this icon and buy back all the weapons you had before you had your incident. Very handy indeed.

All the usual extras make a return: the taxi and ambulance missions, rampages, hidden packages (this time coming in the form of 99 red balloons, as in the song by Nena), and street races. The biggest new feature in VCS is empire building. Scattered throughout Vice City are a series of buildings run by gangs, which deal with things like drugs and weapons. The aim is to start a fight with the gangs and defeat them to take over the building. Once you've done that you can start up your own business and make some extra money. I quite like this idea. With different missions available depending on what kind of businesses you're running, it gives you something different to do from the main story missions.

The cast of characters is better than LCS. Popular characters from the first Vice City game, like Vic's smooth-talking younger brother Lance Vance, and drug dealer Ricardo Diaz make a welcome return. Meanwhile the new characters, like Jerry Martinez, have more energy than the characters in LCS.

But the one man who steals the show (or should I say the game?) is the guest star...Phil Collins! Phil voices himself in this game, and he actually does a decent job. Three songs featuring him can also be heard on the radio stations: the iconic IN THE AIR TONIGHT, EASY LOVER, a duet with Philip Bailey, and TURN IT ON AGAIN as a member of Genesis. The songs are really good. Well worth listening to.

But despite these songs the rest of the music on the available radio stations isn't as good as Liberty City Stories. If you're an 80's guy you might disagree with me, but there really aren't any outstanding stations, and from my POV the only songs worth listening to are Mr.Collins' efforts. The multi-player feature from LCS is available once again, but to me this is a single player game through and through.

Overall Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories is an improvement on Liberty City Stories in all departments. Well, all except the music that is. If you don't have this game already then shame on you! You have to buy a copy now...unless you're under 18, in which case you have my sympathy for your predicament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 26 May 2007
By 
Mr. Adrian Ley "Leyster" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP) (Video Game)
2nd gta game ive ever played (san andreas the other)

the graphics are out of this world some of the cars look real

story line is another good one

only thing that lets it down is the garage bug (leave a vehicle in the garage and when you die or get arrested etc you lose your vehicle)but can easily live with it (just rob another one)

great game and worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP)
£11.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews