Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Football at it,s finest
What is it about Liverpool Football Club? Last season we had the astonishing Champions league Final, which a year down the line I'm still not sure how they won. Now this years F.A. Cup final has seen the team once again show incredible reserves of resilience and indomitable spirit to triumph again. There is never a dull game with them around.

Yet the first...
Published on 20 May 2006 by russell clarke

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Below expectation
Unfortunately the commenatary of the game is neither BBC or Sky Sports and is not quite to the same standard. It sounds like Ray Clemence is the co-commentator. Who does the commentary is a slight point but it just doesn't seem to have the same unbelievable element in fact I did wonder whether it was commentary done after the event.
Published on 16 Jun 2006 by M. MACMILLAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Football at it,s finest, 20 May 2006
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
What is it about Liverpool Football Club? Last season we had the astonishing Champions league Final, which a year down the line I'm still not sure how they won. Now this years F.A. Cup final has seen the team once again show incredible reserves of resilience and indomitable spirit to triumph again. There is never a dull game with them around.

Yet the first twenty minutes were eminently forgettable as West Ham pressed and closed Liverpool down who for their part couldn't have given the ball way with more alacrity if it had been painted black and with the word bomb in bright white letters. Once West Ham deservedly took the lead courtesy of Carraghers tangled feet the game became interesting. It became more interesting still when Reina fluffed a scuffed shot and the admirable Ashton nipped in to roll the ball in. Still Liverpool , who lets not forget were down 3-1 to Luton in an earlier round and came back to stirringly win 5-3(a game that is also included on the DVD along with the rather satisfying defeats of Manchester Utd and Chelsea), seem to possess bottomless depths of belief and character and thanks to Gerrards perceptive cross field pass and Cisses ( who up until this point had been hopeless) exemplary volley went in at half time 2-1 down.

Buoyed by that Liverpool piled on the pressure at the start of the second half and deservedly equalised when a knock down was lashed in by the mercurial Gerrard. The game ping ponged thrillingly between the two teams but West Ham squeezed ahead again when Koncheskys intended cross dropped over the rather flat footed Reina in to the top corner. West Hams game plan to sit back and keep Liverpool at arms length seemed to be working as players, most of them in red, started to tire and pull up with cramp, Gerrard among them. Which is why it came as even more of a shock when picking up a loose clearance from Scaloni (who had got the ball back after kicking it out because Cisse had collapsed with cramp) he sent, from fully 35 yards , a pile driver arrowing past Hislop. It was a real double take moment. West Ham still nearly snatched it when Reina tipped a misguided header? onto a post.

Extra time was a bit flat and farcical as energy levels collapsed and players dropped with fatigue and cramp. The penalty shoot out never quite resonated with the drama of Istanbul as Liverpool won with clinical efficiency though it was noticeable they all had sufficient vigour to sprint and envelop hero of the hour Reina.

I'm still not convinced it's the best final ever. The 79 final when Arsenal pipped Man Utd 3-2 was pretty exciting but by recent standards this was a revelation, and it was very well officiated and played in tremendous spirit. West Ham didn't deserve to lose but I don't buy the theory their luck deserted them. All their goals contained huge elements of luck, the third was a pure fluke and they had a gilt edged chance after half time to go 3-1 up and fluffed it. If they had Gerrard in their side they would have won ...and quite easily too. But Gerrard who lets not forget is a product of Liverpool's youth system is a rarity amongst modern footballers -a one club man. He was the difference, especially since other normally reliable performers such as Carragher and Hypia had poor games.

The DVD could do with more background to the final and certainly more analysis and the commentary is poor, but it once again stands as a testament to why sport is so vital to our national consciousness. The desire to fight and never give in once again exemplified by twenty two blokes kicking a ball around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, Unless you Were Actually There, 18 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, this was the greatest FA Cup Final of modern times. As one of the Liverpool fans lucky enough to have been at the great match, it is an event I will tell my grandchildren about. However, no DVD can ever capture what it was like.

The commentary is not the BBC original which (unsuprisingly) is the best and it fails to capture the wonderful spirit of the West Ham supporters (nothing but respect for them) or the deathly silence at the Liverpool end before Gerrard's second equaliser, as no one could see a way out. The game was wonderful, but the event was even better, and that simply cannot translate to the screen.

Having watched the wonder of Istanbul on TV, I find I can return to that easily, but having been there for this one, this DVD is just nothing to can compare to it.

As for the game? Liverpool were LUCKY! Every West Ham player deserved a winners medal for an extrordinary performance against all odds. Apart from Gerrard and maybe Hamman, the Liverpool team desrved to be on the losing team. But from the own goal to Ashton's poached strike to Cisse bringing the Reds back into it, Konchesky's fluke effort, Gerrard's heroic stunner in stoppage time (Ricky Villa eat your heart out!), Reina tipping the ball onto the post in the last minute of extra time, Harewood's miss and then the penalties, the game had everything.

Great game, but if you were in Cardiff on that memorable day, you might find this DVD underwhelming. But if you do buy it, freeze frame at 57:50 to see me on the side of the picture (red hair and dusty coloured jacket) doing my nut! Da da da, da da da, I fell in to the burning ring of fire...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Below expectation, 16 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately the commenatary of the game is neither BBC or Sky Sports and is not quite to the same standard. It sounds like Ray Clemence is the co-commentator. Who does the commentary is a slight point but it just doesn't seem to have the same unbelievable element in fact I did wonder whether it was commentary done after the event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
Not the result I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Day Out !!!!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
Just brought back the great memories!!!!! Kept the other quiet for a couple of hours as well!!!! What a day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
love this DVD of my team wining the fa cup back in 2006 i enjoy witching it and i will be replacing all my videos t some point
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great to watch, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
up the irons as we say at upton park,was there to watch this at cardiff,brings back memoriies,up the hammers,result wasnt good though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only the commentary stops me giving the 5th star, 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
Now 1st off, I am not a fan of either team, just a fan of football. I have been watching the FA cup final for well over 30 years and was really beginning to wonder whether we would ever see a "classic" again.
Well here it is, a match that took me back to how I remember, through rose-coloured specs no doubt, cup finals used to be played. A classic match, hard fought to the death by both teams, and a wonderful performance by Mr Gerrard (I cant wait till he does that regularly for England!).
My only gripe, as per other reviews, is the poor commentary. Not the BBC one which, as has been sugessted, would be the best to have used I'm sure. Guess its a licencing thing. Still a great match well worth even non WHU or LFC fans getting hold of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fa cup final 2006, 8 Mar 2008
By 
C. Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
A absolute amazing final definetly the best ive ever seen, with an outstanding display from steven gerrard. A great dvd which shows the whole 120 mins plus penaltys and the road to cardiff for both teams.
The only downside for me and most other reviews ive looked at is the commentary, disapointing it wasnt the bbc or sky sports. But a great dvd which even man utd fans i think might enjoy!!

overall - great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Gerrard Genious (yet again), 6 Jun 2006
By 
N. G. Roberts "nat_r_1988" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] (DVD)
This game was probably the best FA Cup Final EVER!(well in my lifetime anyway) I will never forget it and thought no match could beat the Champions League Final but then this one came. West Ham took a surprising lead but low and behold for the second consecutive year Gerrard lead his team to a superb victory. Two classic strikes by the man him self with one in the dieing moments turned it on its head. A great match lets hope Gerrard can perform like this during the World Cup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD]
Fa Cup Final: 2006 - The Gerrard Final [DVD] by 2006 Fa Cup Final (DVD - 2006)
9.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews