Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just excellent, but know what you're getting first!
While this is a superb game, I'll just point out the few negatives that most people centre on, since these are the only reasons not to buy this game:

1) Not for the occasional RTS player. Don't buy this expecting something similar to C&C3. There are many, many more units and structures - each one powerful and vulnerable in their own way. Just rushing at your...
Published on 1 Jun 2007 by C Martin

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed ... and talk about bugs !
This almost deserves 4 stars for fun and overall ratings, but it has some major flaws.

1.) It has major performance problems.

I have 2Gb memory, striped Raid array of WD Raptor hard drives, and an nVidia GeForce 7950 GX2. And even on the lowest graphical settings it grinds down to 5 frames per second when things get busy...

The main...
Published on 7 Mar 2007 by Mr


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just excellent, but know what you're getting first!, 1 Jun 2007
By 
C Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
While this is a superb game, I'll just point out the few negatives that most people centre on, since these are the only reasons not to buy this game:

1) Not for the occasional RTS player. Don't buy this expecting something similar to C&C3. There are many, many more units and structures - each one powerful and vulnerable in their own way. Just rushing at your foe with an army of your most powerful units will not always work, and will usually be an expensive error. Success depends on the correct use of all of your capabilities, which is why I see this as the most intricate and intelligent RTS to date.
2) It's a power hog. It's common to see hundreds of units on screen at once, so don't expect it to run super-smooth unless you've spent hundreds on an SLI or DX10 system. That said, a half decent machine with a mid-range graphics card will do you proud.
3) The interface takes up an unusual amount of space on the screen - and it needs to. With so many units to keep track of this is a necessity, however a larger monitor running at a high resolution really helps here. If you're running 2 monitors (lucky *****) that's even better, since some of the UI can be displayed in its full glory on the second screen.

As a huge fan of Chris Taylor's 1997 original, Total Annhilation, I'm glad to see the 10 year wait was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puts the "real" into realtime strategy!, 11 Mar 2007
By 
K. Hamilton "trigger finger" (Newport, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
First of all, ive read a lot of negative remarks about the scale of this game, and how maps can take "far too long" to complete, as the more whiney reviews remark. So i find it odd that when the developers specifically sell this game based on a real scale (wars taking place over several miles and not in a stupid 1km box like C&C) that people think its going to be something else :D Another reviewer said that fights take too long, well, beleive it or not, neither do REAL wars featuring REALISTIC futuretech designed tanks. If you want a fluffy cute RTS go buy C&C, SupCOM is for the megalomaniac war veterans!

I felt the need to defend SupCOM because it deserves its chance. Make your own minds up by downloading a demo, but for the love of god, dont listen to these people who buy a book and want pictures instead of words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, just wow, 25 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. Dominic J. Johnson (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
A few points I think need clearing up.

This is a real time STRATEGY game.

Command and Conquer is real time TACTICS.

If you want to control individual units during a fight, play something else.

This game is about strategy, throwing 80 tanks at a defence line to soften it up before your main strike isnt unusual.

I've not had many problems with it running slow, I'm using a 3gig P4 northwood and a gig of RAM. Admitadly I've turned off all the graphics.

There are a couple of problems I find, although miles a head of anything else, transport units are still awkward to use, although they are probably handled best here.

The factories could do with a better group select option, cossacks is still the best implementation of that I've seen.

Anyway, as I said, grand strategey, expect to throw armoured brigades and hundreds of aircraft around the map to achieve minor objectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Love RTS Get This Game!, 14 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
I cant see what the other reviewers are missing this is a superb game were using just one form of attack be it by Land,Sea or Air just isn't enough like other RTS's. Having the difficulty setting above "Easy" will coax the enemy AI out of its base and give you a challenge.

The multitude of different units and structures you can build is a refreshing change with this RTS. As is the ability to instruct your engineers to build a queue of structures while you get on with preparing your attack. Or select your units and move them to a new location in "Formation" using the mobile shield generators to best effect, unlike Red Alert (bless its cotton socks) where units would mill about and clump together waiting for you to tell them exactly how you wanted them placed.

Unlike other RTS games you cant win every map with sheer weight of numbers as I found out with horror sending 60 bombers to the enemy base thinking "That'll sort em" to find only 12 came out the other end feeling worse for wear.

In the end if your looking for a decent RTS go for this game, plenty to do, strategy's to plan, hours of addictive gameplay and a breath of fresh to the RTS genre.

Im still using a single core CPU and AGP system to run this game and it runs fine. You may need a higher spec machine but to say you need a dual core is abit over the top.

Hope this helped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown away, 14 Jun 2007
By 
L Taylor (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
This is a really really good RTS. I first tried the trial and thought meh - but after 30 minutes I was hooked. I later bought the game obviously.

I wanted to comment on system requirements. The maps can be huge, and you can have 500 units, with 8 players so yeah, if your computer is not very good, then you might get frustrated. However, my computer is about a year old and had good specs when I bought it, and I had no problems what so ever playing this game. This is a gamers game, and if your a serious gamer you should have a PC good enough to run this - we cant blame the makers for this.

I played it through 3 times, once for each faction - I never do that on any other RTS game. I must say I was very impressed and its definately the best RTS I have played this year (starcraft the best ever - this maybe a close second). This game introduced a few things which I have been looking for in a RTS for a long time - 1. ZOOM - You can zoom in and out (we are talking google earth here folks) this gives you an amazing view of the battle and makes selecting units a doddle. 2 - Units are easy to move and co-ordinate - you can have units assisting each other to help you build faster - the queues are also well done - you can queue up the next tier tanks if you have the tier upgrade earlier in the queue. 3 - Ferrying, waypoints and patrols are extremely well done, Ferrying troops by air in a transport is as easy as having your airships assist the factory and they will take your units to the battlelines.

I highly recommend this game. I havent played online, but I hear its even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 May 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
SupCom is a landmark for all future RTS games.

The tactical zoom feature bring an entirely new dimension to the game as it allows views ranging from seeing scratches on armour to a full tactical view of the entire map, which additionally, you can order your units from, allowing elaborate syncronization of attacks and so on...

The maps are massive, it is not unreasonable to fight 3-4 large landbased battles at the same time. It looks absolutely beautiful, the A.I is smarter then anything else you will find, and there is a thriving online community for the "sociable" gamer.

This game will chew your hardware up, spit it and kick it around the room. There are not many machines that can run it at full spec, in short it will take anything you can throw at it. A decent machine will run this game playably however, I can run it on my mid-spec laptop, game itself is way ahead of its time in most aspects.

As for the negative comments that have been posted about the on-screen real-estate, there is a pre-release patch which fixes this with a nice translucent and understated model.If you find this game boring you are not playing it properly.

If you have the cash and the spec buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed ... and talk about bugs !, 7 Mar 2007
By 
Mr "Seamus" (Wakefield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
This almost deserves 4 stars for fun and overall ratings, but it has some major flaws.

1.) It has major performance problems.

I have 2Gb memory, striped Raid array of WD Raptor hard drives, and an nVidia GeForce 7950 GX2. And even on the lowest graphical settings it grinds down to 5 frames per second when things get busy...

The main reason being my good processor of an AMD FX55 isn't a dual core processor which is what this game really needs.

It isn't really the graphics that are demanding in this game - its the physics engine and the AI processing

2.) It has LOTS of bugs still - I will say that my PC has been very stable with all types of other games including RTS games like Warhammer's latest and Company of Heroes, but lots of problems with this game.

2a : My first problem was the map spinning continuously and the most common answer on the forums was simply pressing the "Home" or "Delete" or "End" keys a single time.... simple enough but the game is unplayable until some kind person answers the question on the forums - a very bad sign of things to come, and something that has still not been fixed in any recent patches.

2b : Lots of Blue screen of death crashes with 3 different types of messages so far

2c : Lots of Unhandled Exception error messages boxes when the game crashes but at least the PC doesn't crash

2d : A couple of internal game message boxes saying it has crashed

2e : It even crashed during game saves sometimes which is the ultimate in frustration

Even in safe mode, it has managed to crash a couple of times...

3.) Terrible tutorials which are basically videos that could be marketed as cures for insomnia, coupled with a 'sandbox' level where you can build what you want but is too boring to play in for long - People learn by doing, and every other game on earth now seems to have decent simple tutorial levels that you can play and learn with. And this is a complicated game... I have often had to find answers to my questions on the internet forums as there didn't seem to be an easy way to find an answer in either the manual or the tutorial videos. My tip is don't forget to look through the keys on the back cover of the game manual - you see lots of things you can do that you didn't realise you could do.

However, it has just been playable enough to show what a good game it could have been.

The computer AI is very good, and you will need to consider which units to build to tackle each situation.

The missions can have quite a long build up time, followed by frantic action. Missionns are split into several sections which gradually reveal more and more areas of a map, but there's no auto-save so make sure you save your games often (given the propencity to crash).

So in the end, I think its a great game if you can get past the fact it is very unfriendly to new players, and has a horrible tendancy to crash, and requires a top of the range PC with a dual core processor, high end graphics card and at least 1Gb of RAM (make that 2Gb if you are using Windows Vista).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool, 19 Feb 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
The playing area is quite small, and you dont get that little sound clip when units acknowledge orders. The only major flaw is that some of the tech 4 units do take an extraordinary amount of time to build - but this is probably an issue that can be resolved with a simple patch. Those are perhaps the only flaws I could pick at in this game. The problem with specs isn't quite as bad as its made out either- I'm running a 3.0 Pentium 4 with a gig of ram and a 256meg graphics card, and it runs but not quite as smoothly on larger maps or when there are larger number of units - if you can run Dark Crusade or Company of Heroes, then this should run at about medium settings.

The scope is impressive, you can reclaim some of the resources used to build units when they get destroyed, and finally the campaign doesn't leave a 'is that it?' moment at the end of each mission. The skirmish AI doesn't just have the 'easy/medium/hard' options but also includes horde, tech and balanced modes so you can work out what works against different types of opponent.

All in all, it gets a big thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Long Awaited Sequel to the Alternative to C&C type RTS games., 9 Feb 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
Supreme Commander, brought to you by the same people who created Total Annihilation about 10 years ago (Company known as Cavedog then) is a groundbreaking and unique take on Real-Time Strategy. Many believe that THIS game is pushing the boundries of the genre into the future, whereas other RTS titles are producing "same old, same old" type gameplay.

While fans of Total Annihilation will feel right at home, players of simpler games such as C&C may feel a bit swamped. This game is not about "micro" (short for Micromanagement), I suppose a better word for it is "macro". It's all about the bigger picture.

Think of it this way, an enemy is hammering you hard from the north side of your main base. He's really pounding you. Your defences are withstanding the assualt, but you're not sure how much longer you can hold out. You happen to know, by way of scouts and radar, that he is operating several factories of units just to the north-west, but his main base and economic production is far to the west. You amass a moderately force of about say, 100 to 200 tanks (very common in this game) and "rush" his unit production base. Now, those tanks are going to get eaten alive by his defences but it will distract him enough for you to grab a couple of air transports, load them up with artillery tanks and drop them off in the middle of his energy producing base, wiping out his economy and giving you a distinct advantage and chance to get back on your feet.

That may seem a bit long winded, but when you get into playing this game it will become a second nature, a natural urge to gather the information required to outwit your opponent. It's not about pushing the right keys at the right time, as much as that can help in any game, it's about making the right decisions and working your military mind to it's fullest capacity.

When you enter the battle, you start with just your ACU (Your "Supreme Commander") who is able to build a few T1 buildings. (tech level 1) You must first build up an economy of Energy and Mass quickly, to get your beginning small-scale army rolling, ready for a quick assault, defence or just to protect your forward operations.

You have the option to upgrade to Tech 2 then Tech 3, both of which have an array of units and buildings, each more powerful than the previous tech level. Eventually, you get to the Experimental Level (sometimes refered to as Tech Level 4) which allows you to build Experimental Units. These units are generally HUGE, powerful warmachines, hundreds of times bigger and more powerful than any other units on the battlefield. That's when it really gets fun, they're not unstoppable, but damned near it. Know their weakness and you can take them down ready to send in your own machines of death and destruction.

In short: This is a damn fun game. Just make sure you have a decent PC before playing a 4v4. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game if you like strategy., 16 May 2007
By 
M. Mohr (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander (PC) (Video Game)
I spent much time deciding whether to buy supreme commander. I read every review I could and checked back every few days to see what others had said. I really feel people havent done this game justice.

The AI on supreme(hardest) for a skirmish is a real test, I have only had the game a short time but am unable to win yet. Even going back to a saved point which i think is strong for me. I ought to mention I havent bothered with the campaign so cant comment on that.

Skirmish mode has a generous helping of maps to choose from, many of which look intersting from a strategic battle point of view. I was dissapointed that there isnt a random map generater as this makes the games appeal so much longer.

As far as units and buildings go you need to makes sure you have enough of each type to counter a variety of threats, AA for air attack, sonar/radar to detect subs, or cloaked units. You need units for ground assualt attack and defense, sea units that are AA, anti sub as well as ground attacking, air to air fighters bombers...etc. In addition as the game develops you better make sure that you have some anti nuclear warhead missile or you will find that your base is reduced to dust in moments. Basically, on supreme setting if you fall short in any strategic area you will be exposed and punished. This as I said I have found an excellent test and am yet to succeed despite coming close. Victory will come though!

I ought to mention the experimental units, they are what you want. With these in your arsenel a poorly defended base will be crushed with only perhaps only one experimental unit. Some are stronger than others but each has its unique areas of strength and weakness.

At the lower AI settings the game pace is less frantic and therfore could seem a bit slow but it does give you a chance to build up and experiment a little and find out what works and what doesnt.

The ability to queue tasks and buildings is excellent as it saves much faffing about having to wait until an engineer has finished a task before telling it to do another. The patrol function is good too.

Lastly my only critism that I can think of, although the zoom function is very handy and there is the facility to change you viewing angle it doesnt stay there. The view always reverts back to birds eye for game play. This grated me at first but i dont mind too much now. It would be so much better though if they had included this feature. You dont get a sense of how high some units are off the ground otherwise.

Hope that gives you a feel for the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supreme Commander (PC)
Supreme Commander (PC) by THQ (Windows Vista / XP)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews