Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go, its quite good!
Bought this the day it came out after seeing some previews of the game.
Really really good game, great combat and the added bonus of saving people while the city around you falls to pieces is great! Some of the cut scenes are abit long but it does add atmosphere esecially the car chasing / gun fight on the bridge ;) Go play it and be amazed at decent graphics on the...
Published on 29 Oct. 2008 by K Geil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good graphics but a bit dull.
I prefer Wii games that involve a bit of activitiy, as that's sort of the point of having one, but I got this due to the graphics and because it sounded more interesting than a bog-standard FPS. It is entertaining for a while - you have to make your way through a post-disaster scenario, collected food and supplies and using them to help yourself and others out of sticky...
Published 22 months ago by BJB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go, its quite good!, 29 Oct. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
Bought this the day it came out after seeing some previews of the game.
Really really good game, great combat and the added bonus of saving people while the city around you falls to pieces is great! Some of the cut scenes are abit long but it does add atmosphere esecially the car chasing / gun fight on the bridge ;) Go play it and be amazed at decent graphics on the wii for once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game on the Wii, 17 Dec. 2009
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
Wow, now THIS is more like it!

A fun, engrossing action game that is just the perfect length, makes genuinely good use of the Wii's controls, has bags of variety in it's gameplay, a truly enjoyable plot that serves as a mish mash homage to countless action and disaster movies like Cliffhanger, Dante's Peak, Day after Tomorrow and several others, and some truly impressive visuals combine to form one of the best games I have played this generation and the single best game I have played on the Wii.

Playing as former marine and 'international rescue team' member Raymond Bryce, the game has you desperately fighting your way through the armies of terrorist organisation SURGE(Seriously) in an attempt to rescue the sister of Raymond's dead friend in a city that is being ripped apart by disasters and is threatened with annihilation if SURGE gets to use their nuclear bombs. The plot is absolutely OTT bonkers crazy in the best way possible. It never takes itself too seriously, but manages to avoid self parody for the most part. This is FUN stuff.

Played mostly from a third person perspective, the game has a lot in common with underrated PS2 disaster simulator SOS The Final Escape in it's execution, but Disaster is MUCH more polished and smooth to play, with some truly astounding use of scale in some of it's set pieces as sky scrapers collapse around you as you run down city streets and lava chases you as you drive down ash covered mountain roads. The game looks great for a Wii title and offers and excellently tense experience, and that's before you get to the other aspects of the gameplay, which consist mostly of the driving and shooting sections. Driving sections are a little tricky to master I thought, using the Wii remote alone as a "steering wheel" as racing games on the Wii do, these are the weakest parts of the game, but even then are still really well done. Combat plays more or less the same as classic Namco Playstation/Arcade shooter series 'Time Crisis', with a cover based light gun type affair conveying the shoot outs in a suitably over the top manner, but not to the point where they outstay their welcome. All the differing sections are well balanced throughout.

Nothing more can really be said about this title than it is a definitive must buy. This is not code language, you MUST buy this game now if you have a Wii and have not yet played it, especially with the price so low now.

Phenomenal stuff, just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If this were a film....., 29 Oct. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
It would be a blockbuster, one of those summer blockbusters you wouldn't forget.
The gameplay is fantastic and isn't just a shoot 'em up, but it has everything a true disaster film could have, shoot outs, driving through natural disasters, rescue and aid kidnapped victims.
The downside to this game are the graphics which are a little shakey in places. I have read that the voice overs aren't too great, but for me they are fine and don't pose much of a problem at all.
I actually purchased this game due to an email sent from Nintendo otherwise I would have passed it by. It has a great feel to it although the tension is less than what I expected to feel, but there are some points which make you jump!
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 15 Nov. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
I love this game, I love natural disasters and thats why i bought it, but was still really surprised. I've never been into shoot 'em up games, and this has quite a bit of shooting, but i enjoy it. Great graphics, i've been playing it for about a week and still not even half way through it.
It's a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Restoring my faith in the Wii!, 8 Jun. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of the third person genre & I only bought a Wii recently after discovering I could get some of my favourite 3rd person PS2 games for it - with updated graphics & better controls. I figured that if Resident Evil 4 (made for Wii in 2007) was even better than the PS2 original, then there would, by now, be a great deal of original Wii games to choose from that were at least of a similar standard...and they'd be CHEAP - which they usually are.
After quite a few disappointments I stumbled across this game for £3 and took it home not expecting too much - & it's great! First things first, the controls are incredibly simple & the initial stages are just challenging enough to draw you in. Secondly, neither the cut scenes or the story line are over-elaborate or too invasive & I don't have to sit through 5 minutes of dialogue every ten seconds thinking 'this is all fine & dandy, but I want to play a computer game!' - the game cuts right to the chase & the main focus is almost instantly the gameplay itself, complimented with well-woven cinematics. That intuitive sense of who your character is that is essential to all good 3rd person games is easy to find through the fluid, evolving action based gameplay.
The graphics aren't amazing, the characters aren't particularly stylish or interesting - this game is all about action & FUN!
So far I'm hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
Andy Barnard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
I didn't have high expectations for this game but actually it's a pleasant surprise. The graphics are pretty good (for the Wii) and the controls well thought out and responsive, especially in the driving parts. It does take a little getting into as the first few sections seem to stop an awful lot to either explain controls or go to cut scenes. Once you get past this it's pretty good fun.
The shooting parts play like Time Crisis, whilst the rest is walking around rescuing people. There aren't any puzzles to solve and it's not a particularly difficult game to finish but it does hold your attention.
Minus points are the storyline and dialogue (dire), and some of the cut scenes seem to go on forever. This does seem to be a bit of a shame as there looks to have been a lot of effort put into this game and I don't think it would have taken much to shape it into something really special. Overall though it's definitely worth a go, especially as you can pick it up so cheaply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Takes me back, 24 Dec. 2008
By 
P. Austin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
The Wii is rightly a family console but those family/casuel games only take the console so far. The Wii needs hardcore games and this is one. It is like being in a B-Movie where you are doing and witnessing loads of different moments all kept together by fast action and cheesy dialogue.

As with all Wii games the graphics have a few jaggies but the game creates some real tense atmosphere as you watch then run away from oncoming major disasters.

It reminds me of games created years ago that had the same concept but could not pull off the graphics or controller actions the consoles now can. Waited for it to get discounted on price and it was well worth the money. The Wii needs these kinds of games roll on fatal frame IV, the conduit and Cursed Mountain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best wii game, 21 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
it's unbelievable that, wii remote can do so many things. in this game you can run fast by moving nunchuk & remote together, you can shoot like time crisis game, you can drive like mario kart...and so many things. 5 stars fun, sure buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Far from a Disaster..., 10 April 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
I love natural disasters. And before you say I'm some sort of depraved death-crazed idiot... um, forgot where I was going with that.

Anyway, due to my love of the forces of nature (not the film), I set my heart on picking this game up (as soon as I could find it for less than a tenner of course). I was not disappointed - the game is made up of three parts - third person adventure (most of the time); first person shooter (a lot of the time) and driving (a bit). The adventure aspects are extremely varied and involve a lot of running away from stuff, rescuing people (or dogs) and kicking in boxes; but it is the environments which really bring the game into it's own - travelling from volcanic mountains (or volcanoes) to fire-ravaged parks and ruined tower blocks which emphasise the pain and suffering that the poor residents of these places are going through... a bit like Bedford town centre, but without a WHSmiths.

The shooting sections can be quite repetitive and sometimes tedious, as there are a limited number of enemy types and the bosses don't add much to the equation. There are various upgrades for weaponry, but the shotguns, rocket launchers, crossbows and machine guns have so many weaknesses that you are better off sticking with the basic pistol and upgrading it throughout the game. I would have also liked more driving sections as they are good fun (certainly not realistic, but good fun). Going from memory, I think it took about 12 hours to complete all in all, and there are plenty of interesting tit-bits (not rude) of information about natural disasters which are worth reading, and a few collectibles (like different T-shirts) and extra civilians to rescue if you play it again.

The last word will probably be on the storyline - cheesy, but if you like action films like Die Hard, Terminator and Rambo, then you'll definately enjoy the characterisation and humour. Raymond Bryce is the man that we all want to be. In fact, I desparately want to find out what hair gel he uses - sweat-proof is one thing, but lava-earthquake-fire-tsunami-bullet-explosion-smoke-monsoon-hurricane-proof is something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
Kelly Ireland "Rogue" (kent /england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) (Video Game)
i apsolutly loved this game, i love natural disasters and this sounded really good and it was this is actually my favorite game even those i completed it a couple of months ago :P great graphics great story however i wish it coud have gone on longer but the game was still brilliant, and it actually taught me alot about natural diseasters, i didnt even know what lahaars were until i played this game apsolut;ly brilliant. i wouldnt just recommened it i would buy it for all my friends!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii)
Disaster: Day Of Crisis (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
£13.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews