Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2010
Lem Siddons ( played by Fred MacMurray ) is not getting any younger, so when he stops off at a small town which looks like a nice place to settle down in , he gets a job at the local store and sets about wooing the woman who caught his eye the moment he arrived. He also volunteers to become scoutmaster to the boys in the town and is a resounding success. The lovely Vera Miles plays Vida Downey, whom Lem marries, and Kurt Russell plays Whitey, a troubled youngster whose father is an alcoholic.
At over two hours in length, this movie could easily have got bogged down half-way through, but it always maintains its interest and has a good balance of light-heartedness and sentimentality.
Fred MacMurray was a fine and very likeable actor who spent much of his acting career playing tough and sometimes vulnerable characters, starring in a number of westerns and also films noirs -- most notably 'Double Indemnity' ( 1944 ) with Barbara Stanwyck. In later years, he changed tack and became more of a boys' father figure. The long-running TV series 'My Three Sons' is a prime example, and of course 'Follow Me Boys' was only one of several Disney movies in which he played similar characters.
Highly recommended. My only gripe is that the movie is in pan and scan, whereas I believe it was originally released in widescreen.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
Once again that Fred Mcmurray proved to be the best man for this kind movie. Pure entertainment with some laugh, adventure, and drama. I always happy to watch the story of an idealistic dedicated man and strongly believe that there must be this kind of man still remain in this world. The story of a jazz musician who turned to be a scout master may sound dated but it's still work for anyone who's looking for an above-average feel good movie. Kurt Russell was very youg but very good in his part.Only a few Disney's movies mentioned of death, this one did and presented it in very natural way.

Satisfactory picture quality.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
I loved this film. Good to see a young Kurt Russell as a rebellious and troubled teen turning his life around after joining the Scouts. Although it's an old film, it didn't seem dated, just a good story, acted well, with some laughs and poignant moments thrown in. Catchy tune too! Wish they'd make more like this one these days.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
This is a charming, extended advert for Scouting in America. It's gentle and unassuming, the episode about the war games is brilliant. I really enjoyed the film and can remember loving it as a child, hence I was delighted to be able to get a copy on DVD.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
What a contrast with the reality of Scouting today! I wonder where things went wrong? Although it is an enjoyable story for its own sake it may also to make you think about how much children today have been deprived of their freedom and how much trust has been lost ....... for what?. Definitely recommended from nearly every point of view, not least of all as a feel good film in the best old tradition..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
OK, this is sentimental corn - but it's by Disney (who were masters of the art at this time) and it gives us a warm, affectionate look at small-town America during the 'Golden Age'. Even better, it stars Fred McMurray, who gives a skillful performance as Lem Siddons, the trainee Lawyer who gives it all up to get married (to the lovely Vera Miles), settle down and head up the local Scout Troop. McMurray seems to hit just the right note throughout. It's all light-hearted stuff, but it does touch upon adult themes, quite darkly at times. One such scene is when Whitey's alchoholic father turns up at the meeting to serve up some melting ice-cream. Whitey's horror and embarrassment is most touching. I'm not afraid to say there were a few occasions where I almost had to reach for my hankie, and the ending is just so nice. A perfect Sunday Afternoon film. Just one complaint - why was it hacked down from 1.66:1 to 1.33:1 for this release?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2008
good old fasioned family film a must watch for all ages.you dont know what your missing.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
A most enjoyable family film: an itinerate musician settles down in a small American town called Hickory. Most of the towns offspring's are boys. This new citizen takes on the task of Scout Master and does a good job in keeping the boys out of mischief....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Of it's day but non the less appealed to 10 - 14 year olds as their evening winter expedition midnight movie. Great to se an early aged later well known actor. Many thanks for keeping it going Fred Macmurray at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
a good plot line in this film. very happy that I was able to buy this golden oldie at such a reasonable price. Another one to add to my ever growing collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)