Customer Reviews


298 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am glad i didn't go by the reviews here
San Andreas: the size, the modifications, the customizations, the hoods. What a delight that was.

They said this one was a step back. They said it was smaller. They said it wasn't as much fun. They said the driving was rubbish, that it was too realistic now. They said the missions were repetitive and boring. And I believed it for so long, I wouldn't give it a...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by VH

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technology Trumps Game Design
(main story review only - not multiplayer)

GTAIV to me seems to be a technological refinement of previous iterations of the series, nothing less, but not much more either. The technology on display is spectacular, no bones about it, but it's same old same old underneath. I am sad to say that after 5 or 6 hours of intense excitement, the game quickly became a...
Published on 24 Sep 2009 by Kennedy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game, Any platform, 30 April 2008
By 
Mr. Simon J. Adshead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best game i've ever played. It realy dosen't matter which console you get it on, as long as you get it. The people who argue about which console is best are so annoying! The driving is much more realistic, every car handles differantly and as long as your not speeding down a road at 100mph then you have every chance to turn.

This game won't be beaten!

IGN: 10/10 (first game in over 10 years!!!)

Don't hesitate to but this game, it's amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks awesome, plays very samey and slow compared to old gtas, 29 April 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I like others loved all the previous GTA titles and couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. The reviews were all hitting 10/10. I am though quite dissapointed. The format of missions is an old and over played one which hasnt been changed much,i expected much fresher ideas. The camera when you go round corners is terrible, it looks at the side of the car so you can't see when your doing a cool looking drift. the general play seems sluggish compared to the old gtas. I think its a good game,but not in COD4 and GEARS leagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish reviews, 28 April 2008
By 
Alistair Brookes "A" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Strange comment by James as professional websites say that the graphics on the 360 and PS3 are virtually identical.

Perhaps the opportunity for additional downloadable content puts him off?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatness GTA IV, 6 Dec 2009
By 
R. JORGE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It is simply amazing... A great game to play many many hours non-stop. SIMPLY AMAZING! WHAT A FUNTASTIC GAME!!! THANK YOU ROCKSTAR, THANK YOU AMAZON! UK RULES THE WORLD! =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 11 May 2008
By 
J. Smith (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Considering I finished the game 4 days after offical release (main story wise) and only got 65% completion, it shows that once you have finished the main story, you get a lot more things to do! One of these things is online! On Xbox Live, you get loads of people playing side by side or against eachother in a massive battle!

Great fun!

Pros: Great addition to an already beautiful series of games! Story line is great.
Cons: Little things like bugs and such which can be annoying, crashing on a bike can decide if a mission is going to fail miserably or not. Your headlights light up the area very well, but it is only yours that have an effect on the area which is crappy.
Overall: Graphics are great! Game play is seamless and action packed!

Buy buy buy buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Think before buying., 20 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. Sa Hill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I enjoyed this game at first, but when I purchased Saints Row I thought this game should go in the trash can. This game has good graphics and stunt effects but the missions I find are very difficult and puts me under a lot of pressure if I loose, which most games don't. The police are very, very annoying and arrest me for no fualt of my own. People in the streets tent to beat you up for no reason and half the people are not even English. The car drining is simply awful as I keep on crashing and the car durability is very bad to. Overall a very bad and winding up game with very good graphics and lightning effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mindless Killing (with a story line), 18 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Its a very good game for, as i say, mindless killing and exploration. to be brutally honest, i prefer saints row two. GTA 4 is far to much about unlocking the next island. Saints row 2 is just more fast paced and rewarding. I found a glitch in my game of GTA4 because i saved the game just when i unlocked the second island, and when i retained to play the next game i was miles back in my game... very irritating. I'm not a hardcore gamer but i know a slightly overrated game when i see one.
p.s. THE PEDESTRIANS NEVER DIE. I shot one fifty or so times with my Uzi and he still got up and limped around before collapsing.

Good fun for the casual and hardcore gamer. Slightly over rated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just another grand theft auto, 17 May 2008
By 
Iain Nicolson "I84" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
if you havnt played grand theft auto before and have just played this latest game you are probably wondering what all the hype is about the gta series.

this newest version despite being addictatble and sporting better graphics than previous gta's, is bascially lacking many of the key things that has made the gta series, it is also ridiculously easy by gta standards, you will play through 10 or so easy missions without dying or being arrested (or you should) then do one harder mission where you might die or get arrested once before completing it 2nd time around then its onto another run of easy missions.

i enjoyed the psp version of liberty city stories more than this, although i would still recomend gta 4 as its still one of the better games around at the moment during what seems like a period of very ordinary games releases, cod 4 excluded. gta 4 is much better than a lot of the poor fps shooters doing the rounds on the 360 and ps3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA 4 AWSOME, 30 April 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I enjoyed the first 4 GTA games, but they do not compare to the stunning graphics and amazing game play. although the driving views are a bit retarded the overall game is AWESOME. There may be lots of cut scenes but as you get further through the game there become less and less, witch is great......Overall i love this game and advise anybody to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just go and buy it so rockstar can make more games, 11 Mar 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There's lots of improvements in gta4 but it's a shame that they took out the mini rc planes cos they were my fav missions
and added a lot of fun and variety to the game. Gta4 is a great game to play but the more serious, slightly less fun approach is not the direction I want it to go in the future. Good story though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360)
Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) by Rockstar (Xbox 360)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews