Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little niggles aside, Forza 2 is a hugely enjoyable driving game.
This review will probably just follow the same pattern as the others in highlighting just how brilliant this game is.

The car handling is best compared to the Gran Turismo series and I can honestly say that Forza 2 comes out on top. Not by much, but there is definitely a bit more "feel" in the cars when playing Forza 2. Also the damage model adds a welcome dose...
Published on 21 Jun 2007 by Mr. D. Bell

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gameplay suffers for graphics
I've been playing this game for about a week now and I am generally very pleased with it. This game as the potential to be one of the all time great driving sims, but it's let down in some key areas.

The driving physics are excellent. It takes a lot of effort to master and serious concentration to extract a series of quick laps. If you're too rough in any...
Published on 14 Jan 2008 by A. Armstrong


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little niggles aside, Forza 2 is a hugely enjoyable driving game., 21 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. D. Bell "Dan Bell" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This review will probably just follow the same pattern as the others in highlighting just how brilliant this game is.

The car handling is best compared to the Gran Turismo series and I can honestly say that Forza 2 comes out on top. Not by much, but there is definitely a bit more "feel" in the cars when playing Forza 2. Also the damage model adds a welcome dose of realism when compared to Gran Turismo which obviously has none. Rumour circulated for a long time that the car manufacturers would not let Sony "damage" their cars in games which is why there was no damage model built into any Gran Turismo games. I recently saw a video on "you tube" by one of the developers of Forza 2 who said this was "total crap" and that once a games manufacturer has the car licence they can pretty much do with it whatever they want.

Forza 2 is by no means perfect though. Some of the tracks feel a bit flat and a lot of them feel as if they are just tracks with the odd spectator stand built in random places around the circuit. Nott many of the circuits seem to have any real depth or character. When compared to "Toca race driver 3" on the PS2 I can't help feeling that the 360 is not really being pushed to the limits in the graphics department. It is also disappointing to see that all the races are in perfect conditions and there are no changes in the weather. It would have been fun trying to control a Ferrari Enzo in the pouring rain around Silverstone for example.

Another problem is the way some of the tournaments are structured. A lot of them are three race series and rather than a points system, you need to win each race to win the tournament. For a game which prides itself on realism I can't think of any motor sport where you need to win every race rather than have the most points at the end of it.

Little niggles aside this is an essential purchase for lovers of car games. There are so many races that you will literally be playing this for months.

One word of warning, don't be tempted to pay the extra money for the limited edition. The book enclosed has interviews with the developers, some car/manufacturer history and driving tips. It doesn't tell you anything you couldn't easily find on the internet and the three extra cars are not really worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forza is by far the best driving game out, 6 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The car handling is best compared to the Gran Turismo series and I can honestly say that Forza 2 comes out on top. Not by much, but there is definitely a bit more "feel" in the cars when playing Forza 2. Also the damage model adds a welcome dose of realism when compared to Gran Turismo which obviously has none. Rumour circulated for a long time that the car manufacturers would not let Sony "damage" their cars in games which is why there was no damage model built into any Gran Turismo games. I recently saw a video on "you tube" by one of the developers of Forza 2 who said this was "total crap" and that once a games manufacturer has the car licence they can pretty much do with it whatever they want.

Forza 2 is by no means perfect though. Some of the tracks feel a bit flat and a lot of them feel as if they are just tracks with the odd spectator stand built in random places around the circuit. Nott many of the circuits seem to have any real depth or character. When compared to "Toca race driver 3" on the PS2 I can't help feeling that the 360 is not really being pushed to the limits in the graphics department. It is also disappointing to see that all the races are in perfect conditions and there are no changes in the weather. It would have been fun trying to control a Ferrari Enzo in the pouring rain around Silverstone for example.

Another problem is the way some of the tournaments are structured. A lot of them are three race series and rather than a points system, you need to win each race to win the tournament. For a game which prides itself on realism I can't think of any motor sport where you need to win every race rather than have the most points at the end of it.

Little niggles aside this is an essential purchase for lovers of car games. There are so many races that you will literally be playing this for months.

One word of warning, don't be tempted to pay the extra money for the limited edition. The book enclosed has interviews with the developers, some car/manufacturer history and driving tips. It doesn't tell you anything you couldn't easily find on the internet and the three extra cars are not really worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a bit dissapointing for the fans of Forza 1, 29 Aug 2007
By 
O. C. Manley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Get ready to read a lengthy review, this highlights the main highs and lows of the game!

This is a very good game, no doubts there; excellent graphics, highly realistic gameplay, huge selection of cars, excellent sound, massive customisation features.
the major problem with this game is the lack of tracks, there just arent enough, and not enough of them are really good enough. there is suposedly about 30 different tracks, which is a lie. theres about 10 tracks, then about 10 varients of one really long boring difficult track, then aload of reversed versions of most of the tracks.

fans of the previous game will be dissapointed with the loss of some of their favourite tracks, as well as the lack of new tracks - theres lots of tracks from the previous game, and only a handful of brand new ones, so not much new material for a new game.

another annoyance is the lack of some of the newest and most up to date cars. theres plenty of cars in the game, but its annoying to find that theres lots of old ones, instead of the newer, better versions, e.g. the old shape honda civic type R instead of the brand new one, the koenigsegg cc instead of the newer much faster ccr or ccx, and many more examples.

the car painting tools are good, and vastly improved from the previous game, but there are still flaws, one annoying one being that the positioning of graphics can wander slightly from where you origionally put them, most noticably when you spent time carefully centering a nice set of viper stripes on your car, only to find in-game that they are wonky for no reason.

The online play is very good. for such a demanding game, the online quality is quite flawless with no lag (only when a players connection is bad) and vastly improved loading times for customised cars (the loading time for races is quite long). the only real problem with online racing is the terrible skill or attitude that some players tend to have (as in all games) very annoying to be doing a perfect race, to suddenly have some idiot smash into the back of your car for fun to ruin your race.

I still do enjoy playing this game, but it has hardly provided the same replay value that the predecessor gave (many many months), as its just quite boring, repetitive, and frustrating now. i do occasionally give it a good go now and then, but i have found that i have returned to test drive unlimited!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gameplay suffers for graphics, 14 Jan 2008
By 
A. Armstrong (Aylesbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been playing this game for about a week now and I am generally very pleased with it. This game as the potential to be one of the all time great driving sims, but it's let down in some key areas.

The driving physics are excellent. It takes a lot of effort to master and serious concentration to extract a series of quick laps. If you're too rough in any area (steering, braking, accelerating, choosing your line) you'll lose a lot of time. These are all good things in my book and make it extremely rewarding when you do well.

The graphics are very good. All the cars are extremely realistic. The environments aren't quite so detailed, but if you're playing properly you shouldn't leave the track so it doesn't really matter! The game runs consistently at a silky smooth 60 frames per second, creating a fantastic feeling of speed. Personally I think the brake discs glow too bright and too easily and the cars can be a bit too shiny, but it's pleasing to look at all the same. There's nothing to fault here.

Unfortunately this is where it gets frustrating. This is yet another racing game dominated by the American and Japanese markets. There are hardly any real tracks in the game and only 3 from Europe (Nordschleife, Mugello and Silverstone). This seems like a very poor representation of what Europe has to offer.

It's the same on the car front. There are plenty of cars from Europe, but why do we need 5 types of Honda Civic!?! This seems especially silly when the customization side of the game makes it possible to spec any civic (or even a proper car) to almost any class of racing. 7 British brands are represented, but there are no cars from Lotus, TVR, Jag, Vauxhall or Aston Martin in any of the Race classes, yet there are 5 Racing Corvettes and 7 Racing Vipers (11 Vipers in total!!)! The game is packed with endless tuner versions of Jap cars and horrible American cars. Australia is under represented too. A couple of variations of Holden's excellent Monaro make it in, but neither with a Holden badge..

Now onto the racing itself. I've heard a lot of people raving about the AI, saying it's incredible. I'm sorry, but it just isn't. The AI drivers do not race, they just go round and round. Left to their own devices the other drivers will follow each other at the speed of the car in front lap after lap. They only seem to be able to pass when one car has a big power advantage. They constantly compromise their exits from corners to stay on the exact racing line while not touching the car in front, even if it's 2-3 seconds a lap slower. Even if they do get an overlap, they tend to give up early or commit themselves to a horrible line and end up falling even further behind. You'd think this would make them conservative when it comes to overtaking the player, but if you're not precisely on the racing line they'll happily stick their nose up your inside and spin you off the track. Compared to a real sim like total immersion racing (a previous gen game in every other respect) the AI is way off the mark. (this is the highest difficulty setting, I haven't played on the lower settings. If you're any good at racing games you won't need to.)

The race formats are odd too. You start in the order of who's got the best car, there's no practice, no qualifying, no option for fuel load and no weather. In races where you need to pit for fuel, you have to start with a full tank. You can't do a splash and dash because your tyres go off pretty quickly, so you're forced to pit for fuel when you've still got plenty!

In summary, Turn 10 have done a great job with the physics and the graphics, but they've left out everything else that makes the difference between an arcade game and a sim. If I have to have arcade race formats and arcade AI, I'd rather have arcade physics. I've ordered PGR 4 and when it arrives I predict FM2 will get pretty dusty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forza Motorsport 2 Review, 7 Jun 2007
By 
Dann The Man "UK Bricktop" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got my copy of the game on the 6th June, luckily a shop near to me got it in a bit early. So far i have completed the first league of racing and i can say, although im in the " not so fast " cars it is brilliant fun. The handling is very realistic, the graphics are brilliant eye candy and what makes it even better is the damage.

I havent really gone into the Auction House yet to sell/buy cars from other players online, but i have tried out the " Gift Car" feature, which allows players to give cars to one another if they are your xbox live friends.

The customisation of the cars is great too, body kits, decals, vinyls can all be added to make your car unique. The paint schemes are also very good, with metallic, pearlescent and manufacturers colours.

This is a very good racing simulation and will keep on being a brilliant game for years, one of the best racing games i have ever played.

A definite must buy for any racing fan, give your XBox something nice to play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A finely tuned simulation racer - superb!, 2 Jun 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a real example of what a next-generation console can do. With the power of the 360, you get the racing and graphics hinted at in PS2 / Xbox games, but with a never-faltering framerate and of course more detailed visuals. The game's strongpoint is its physics engine; it is sublime. I've played some great PC sim racers, and this one on the 360 is right up there. It is incredibly realistic and satisfying to play. It's difficult (try turning off some or all of the assists) - but not annoyingly so. A 4WD Audi TT grips the tarmac as you'd imagine, whilst a 70's Porsche 911 is a delight to slide out the back end and regain control. Enemy AI is pretty good, and you are penalised for crashes which makes the racing far more tense than the PS / PS2 / PS3 GT series (which I have always really liked) - though I must admit I haven't worked out how exactly you are penalised, as the time penalties don't seem to be 'awarded'. Compared with the GT games, the handling / physics is perhaps even better, but the graphics aren't quite as good as GT5 Prologue, (or for example PGR4). However, they are realistic and do the job nicely, with superb cars, reflections, and decent tracks and scenery. I'm playing Forza 2 using a Logitech wheel, and it feels superb - just like my PS2 Logitech wheel. Read a few forums to choose between this and the Microsoft one.

I recently needed a pre-1975 American muscle-car to enter an amateur series. I bought a '68 Pontiac GTO and entered the race without modifying anything (not even tyres). What a race! The feeling of weight was dramatic and really authentic, with the brakes and associated inertia incredibly accurate. You can't cheat the physics, if you break heavily at the wrong point in a turn, you'll just carry on and understeer, or slide and miss the apex. The whole feel of the races was really dramatic and tense, I'm now looking forward to `modding' this car and taking it out again. The feel was similar to the amazing GT Legends on PC, in which I loved racing big old Jaguars from the 60's.

All in all, this is proper next-gen console racing, and as such has to be the best driving game I've ever played. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 10 Jun 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was feeling rather unsure about buying this game, having downloaded the demo from XBOX live. The demo seemed almost impossible to play. The graphics and speed of the demo were slow and the computer controlled opponents are extremely hard to beat. I was rather put off, but I thought I will take a risk and buy the full game, hoping that the level set in the demo was hard and that by owning the full game you would be able to pick better cars and tune them. AM I glad I did buy the full game. The gameplay is much better, and it allows part time gamers like me, and beginners to get into the game slowly and once you get some credits into your bank, you can buy upgrades and the game begins to get easier. Beware though, buy the wrong car (a slow one) and the competition will leave you standing.

Overall then, its a great game and one that is worth sticking with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great racer but could have more variation, 30 Jun 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'll keep this short.

Pros:

- Great handling: You can really *drive* these cars and the way they respond is spot on

- Good depth: Plenty of races to keep you challenged

- Good graphics: Not "fall out of your chair" brilliant but good enough to make the game immersive

- Choose your own level: Forza 2 isn't a game to play with the default options set. You need to upgrade your car and set the assists appropriately to ensure you get a good close race.

Cons:

- Static weather: the sun is always shining in Forza 2. There's no rain, no snow, just constant sunshine

- No night driving: It's always bright daylight in this game

- No really exciting tracks: I know this is a "serious" game but a few fun tracks wouldn't have gone amiss

- Limited range of competitions: Generally it's just an endless set of three race tournaments. Some more interesting race types would have been welcome

Overall:

I love racing games so this is automatically a good game for me. If racing games aren't your thing however you may find it a little staid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Racing SIM ever!, 7 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is a monster of a car sim. Over 300 cars, with a high chance of more being release as a DLC. You can customize your car down to the nearest detail. You could spend hours just deciding on a paint job or you could just make your own!!. The Auction house is a great feature of this game, it gives you the chance to sell and buy vechicles of fellow gamers via XBOX live. The physics of the driving are as close to real life as possible. Great graphics, great handling, great customisation and brilliant multiplayer. In a nut shell its the best racing sim ever made. BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good!, 1 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. B. LAWRENCE "Trumpet" (Shoreham-by-Sea, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got this game included with my xbox, so i wasnt expecting much. However, it is utterly great!

I'm not a huge fan of racing games, but this really has a lot to offer. It's a massive game with great graphics, loads of tracks, thousands of cars. It's got a great single player mode.

Online play is fantastic. You can choose any track, any car, play loads of other real people. There are no problems online. YOu all talk to each other as you play too which makes it hilarious!

I think if i were really into racing games I'd give this a 5, but as i prefer games like Halo then i'll give it a 4.5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360)
Forza Motorsport 2 (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£8.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews