Customer Reviews


901 Reviews
5 star:
 (758)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great with a Powerline
I purchased the switch to add extra ports behind my TV set-up. I have the TP-Link Powerline TL-PA211KIT, purchased from Amazon, which is plugged in behind my TV. I have an ethernet cable running from the Powerline to the switch and then have ethernet cables from the switch to a Freesat Box, WD Live TV and TV. It works perfectly and makes for an efficient and tidy set-up...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Jen

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great value, it works! - UPDATE not so good
I bought this to network all of my AV equipment (Onkyo receiver, Samsung TV, Samsung Blu-ray and Logitech Squeezebox) to my broadband router. So simple to use, just plug everything in and it all works. One ethernet cable needs to run from your broadband router to this switch (I have a long cable running under the floorboards from my router located in a cupboard) and then...
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by JD


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great with a Powerline, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
I purchased the switch to add extra ports behind my TV set-up. I have the TP-Link Powerline TL-PA211KIT, purchased from Amazon, which is plugged in behind my TV. I have an ethernet cable running from the Powerline to the switch and then have ethernet cables from the switch to a Freesat Box, WD Live TV and TV. It works perfectly and makes for an efficient and tidy set-up. I am very happy and would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
This is a wonderful item and saved me a lot of money. I bought a new internet enabled TV and a new Sky HD 1TB box. My router is in another room and to buy the suppliers' dongles to connect both boxes would have have cost about 150. Instead, I bought the TP-Link TL-PA211KIT 200Mbps Mini Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Twin Pack and this little box here (8.65 at the time) and connected them up. And Hey! It worked first time. Saved over 100 and then I did the same thing in another room, except this time I only had to buy a TP-Link TL-PA211 200Mbps Mini Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Single Pack(21 at the time) and this again saved me over 100. Wonderful. Please note I am not a Techie - all I had to do was connect a few pieces of kit into sockets (the power sockets were all UK sockets). I would recommend this to anyone wanting to connect a TV or a sky box to to the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats there to say - it works so well I forgot about it !, 18 Dec 2011
By 
S. Barrett (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
I have various media devices in the lounge - TV, Foxsat HDR, Apple TV, Blu-Ray, Xbox 360 - that all need internet connection. I already had run a 20m Ethernet cable from the router to the Foxsat and really didn't want to run several more cables (having run it under the edge of the carpet and having already been spiked too many times by the gripper rods :-) ) . Bought this, plugged it in, plugged in the main Ethernet feed and then patch cables from each port to each device and hey presto connectivity all round. Works a treat - in fact so well I forgot I had it when I got the email to ask me to write a review - I think that says it all. Cheap solution to avoid multiple cable runs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ethernet switch, 3 Jan 2012
By 
David Bolton (suffolk england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
TP-Link 5-Port 10/100 Unmanaged Mini Desktop Switch (TL-SF1005D) Plastic Case

if you are trying to connect the internet to more than one device, ie tv, surround sound etc, and you have only one ethernet cable.
then this switch is ideal, as you only need to connect all your ethernet cables to it, and the switch does the rest.
Excellent product and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great AND affordable for students, 8 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
As a student currently in University Halls, this little beauty has enabled me to connect both my PS3 and laptop to the interent simulataneously. Sound simple? It is.

Although you need to buy ethernet cables seperately, this consistently maintains a high-speed connection, and for any other students in a similar situation to mine, this is an absolute gem. It's simple, light, effective, cheap and so far I've had no mechanical or technical mishaps. Long may this continue.

A few very small issues include a slight whirring, which can be irritating if no other sounds are present in the room. It does have a a basic, plastic feel, but considering I paid less than 7 quid for it, it certainly doesn't warrant a complaint. Finally, I suppose technically it is only possible to hook up 4 components, as one of the ports is taken up by the etherent cable connected to the router/modem. Other than that, it works superbly and suits me perfectly.

Don't pay more for similar products, as this is absolutely fine and I can't imagine anything else having any significant advantages. Superb.

Haz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


182 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Little Box, 10 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. T. R. Manning "Thomas Manning" (Darlington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Firstly, a lot of reviews complain saying that it comes with a European plug, I have had no such qualms, I bought two of these and they came with a UK transformer so no problem there. It worked instantaneously, I plugged the surprisingly small unit in (its about the size of a DS lite) and it powered up in seconds and connects both my laptop and my freesat HD box to the internet. The only downside is that it has a very cheap plastic feel to it, however, given the extraordinary price this is a very minor problem. Not enough to loose a star.
What more can I say, it has five Ethernet ports so I can connect four devices to the main router from it. They all work swimmingly. Does what it says on the tin

I would recommend this to anyone, it has worked perfectly for me and if it doesn't work for you then you have only lost a negligible amount of money

^
I made that review 10 months ago and they both still work perfectly, very dependable very reliable very cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but superb!, 1 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Cheap, simple and superb value for money. Don't let the plasic case deter you, as this is an excellent purchase for something that'll be "forgotten" about when in use. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - trust me, you won't need to spend any more money on something "better" than this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super value, 4 April 2011
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
This was so cheap I didn't really expect too much ,but it is great.It splits my broadband in four different directions with no setting up hassle .Just plug it up and away it goes,superb little device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TP-link 8 ort switch, 10 Sep 2011
By 
Peter B (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great. A good price and a product that does what it says. It is neat and small and tucks away out of site. Exactly what I wanted and much cheaper than a lot of other ethernet switches on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Definition of plug and play!, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5-Port 10/100Mbps Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Excellent!! Took it out the box, connected the router then a few devices; TV, Xbox etc and worked instantly without a hitch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews