Customer Reviews


317 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am glad i didn't go by the reviews here
San Andreas: the size, the modifications, the customizations, the hoods. What a delight that was.

They said this one was a step back. They said it was smaller. They said it wasn't as much fun. They said the driving was rubbish, that it was too realistic now. They said the missions were repetitive and boring. And I believed it for so long, I wouldn't give it a...
Published on 6 Jan. 2010 by VH

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, Multiplayer Ruined!
Before the next GTA game comes out later this year, I decided to write a review on GTA IV. I've had the game for a year now so I have had plenty of time with the game. I really like the campaign and roaming around. However, I don't recommend playing the game too much because you'll end up making it boring for yourself. If you finish the campaign for GTA IV I recommend...
Published 22 months ago by Berto


‹ Previous | 125 26 2732 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Samey same, 6 Mar. 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
From the main content to the DLC, does this game ever deviate from the Nico Bellic paradigm? In my experience, not much. The main joy in GTA IV is the unraveling of the plot, and the plot only. Liberty City itself, meanwhile, is functional, often lovely, but it is not a patch on San Andreas. As for Alderney island, well apart from some pretty fire-spewing smokestacks, there's really not much there.

As for the characters... Well, I doubt I'm the only one who thinks that they all look rather alike. Actually, they don't just LOOK alike, whatever their ethnicity, but they are pretty much all of the same characteristic hue, namely loud and brash. Where is the diversity of the previous gen NPCs?

Really, most of GTA IV and the DLC are much of a muchness. I am still playing GTA IV and the DLC, but it feels more like a chore than a pleasure, and I have had the original GTA IV since its day of release without ever feeling compelled to finish it. GTA IV, TLAD and TBOGT all start with a bang, but after a brief few minutes it is all the same. Same City, samey-looking characters (obviously built around an identical wire frame), same to-ing and fro-ing here, there and everywhere. Fun? Occasionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA IV... Worth waiting for?, 12 Jun. 2008
By 
Mr. M. Perry (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I only bought an Xbox 360 because of this game, and i waited nearly a year for its arrival. In my opinion its definately worth it, the only other game that comes close is Call of duty 4, and before that game i could never play a shoot-em-up for more than an hour. The multiplayer on Xboxlive is very addictive though, especially if you have a load of mates that now live far away with the same game!! Enough about COD4, back to GTA..
The main game itself is very addictive, i agree that its not the most difficult game in the world, but it has a good life span and a progressive learning curve, mainly because of the size of it. Plus if you can't be bothered with the missions you can always go on a killing spree or even play some pool!!
The multiplayer is incomparable with COD4 as its so diverse. If you want a serious, skillful deathmatch it just isn't in the same league, but its still great fun, and with the added benefits of vehicles and your mates being able to join you in them you can't go wrong. Another major plus for the multiplayer aspect of this game is the variation; you can race (any vehicle), deathmatch, play mafia or cops and robbers missions or just free rome the city (which is big enough!!) with your mates.
Overall theres no complaints. The game has great graphics, good humour, and fun gameplay that will keep you coming back.
Great game, obviously a continuation of the rest with better graphics and online capability. Buy it (but definately don't buy it for your kids!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA 4 is a marvellous gaming experience., 9 May 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After playing all of the other GTA's on psone and ps2, this game is the next leap foward for the series. It is basically what you can expect from the series upgraded to next generation standards.
Firstly, and most importantly, the gameplay. Rockstar have aimed towards realism in many aspects. The driving is very realistic and reminiscent of the pgr racing games where you have to get a balance between braking and accelerating when cornering. It can take a little getting used to, but practice makes perfect a now I can handle any vehicle with ease. The cover system is easy to use and satisfying; some shootouts can be intense like in Gears of War. There is just the right amount of weapons for the job. Now mission design is very simialar to past GTA's; there's nothing really original here, but the best thing about the missions is the style of it all. The city is a living, breathing world which brings an almost cinematic style to everything in the game ("The Getaway" on PS2 tried to achieve this, but was let down by dissapointing gameplay; fortunately GTA 4 has the balance between realism and fun just right). But along the way there is some new and surprising gameplay (like the use of the mobile phone) which expand upon mission design from previous GTA's.
The graphics are the best you can expect from such a vast open world. Up close, objects and characters are clear, interiors and exteriors are full of detail which you will not find in other games like this. The lighting is also top notch, with the time of day and weather creating different atmospheres. With the artistic filters, the city is breathtaking to look at. The Euphoria physics engine has proved it's worth has everyone and everything moves naturally.
The soundtrack has virtually everything (3 varieties of jazz, two dance stations, old and new hip-hop, soul/r and b, new and classic rock, and three foreign stations, aswell as chat shows). There is something for everyone, and this is the best GTA soundtrack yet, just for it's large range of styles.
The storyline is engaging and every cutscene is worth watching, which total up to over 5 hours. Along the way, you will meet lots of interesting characters and Niko Bellic is likeable has the playable character.
All in all, I agree with the 10/10 reviews which ign, gamespot and others have given. If you like GTA, you'll love this. Don't expect customisation, parachutes, jetpacks, planes and all that lot. This is a true sequel to GTA 3 with lot's and lot's of style, realism and is great looking. Sometimes, I feel like I'm actually playing through "The French Connection" film like never before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!, 30 April 2008
By 
A. A. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I brought the Xbox 360 version of this amazing game instead of the PS3 version, YES XBOX LIVE IS THAT GOOD Sony take note PSN is a joke.

Not PS3 bashing or anything as I own both consoles, but my PS3 rarely get used for gaming at the moment, (This will change when MGS 4 & Killzone 2 come out).

That being said people who own the PS3 version of GTA 4 have told me it has the same framerate issues as the 360 when things get hectic, but none of the annoying loading screens that xbox 360 has, once the mandatory install is done.

On the plus side, the Xbox 360 version starts straight away with no install options whatsoever, and you dont have to blow £40 on a dualshock 3 pad (when it finally arrives in UK) to have that lovely rumble feeling, did I mention Xbox live.

However that doesn't stop this from being one of the best games ever created for the either system.

With exclusive DLC coming soon for the 360 version in the form of new missions & areas of the city to explore it was a no brainer.

As if this game wasn't already HUGE enough.

The graphics are BEAUTIFUL, with some truely STUNNING lighting effects, its GTA like you've never seen before.

WARNING! it has a disturbing amount of cussing, & tons of violence, but hey, this isn't Viva Pinata folks! Its more gritty than Jack Bauer from 24 hence the 18 certificate.

Simply put if GTA games are your thing, you must own this one.

LOVE PEACE NOT WAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most immersive game ever but do you want to?, 4 May 2008
By 
P. Benson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I like blockbuster games like this. You could spend a full week playing this non stop and you still wouldnt see everything, its absolutely massive. Little things like stopping randomly at a pedestrian to hear them call their mate and chat about work left me literally shocked at the level of detail in this game. They all have different personalities some run away at trouble some will fight. This is just scratching the surface of the detail in the game, and on this level it is an amazing achievement.
But... I have reservations about the game. GTA is violent certainly and you are required to do many criminal acts to progress in the game. Sure it is just a game. Playing Bioshock is violent but I dont have a sense of moral compromise playing it. With GTA some of the creators undoubted moral apathy rubs off and I dont feel comfortable with that. They still (they are in their thirties) glory in the adolescent hero worship of criminals or bad boys. Even though you can symphathise with Niko the character and its an improvement in that respect on previous games there still is that angry bitter subtext in the game. The tv and jokes are funny but again reveal a huge cynicism and bitterness about life. Made me feel I'm glad I don't have your world view entertaining though it sometime is. Aside from that I enjoyed it I just wish these talented people would grow up and learn more creative ways of having fun playing games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great GTA Game, but...., 21 May 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
...Not the greatest game of all time. I dont care how many 10/10's, 100%'s or A+'s GTA IV has gotten, it doesnt warrant the 'Greatest Game' tag. Its actually a little shocking how overwhelmingly positive the reviews have been. Yes, it is a very good game and a great GTA game. You will certainly have a lot of fun playing it. However if you're expecting a game that will blow your mind away, im sorry to say that you might be a little disappointed.

It starts off great. The graphics are really fantastic, moving around feels smooth and life-like and the missions are really fun. The voice acting is really good and Niko is a very likeable character. The mobile phone addition is good fun too, being able to call up your friends for a game of pool or a drink and watching them stumble about drunk is very amusing. However, as the game wore on, I was expecting more. I soon realised that you couldnt purchase any properties, a feature I really enjoyed in previous GTA games. This kinda devalues the whole money system in the game. You are made to believe that you are a poor immigrant having to work his way up the criminal ladder in order to earn a few bob. However, after 5 or 6 missions, you find that your minted. Theres nothing else to spend it on apart from guns and clothes. When it came to changing your appearance, you arent really spoilt for choice. There are only four clothing stores, and two are the same. You cant 'pimp' you car anymore. Its very much a case of 'what you steal is what you get'. After a while, things begin to feel a little flat.

However, after you come to terms with all them little disappointments, you do find that GTA IV is a really good game. I do recommend that GTA fans buy it because out of all the people who will enjoy the most, they will. However, as the old cliche goes, dont believe the hype. GTA IV is a great game but shockingly overrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything spot on except the fun factor, 20 May 2008
By 
Stuart D. Johnson "thejonsoon" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly, I haven't exactly followed the GTA series closely - i had the original on the Playstation, and GTA 3 on the PS2. These games were definitely original and ground-breaking and really quite addictive to play.
I don't think any of this applies to this version - I was and still am blown away by the detail and depth of this game, but for every minor treasure the game offers, it throws even more frustration at you!
The most fun i've had with it so far is watching Ricky Gervais on the TV in Nikos apartment (I don't particularly like Ricky G, but nice touch). A few of the missions I've played have left me tearing my hair out. Admittedly this isn't always because of bad mission design, but more to do with the cumbersome game controls. I mean driving for instance, using one stick to steer the car and another to control the camera?? Horrible. OK this may make aiming weapons from the car easier, but i would gladly sacrifice this level of weapon control for a user friendly camera which points in the same direction your vehicle is heading towards. Then there's the on-foot element - oh dear, i lose the will to play this game when i have to step out of the car! The targetting button does help though and on-foot movement isn't especially bad in this game, it was awkward in GTA 3 that i played on the PS2. I was expecting a quantum leap, almost as if we'd get a bona fide 3rd person gem once we got out of vehicles. The entire gameplay is made awkward by poor controls (which take getting used to in everygame but should soon become second nature sooner rather than later).
All that said, there is so much here to be appreciated, and as i mentionned the level of detail is astonishing. Having found few major differences between this and the old GTA 3, I suppose I'd recommend this to fans of the series. And i'm sure people familiar with the series would have much less difficulty getting to grips with the controls as I did, in which case, this game would be a gem.
In my opinion though, it's just too hard to pick up and enjoy. If it wasn't for achievements and stats telling you what % of the game you have completed, i would not feel compelled to spend any great length of time on this game. A 'try before you buy' game if ever there was one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A violent work of art, 14 May 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I haven't been this impressed with a work of fiction since the first time I saw the Godfather.

It is a superb, genuis game. Truly cinematic production values with a story and backdrop to make most multi-million dollar pictures envious.

But where it scores is in the gameplay and fun factor. Immersive and intuitive the game is just hard enough to be challenging but not too hard so as to discourage.

I've had it for about 48 hours and am only just getting to grips with things. On top of the superlative nature of the single player game, the multiplayer which I'm just trying out is also excellent with the options and gameplay as good if not better than anything else I've ever played on line.

Buy it and enjoy !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this on 360!, 6 Jan. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a owner of both the 360 and ps3 i always have a dilema about which console to buy 3rd party games on.

Well there is no dilema here! The 360 will be getting exclusive additional content that the ps3 will not get!

So if you own both consoles - definately buy it on 360!

The game is very good - its incredibly realistic and the gunplay and driving has improvde. Lack of activities is disapointing though as well as the lack of rampages and a jetpack which i for one especially miss!

The 5 stars is a little generous but the game just scrapes it in my opinion with its fantastic storyline and superb presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting view of the 'real world'..., 25 May 2008
By 
Brian Levine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I like the premise - a thinly disguised NYC - but the underlying anti-immigrant/Eastern European/only way to make money message is disturbing when you consider that although the game is slated as being an 18, I think you'll find that a hell of a lot of under 18s are playing this. I didn't find the graphics mind-boggling. They're good, but I have yet to find a game that can mimic a studio-engineered TV sales trailer.

I think that if you want a bit of escapism then this'll do the trick; just don't expect it to necessarily live up to all the hype. Remember, it's just a sequel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 2732 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360)
Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360) by Rockstar (Xbox 360)
£16.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews