Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing added, nothing taken away.
A few reviewers have mentioned that this isn't the original theatrical version, despite what it says in the tin. It's true. The film on the second disc seems to be the same as the THX digitally remastered version that was released on VHS in, I think, the mid-late 90's.

There don't seem to be many differences between this one and the original 1977 effort - a...
Published on 31 Dec 2006 by C. J. Hutchins

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, truly terrible DVD transfer
Watching the original versions of the original Star Wars trilogy on DVD is like travelling back in time - not so much to the innocence of youth but more to the days when picture quality was never much of a consideration on video releases and Fox had the reputation for the worst transfers in the business. Watching the PAL DVDs is to step back into an age of low resolution...
Published on 25 Sep 2006 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing added, nothing taken away., 31 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
A few reviewers have mentioned that this isn't the original theatrical version, despite what it says in the tin. It's true. The film on the second disc seems to be the same as the THX digitally remastered version that was released on VHS in, I think, the mid-late 90's.

There don't seem to be many differences between this one and the original 1977 effort - a couple of tiny alterations of the 'blink and you'll miss it' variety, but the sound & picture quality are certainly improved.

Like a lot of people, this is the version I bought the DVD for and after having some misgivings after reading the reviews on here I have to say I am very pleased. It is in widescrren format but I haven't had any problems with that. The picture quality is great, although maybe more VHS than DVD but again I'm not complaining. I've not noticed any grainy images yet - that's not to say they aren't there, but they certainly don't distract from the enjoyment of the film if they are.

Sound quality is very good, too, and the soundtrack (voices, music etc) has obviously benefitted from some cleaning up.

There are no extras included with the 1977 version - it in itself is regarded as a 'bonus feature' but the 1st disc includes some commentaries, including one by Carrie Fisher which could be interesting.

I have to admit, though, that I didn't buy it for that version.

This is the film I remember watching from being little - nothing has been added and nothing has been taken away, or very little! If you want the film as it should be seen, buy this! If you're after bundles of extras, however, you may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funtastic!, 16 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I recently bought all 3 of these "Limited Edition" movies, and have already watched them countless times. What can I say? There are still hugely enjoyable, and just wonderful escapist fun! I once felt a bit apprehensive about the added CGI elements in these movies, but actually after a while you start to forget they are there. Besides, they are only really noticeable in Star Wars: A New Hope, and not so much in the other films (though, there is quite a bit of added CGI stuff at the very end of Return of the Jedi).

Just to make sure people know: each DVD consists of 2 discs - one contains the "new", brushed up, improved picture and sound quality version with added CGI elements (Jabba the Hutt talking to Solo; Greedo firing the first shot in the bar when confronting Solo; additional CGI animals and characters in the Mos Aisley spaceport), and all in a new 16:9 widescreen format (should go fullscreen on most widescreen tvs). The other disc contains the discernibly older, unaltered "Theatrical version", with no CGI elements. Basically, the film you remember from your childhood before those stupid prequels. It is in 4:3 format. This is also the same for the other 2 titles in this collection (you know, the REAL movies, RoTJ, ESB). I just have to say, watching them in 16:9 with improved picture and sound, it's hard to believe they were made 30 years ago, they look so contemporary.

For anyone new to the Star Wars universe, and wants to know what the fuss is about, just buy these three movies: Star Wars:A New Hope; Star Wars:The Empire Strikes Back; and Star Wars:Return of the Jedi. Do NOT waste your money on the so-called "prequels" which Lucas made later. They are all utter rubbish and an insult to the real Star Wars fans.

May the Force be with you, always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as I remember it, 15 Jan 2007
By 
B. Abraham (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
After reading the reviews I decided to buy this one as a 'tester' like Alex from Melbourne. I can't vouch for plasma/LCD/widescreen/HD TV's but the original looks excellent on my TV (59cm CRT, and yes, laugh if you must). I think if the new editions had not been done then there would not be so many negatives toward the DVD version of the original. Sure, the sound and picture quality isn't as good compared to the new editions but if I bought any other DVD and got the same picture quality as the original then I would be more than happy.

What I like best is that it actually has that old school feeling about it, just as I remember as a kid. And not being a full on star wars geek I completely forgot about Han shooting first. This is way better than seeing Greedo shoot first and miss at point blank range. And as for the scene with Jabba, C'mon!

Now I'm looking forward to purchasing the other 2 and seeing the original ending in Jedi.

Being the cynic I am, I know that they will release these as remastered versions sometime down the track (and I will buy them) but in saying that, it's great to see the movie as it originally was. Oh and don't forget the HD/Blu Ray versions are still to come, GL must be rubbing his hands together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good comparison but where is the 5.1?, 25 May 2006
By 
D. I. Shipley "David Shipley" (KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
It is great to see at long last the original versions of the Star Wars films finally out on dvd. At long last you can enjoy the original film minus CGI on DVD. However, not so good is the fact that this version has been pulled from the earlier laser disc release and is in Dolby 2.0 sound instead of Dolby 5.1. I frankly struggle to understand why Lucasfilm did not use a 35mm or 70mm print for the transfer and create a full digital soundtrack instead of the 2 channel one on this DVD release. Therefore, 4 stars instead of 5.

Anyway that said, lets go onto the main review itself:

I saw Star Wars in the cinema on its original release in 1977 and I was not slow to buy a ticket for an encore. The sheer experience of that film was exhilerating at a time when movie SFX were still a fair distance away from the quality we know and expect today. Few cinemas had stereo sound then because Dolby Stereo was in its infancy, and to actually be in a cinema so equipped at that time was a rarity. If you were really lucky, in addition to Dolby stereo, it might have a 70mm facility which would give you an enhanced picture, plus a 6 channel stereo split instead of the normal 4 channel of standard Dolby. Nowadays digital stereo in the cinema and home makes that sort of differentiating pretty irrelevent.

Seeing Star Wars in stereo and with its incredible effects really was an experience . After that sound and SFX were never going to be the same, and neither have looked back since.

Only just behind The Empire Strikes Back in terms of enjoyability sits Star Wars itself. The film remains one of those viewing experiences which just remains in your mind as a milestone. What effects, what imagination, the ability to lift you out of every day life and take you to a galaxy, far, far away. Who can forget seeing that opening shot of the huge Star Destroyer bearing down on Princess Leia's fleeing vessel?

No audiences had seen spaceships of those looks and dimensions on the big screen before...

The seedier side of intergalactic life is brilliantly realised in the depiction of THAT bar on the desert planet of Tatooine.

Of course you have that unforgettable sequence at the end of the film where a horde of tiny X Wing fighters take on the behemoth that is the Empire's Death Star.

Aside from the main characters you have great supporting roles. Alec Guinness as Obi Wan Kenobi is superb. As is Peter Cushing as the ruthless Governor Tarkin, commanding the Death Star.

To sum up then, it is good to finally be able to enjoy the original look to the film on DVD. Come on though Lucasfilm, release a special edition of these originals in full Anamorphic picture, complete with a 5.1 soundtrack. Now that really would be a genuine re-release of the original film. This version is simply not the complete ticket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank the maker..., 28 Sep 2006
By 
Antony Grace "professor" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Finally, finally! Just bought these and watched them again - god it was good. Spaceships look real rather than CGI animated because they are real. The effects ILM used back then were done with real models and explosions, but done so well you couldn't tell they were models. So, so, so much better than CGI animation that just looks like a computer game. I trawled the charity shops a few years ago to pick up the originals on VHS, knowing every time I watched them it could be the last given VHS's abilty to be chewed up. Finally I don't have to worry about this any more!

And I know these are kids movies, but when I first watched them, I was a kid - watching them again now takes me back in a way to those first magical moments and that is why this film is so well loved. It's also the fact that Star Wars tells a classic story which taps into the basics of good story telling. Sure, I love the Godfather too, but I'm not so lifeless I can't enjoy moments of childish glee when the fantastic John Williams score kicks in or when the Millenium Falcon blasts out of trouble just in time!

And directors who use CGI, please could you take note of a little film called Jurassic Park. 1993 it was made and it still is one of the best films I've seen which obviously uses CGI but still manages to make it look real. It's been nearly 14 years now and we still get films which don't use the technology half as well as they did back then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accuracy of reviews . . ., 1 July 2007
By 
C. Bulmer (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I don't often review products on Amazon but I had to write this and respond to just a couple of points raised by a previous reviewer.

"George Lucas would be turning in his grave if he ever saw what they'd done to the original version of his film"

- George Lucas is alive and well and it was HE who decided to re-release the original trilogy as Special Editions closer to his vision. Cynics would say the unnecessary digital tweaking was a dry run to prove that the technology was capable of producing the level of digital effects he wanted in his new trilogy, and as a marketing campaign to renew interest in the franchise prior to releasing the prequels.

"Lucas first introduced the world to Darth Vader in 1975 (when Star Wars hit cinemas)

- Star Wars received a US release in December 1977. Quite what philandering Darth Vader was upto in the meantime is anybody's guess.

"Cushing turns in a rounded and absorbing performance and if one considers that the actor was in his mid nineties when he made the film, it is an achievement to behold"

- For a man born in 1913, starring in a film in 1977, I would say he makes a suitable achievement for a 64 year old.

The quality of the acting by Cushing and Guinness though did elevate the film above a typical space opera and, compared to some of the performances in the prequels that would follow, revisiting these films highlights just how much presence these actors had.

For those who haven't seen Star Wars (shame on you) then the Digitally altered Special Editions are probably the best films to watch. The quality of print and sound on the theatrical releases are far below outstanding and does spoil the viewing experience.

However for the purists (i.e. anyone who grew up with Star Wars and has seen the films many times) this is the only chance to own these original editions, free of George Lucas' additional (and most would say unwelcome) scenes.

We've had the Special Editions, now the Original Theatrical Editions.

How hard would it have been to have had the digitally improved Theatrical Editions without unnecessary scenes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What on earth is he ranting about?, 11 May 2007
By 
ToxieDogg (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I don't normally criticise other reviewers personally but seeing as how Ken Weir has already unjustly slated another reviewer (B.Abraham), I feel the need to step in and correct the situation.

Ken, you have completely missed the point. B.Abraham was not saying that his DVD included a scene that yours does not, he was merely implying that the addition of the CGI Jabba The Hut to the `Special Edition' of Star Wars Episode 4 was completely unnecessary, along with the absurd `Greedo firing first' scene. It's a perfectly valid point and one that many fans, myself included, are known to agree with. If you like the scene with Jabba, then fair enough, you are entitled to your opinion.

However, the meeting between Han and Jabba did NOT appear at all in the original theatrical release, either with Jabba as a human or otherwise, and if you did see the scene in the theatrical release, then it must have been some sort of unedited bootleg copy. The `Jabba' scene was actually filmed but subsequently ended up on the cutting room floor. It only came to light when it was reinstated for the original release of the Special Edition and had a CGI Jabba superimposed over the original human actor. The only way you would have ever seen the scene played out as originally filmed is by watching one of the `Making Of' documentaries regarding the Star Wars Special Editions, where the scene is often shown first with the human actor, and then again with the CGI Jabba super imposed on top of him how to demonstrate how the effects were done for the Special Edition movie.

To use such a flawed argument as an excuse to attack another reviewer and give an otherwise enjoyable film a dismal 1-star rating and knock it's overall rating down is pathetic. Do your research properly next time, Mr. Weir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, truly terrible DVD transfer, 25 Sep 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Watching the original versions of the original Star Wars trilogy on DVD is like travelling back in time - not so much to the innocence of youth but more to the days when picture quality was never much of a consideration on video releases and Fox had the reputation for the worst transfers in the business. Watching the PAL DVDs is to step back into an age of low resolution standards conversions from NTSC to PAL with all the loss of detail and motion blurring that that entailed: certainly if you've got one of the old remastered video releases you might as well hold on to that, because the quality isn't as poor as this. The sound quality is pretty awful as well. From Lucas' past track record it's all too easy to imagine this is just a scam to allow him to sell a remastered version a couple of years down the line, but it's even harder to dispel the notion that somewhere Lucas is whining "See how soft the focus is? How can you say these are better films?"

Although commonly blamed for the death of cinema as we knew it, in truth Star Wars was a huge breath of fresh air after the increasingly stale and formulaic week-in, week-out reality of woefully unimaginative and derivative downbeat on-the-cheap 70s cinema. It wasn't merely a matter of having a happy ending, more that there was a sense of panache and unapologetic adventure that had been missing for too long at the time (even the decade's best adventures, such as The Wind and the Lion and The Man Who Would Be King, saw their heroes destroyed by society in an age that had no place for them). Looking at it for the first time in years, its much better directed than remembered, extremely well constructed and beautifully designed, introducing the `future is old' concept that many would attribute to Ridley Scott. It also, unlike the prequels, has the saving grace of Han Solo, a character whose deprecating sense of humor undercuts the more solemn and potentially pretentious moments in a way that would be much missed amid the talk of apprentices, trade embargoes and midi-chloridians in the prequels. It's still fun and it still works, even in the very worst transfer of the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Classic Star Wars : Fantastic Milestone in the series!, 12 Nov 2009
By 
C. Barker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I have finally decided to watch all six films (in order of release dates) and see what I make of the finished article that is George Lucas's Saga. I saw all the prequels at the cinemas. As I'm only 18 just now I hadn't seen any of the originals other than on the old VHS tapes and then on the 2004 edition DVD's.

I must admit that this first film has a fantastic 'feel-good' factor about it, and that is right from the start. You get sucked straight into the action from the beginning between the Empire and the Rebellion and that incredibly gloomy entrance made by Darth Vader for the first time is simply spell-binding. By no means can I ever see any future villain in the science fiction genre be as powerful or strong as vader was, if there were any contenders then it would certainly be very difficult to topple vader in my opinion. The Death Star is another powerful presence that most certainly works in this movie and Grand Moff Tarkin played brilliantly by Peter Cushing leads this film along with Alec Guinness who plays Obi Wan.

The feeling of this movie is light in tone but thats the whole magic of the thing. Don't get me wrong, this is not a PERFECT movie. Contrary to it's incredible success in 1977 when cinematically realeased it does have little problems which George Lucas tried twice I believe to perfect (1997 and then again in 2004) the trilogy in time for the much glossy, polished prequels. If you haven't seen any of Star Wars movies then A New Hope is actually a great place to begin you Star Wars experience. The logical place, I know, is Episode I and I know most people would recommend that. In my opinion however I believe Episode IV is the best place to start if you are completely new. This way you can marvel at a great old movie that was ahead in leaps and bound back in '77.

I would like to conclude that A New Hope is the most special, most gracious adition and I am really looking forward to sitting down and watching Episode V. As Vader so said "The Force is strong with this one!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest films in cinema history, 8 Jun 2009
This review is from: Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The first Star Wars film (despite it's billing as episode iv), A New Hope is just a stunning piece of cinematic escapist entertainment. The only film in the sage that can be watched on it's own without having to see any of the others, it's the purest, most enjoyable and darn-right fun of all the 6 films. You know who the good guys are, you know who the bad guys are, the plot can be followed by anyone over 5, the special effects still stand up today, the characters are hugely likeable and identifiable, almost every line of dialogue is memorable, and it has a great feel-good ending. Okay, watching it today it can sometimes come across as a bit cheesy, and there's no real depth to it (the next film was the real masterpiece) but for pure, fantasy escapism, it doesn't get much better than this. And this DVD thankfully has the original version of the film as well as the 'tinkered with' version (why can't you leave them alone George?). Needless to say, the original version is the one you should watch - CGI will date much quicker than the old style effects here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars IV: A New Hope (Limited Edition) [DVD]
£18.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews