Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb!
OK, so this is not really a new style game and there have been a vast amount of World War 2 based games lately, so why buy this one?

Well if you're into immersive, well thought out, entertaining and occasionally disturbing next generation games, you can't go far wrong with this one. The whole atmosphere throws you from pillar to post - eerie, dark and menacing...
Published on 12 May 2007 by R. Cole

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not date that well
Note: I have not yet played COD 4!

I've been playing this after getting it at the end of last week because I thought I'd take advantage of this game being priced at the budget end for ps3 games (good to see prices falling). First point then, the price represents good value at 20 even if the game is not outstanding.

After playing UT3 for a few weeks...
Published on 17 Mar 2008 by Mr. M. D. Nash


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb!, 12 May 2007
By 
R. Cole "Filterlab.co.uk" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
OK, so this is not really a new style game and there have been a vast amount of World War 2 based games lately, so why buy this one?

Well if you're into immersive, well thought out, entertaining and occasionally disturbing next generation games, you can't go far wrong with this one. The whole atmosphere throws you from pillar to post - eerie, dark and menacing one moment, frantic panic the next. The tension when one is moving through the Chimeran Lairs is enough to require a momentary pause before venturing further.

As far as enemies go, there's the usual mix from 'all over the place' hissing Leapers (big scorpion like things) to Goliath - some kind of mad killing machine with an ugly face and missiles. All in all, everything one has come to expect is here.

The environment itself is beautifully created, and whilst some of the street furniture is not quite historically accurate for 1951 (speed limits, double yellow lines, wheelie bins and plastic illuminated keep left signs), the overall feeling is certainly of it's time and in keeping with the architecture of 1950's Britain.

Walking through the game one will notice there are millions of hiding places for armed creatures to jump out from, but this all adds to the tension and excitement of the game. If you're running your PS3 through a cinema system, you'll notice that the audio directionality is perfectly matched to situations in the game - i.e. if you can hear an alien in your outside right rear channel, then that's where the little blighter is!

The array of weaponry is mind blowing, from your plain old machine gun (really the most useful) to an Auger that can shoot through solid objects! My favourite weapon is the 'Fareye', basically an awesomely accurate sniper type gun with what has to be the best sight I've ever seen.

As far as playing time goes, my first run through (I completed it last night) took about 17 hours, although I'm a real 'look in every corner and proceed carefully' type player. If you are a 'run through the whole lot of them with guns blazing' type player you may shave off an hour or so, but in actual fact this game requires cagey movement and a bit of sneaking about to be a really fulfilling challenge.

Overall I loved this game. Aside from the humourous historical mistakes the game moves fluidly, with conviction and credibly. The story has purpose and cohesiveness, and at the end of the game there is a proper conclusion with a meaningful ending.

When you do complete this game (and you will), it's worth sitting through the elongated credits to watch the final FMV clip. Interesting it is and if you pay attention to the narration throughout the game, you'll understand fully why Hale (your character) is contemplating doing what he motions to do.

5/5 - Fantastic entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Short Campaign, but very fun overall, 27 Feb 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
Resistance - Fall of Man is a first person shooter that combines World War II era environments with Doom-like horrific enemies to fight. It also offers great online multiplayer gameplay.

The plot is that, around the time of World War II, enemies attacked the world, starting with Russia and moving westward through Europe and England. In the 50s, the US launched a counter-attack, landing in England. You're fighting, at least to start with, with WWII era weapons and outfits through the streets of England.

Let's start with the graphics. The game goes for a very Call of Duty style of look - not quite realistic, more "cartooney" or stylized. Textures are smoothed out, some objects are simplified. That's not to say this is a Disney kiddie look. The monsters are grimey and nasty looking, the war-torn streets are very gritty. If anything, because this is set in a WWII type atmosphere, much of the game is brown, grimy and shell-shocked.

The HUD is reasonably well done and not intrusive. A small series of bars on the left indicates your health. An equally small but useful display on the right tracks your ammo, magazines and grenades.

The sound leans towards epic thundering scores, a la Gladiator or Conan. Players who love heavy rock music might not enjoy this, but I actually love this kind of music. I own both of the soundtracks I mentioned :). So to me, this really draws you into the atmosphere. The yells, gun noises and so on seem relatively realistic to help you feel you're really in the middle of a fight. I also like that, during gameplay, it's usually done without music. If I'm trying to sneak somewhere and listen for enemy movement, I don't want that objective made difficult by a soundtrack.

Gameplay itself is typical FPS fare. You can crouch, jump over things, zoom in on your enemy, throw grenades, strafe, and so on. Your friends and enemies are rather good about taking cover and not just rushing an enemy head-on. There are a few situations which seem quite scripted - if your pals are meant to die, you could play perfectly and take out every enemy quickly and your friends will still be killed by mysterious off-screen snipers. Still, the game needs to keep you on course for the plot so this is to be expected.

Checkpointing is reasonably good, although sometimes it sends you further back then you might like to start again. Healing is done via canisters you find, but depending on your skill you might wish there were more canisters scattered around :). That's why they have 3 levels of difficulty here.

The interactivity with your environment is pretty impressive. Say your enemy is hiding behind a car. You can shoot out the car's windows and then shoot the enemy through the open space. Or you can shoot the car to damage it, and have it explode a la the infamous 'red exploding barrels' found in most shooting games. If you shoot at a window a few times, it will first crack, then pieces will fall out.

Not only is the game great in single player mode, but you can play co-op with a friend at your home, or online in larger groups with friends or strangers from around the world. This helps turn the game from a play-for-a-few-months-at-home style game to a play-eternally-with-friends-online game.

Well recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Pleasures, 25 Jan 2007
By 
W. Vandyk "piginspace" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
Despite some disparaging comments that Resistance is a poor man's Gears of War, this is a great game.

The UK WW2 setting is quite original and well produced.

Each level has a simple main objective - get through it alive, but there are enough ambushes, sniping opportunities and all out firefights to keep it entertaining, even if there are no truly terrifying moments for horror fans and some sections go from relatively simple to frustratingly hard in moments (you'll know when you try the first level what I'm talking about).

The addition of skill point winning actions, such as avoiding being hit by any laser mines on a given level or killing certain creatures only with certain weapons allows you to add a level of challenge if you want, but isn't necessary for the first time through and in fact you need to finish the game once to unlock some of the more amusing weapons.

The story line is nothing new and you don't have to collect the intel along the way to make sense of it, but as a FPS it's good entertainment and certain moments, like firing a hedgehog grenade into a room of enemies and watching them get impaled, are a riot.

You do need a decent TV for the best results (i.e. 1080i/1080p) in which case the atmospheric graphics really pull you in and you can properly experience "lost hour" syndrome.

Of the four launch titles I have, this is the best of the lot and I'd thoroughly recommend it as an early example of PS3's potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great multiplayer/cooperative, never going to become a classic though., 26 Mar 2007
By 
DW (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm a big hater of FPS games, but for some reason I had to buy this game on launch!

1 player mode = not entirely fussed, it has its pros and cons but due to not being a lover of the genre it does nothing for me.

2 player cooperative = brilliant! Me and my girlfriend play it, both on the same side (the americans) killing the aliens and helping each other out. Adds so much fun to the game. One goes and one covers, help heal each other, snipering to help the other get through, great fun! Also have a few missions where one of you drives a tank and the other one fires and buggies too.

Online = Fun, but the problem is due to me having little interest in FPS games I don't really play enough to get much better, therefore play against me online in a 40man death match and I will finish bottom, every time! Still a good laugh though.

Also it's a tactical game, chose to go through the middle and you might encounter the whole army of aliens, go round the edge and you can miss them all and come back out on them from behind and defeat the army like that! And all in High Definition it's brilliant!

Will never become a classic PS3 game, but it's revolutionary in the sense it's 40player online mode and it's also a great laugh, get it now whilst the hype online is still going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Co-operative all the way!!, 11 Jan 2008
By 
Anthony Adams "film-buff22" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this game free when i bought my PS3 off of Ebay!

Initially i didn't pay much attention to it and it spent most of the time hidden behind my more popular games. However, after one weekend my Girlfriend came back from her cousins saying she had played the deathmatch and loved it.

I thought 'Great, finally i can get the lady friend interested in the PS3!!!'

Having played it a bit i loved the gameplay and the range of weapons - great sneaking up on someone when they can't see you and leaving a present for them! However, all was improved when, on Sunday afternoon, the two of us were bored and thought we'd give the cooperative gameplay a go.

What fun! The two of us loved it although i did have to give instructions to explain that i was actually round the corner in order for my girlfriend to catch up!

What can i say other than a great game, i would have paid for it so not going to complain that it was free!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep the Valium Handy, 28 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
This is the first next gen game I have for my PS3, and to be honest I actually bought my copy when I was in the US last month. So it spent a few weeks gathering dust.

First off the initial level is really tough; but definitely worth sticking with.

After that it does become easier and the small sized level chunks are ideally sized; play for a few minutes, watch a small story - grab a quick break and then back into the melee.

And lets not quibble here a melee it definitely is. The new joystick takes a little getting used to and yes I do miss the recoil vibrations but after a few minutes of intenses firefighting this lack of vibration actually helped me immerse myself in the game - I was not being jerked back by the constant shaking of the controller.

Is the game a little grey/brown - yes - but it is set in a war and with explosions and mucky British weather what do you expect...

I haven't come anywhere close to finishing this yet - still battling through the hoards and slowly meeting more and more powerful Chimera - so all I can say at this point is WELL DONE - the development team have done a great job.

Compare this to a PS2 title or an X-Box or 360? - Why bother - I am playing a PS3 and happy to be doing so.

Would I have bought a PS3 without this title - not immediately.

Would I have bought a PS3 if I had tried this at a friend's first - DEFINITELY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Ready for Some Long Nights..., 24 May 2007
By 
Doug Adams (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a grey haired chap who is rapidly approaching his sell by date. Over the years I have played many FPS on just about every platform that there is and I have to tell you that between 1993 and 2007 only two games have caused me fight fatigue and soldier on into the night to get to the next level. One was the original 1993 Doom and the other is R:FoM.

The strange thing is that there is nothing in particular that you can single out as being particularly unique about R:FoM but taken as a whole it just works, you really do want to get to the end of this street, you know that the elevator will deliver you to a world of pain and that over this rooftop lies madness. But what the hey it's fun...

Overall good game play and story line that just begs you to finish...Highly recommended....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not date that well, 17 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. M. D. Nash (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
Note: I have not yet played COD 4!

I've been playing this after getting it at the end of last week because I thought I'd take advantage of this game being priced at the budget end for ps3 games (good to see prices falling). First point then, the price represents good value at 20 even if the game is not outstanding.

After playing UT3 for a few weeks this naturally felt slow and after playing uncharted i felt slightly miffed at the half-baked regenerative health system and complete lack of cover. When in a fight with the chimera you have to resort to time crisis duck and shoot tactics or just get in their faces and strafe round them. It's pretty annoying to do the latter and then get battered by another 5 or 6 hidden round the corner. the game seems very gung ho but you need an element of stealth and that is frustrating in a FPS game.

Otherwise, if you can get past some relatively minor niggles the game plays well and the chimera are easy to hate which makes it satisfying to blow them away.

Overall, good value for money but bear in mind this game is roughly 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close... but no Cigar, 14 May 2007
By 
Mr. M. E. Leach "JFO1976" (Up North) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
The Good

Only 1st person shooter on the PS3 worth owning

Single and multiplayer game options

Interesting spin on the WW2 shooter

Nicely thought out levels with multiple ways of achieving the same goal

Some stunning weaponry for you to play with (the sniper rifle is amazing)

Good variety of enemies

Excellent emeny AI

The Bad

Graphically maybe not as stunning as it maybe should be. Don't get me wrong it looks amazing but its nothing more special than the

A little bit too short on story mode

Not going to win any prizes on originality

Initial settings on the controller are all wrong - change the L1/L2 & R1/R2 buttons around (so you shoot with the bigger L or R2 buttons) and you're good to go.

Minimal use of the six-axis controller

Overall

A very playable "Gears of war"/"Far Cry" hybrid of a game, worth owning and playing through to the end. Still not quite at the Halo or Half-Life standard but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid, fun filled FPS, 18 Feb 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) (Video Game)
All in all a good shooter and one of the better PS3 titles around. By no means does it redefine the genre or take it to the next level, the PS3 is still waiting for that title. However its great fun and theres tons of great battles to be had. The story is engaging and holds your interest. Best bit for me is the weapons and the fact that you can carry them all and select at will, brilliant..you can have some bad fun with the air-fuel grenade. Online - dropped in a few times looks the best for the PS3 so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3)
Resistance: Fall of Man (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
£9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews