Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have I bought a Betamax??
Got the HD player for Christmas and I am really delighted with the quality of picture/sound that it gives out. For the price you really cannot beat it, the player also upscales normal DVD's so all my DVD's HD or not look great!
I also took adavantage of the 5 free HD DVD's from Microsoft which is superb, 5 free DVD's for nothing so that made the whole deal even...
Published on 28 Feb 2008 by H. Evans

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HDMI surround support
if you are using the HDMI output on the xbox360 and it not connected to a surround sound system via hdmi or digital optical then there will be NO sound. However if you are using the crappy xbox cable then there will be no need to use surround sound.
Also this drive is noisy i would either recommend a Blu ray player which is an alive format, or a toshiba hd dvd...
Published on 5 April 2009 by D. Pickering


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have I bought a Betamax??, 28 Feb 2008
By 
H. Evans (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Got the HD player for Christmas and I am really delighted with the quality of picture/sound that it gives out. For the price you really cannot beat it, the player also upscales normal DVD's so all my DVD's HD or not look great!
I also took adavantage of the 5 free HD DVD's from Microsoft which is superb, 5 free DVD's for nothing so that made the whole deal even better.

The only dark cloud on the Horizon is that Toshiba are no longer going to support this format, which means that the Xbox 360 is shortly going to be the only way that you can view HD DVD's. How many movie companies will produce HD films on this basis?? I doubt very few if any. It seems that Blue Ray is going to win out.

The only way that I can see this format being saved is if the coming Xbox 360 Ultimate has the HD player bulit in (as rumoured) and there are massive sales resulting in a demand for the HD format and other HD players.
Unfortunately I think it is unlikely. So in short its a great player but you may have nothing new to play on it before long!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars come on jump in and enjoy the movie!, 13 Aug 2007
By 
K. Ng "Digi.k" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I too just made the upgrade to the HD DVD drive for the xbox 360.

Setting this up seems pretty straight forward and yes your xbox 360 needs to have connection to the internet so that it can download some updates. This won't take long.

The package and features include:
External HD DVD drive
Remote Controller and batteries
The HD DVD drive has 2 extra USB ports
installation disc and manual
Cable to connect HD DVD drive to the back of your 360
Requires its own power supply but thankfully its a lot smaller than the brick that you need for the 360.

Picture quality is great, again, as other reviewers have stated you will not really notice that much of a difference between the HD DVD's and standard DVDs but to be honest to really notice the improved detail quality, hook it up to a huge projector or massive 40+ in" LCD/Plasma TV and then play your old standard dvds on it and then say you can't notice any difference!

Also it might help if you change the resolution settings on your xbox 360 display (ie 720P, 1080i and 1080P if your TV supports these resolutions) plus use either component/VGA/HDMI cable instead of the composite (ie red/white and yellow connectors) These will give you a much noticable difference. But again what cable you can use will depend on what connections your TV/monitor can accept.

Another great thing about the HD DVD drive is that all HD DVD's are region free so you can play Asian, Japanese, USA, UK and European HD DVD movies in your HD DVD drive (This does NOT apply to standard DVDs). I recently purchased a HD DVD that had quite a lot of scratches and it played fine Plus you can hook the external HD DVD drive to your pc and watch movies on there (provided your pc is powerful enough to do that)..

One last thing is that the external drive is quiet and don't heat up to crazy temperatues during operation, and after watching HD DVD's and other standard DVDs, taking them out of the drive and feeling how cool they are to the touch is assuring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PC Compatible, 10 Aug 2007
By 
R. Trainer (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Just a thought...since it has USB leads, I've tried to run it through the PC to watch Hot Fuzz & it worked!!! It recognised it straight away and was up and running in no time. So if you want you can bypass the 360 and use it on the computer instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Piece of Kit, 15 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Just popped in Star Wars Revenge of the Sith and was blown away by what I saw! The picture quality is much higher than just in the standard 360 drive. So it confirms that it does indeed upscale using the VGA cable. I didn't find it noisy with the film on either. You can also play American discs as well so if you look at US Amazon you can browse through the many upcoming releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, a great add on, 29 Mar 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
The Xbox 360 HD-DVD drive add on is great. I got one of the earlier packs with King Kong. I opened it out of the box and it look good sitting next to the 360. I put the disc in and there's a quick update which takes no more than a few seconds and I was up an running within a couple of minutes.

The picture quality was very good, I was used to the upscaling through VGA and I think it is an improvement. As I only have King Kong on HD DVD I can't really compare the quality to the DVD release, but I watched a few minutes of a standard DVD upscaling and switched to this, the HD-DVD picture was clearly better, sharper and more vibrant. Upscaling vs HD - HD is definitely better, if you want the best, buy the best!

I can't wait to buy some more, Bourne Supremacy is on its way at the moment.

The only downside is there is a lack of titles at the moment really, and a strange array of old releases to go with brand new releases, also the cost, HD DVD's are going to set you back £17+ each at the moment but prices are coming down.

Its a great buy, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys watching DVD's once or twice (or more) a week. You might want to hold out until later in the year though for more titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can you go wrong at this Price, 3 Sep 2007
By 
Dr. Simon John Prowse (Preston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
As previously mentioned this is available from £99 from certain high street games outlets.
Having recently bought a 37inch LCD I was a little disappointed with the quality of terrestial television. Anyone who has a HD tv will know what I mean - get too close and you can see the blockiness of the SD picture.

Like many people I was reluctant to "buy into" either bluray or HD-DVD at this early stage. However as I already have an XBOX 360 spending £100 to find out what the HD hype is really about wasn't too agonising a decision.

So far I have watched King Kong and Serenity on this player.

I know there have been mixed reviews on picture quality but let me assure you - if you output this player to a decent HD ready TV you will not be dissapointed. Colours look vivid and beuautifuuly saturated whilst the level of detail is breathtaking. You can pick out the individual beads of sweat and pores on an actors face and huge amounts of extra background detail.

It really is impressive.
FOr £100 - a real bargain.
Even if BluRay wins the day you haven't lost a great deal have you??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value until the format war pans out, 13 July 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
For the money this is an excellent product:

Good Points:

The picture, particularly on large screens (42"+) is outstanding, I've got mine on a projector and the difference to standard DVD is very noticable.

They've now fixed the sound - it was very, very poor initially but a dashboard update has fixed this and it's now pretty good (just make sure you're connected to xbox live).

Bad points:

It's noisy - it's roughly the same noise level as a game, which can be distracting in quiet movie scenes.

It's not a massive leap on small screens - 32" or less and you might wonder what all the fuss is about. Obviously not worth it if you don't have an HDTV!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living the High (definition) Life!, 26 Oct 2007
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Microsoft is really pushing HD-DVD as an alternative to Sony's Blu-ray, mostly for obvious reasons, but if you already have an Xbox 360, it's clear to see where the advantage lies; the price. However, running them side by side, there is little difference to choose between them.

The HD DVD drive is a small unit, about a 3rd of the size of the 360 itself and stands either upright or flat, just like the 360. It simply plugs into the USB port on the back of the 360 and in to the mains. If you use the USB port on the back of your 360 already, don't worry, as the drive comes with 2 extra USB ports.

The only thing I found awkward was keeping the wireless network device connected to the back of the 360 and running the USB to the HD Drive, however, you can just leave this lying loose on the back of the HD DVD drive if you want.

Picture-wise this is amazing on a VGA monitor or HD TV. If set up correctly (in either 1080i or 1080p if your TV supports it) you'll notice the difference straight away. Even on my 17" monitor I could see the improvement. However, if you connect via the composite cable or even scart (why?!), you'll need to think about getting a VGA cable, or HDMI if you are lucky to have one of the newer Xbox 360s that have this, to get the best picture. Unless you use one of these methods you won't get upscaling on DVDs either, which give you a vast improvement over standard DVD pictures. I'd recommend VGA as I use it myself.

Sound can be output through the 360 in the usual way (through the TV or through an external amp via the optical cable) and the drive supports the usual standard sound formats.

Negative points can be given for the noise, partly the fault of the 360 itself (though newer models tend to be quieter) and partly the drive. It's not too bad if you're listening in a large room, but in a small bedroom or study it can be a bit off-putting during the quiet moments of a film.

For the price, this beats anything out there at the moment, and with the price cut on the 360 it's tempting even if you don't have the games console yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad investment reallys, 24 May 2008
By 
A. Marsh "marshalex" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
With the price of HD-DVDs dropping all the time, with some of them now being cheaper than some of the regular dvd editions this isn't a bad little addition for the xbox 360. bundled with a media remote as well you can enjoy some of the great films that are on HD-DVD for a fraction of the cost of blu-ray at the moment. Overall not a bad buy if you want to watch some cheap high def movies and have a 360
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HD DVD - Unbeleivable picture / quality - Defunct but still Good!!, 20 Oct 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I have only just bought an XBOX 360 (October 2008!)and decided to also shell out £40 on the HD DVD player for the 360. I know alot of you will think I am mad as it is now a defunct system, but believe me I am very happy with the quality of the films I am buying! I also own a Blu Ray player and I actually prefer the quality of picture on HD DVD's! I think BD are far too expensive at present and seeing as I bought loads of HD DVD films from HMV for just £3 each, so I am well happy. It is easy to buy loads of cheap HD DVD's from the USA, and my collection of HD DVD's grows by the day! All in all, a very good system, beaten by the sheer might of Sony and the PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360)
Xbox 360 HD DVD Player (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £14.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews