Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Great Visuals, Great Buy
Okay, so, heres the deal.

I bought the DOW + WA dual pack a while back, had a great time playing on it. It was just, fun. Hard, evil, blood-spurting fun, but nevertheless, it had some areas to improve on.

Next, comes a long Dark Crusade. Now, i wait for a bit before buying becuase im a bit dubious of how good its going to be - then a few friends...
Published on 2 May 2007 by Morbid Matt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark Crusade
I'd just like to start by saying that they should have had a story based campaign. I really don't think the whole non-linear thing works at all. There's just no variation in the battles at all. It's just skirmish after skirmish until you reach an enemy stronghold where you'll have to kill someone instead of blowing up their headquarters. You don't "customise" your...
Published on 12 Aug 2008 by JustAReviewer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Great Visuals, Great Buy, 2 May 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
Okay, so, heres the deal.

I bought the DOW + WA dual pack a while back, had a great time playing on it. It was just, fun. Hard, evil, blood-spurting fun, but nevertheless, it had some areas to improve on.

Next, comes a long Dark Crusade. Now, i wait for a bit before buying becuase im a bit dubious of how good its going to be - then a few friends bought it and i succumbed to peer pressure...

So, after playing the originals with friends, Dark Crusade was like trying a new game! Its been a while since i've been so slow to tech up with a new race - it improves the game so much over its predecessor, immersis you in so much more, i can't imagine why you haven't bought it.

The two new races are different and diverse - the Tau favour long ranged assualts (INSANE firepower btw) while the Necrons, slow to develop, are immensly hard to stop once they get going (their robotic warriors pull themselves back together in battle). It just adds more depth to the game, especially if Space Marines was too in your face, Chaos too clichéd (see that? aliteration that is), Eldar just too, well, ethereal (and again! im on a role!) and orks just too....well....unskilled mobbing is a good tactic...

The single player campaign, while not brilliant, IS more diverse than the scripted versions, insofar is it follows a Total War set up - choosing what to conquer on a planet size scale. Its not brilliantly executed but it IS going down the right track.

The AI is good, but i have to say, nothing will beat playing with other people - first time i did it, it was so much more intense than an AI battle - nothing like watching your army decimate someone else's while they are powerless to stop you!

To conclude - your getting a great add-on, or stand alone game (i would recommend getting the first 2 parts first though) for a low price in todays market - if its not your thing, its not a huge deal - but i garuntee you will enjoy watching your enemies splat across the landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relic raise the bar once again, 7 Nov 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
This has been my most anticipated game for a long while. And it certainly lives up to my high expectations. I didn't doubt the game would dissapoint, but perhaps it was never going to be as good as people were saying it would be. Thank the stars then, that Dark Crusade is amazingly good.

Dawn of War is easily my favourite game for about the last five or more years. So to have a second expansion was always going to be a high point of the season (if not the year). Fortunately this expansion offers FAR more than Winter Assault ever did. Let's look at my personal pros and cons of DC.

Pros:

2 new playable races - Tau Empire and Necron. This is enough to buy the game on its own. Bringing the total number of unique races to 7, which is unprecedented. Not only that, but they're both very different from the standard 5. Moving on...

20 new multiplayer maps - I think it's 20, but whatever, that's an awful lot of new maps to blast your way around. It brings the total to about 75 which is certainly more than enough and they're all rather interesting and appealing too, which is more important.

New units and abilities - it's also nice to see that Relic have introduced some new units and abilities to step up the standard 5 races. Orks definitely need Flash Gitz for long range, powerful fire power, and Imperial Guard Heavy Weapons are useful considering their troopers and weapons are relatively weak. Plus Grey Knights are tres cool!

It's also great to finally see the computer using ALL unit types and various strategies. It was a shame the computer would easily neglect certain units in the other two games. Now you actually see Eldar using Vypers and Rangers!

Plus, the change of the basic function of cloaking is now vastly improved. And for the first time ever I'm using the Skull Probes!

Main single player feature - The conquest of Kronus. It's a good idea actually. Although actually playing through all this isn't massively exciting, it would have been more boring if Relic just created another linear irrelevant storyline. Plus, having an Honour Guard and being able to use existing buildings in new battles is a nice features and essentially allows this to work.

Sound and Graphics - both have been improved. Units say more things, plus battles have been upgraded in both departments. Skirmishes sound better and look better than they ever did before, which is great.

Cons:

Unit limits - Limits have been put on certain units such as Predators and Terminators, amongst others. Surely this has been done to even the playing field, especially with regards to net gaming. It's a shame though that it restricts single player versus computer.

Loading times - Well, they were never fast, but they've certainly gotten way too slow. Oh well, at least it gives me the time to do the odd job round the house. ;)

Lack of bikes - I'd love to see Space Marines sport bikes and assault bikes. It's a shame they've not been added for this new edition.

...

Well, there aren't a whole lot of cons, which is a good thing, and the ones I've come up with on the spot will only ease over playing time. Generally though, what it shows is that it's an almost flawless game. It still has the amazing gameplay as it has had since day one, but now it's just been vastly improved. I would highly recommend it to anyone, especially those who enjoy fast paced sci-fi RTS games, because this is definitely the best since Starcraft.

Plus, for newcomers to the series you don't even need the original game. This can be played stand-alone, albeit with only Tau and Necron, but that's enough to get anyone started on the series.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


188 of 195 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Winter Assault should have been!, 4 Sep 2006
By 
H. Wickenden (Shropshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
As bang for buck, value for money goes this expansion is looking to be a very meaty addon. I will be the first to say Winter Assault didn't live up to my expectations about what an expansion pack should be. Which quite simply is content, and lots of it!

The campaign, while less story driven will be much longer due to a new global conquest campaign. Rather than linear missions one after another, followed by a pretty meagre "one side or the other" choice at the end, Dark Crusade offers a completely non linear campaign, playable with any race, that's 7 whole new campaigns! While I doubt we will see a great deal of voice overed cut-scenes as were abundant before and after each mission in WA, Relic have said that each campaign will be story driven. Whether this will come up in text form or proceduraly generated cutscenes has yet to be specified. As your progress you will unlock equipment and your armour which can be added to your commander, taking him/her from powerful command unit, to a gleaming one man/woman death machine.

As well as this Relic are going to add yet another unit to each current playable race, the additions are as follows:

Space Marines: Grey Knights: Small, elite, melee proficient squad who specialise in Daemons. They are the Holiest among the Space Marines Chapters, and also gifted psykers which could mean a special ability or two. Each carriers a storm bolter and a Phsycically charged Polearm known as a Nemesis Force Weapon.

Orcs: Flash Gitz: A very neccessary addition for the Orc faction due to the New Long range heavy Tau race. The flash gits are large Nob class orks, but with very big guns. They are very similar to The Imperial Guard's Ogryns in terms of apperance,weapons and animations(Relic cutting corners? Perhaps but a very useful addition none the less.) They deal high ranged damage, but are quite weak at taking it.

Chaos: Chaos recieve the mighty Daemon Prince. Much like the Space Marines Chaplain, except very very large, the Daemon Prince is a melee whirlwind. Weilding a large Nether Sword, and some sort of glowing corrupted artifact, the Daemon Prince obliterates his foes with brute force and sheer presence, his placement on the battlefield causes serious moral drops in his opponents as they cower in fear of a Space Marine who has been totally lost to the warp.

Imperial Guard: Heavy Weapons team. Much in the trend of the Imperial Guard's advance, fortify, advance, fortify style of play, the heavy weapons team are a mobile defense platform. Two Imperial Guardsmen carry one of three heavy weapons: A Heavy Bolter, Lascannon or Heavy Bore Cannon. On the move they have no attack capabilities and must be defended by your other units untill deployed. It takes about 3 seconds for the pair to unpack and assemble their weapon and place some sand bags, but once assembled the Heavy Weapons team will shred their foes with awesome fire power in any direction.

Eldar: Harlequins. No real details on these units have been released by Relic, and even in the Gamesworkshop world they are quite are rare and unknown force. As far as I can tell the Harlequins are a completely independant section of the Eldar race. Not tied to the usual bonds of an Eldar clan they act as mediators for their Eldar cousins in political and diplomatic matters, but in war they become feared assasins, who specialise in melee combat.

As for the two new races, the Demo which allowed the Tau to be played for 2 missions showed alot of promise.

Tau: The tau are a fragile, civilised race who specialise in long range combat. They are unique in the fact they have no Defensive constructions, excluding of course upgraded listening posts. They do however have allies, the Kroots and their large Krootox cousins make up the melee arm of the Tau, engaging and occupying the enemy while the ranged Tau vapourise them with incredible efficiency. A few important units:

X15 Stealth Suits: These are you first units and act as a permanently cloaked, but weak offensive force. They can be upgraded to have jetpacks, and once the Tau versions of the armory is built, fusion Blasters which are effective and vehicular weapons. They can be very useful scouts in the later game, creating safe line of sight for your weaker troops to lay down heavy fire.

XV25 Commander Battle Suit. You primary commander on the battlefield is a one man ranged army. With several upgrades which allow him to be effective against any foe, when kept relatively safe your commander will be the core of your fire power. And if things get too hot, he can always jetpack to a safer positions.

Kroot Carnivores: The first of the Kroot family of units are melee specialist with some weak supressing ranged fire. Up against the real melee heavy hitters like possesed marines these boys will go down fast, but as melee fodder simply to keep you opponents at bay while your main troops lay down fire they handle themselves well, and once upgrade can leap into melee range to avoid being cut down by enemy guns.

The Necrons: Unfortunatley the demo did not allow me to play any of the Necron Units. From what has been released so far, the necrons are expensive and slow, but are unmatched in strength and reslience. In a one on one fight a band of necrons will easily take down their enemy counterparts. However their speed does leave them vunerable to hit and run attacks and artillery.

The Necrons entire plan of battle is decided around your monolith. A giant floating pyramid structure that have begun to resurface after 60 million years under the sand. At first your Monolith lies Dormant buried beneath the sand. It is your job to gain enough power and resources to bring it back online. It's hard and expensive and will take a significant amount of time, but once done, your monolith becomes your ultimate weapon. A flying fortress that will tear any and all units to shreds, a unti that will take the combined effort of all your opponents artillery and armor to take down, and even then only if they're luckty or if they have allies, the Necron Monolith is by far the greatest unit in the game.

So I recommend any RTS fan, or any gamer out there for that matter, buy a copy of Dawn of War (it's very cheap) and then invest in this expansion (17.99) and you will have one of the most full and engaging RTS experiences of your life. 5/5, 10/10, this is what an expansion should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Low Down....., 29 Oct 2006
By 
P. Wills "Nightbringer" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
This expansion pack, will be the best because you don't actualy need dawn of war to play it, you only need it for online gaming. the expansion pack features 2 new races.

The Tau are race that belives in the greater good and could be the best in long range warfare but takes the hit when it comes to melee.

The other is the necrons a race bent on destroying life in the galaxy, they feature an entirely new economy because they don't need requistion only power and time to upgrade their monolith which is their primary building. They are slow but deadly in melee and average in range, but once their Monolith if opperational nothing can stop, nothing can kill them, nothing can stop them, fighting them is like fightning death itself.

The other races also get new units such as:

The Space Marines have the Grey Night a legendary unit in close combat and best agaisnt demons, they also 2 unique special powers.

The Chaos Lord as the final upgrade can become the daemon Prince, a representation of the choas god himself, he is a amazing alround unit that can take down most units and has fire breath which breaks the morale of troops as his speacial abilty.

The Orks have Flash Gitz which are a cross bread between shoota boyz and mez boyz, becuase they have costum shootas they are effective against infantry and heavy infantry.

The Eldar have the Harlequins which are units that leap around the battlefield cutting a path of destruction behind them, they are one of the deadliest melee specialts on the field, their special abilty is the Harlequins kiss, which they shove a tube down their opponents throat and liquifies their innerds causing them to expolde.

The Imperial Guard have the Heavy Weapons Team, which is weak when not set up but deadly when they are becuase they have different weapons they can use, they can either use the heavy bolter which is good against infantry, the lascannon good against light veichles and the rocket launcher which is good against heavy veichles.

amongst all of this THQ has introduced the Meta-Map, which is were you have to conquer certain segments of the planet Kronus and if you take out the enemys stronghold them you wipe them out of the game. you can also upgrade your commanders armour to your likeing.

Alround this is going to be the best expansion pack ever made!!!! you must get it!!!!1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet!, 21 Dec 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
After playing the first 2 dawn of war games i was impressed. But after playing the online mode i was a bit nettled. This was mainly because about 30 minutes into the online game the other person would suddenly attack you with about 15 of the best units in his army and would overwelm you with shear brutality. this i felt was not the point of the game because in the end the person who won would be the person with the toughest army.

Though thanks to the new rules such as your only allowed 2 leman russ battle tanks and 1 squad of terminators it has opened up a new tactical feeling to the game which relys much more on your initiative than your abilitie to drive 6 heavy tanks into the enemys base!

furthermore the ability to customize your leaders is a great idea since you can see him evolve from a drab commander into an ustopable warlord.

i would strongly recommend buying the other 2 games along with this game as this opens up more races in the online mode as well as giving you an insight into the other races storys as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the rest!!!, 22 Nov 2006
By 
A. Evans (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
This game is very good, simple but true. Two new races, The Tau Empire and The Necrons. I only had the first Dawn of war and not winter assualt so I did not think i was able to play this game. But then I found out that it is a stand-alone, so you don't need DOW or winter assualt.

When I started playing i tried out the new races. I found the Tau empire to be good (the tau dont do mele attacks except for Kroots) and have a nice variety but I found the Necrons to be very boring and all their units are the same. You can always win easy with Necrons, all you need to do is resurect the Monolith and it wipes everything out.

Seeing as I did not purchase Winter assualt I had never played with the Imperial Guard and I found that they were the most enjoyable, having the most variety in troops and vehicles.

Also, the new campaign is much better as you get a world map of the planet Kronus (which you are attacking). This map reminds me of the one of the Total War series. V good.

So I would say that overall this is a fantastic game and should be bought at the next opportunity, the only bad thing is the boring Necrons.

Fab- 5 stars *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Awesome, 24 Nov 2006
By 
B. powell (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
I thought that this game was fantastic! i have got Dawn of War and Winter assault and i have played dark crusade at my friends house (i cant open mine till Christmas) and the game is brilliant, the campaign is very good fun and there is a lot more strategy involved, deciding where to attack, the consequences (is that spelt wrong?) the bonus's e.t.c

In addition, i love the way you upgrade your commander from being an "ok" leader to a mighty warlord. The Tau and Necrons also add an interesting new element to the game and are fun to fight with and against (except Tau stealth warriors that are really, really frustrating) but apart from them this game is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 14 Nov 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
Having been a Dawn of War (DOW) fan from its first incarnation, I was looking forward to this next expansion pack's arrival. And may I say it didn't disappoint. THQ - the developers - have produced a real cracker. It adds two new races to the DOW collection, bring it to an astonishing 7!

What truly sets this game apart from all other expansion packs is that you don't have to have DOW or Winter Assault (WA) to play it. DOW Dark Crusade (DC) will install as a stand-alone, which, as far as I know, is the first for expansion packs.

DC - and DOW - have to be one of the best strategy games now on the market. I boasts so many features and has expanded the world of Warhammer 40,000 to all new levels. Any Real Time Strategy (RTS) player should get DC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisinlgy good game/expansion, 4 Dec 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
My review is based upon multiplayer mode only since I do not playing against AI. At first I was a little dissapointed with this expansion over the original game. The problem was that I had just got to damned good at Dawn of War and had come to terms with any imbalance in the races and start modes (QS or standard). Initially this game felt a little alien, almost like all prior play in DOW was useless. Ofcourse this is rubbish and after a few games online I began to develope an admiration for this new title. Despite what some people say, i think the game is at its most balanced; this is subject to mapsize and starting resources etc - i.e, some races can churn out more advanced units initially so therefor suit small maps for rushing etc. The new races are amazing - stealth and terror, and I can assure you that when I first saw that monolith heading towards my troops, I had no idea what it was, then, "oh no! where are all my troops gone?" followed after a green flash; you know what im saying!. Combined with a good graphics card, this game looks amazing too. I like the twist in that the vehicle and turret caps have been reduced so that the player focuses more on their troop development and their tactics more, allowing more oppurtunity to use heroes in a strategic manner. The extensions of each races' military arsenal adds a little more spice for players expecting extra. After playing this game for one month, I have to say that im hooked and that i dont expect ill be moving on any time soon - hats off to RELIC - cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best so far, 23 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Sean Henderson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC) (Video Game)
The creators of this expansion pack have really made the effort to rejuvinate the game play. I'm thinking in whole new ways about what units are valuable and what are not. The frenzy of the chaos is immense. the Stealth improvements for most races actualy give a purpose to scull drones and the eldar actually seem competant now. It is annoying - as has been mentioned - that you are only allowed two preditors and a five value for whirlwinds!! However, i don't think you can fault the veriaty of units that are now availible. Yet i'd love to see more assassins, tyranids, and more individual legendary charicters for each race (especially the individual chapers of the space marines - i'm thimking Bjorn the fell handed and maybe commisar yarik for the imperial guard, or karn the betrayer for chaos). Notwithstanding, deffinetly a step in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad2bbc6c)

This product

Warhammer: 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade (PC)
Used & New from: 2.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews