Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mod Revival, 17 Aug 2006
By 
Smickers "Des" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
A stunning album with a wonderful blend of old skool mod values and mordern sounds with the heavy influence of Weller evident in both the music and lyrics.

Every track is a blinder and you will be oddly pulled to the lower key acoustic numbers by the pure lyrics.

A wonderful record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality album, 15 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. J. A. Kirby "jake kirby" (stotfold, bedfordshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
this band is amazing saw them at the saundhause in northhampton supported by the on offs they were absolutly amazing

the album is also amazing i hope thta there next 1 is as good as this 1 there is no track that is dissapointing i like them all but the best ones are Local Boy, Robin Hood, Narrow Minded social club, peace and quiet and one night stand.

this album is deffinately a must buy u have to go out and buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Love Lost - buy it. Listen - and listen again., 31 Jan 2007
By 
Christopher Henwood "Kip93" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
I read the reviews above and thought 'yeah, sounds good - I'll buy it.'

I did just that and listened to it, but not so keen on first couple of plays.

Sure, track number one, She's Got Standards, pricks your ears up straight away, but my interest waned after that.

So I put the album on my mp3 and put the CD away thinking it probably wouldn't get many more plays.

But a couple of days later I had to drive somewhere and I'd had enough of listening to whatever was playing, so I hooked up my mp3 and stuck on No Love Lost.

It sounded amazing - just like listening to an old favourite album, like sticking on Definitely Maybe without realising it.

That was nearly two weeks ago and I still can't stop listening to it.

I've now decided this is easily the best album I've bought for ages.

And When I'm Alone - track ten - gets at least three repeats whenever it comes on.

Buy it, but give it a chance - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album The Jam never made!, 27 Sep 2006
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
I was a big Jam follower and felt Paul Weller deviated too far when going solo. Nothing ever filled that void til now - this album is so retro without being out of date if that makes sense. Just tried to get tickets for my local venue the Vic in Derby but already sold out.

If this isnt a one-off I expect a big future from these guys.

The only music that has made me want to listen in ten years - since jj72.

Fantastic!

mark Wood -Derby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 8 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
this album is fantastic the most refreshing sound to come from a band for years every song is fantastic i can honestly say this is the best album ive bought and heard in the last 10 years

keep it going lads

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 9 Feb 2011
By 
P. Frizelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
The Rifles are fundamentally mod rock revivalists, they perform a kind `a pseudo-sounding post-punk and wear their influences on their sleeves. These influences obviously and unarguably are the early Who with a little bit of Kinks and Jam thrown in for good measure along with all their immediateness and infectiousness there are like a breath of fresh air.

Not unlike the Ordinary Boys or The Enemy, The Rifles produce good, catchy pop songs. Short and to the point with a distinct "London Mod" sound. The vocals bear an uncanny resemblance to Paul Weller circa 1979, with a dash of Glen Tilbrook thrown in for good measure. Many of the songs are delivered with an old-fashioned pace and power which harks back to the early days of Buzzcocks-era power pop. This creates an album full of bitter-sweet songs that capture the loneliness and love, emptiness and angst, all the fears and hopes of everyday life. Unlike some of their contemporaries or predecessors there is not to much political emphases instead the songs come from a casual and impartial observer's point of view. Similar in many ways to The Purple Hearts or the Chords (remember them), Well if you don't check them out and you will see what I mean. This CD gave me cause to pull out all my old MOD records, whether by accident or design you can find a common ancestry with these chaps.

All the songs on No Love Lost are great, most of them show case a band that has infused a little extra jolt of pop hookiness into that Libertines/Arctic Monkeys sound that is so-dam irresistible. I guess its all about right place right time. Liverpool's The Dead 60s had created this embryonic sound albeit a bit more Ska orientated a few years earlier but failed to even register a blip on the radar of the public conciseness and with little promotion they sadly disappeared.

The thing with The Rifles is that they have somehow managed to inject and develop a personality into their songs that make them come to life and instinctively hum along. This is the first album in a long time that I have listened to from beginning to end with out skipping a track and then played it again immediately afterwards. Stewart veteran Paul Weller even recognises this groups potential and has on occasion "Jammed" (no pun intended) on stage with them, infamously and to the elation of the crowed belting out gems like "The Eton Rifles"

Another reason why the Rifles stand out so much is the subject matter of their songs. Tales of booze, drugs, chasing women and social deprivation which seem de-rigueur for bands of their ilk (Razor light) are all evident but, in the main, it's happening in the background. The Rifles don't deal in the bigger picture, preferring instead to concentrate on the minutiae of life. Deceptively intelligent songs like the story of the old soldier sitting alone in the pub watching the hustle and bustle and wondering what the hell he fought for ("Local Boy"). They have killer kooks that just grab you and suck you in if only for nostalgic reasons.

There're a good antidote to the latest Simon Cowell creation or the Ghetto Rap R&B bollocks that's about. Perhaps the only criticism is that there are too many similar sounding tracks to make No Love Lost anything other than a very promising album. But we must remember it took The Jam three albums before they had found their feet and produced music of this maturity and poignancy. Overall this is a good album which deserves some wider airplay and recognition. The Rifles, have been sadly overlooked by many. Initially, they seemed to be following the path blazed by others such as Franz Ferdinand and Kaiser Chiefs. But that idea soon becomes illusory because, for some reason, the mainstream picked up on those bands and didn't pick up on the Rifles. But Hey where are those bands now.

This review is littered with historical references to whom the Rifles are indebted, sound like or aspire. In fairness I guess bands today have a hard time, no matter how hard they try they are always going to be compared to bands that have gone before. After all we have almost 50 years to compare them too, if we assume that the birth of the "Band" started in 1963 with the Beatles. Perhaps that is the nub of their problem; the Rifles manage to be unique but retro all at the same time.

I hope the Rifles get the notoriety and success they surly deserve.
It's a shame really because the history of rock "n" roll is littered with bands like the Rifles who are or destined to be forgotten heroes felled on a barren wasteland and funeral pyre.

Calling all you old Mods get your Parkers out and treat your self you won't regret it. Re-live your youth if only for 40 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great album, 11 July 2006
By 
N. J. Cooke (Purley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
Have seen the rifles recently and they are a very good band, there is no pretence about them, just genuaine guys making music with great riffs, proper London band, a breath of fresh air, amongst this world of James blunt and jose gonzalez rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Record by A Brilliant Band!, 18 July 2006
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
After hearing the brilliant debut "Local Boy" last year, and then the cracking follow up "Repeated Offender", I knew these lads were onto something, and quickly they became established as one of my favourite bands!

Since hearing those two songs, I have been eagerly awaiting the release of their debut album, and finally after months of waiting, it's finally arrived!

Standout tracks are obviously "Local Boy" and Repeated Offender", but also add to that list new single "She's Got Standards", "Peace & Quiet" which was actually their real debut, "Robin Hood" and "When I'm Alone". The only song I couldn't really enjoy listening to was "Narrow Minded Social Club", which is a lot slower than the other powerful upbeat tracks, but at least it is at the end, so i don't have to skip through songs to miss it!

The Rifles are an excellent up and coming band, who have recieved good reviews on most of their releases, and have the vibe of The Jam and The Specials behind them. With distinguished vocals, and infectious choruses, it's easy listening, and entertaining in comparison to some of the dismal new bands we're being lumbered with.

My only disapointment about this album, is that it didn't feature title track "No Love Lost", which was a demo, but indeed a quality song. Still though this is an album, which if life was fair, would definately be included as an "album of the year".

"No Love Lost" is a top-notch record, that will provide the perfect antidote to those summer hangovers, and get you back on your feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Album Razorlight Should have made......, 25 Sep 2006
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
Once in a while, you stumble across an album by a new band that really catches your imagination. This is such an album. Eleven short, sharp tracks with no discernable drop in quality from first to last. It's an old cliché to say that every song could be a single, but this applies here. All the more surprising in the digital era when a lot of bands use more and more filler in their actual album releases.

I first heard the band on one of the music channels recently singing, 'One Night Stand' and I knew I had to check out the rest of their repetoire. They take the spirit of the Jam and fuse it into a an album that sounds modern as it does retro. Reminiscent of last year's Dead 60's album, but far more consistent. The pace never relents, and after it's finished, it does what every good album should do. Makes you want to play it all over again. Fantastic stuff.

If Johnny Borrell's band were as good as he claims them to be, he'd have made this album instead of the somewhat bland offering they came out with recently.

Five stars then, and it will be interesting to see where this band go from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure, class album., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Love Lost (Audio CD)
The Rifles are one of the best bands around. My sister is going to love this as a Christmas present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3c21eac)

This product

No Love Lost
No Love Lost by The Rifles (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews