Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better
Having bought the C&C 10 year anniversary edition before Christmas and played that from end to end, plus having enjoyed a good smattering of other RTS's in the meantime such as Warhammer 40K, Company of Heroes, and Supreme Commander, I'm thrilled that C&C3 is right on target. First off let's just say a little bit about production values on this game; they've got it right...
Published on 1 April 2007 by Dr. P. J. A. Wicks

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bottom of the list in C&C titles
The C&C series has gone a long way since Tiberian Dawn hit the shelves 12 years ago, but this game is as standard as it gets.

To be fair, complaining about the fact that it is a system resource hog can't stand up as an argument anymore, it goes without saying that buying a computer this year means that next year's games won't run on it properly. But yes, it is...
Published on 15 July 2007 by Mr. N. Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better, 1 April 2007
By 
Dr. P. J. A. Wicks (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Having bought the C&C 10 year anniversary edition before Christmas and played that from end to end, plus having enjoyed a good smattering of other RTS's in the meantime such as Warhammer 40K, Company of Heroes, and Supreme Commander, I'm thrilled that C&C3 is right on target. First off let's just say a little bit about production values on this game; they've got it right. So many games recently have been rushed, buggy, and in need of a patch from day one. After a slightly lengthy install, I've had no problems whatsoever. For newbies to the genre the tutorial and early missions are an excellent introduction, and there's enough of a challenge here for veterans too.

Even better, this game has taken advantage of some of the gameplay developments identified in C&C's RTS stablemates. Infantry come out in squads now rather than individual troops, there's different amounts of armour on different parts of vehicles, the interface is more minimalist then previous installments, the map expands within missions like in Supreme Commander, and the new race is interesting and well designed.

Some bits from the Generals games have stuck around, noticably garrisoning buildings, unit veterancy, and an emphasis on urban warfare. Even better, the team has realised that some features had been dropped in previous installments; most notably the use of full motion video in addition to in-game briefings. Now being a Battlestar Galactica fan (and having a passing acquaintance with Lost and House), you do get a bit of a kick seeing some pretty big names of the moment (what PC Gamer called "Sci-fi royalty") getting into games. Unlike previous installments they've even gone and made some real sets and hired extras rather than just green-screening it.

A couple of bits are slightly less effective; I have not got much interest in collecting medals, clearly inspired by EA's OCD-causing Battlefield series ("must... get... veteran knife badge..."), and in early missions you've only got control for 30 second bursts which are frequently interrupted by briefings, video links, and intel updates, which slow the pace down a bit. However there are skippable and reduce in quantity as you progress.

So, what about the important stuff, how does it play? It's boomy. Grenade through a window, BOOM! Rocket troops versus tank, BOOM! Orca's vs power stations, BOOM BOOM BOOM! The explosion effects and animations are great, giving it a far more engaging feel than say Supreme Commander. The number of units and scale of the game also feels a little larger than C&C Generals, and there's a lot to keep you busy. Impassable terrain and choke points are deployed in the best fashion yet in a C&C game, causing greater reliance upon air transport and (perhaps inspired by Warhammer 40k), those trusty jump-packs. Three campaigns, by all accounts an addictive skirmish mode, and a really well put together package. What more could you ask for?

Lando Calrissian? You want Lando to be in this game? Heck, we'll throw him in too just for reading this far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C&C Is back!, 15 July 2007
By 
Duke Dudeston (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have read some of the reviews on here and have heard people saying "You need a decen't rig to play it" instead of spending more money on upgrading your system, why don't you just turn down some of the graphic effects.

It is the gameplay that makes this a brilliant title, NOT THE GRAPHICS! turn them down if you have problems.
My friend is able to play this game on a 2.8GHz P4, with 1GB RAM, 256MB out of date AGP (doesn't support a lot of features for H-L2) Graphics! yet he says he can play it for hours on end no problems!

I have a P4 3GHz with 1GB Ram, and a 512MB AGP based graphics, and I can play the game with no problems at 1024x768 with everything turned up, do the math! You can get this kinda setup for well under 1k! maybe just above £500 if your lucky!

EA Arent that stable, no, but this game is a right old laugh in any graphic setting! And this is just by playing a demo, and borrowing it off a friend, this is now being added to my basket soon after I submit this!

I have played C&C since the first version, I have played Dune Battle For Arrakis (the game that started it off!), I didn't like generals, but C&C 3 is now one of my fave games, and if my 2 year old machine can play it with full graphical effects (apart from my 512MB Graphics - coming upto about a year now!) then most people with a new PC can play it these days with NO PROBLEMS! unless you got on board graphics, but then if you got on board graphics why are you buying this game, you should know that your computer most likley won't handle it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Single Player Campaign, Monumental Multiplayer, 24 May 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have been a fan of the CnC series since I had Red Alert on the playstation. I must say I played it more than any game I have bought previous or since. I never enjoyed the plain Command and Conquer games for some reason and I looked to CnC3 to change my mind. The campaign is fun, exciting, cinematic and challenging in some points. One gripe is that the Nod campaign is slightly harder than GDI. Another thing is by the time I reached the scrin campaign I was a little bored of missions. Never fear though as you can be rescued from the now dull single player by the amazing multiplayer mode.

To begin with people are given ranks depending on how often they have played and how many games they have won. This means that noob players can avoid the skilled players until they feel they are ready. I would suggest finding a friend of equal stature either in Real life or in game and playing 2v2 against other peeps. Now that the world builder is out, there will be thousands of maps for us to play with. That is probably the only gripe I have is there is a limited amount of online maps to play and there is no internet co-op mode.

Requirement tips:

Do not even attempt to run this on anything less than an Intel Core 2 Duo. A pentium 4 is not enough, my P4 3.2 Ghz was not good enough to run it.

You will need a good graphics card (Geforce 7000 or greater) and at least 1gb of Ram.

To go online you will also need high speed internet, 1mb broadband minimum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back Commanders!, 27 Sept. 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Let me make it clear from the beginning: GREAT GRAPHICS! Physics and details are AMAZING! I particularly liked the exhaust distortions, the dust of the passing mammoth tanks and the burning debris falling from destroyed flying units!
And for graphics like that it does not require the moon an the stars hardware-wise! A simple 3year old P4 with 1024MB RAM and a (new) nVidia 7600GT can manage the highest settings.
Why is this important? I have STALKER gathering dust waiting for my next PC - only then it will be playable, yet...obsolete!

The story moves along, new units get unlocked, you gather, you built, you defend, you read the terrain, you amass your forces and you push forward hoping for the best. No try it again with the Bad guys.

Where it misses the 5th star: one cannot hold a battle formation while moving as most major units move at different paces and (although the AI has improved) they keep bumping on each other. May be the next C&C could have some TOTAL WAR infused into it, with battle formations options.

- Is it balanced? Mostly YES.
- Does it require tactics? As much as one might expect from a COMMAND & CONQUER Game.
- Can you still hog resources until you tank-rush the opposition? YES (sometimes the only solution)
- Is it GENERALS 2.5? Definitely NOT. It has a clear C&C character!

True, I could do without the wooden acting of Michael Ironside! (Gone are the days of Kari Wuhrer...Lock'n'Load!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tiberium wars- better than tiberium sun?, 1 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Owning red alert, tiberium sun, and red alert 2 I was given this game for a birthday present from my mates. The graphics are great but require a good machine to run (one which I don't own) but even on lowest it still looks good and has plenty of great sound and explosions as someone else comments on well. The camapign has a good story and has at least some variation: I had no problem here. It remains very loyal to the original with some new ideas but the one reason I like this more than all the others is the pace of the game which seems much quicker to the previous titles (well loads of build queues certainly help). Maybe less diverse than Tiberium Sun in some of the units (I am looking to you GDI) there are at least some possibilities here esp for Nod who are my favorate to play by a long distance.

All I say is play this game then go back to the original (if you own it of course if not buy "C&C the first decade" , I came back to this: it is still difficult enough for me and there seems to be a good multiplayer which is the best way to play this (as long as you can survive longer than five minutes-if not maybe it's time to get your mates to play so you can beat them- well thats what I did anyway.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new or Innovative but enjoyment has never needed an update., 8 April 2007
By 
T. Hobbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I will start off by saying this game is like all others in the series previously in that it is rather straightforward to pick up and learn. Although I will say this third volume seems to share more with the first than second in the series. With the units and most of the landscape making what seems like a regression in terms of atmosphere and style. The sound track also has changed style somewhat. Rather than the dark ambience of Tiberium Sun Or the eclectic mix of beats of C&C1, it sits firmly in the middle ground. The music changing with the state of play sometimes so well you fail to notice until it has calmed again adding another element to it's experience. Although with the addition of a third side and some touch ups you can feel hints of General and Red Alert creeping in. Not that it's a bad thing as the new interface saves a lot of time when your trying to react to goings on elsewhere. The game play itself brings nothing particularly new but then it never needed anything. Instead the new graphics engine just makes an already fun game even more spectacular to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original C&C is back and wow is it good, 3 April 2007
By 
Matt Nichols "mpn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have read quite a few of the reviews below and many people are highlighting faults they have experienced but the overall consensus is that of great satisfaction. This is perfectly true. To be fair my main concern was that of the new race, Scrin. I thought this would upset the balance of GDI and Nod but for me the game wouldnt be complete without them. I am not far enough in the campaign to see how they interact with the storyline but by simply experiencing skirmish and online modes, the Scrin give you that extra option. The visuals on the game are a feast and the sound effects and extra detail applied make the original tiberium wars seem like a mobile phone game. I will admit there have been faults with the online feature but these things always take time and regrading that two patches have been released in less than a week shows that EA are fully commited to this game and so should anyone that buys it because over the last 12 years the game has gone a great game to the RTS benchmark. Enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C & C all the way, 1 April 2007
By 
D. Green "Danny G" (Rugby, Warwickshire. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Received this game on release day and it sure made my weekend. Top marks to Amazon for great delivery.

I always loved C & C and this game further enhances my opinion of the franchise. The game looks excellent and when I turned up the resolution on my monitor the graphics and detail became incredible. Fortunately I have a decnt PC so the game runs fluidly.

I have only done the first 5 levels as GDI but the story, cutscenes to video and the script of the game are top notch. Yeah its sometimes a bit cheesy but it adds to the appeal.

The new units, vehicles and machines are excellent and the new box indicating obj. & intelligence are a nice touch. Being able to build from this box allows multiple build when away from the base making it easier to compose a brutal army.

Overall I only have the highest praise for this game and my Wii has been put on the back burner while I play Tiberium Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, but stay offline or play with your friends only, 13 Aug. 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is a drastic improvement over C&C Generals. The familiar C&C sidebar returns where you can build your structures, vehicles, base defences and so on. The familiar factions of GDI and NOD have returned, with each battling it out to control the Earth following a dangerous epidemic spread of lethal Tiberium across the surface of the planet, and there's a third race of aliens called the Scrin but I'm not far enough through the story yet to see how and why they come into things.

So, chucking out the bad bits from Generals and going back to Westwood's original style, what have EA created? Well, it's not bad, and the graphics are still good even when I have them turned down for my slightly underpowered laptop graphics card although the screen chugs a bit when something big happens like a nuclear explosion. For one thing, this game really feels like C&C in the way that Generals just didn't. In fact, my opinion is that Generals should have been spun off as a separate franchise and not given the C&C name because it's just not the same at all.

However, there's one horrible horrible problem that hangs over from Generals. There's still the pathetic online ranking system, where anybody will cheat, use dirty tactics like capture your entire base within one minute of the match starting and sell everything, move their construction yard into your base right at the start of the match and build massive base defences, rush with hundreds of cheap recon vehicles... ... some people playing this game have ridiculous statistics like 350 wins with 74 losses and even more than that. Playing the game like that can't be fun either for the person losing nor the person winning, where's the challenge and how are you furthering your skills? I'd even go as far as to say that people who play like that for the sole purpose of their rank and win/loss statistics have no lives whatsoever outside of this game, it's actually pretty sad when they're proud of playing the game like it's NOT supposed to be played. I remember the good old days of Red Alert 2 and Tiberian Sun, when people actually did the now-unheard of act of building up a proper army and fighting a proper war which lasted hours, as opposed to one APC and five engineers at the start of the match and ending it two minutes in. If you disconnect in disgust, you rack up a loss on your scorecard and people laugh at you. If you disconnect too often, EA threaten to ban your account, so it's a lose-lose situation either way.

The rank system ruins it, even on unranked games your win/loss statistics are still recorded so no matter where you go there's all of this nonsense happening, and the people with the huge stats create new accounts and set up games entitled "noobs only" or such like so that they can just crush more people by basically cheating. As much as Generals and Tiberium Wars are letdowns compared to the original Command and Conquer games even EA can't have wanted the game to be played like that, it is no fun whatsoever. The only saving grace is that the crippling balance issues from Generals have been worked out, although the Nod harvester is currently slower and able to carry less tiberium than those of the other factions. This, however, is on the fix list for the next patch as well as reducing the health of some of the cheap rush units so they hopefully get destroyed easier.

So, good game in general, just don't ever play multiplayer online with people you don't know. You will guaranteed have no fun whatsoever, play the campaign, offline skirmishes or with your real world friends over a LAN or a private online match if you want a fun experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bottom of the list in C&C titles, 15 July 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The C&C series has gone a long way since Tiberian Dawn hit the shelves 12 years ago, but this game is as standard as it gets.

To be fair, complaining about the fact that it is a system resource hog can't stand up as an argument anymore, it goes without saying that buying a computer this year means that next year's games won't run on it properly. But yes, it is a system resource hog.

Build your base, track down the enemy and destroy them. It's always been the C&C way, but in Tiberium Wars, it feels very restricting. The enemies this time around are slightly more intelligent (enemies in earlier C&C games would be told to attack a specific target all the time). The tool bar has gone back to the right-hand side of the screen (in C&C Generals it took up the whole of the bottom of the screen), with your various build options now on drop-down menus which can be maximised and hidden to get a better view of the playing field.

When you click on a unit, their icon will appear in the corner. If the unit can receive upgrades, the upgrades will appear next to the icon. This is an idea taken from other games, but is useful during combat when you need an upgrade and haven't got much time to spare. Your units will also receive promotions which improve their speed and power. This has been a welcome addition to the C&C series since it was introduced in Tiberian Sun (it gives units more of a meaning for existance). One other idea that has been continued is the garrisoning of buildings - filling a building with rocket soldiers acts as a great anti-tank/anti-air defence. Nod can counter this by using "Black Hand" Flametroopers, while GDI can flush them out using Grenadiers.

Unfortunately there's been little imagination in the design of the structures - Nod's structures are slightly more authentic than GDIs, but you'd think a retro feel to some of the structures wouldn't have gone amiss, just to identify them. They really just look like standard buildings. Little imagination in the units as well - though the Mammoth Tank makes a welcome return (with a design based on the original, rather than the Mammoth MK2 walker in Tiberian Sun).

The storyline is too reliant on current worldwide events. The GDI mission begins by telling you what the current "terror threat level" is, then the world is plunged into chaos by simultaneous terrorist attacks (massive YAWN). And in-game, Nod have access to suicide bombers. WMD's, blah blah blah. Add that to the fact that the FMV sequences have poor acting (not including Joe Kucan who's always been great as Kane).

Aside from the GDI missions and the Nod Missions, you can play as the extraterrestrial Scrin, who made a brief appearance in Tiberian Sun. Their campaign in unlocked by completing the GDI and Nod campaigns.

Overall, Tiberium Wars just doesn't feel like a C&C game. It just feels like a bog-standard RTS! You need more than a bit of gold/red & black paint to make a C&C game. I could go on a rant about EA, but it'd be too easy. They do have better titles available to be fair - I'd choose C&C Generals and Battle for Middle-Earth (1&2) over Tiberium Wars any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD)
Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows XP)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews