Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better
Having bought the C&C 10 year anniversary edition before Christmas and played that from end to end, plus having enjoyed a good smattering of other RTS's in the meantime such as Warhammer 40K, Company of Heroes, and Supreme Commander, I'm thrilled that C&C3 is right on target. First off let's just say a little bit about production values on this game; they've got it right...
Published on 1 April 2007 by Dr. P. J. A. Wicks

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Major software faults, please beware
Before buying i suggest you rent, i have installed this game on all three of the computers in my house which have all been bought over the past year and the game crashes on all of them and im not the only one i suggest you vist the CC forum for more details, there are pages and pages of faults people are recieving the major one is a CnC3Game.dat problem which is what im...
Published on 2 April 2007 by Andy Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better, 1 April 2007
By 
Dr. P. J. A. Wicks (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Having bought the C&C 10 year anniversary edition before Christmas and played that from end to end, plus having enjoyed a good smattering of other RTS's in the meantime such as Warhammer 40K, Company of Heroes, and Supreme Commander, I'm thrilled that C&C3 is right on target. First off let's just say a little bit about production values on this game; they've got it right. So many games recently have been rushed, buggy, and in need of a patch from day one. After a slightly lengthy install, I've had no problems whatsoever. For newbies to the genre the tutorial and early missions are an excellent introduction, and there's enough of a challenge here for veterans too.

Even better, this game has taken advantage of some of the gameplay developments identified in C&C's RTS stablemates. Infantry come out in squads now rather than individual troops, there's different amounts of armour on different parts of vehicles, the interface is more minimalist then previous installments, the map expands within missions like in Supreme Commander, and the new race is interesting and well designed.

Some bits from the Generals games have stuck around, noticably garrisoning buildings, unit veterancy, and an emphasis on urban warfare. Even better, the team has realised that some features had been dropped in previous installments; most notably the use of full motion video in addition to in-game briefings. Now being a Battlestar Galactica fan (and having a passing acquaintance with Lost and House), you do get a bit of a kick seeing some pretty big names of the moment (what PC Gamer called "Sci-fi royalty") getting into games. Unlike previous installments they've even gone and made some real sets and hired extras rather than just green-screening it.

A couple of bits are slightly less effective; I have not got much interest in collecting medals, clearly inspired by EA's OCD-causing Battlefield series ("must... get... veteran knife badge..."), and in early missions you've only got control for 30 second bursts which are frequently interrupted by briefings, video links, and intel updates, which slow the pace down a bit. However there are skippable and reduce in quantity as you progress.

So, what about the important stuff, how does it play? It's boomy. Grenade through a window, BOOM! Rocket troops versus tank, BOOM! Orca's vs power stations, BOOM BOOM BOOM! The explosion effects and animations are great, giving it a far more engaging feel than say Supreme Commander. The number of units and scale of the game also feels a little larger than C&C Generals, and there's a lot to keep you busy. Impassable terrain and choke points are deployed in the best fashion yet in a C&C game, causing greater reliance upon air transport and (perhaps inspired by Warhammer 40k), those trusty jump-packs. Three campaigns, by all accounts an addictive skirmish mode, and a really well put together package. What more could you ask for?

Lando Calrissian? You want Lando to be in this game? Heck, we'll throw him in too just for reading this far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back Commanders!, 27 Sep 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Let me make it clear from the beginning: GREAT GRAPHICS! Physics and details are AMAZING! I particularly liked the exhaust distortions, the dust of the passing mammoth tanks and the burning debris falling from destroyed flying units!
And for graphics like that it does not require the moon an the stars hardware-wise! A simple 3year old P4 with 1024MB RAM and a (new) nVidia 7600GT can manage the highest settings.
Why is this important? I have STALKER gathering dust waiting for my next PC - only then it will be playable, yet...obsolete!

The story moves along, new units get unlocked, you gather, you built, you defend, you read the terrain, you amass your forces and you push forward hoping for the best. No try it again with the Bad guys.

Where it misses the 5th star: one cannot hold a battle formation while moving as most major units move at different paces and (although the AI has improved) they keep bumping on each other. May be the next C&C could have some TOTAL WAR infused into it, with battle formations options.

- Is it balanced? Mostly YES.
- Does it require tactics? As much as one might expect from a COMMAND & CONQUER Game.
- Can you still hog resources until you tank-rush the opposition? YES (sometimes the only solution)
- Is it GENERALS 2.5? Definitely NOT. It has a clear C&C character!

True, I could do without the wooden acting of Michael Ironside! (Gone are the days of Kari Wuhrer...Lock'n'Load!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new or Innovative but enjoyment has never needed an update., 8 April 2007
By 
T. Hobbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I will start off by saying this game is like all others in the series previously in that it is rather straightforward to pick up and learn. Although I will say this third volume seems to share more with the first than second in the series. With the units and most of the landscape making what seems like a regression in terms of atmosphere and style. The sound track also has changed style somewhat. Rather than the dark ambience of Tiberium Sun Or the eclectic mix of beats of C&C1, it sits firmly in the middle ground. The music changing with the state of play sometimes so well you fail to notice until it has calmed again adding another element to it's experience. Although with the addition of a third side and some touch ups you can feel hints of General and Red Alert creeping in. Not that it's a bad thing as the new interface saves a lot of time when your trying to react to goings on elsewhere. The game play itself brings nothing particularly new but then it never needed anything. Instead the new graphics engine just makes an already fun game even more spectacular to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original C&C is back and wow is it good, 3 April 2007
By 
Matt Nichols "mpn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have read quite a few of the reviews below and many people are highlighting faults they have experienced but the overall consensus is that of great satisfaction. This is perfectly true. To be fair my main concern was that of the new race, Scrin. I thought this would upset the balance of GDI and Nod but for me the game wouldnt be complete without them. I am not far enough in the campaign to see how they interact with the storyline but by simply experiencing skirmish and online modes, the Scrin give you that extra option. The visuals on the game are a feast and the sound effects and extra detail applied make the original tiberium wars seem like a mobile phone game. I will admit there have been faults with the online feature but these things always take time and regrading that two patches have been released in less than a week shows that EA are fully commited to this game and so should anyone that buys it because over the last 12 years the game has gone a great game to the RTS benchmark. Enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C & C all the way, 1 April 2007
By 
D. Green "Danny G" (Rugby, Warwickshire. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Received this game on release day and it sure made my weekend. Top marks to Amazon for great delivery.

I always loved C & C and this game further enhances my opinion of the franchise. The game looks excellent and when I turned up the resolution on my monitor the graphics and detail became incredible. Fortunately I have a decnt PC so the game runs fluidly.

I have only done the first 5 levels as GDI but the story, cutscenes to video and the script of the game are top notch. Yeah its sometimes a bit cheesy but it adds to the appeal.

The new units, vehicles and machines are excellent and the new box indicating obj. & intelligence are a nice touch. Being able to build from this box allows multiple build when away from the base making it easier to compose a brutal army.

Overall I only have the highest praise for this game and my Wii has been put on the back burner while I play Tiberium Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Major software faults, please beware, 2 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Before buying i suggest you rent, i have installed this game on all three of the computers in my house which have all been bought over the past year and the game crashes on all of them and im not the only one i suggest you vist the CC forum for more details, there are pages and pages of faults people are recieving the major one is a CnC3Game.dat problem which is what im experiencing, at the moment EA are in denial blaming the problem on up todate drivers but as everyone on line will tell you its not the case. There is also a major problem with online playing which has been admitted on the forum by the Director of CC. You might be one of the lucky ones who has no problem, i can play for 15mins the game is great.. but i suggest you lend or rent this game first and check it works on your PC. Good Luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, but stay offline or play with your friends only, 13 Aug 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is a drastic improvement over C&C Generals. The familiar C&C sidebar returns where you can build your structures, vehicles, base defences and so on. The familiar factions of GDI and NOD have returned, with each battling it out to control the Earth following a dangerous epidemic spread of lethal Tiberium across the surface of the planet, and there's a third race of aliens called the Scrin but I'm not far enough through the story yet to see how and why they come into things.

So, chucking out the bad bits from Generals and going back to Westwood's original style, what have EA created? Well, it's not bad, and the graphics are still good even when I have them turned down for my slightly underpowered laptop graphics card although the screen chugs a bit when something big happens like a nuclear explosion. For one thing, this game really feels like C&C in the way that Generals just didn't. In fact, my opinion is that Generals should have been spun off as a separate franchise and not given the C&C name because it's just not the same at all.

However, there's one horrible horrible problem that hangs over from Generals. There's still the pathetic online ranking system, where anybody will cheat, use dirty tactics like capture your entire base within one minute of the match starting and sell everything, move their construction yard into your base right at the start of the match and build massive base defences, rush with hundreds of cheap recon vehicles... ... some people playing this game have ridiculous statistics like 350 wins with 74 losses and even more than that. Playing the game like that can't be fun either for the person losing nor the person winning, where's the challenge and how are you furthering your skills? I'd even go as far as to say that people who play like that for the sole purpose of their rank and win/loss statistics have no lives whatsoever outside of this game, it's actually pretty sad when they're proud of playing the game like it's NOT supposed to be played. I remember the good old days of Red Alert 2 and Tiberian Sun, when people actually did the now-unheard of act of building up a proper army and fighting a proper war which lasted hours, as opposed to one APC and five engineers at the start of the match and ending it two minutes in. If you disconnect in disgust, you rack up a loss on your scorecard and people laugh at you. If you disconnect too often, EA threaten to ban your account, so it's a lose-lose situation either way.

The rank system ruins it, even on unranked games your win/loss statistics are still recorded so no matter where you go there's all of this nonsense happening, and the people with the huge stats create new accounts and set up games entitled "noobs only" or such like so that they can just crush more people by basically cheating. As much as Generals and Tiberium Wars are letdowns compared to the original Command and Conquer games even EA can't have wanted the game to be played like that, it is no fun whatsoever. The only saving grace is that the crippling balance issues from Generals have been worked out, although the Nod harvester is currently slower and able to carry less tiberium than those of the other factions. This, however, is on the fix list for the next patch as well as reducing the health of some of the cheap rush units so they hopefully get destroyed easier.

So, good game in general, just don't ever play multiplayer online with people you don't know. You will guaranteed have no fun whatsoever, play the campaign, offline skirmishes or with your real world friends over a LAN or a private online match if you want a fun experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 11 April 2007
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Firstly, I have to agree with other reviewers in that the graphics are great. The cinematics were also superb. Also it was nice to see Joe Kucan again reprising his role as Kane. There was also a nice twist in the NOD campaign (which I won't spoil!!). I haven't started the SCRIN yet.

However, the game play was weak. It only took about 15 to 25 minutes to complete a round. The original game is still the best but the graphics are just OK. I still play it today but it's tough, even w/the patch on my E6600 & 7900gs. Tiberien Sun was just as good as the original but w/updated graphics. Tiberium Wars: if you are a fan of the series then get it because it is good fun but if you are new to the series then look elseware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Command & Conquer 3 - Tiberium Wars, 9 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I waited a long time for this game to be released & the wait was well worth it. The game is awesome.

Be aware though the game requires a FAST processor & tons of Ram & a half decent Graphics Card. The specs say 2.0 Gig Processor & 512 Ram & 64 Meg Video card, this is complete rubbish.I tried it on my old Computer which has a P4 2.0 & 1 Gig Ram (DDR 2700) Ati Radion Power Colour (256 Ram)& had to turn all the graphics half way down just to stop the Lag.

My newer machine has a P4 3.40 & 2 Gig DDR(1)400 - PC3200 & A Geforce 6600(256 Ram)PCI Express with all the settings turned up 2 nearly full except no use of Antialising as my Graphics Card cant cope with it.

Remember to shut of all other programs that run in the background including your Anti Virus program especially if you are using any version of Norton Anti Virus as it take loads of Resources.(DO NOT DO THIS IF YOU INTEND TO PLAY ON LINE)

I recommend you have at Least a Pentium 4 3Gig with 2 Gig of Ram(believe me you will need it) if using Win XP (Vista 3 Gig) & a much higher spec card than my old 6600.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its Moments, 4 May 2007
By 
J. Sandler "Xarcinos" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
First of all if your looking for a game that is a bit of a challenge this is defo it. Some of the missions are just extreme. Even i (a C&C geek) find some almost impossible. However i would suggest there are improvements to be made to this game.

I would agree that the graphics have improved and make the game more enjoyable. Also the A.I. is actually half decent, they have decided that sending one unit at a time doesnt work. (well done lads)

The most appealing thing about this game is the online play. Ok i agree its in early stage, its also a bit fragile and updates are included every few days so that does drive you mad... BUT! playing against other people and making more of a shoddy update is a great idea.

(warning that the maps may be boring at first but they do show a slight bit of charm.

Finally: Good game if you want a challenge (and dont want to complete it within a day) online is good fun ... seen better but cant complain for the Price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD)
Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows XP)
Used & New from: 3.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews