Customer Reviews


287 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am glad i didn't go by the reviews here
San Andreas: the size, the modifications, the customizations, the hoods. What a delight that was.

They said this one was a step back. They said it was smaller. They said it wasn't as much fun. They said the driving was rubbish, that it was too realistic now. They said the missions were repetitive and boring. And I believed it for so long, I wouldn't give it a...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by VH

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technology Trumps Game Design
(main story review only - not multiplayer)

GTAIV to me seems to be a technological refinement of previous iterations of the series, nothing less, but not much more either. The technology on display is spectacular, no bones about it, but it's same old same old underneath. I am sad to say that after 5 or 6 hours of intense excitement, the game quickly became a...
Published on 24 Sep 2009 by Kennedy


‹ Previous | 127 28 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GTA just aint what it used to be, 13 Jun 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly it is a good game to begin with but it will get very repetative and eventully boring and will feel like a chore to play. This game is more for the more grown up gamer, its not like san andreas where everything is crazy and fun. so my advice is if you want a good short lived game get this but youll just end up throwing it in the back of the cupboard and go back to san andreas, well thats what i did anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped? Trash..Yep, 22 Jan 2009
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I must be one of the few people that think most of the high scoring games of late are overhyped rubbish. And GTA 4 is one of them. Wheres the fun in this game? it takes itself way to seriously...If you want fun buy saints row 2 a much better game all round. Gta looks fugly for the realistic take on graphics sure the city and cars look nice, but you really wouldn't want to date the resident girls in this city... Oh but wait you have to as part of the main story..darn. The blokes look like beaten ham then beaten with the ugly stick and the girls are the same. Car handling sucks big let down, gta in the past have cars that handle really well, take the cheetah in the old games, lovely car to drive. The sentinel was a lovely drive in the old games, in this one its a weird stunt car that drives like its on ice and rolls on corners, really handy for a mission it is not.
You would also think after saints row's custom character part the new gta would have had that too, oh you can do it online...wow no thanks. There are so many things wrong with this its hard to list them all. Dig a little and there is some fun to be had there..somewhere the lead character can be funny so its well written at least it has something going for it. This game is way overhyped, like Gears of war was and still is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST game ever, 31 May 2008
By 
Mark Givens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best game ever and people who say otherwise are halo fanboys or just plain stupid. The graphics are amazing and every thing has an amazing amount of detail on them. The gameplay has been perfected thanks to a brilliant new cover system and better targeting and better more realistic driving. The sounds and music in the game are also brill and the voice acting as with all gta games is superb. The story is also fantastic and is very long and very engrossing and the way it is told feels like a action packed movie.
Overall this is simply a game you must own and 100% the best game ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto IV, 8 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game came in perfect condition one of the best buys i have purchased yet thank you amazon and thank you who ever sold it two me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars grand theft of your time, 26 Jan 2009
By 
David Brown "bssdrb" (Bath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What is this game? - a hyped up driving game.
Is it interesting? - mildly but after several hours of it you easily get bored.
Did you enjoy playing it? - not really.
If it hadn't been so hyped up would you have purchased it? Definitely not!

Its a driving game - that's all. Now and then you shoot someone or "go on a date" - which is really just more driving.

I have owned many games since the xbox360 came out but this is the very first one that I could not be bothered finishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what i hoped not fun poor music, 12 Oct 2008
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well where do i start? I have recently completed this and sold it on very disapointed with rockstar yes good graphics but thats all. Where is the amzing soundtrack in previous titles fun missions customising your character, parachutes, planes, celeb voice overs and humour. The cars handle awfull. I feel cheated just ordered san andreas and gta 1 to lighten up my days- THIS GTA SUCKS BADLY trust me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What were they thinking?, 19 May 2008
By 
Ben Price (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What a totally rubbish way to follow on from what was a great game (San Andreas)! I had hours and hours of fun playing GTA: San Andreas and was expecting this to be brilliant, but frankly it's not! The graphics are rubbish, the story is not as good as San Andreas, and the environment is just boring. Where's the variation? This is a step backwards for GTA in my opinion. Basically, if you loved San Andreas and are hoping for a game that's even better, then don't bother. Just wait until it's being sold on ebay for 1p. This may sound harsh, but given the stupidly high expectations for this game, it's just not worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars does not work, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i chose this rating becaue it is a faulty gamme and doesent work
i am not happy about this i am very anoyed i was expecting better as ive been waiting for this replacement after my last one stoped working due to lots of scratches i think you should test them first to see if they work and i dont mean put them in the machine and see if they load for 5 seconds. play the game for a bit to see if it says disk error so you dont send out a faulty one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Second most overrated game of all time., 25 July 2009
By 
R. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Where are the cheat!?!?!

Where are the planes?!?

The Ai is awful, there is no regenerating health?!?!?!?

YOU CANT CUSTOMIZE YOUR CHARACTER!

Online is garbage, takes 2 full clips to kill an enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Review., 6 July 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay, 3 years ago I reviewed this game and simply titled the review as "sucks" so why am I coming back to it 3 years later? Well I re-played the game (Not like the last time where I simply borrowed and played it for about half an hour and got bored). I think GTA took a step that many people simply weren't expecting; some people loved it and some people didn't. I personally don't like the path Rockstar's been travelling down lately with the over the top action that the previous generation (PS2) had with their open-world games dying out in favour for a more realistic feel to it.

The reason I didn't like GTA IV as much as the older GTA games was mainly to do with the controls and the way the game feels. Sure it has a brilliant story and a great cast of characters, and even some of the missions are absolutely amazing, but a game that has a floaty clumsy feel to it's controls can get really annoying really quick. For example say there is something you want main character Niko to pick up on the ground, most games would allow sharp responsive controls to you are able to have access to the option to pick the item up but in GTA IV Niko can (and almost definetly will) take one extra step over the item and this can be infuriating. However I have (badly) reviewed this game before and was way more abrupt about the game and most of you are probably thinking why is he reviewing it badly again? I ain't, I'm about to go on about the stuff I actually did like about GTA IV.

I found the story rather great in GTA IV (not as good as 'Vice City' or the later released DLC titled 'The Lost & Damned'). I liked how you played a new character who wasn't American but did come to America to live in his cousin's supposed American Dream. I felt the characters had more personality with Niko not wanting to have to do the dirty work but unwillingly being dragged into it by his cousin's mistakes. Simply said, the characters do have a shine about them and it makes them believable.

The other thing I did love was how intense some of missions did get I won't spoil the game, but I was on the edge of my seat at certain moments as I had to hammer the sprint button in hopes that I would get away from the cops! It presented a whole new level of tension to GTA which felt actually as though some of the sequences were movie worthy and have already been used in movies, but ripped from them so players could feel what it would be like during those intense scenes.

The last thing I want to correct is the animations and graphics. The games graphics for it's time were some of the best and I have no way denying how amazed I was at seeing the graphics first time, for a New York-esque city, Liberty City is absolutely beautiful to look at with adverts being on billboards and neon signs being on buildings in the heart of the city, Rockstar definetly caught the essence of New York in this game. The animations are also pretty good, however that being said sometimes when playing the game the player character can seem a bit stale with how me aims his gun or when he is sprinting, but then when he's walking he can seem too floaty and will walk that extra step. But I've already covered that in the controls and thats what really only stops me from enjoying GTA IV as much as it's predecessors.

There is much I didn't mention like what the gameplay is actually like but if you've played GTA in the past you should have a rough idea what the gameplay is like, in a simple description you play a criminal in an open-world (place that is free to explore). You can do a variety of different things like fight people (Gangs, Police and even civilians) and drive around the city tackling mission as you please.

Anyway I hope people find this a more helpful review as my last one was both pretty abrupt and rubbish. (Also please ignore my fun rating I would change it to 4 Stars but amazon won't let me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 127 28 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360)
Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) by Rockstar (Xbox 360)
£16.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews