Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was also there in Potsdamer Platz.
By good fortune I went with two Dutch friends who speak perfect German
and we arrived in the morning so was able to get very close to the huge stage.

Held in Potsdamer Platz (a location which was part of the former "no-man's land" of the Berlin Wall), this concert was even bigger than the Pink Floyd era ones, as Waters built a 550-foot long and 82-foot...
Published on 24 Sep 2007 by brian from london

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Fantastic music but the video quality is not up to modern standards.
Published 2 months ago by John Hayford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was also there in Potsdamer Platz., 24 Sep 2007
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
By good fortune I went with two Dutch friends who speak perfect German
and we arrived in the morning so was able to get very close to the huge stage.

Held in Potsdamer Platz (a location which was part of the former "no-man's land" of the Berlin Wall), this concert was even bigger than the Pink Floyd era ones, as Waters built a 550-foot long and 82-foot high wall, which was broken down in the same show.

The show had a sell-out crowd of over 200,000 people, and right before the performance started the gates were opened to the concert and an additional 100,000 to 500,000 (estimates vary) people were able to enter for free so we are talking about a huge audience.

To Clear up the issue about ' technical failures ' I had a friend
record the whole show in Holland { unlike the UK in Holland they covered it live ' from start to finish } so I did watch it after the event and I do know the broadcast was marred with a few drop's in sound but we { the audience } watching it live were unaware about any problems ' apart ' from the second song, "The Thin Ice" and part of the third song, "Another Brick in the Wall (Part 1)", were disrupted when a circuit breaker tripped. It was reset, but immediately tripped again so they had to rewire some equipment. Those two songs had to be re-recorded for the issue of the DVD.The live performance of "Mother" was also hounded by a power failure. Roger Waters tried to get Sinéad O'Connor to sing her parts anyway, or mime the song, while the error was being fixed. Offended by being asked to mime, she didn't return after the show to re-record the performance (which is how "The Thin Ice" was saved for the CD/Video release.) Instead, the release version of "Mother" comes from the dress rehearsal on the previous night before the concert. Consequently, the large projection of Gerald Scarfe's mother character that was projected on the screen during the concert cannot be seen on the video or DVD versions.

I went to a local party in East Berlin and around one hour later we could hear them repeating the part that had been broken up before .

Its impossible to spot when you watch the DVD and even although I was thirty foot from the stage I cant even spot the splice.

I work in the music festival field so I do get to see many Live events but The Wall Concert in Berlin on 21 July 1990 was the best Concert I have ever seen and even although its now over seventeen years later I can still remember it as if it was yesterday.

Really this DVD should be in ever fan's collection.

ps

Shot on Potsdamer Platz, the no man's land between East and West Germany, the producers didn't know if the area would be filled with mines - no one did. Before setting up, they did a sweep of the area and found a cache of munitions and a previously unknown SS Leibstandarte Adolf Hitler bunker. The Leibstandarte Adolf Hitler started as Hitler's elite personal bodyguard but were later diverted to Eastern and Western fronts. There is a misconception probably due to the SS division's name that the bunker found was the Führerbunker or the place were Adolf Hitler committed suicide which is false. The Führerbunker was in another location.

At the request of the concert producers, part of the Berlin Wall was kept in place as a security fence behind the stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now Wider, 22 April 2011
By 
MelAus (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This special edition has been re-mastered from the original 4:3 aspect ratio to widescreen.
Thus some of the top and bottom of the original frame has been lost.
I haven't ordered it as yet, so have given 4 stars in anticipation of it being okay, yet to be seen, but I imagine it is still worth 5 stars as the original version. Some of the overseas reviews say the new version has added to the presentation.

EDIT: After now having obtained this item.

As expected I'm generally happy with this new remastered effort, however, as originally stated the original was shot in Germany with the old 4:3 aspect TV cameras.
This item on an average widescreen tele looks okay, but for critical viewing on a quite largish TV screen or projector, it lacks resolution, thus looking a bit soft. Also the top of some of the entertainers heads have been cropped badly on a lot of the closeups.
I think some effort has gone into this newer release but can't help feeling, seeing some of the remastering done in this age with very questionable old material, both film and TV videotape, it could have been better.
Perhaps Universal didn't come up with a generous $ allowance or time to make it look better. I'm speaking with 40 years experience in the technical side of broadcast tele, hope I'm not being too critical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the intended success, 31 Dec 2006
By 
Leonard King (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This DVD isn't a true record of the actual televised event which was plagued by technical failures. Fortunately there was a fully recorded "dress rehearsal" so that the affected parts were able to be seemlessly patched in .

The concept was to raise enough money to be held in a perpetual fund for world disaster relief and in this respect it was a complete failure, as it went into debt. In retrospect this was a rather ambitious project, but give credit to Roger, the other stars (who learned and peformed their songs brilliantly) and organisers for their good intent.

DVD video quality is fair with some motion smearing, but the DTS sound is excellent and as such is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost like the Original Broadcast, 16 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
One thing stands out in my mind about the original live broadcast of this concert was the failure of a system part way through Thomas Dolby's solo in Another Brick in the Wall Part 2 which cut off the feed from his synth.
Having watched this DVD I now know what his entire solo sounded like.
The concert sound is beautifully recorded as are the visuals and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
The addition of 5.1 surround sound adds something to the show making one feel 'in the audience'.
If DVDs can 'wear out' then this one will test the theory in my house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avsolutely Wonderful, 19 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Even though i am only 17 and i didn`t have the ocasion to see Pink Floyd live, i can assure you this concert is breathtaking. This DVD deserves a full 5-star rating and it`s worth all its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever!!, 30 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
By the best band ever, the greatest album ever!! It's a must have!!! Just buy it or live in regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
bought this after umming and arring and reading negative reviews but bought it any way one great dvd solid playing by all musicians and hats off to paul carrack cindy lauper brian adams sinead o conner they were all great so glad I followed my own judgement and didn't listen to those people who must be deaf great dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Brilliant, its great to have film of the actual live show of the wall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
one of my favourite music dvds. an amazing line up of special guest performing along side roger waters. fantastic sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I witnessed the wall torn down in 1989, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Sat on the top of the Brandenburg gate on a massive historic night in November 1989 was for me probably the most emotional event that will happen in my lifetime, to witness the pure elation, emotion and tears of happiness of hundreds of thousands of people both from the east and the west that had their families and lives torn apart when a wall separated them almost 30 years earlier, and to try to escape from the east, if caught, faced instant death by shooting, mines, vicious dogs, barbed wire although many tried, some successful, most sadly failed, this was heart wrenching for me. Roger Waters masterpiece of musical and visual testament and tribute to this massive event in history should not be underestimated by anyone, this was a one off event staged in potsdamer platz formerly no man's land that thankfully does not exist anymore in fact now has been highly developed. This tribute concert is a must see for everyone and Roger Waters should be congratulated for pulling this amazing feat off in such a short period of time after the Berlin Wall had been torn down there is no room for criticism here only thank you from all those lives that where liberated on that historic night in November 1989. Rest in peace all those poor souls who didn't make it to see this amazing tribute concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roger Waters: The Wall - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2007]
£6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews