Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped
Sonic Youth return with another excellent album. This time with out 5th member Jim O'Rourke. One this new album sonic youth effortlessly combine the mellow laid back aspect of Murray Street with the driving force of Experimental Jetset Trash and No star. The band truly excel on the albums 4th track sleeping around. The track explodes into life with classic sonic youth...
Published on 4 Jun 2006 by Ben

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars oh dear.....
this record is not very good.in fact it's pretty bland.some of the early tracks are really boring and forgettable.there are a few good tracks (rats, incinerate) but it is a dip in form. i hope the sonics can bounce back from this.
Published on 5 Jun 2006 by P. Grant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped, 4 Jun 2006
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
Sonic Youth return with another excellent album. This time with out 5th member Jim O'Rourke. One this new album sonic youth effortlessly combine the mellow laid back aspect of Murray Street with the driving force of Experimental Jetset Trash and No star. The band truly excel on the albums 4th track sleeping around. The track explodes into life with classic sonic youth feed back and bursts into an amazing solo half wat through the song. Overall this is one of Sonic Youths greatest albums and is a must have for fans old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Ripped...., 13 Jun 2006
By 
C. Willans "with taste" (W Mids. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
Sonic Youth return to a more 'garage rock' and more 'traditional' song form after their last five albums or so since 'Experimental Jet Set...' back in 94. Have to say that this is a very much welcome return too, doing what they do best, it has some great guitar hooks and noises as on tracks like Rats and Sleepin' around. Either, if you have listened to this band for the last 25 years or so, or, just want an 'ideal introduction' to the band now, then get this CD, you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Wine Matures, 26 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
For a band now past its 25th year, the name Sonic Youth does look increasingly ironic. However, the remarkable thing about Rather Ripped, their 21st album, is that it is their best one since A Thousand Leaves, almost a decade ago. Some purists will probably have a whinge about the style of the new album, but the band has succeeded in producing a record of almost completely accessible rock music, without losing their signature motifs of edgey melodies, songs about twisted relationships, and plenty of amp dissonance. Another way of looking at it is to say that this is the band's most mature work to date. What's more, it will have you on your feet rocking to it, which is not that common a feature of Sonic Youth's music over the years!

The melodies are laid down by Moore and Ranaldo in a thick, brisk, yet almost dreamy fashion, with a consistency that can make one track blur into the next. However, one way in which this is prevented from happening is that Gordon and Ranaldo (on "Rats", which he also composed) take a greater share of the vocals than on other recent albums.

Indeed, the album opens with Gordon almost immediately softly singing the line "You keep me coming home again", a love song that can only be written from years of being with the same person. This song really gets you in the mood for the album, building up to a very fast rythym halfway through, before swooping back down into Gordon's vocals once more.

The next song is "Incinerate", which begins with the line "I ripped your heart out from your chest / Replaced it with a grenade blast". I have seen one review that described this dismissively as being like high school poetry. As an aside, if that's what's getting graded in US high schools, then no wonder metal detectors are needed on the way in. By the way, its another great tune (if you do not listen too closely to Moore's lyrics)!

The most unlikeliest song on the album is "Do You Believe in Rapture?". Not only is it an improbable song title for this band, the song is quite syrupy. However, the feedback that snarls away in the back is worth listening out for. It gives the song a menace that is out-of-keeping with the lyrics.

The album's centrepiece is "Turquiose Boy", sung by Gordon. It is 6-minutes long that builds to a powerful distortion-laden crescedno by the end. This is followed shortly afterwards by "Pink Steam", a seven-minute song with a five-minute opening. It is also what seems to be a rare personal song by Moore to one of his daughters ("I'm the man who loves your mother / Open up your arms to me girl").

The album ends with the pseudo-philosophical question:

What comes first,

The music or the words?

On this album, it is definitely the music. If an upcoming band was producing a sound like this, it would cause a pretty big stir. The fact that it has come from a band with a long musical history of limited accessibility, there is the risk that this book may be judged by its cover. However, this is one of the best albums from 2006. It is rock music of a very high calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That second wind just keeps on coming..., 12 Jun 2006
By 
P. Cox "post-grape" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
So, with pretty much 25 years under their belts, Sonic Youth return with their upteenth album Rather Ripped, and this reviewer is happy to annouce it's another triumph from the band. As you may have heard, Rather Ripped is made up of a lot more shorter cuts than the band have put out for some time (2004's outstanding Sonic Nurse had only one track under 4 minutes), but the general feeling laid down on that album and 2002's Murray Street continues here untarnished. Yes, the band are more easy going these days, with less moves toward deconstructed noise, but they've rarely sounded so tight. This is the sound of a band with nothing left to prove to anyone, just letting go and doing their thing, and doing it well.

The new material may be their most conformist for a while, what with there being hooks and choruses from time to time, but there is still that bite. This is no M.O.R picnic. Highlights are too many to count and order here. Give it a few listens and you'll be sold. Only the 'UK bonus tracks' feel a little out of step with the rest of the work here, but even then nothing to detract from the album as a whole.

As for whether it's a classic or not, whether it measures up to the limitless nostalgia hoisted upon Daydream Nation, that's really irrelevant. As a listener who enjoys most of their later work as much and often more than their late 80s ventures, Rather Ripped is another excellent addition to a growing number of Sonic Youth releases taking up my CD racks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace, tranquility ... and feedback, 19 Sep 2007
By 
Christopher Owens (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
At first I thought this was a "standard" (but excellent) SY rock record. On listening again after a break of a few months, I find it meditative and tranquil - mixed with the usual edgy art-rock sound. Best track? Jams Run Free, a song filled with yearning tempered with experience.

After all this time, SY sound fresh, innovative and exciting. Weld this CD to the inside of your player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where have I been ?, 21 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
always known of the band, never listened to anything and then I stumble upon this ? So glad I did.

A great Album, nothing to throw away although some songs stand out like 'do you believe in rapture' 'rats' and of course 'reena'. They sound like some 'The Cure' who wouldn't have lost its thunder. The tunes are haunting, and I find myself listening to the whole thing almost unwittingly.

There is a dreamlike substance to some of the tunes but it's no new age music and each song as a limpid quality that just goes to the soul.

I have no idea (will sure find out) how they sounded before, but this feels like some slowly refined strong spirit to me. Luxurious and rare.

The production is amazing, makes me hope their Paris gig in Decemnber won't be a let down. Sure it won't. Simplicity is written all over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
good all the way through. no week tracks although probably no real stand out track.if you like any of their other albums you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More pop, still Sonic Youth at their best, 19 Sep 2011
By 
J. Casey (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
Rather Ripped is a rather odd album in some ways. It lacks the aggressive, punkier side present on other SY records, and even does away with a lot of the noise and fuzz that often gives depth and ambience to their songs. Yet this is not an album of stripped down songs, but the opposite. Tunes are carefully layered with a more pop sensibility.
Pink Steam is the clear stand out track, with a fantastic 5min instrumental of layered guitars and beats, it's up there with the best SY songs they've ever written. Incinerate, Or, and Reena are the other highlights. The rest of the album is comprised of songs that don't immediately leap out and wow you, but are solid tunes none the less. It's easily the best Album SY have done since Dirty - go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The last one i bought!, 16 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
This is 'Sonic Youth' winding down their career..well they can't go on forever!..Class C.D. any road!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Sonic Youth, 8 Jun 2007
By 
D. P. Bostock "Emo_Molko" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rather Ripped (Audio CD)
I've known of Sonic Youth for a while but never bothered to listen to them. Anyway, I thought it was about time because I thought 25 years of music to get into would be fun. I got this album and a few others (Sonic Nurse, Goo, Screaming Fields and Experiemental Jetset). I love this album, I was a bit confused on the first listen to it, but the more I listened to it, the more songs started to pop out. It's has the feel that their other albums have. My favourites at the moment have to be "Incinerate", "What A Waste" and "The Neutral". After experimenting with a few of their older albums I knew some of my friends probably wouldn't like SY because they are more into mainstream. But I find SY amazing because their sound is so original and timeless. I love how thurston and kim take turns with singing a song each. Next Step... Washing Machine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rather Ripped [VINYL]
Rather Ripped [VINYL] by Sonic Youth (Vinyl - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews