Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.89+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2012
Attracted by the theme of the title and having witnessed at close quarters the deadly effect of 'doodlebugs' on London (I even managed to rescue a tiny piece from a crater), I expected to see something which was both convincing and educative. I was bitterly disappointed. The acting was atrocious and even the presence of Michael Rennie could not salvage the movie. Petricia Medina was decorative, but her attempt to defuse the captured missile was ludicrous. David Knight, the flavour of 1950s British cinema, underperformed, while the one-eyed Esmond Knight in his role as the German interrogating officer produced what was no more than a humorous caricature. The German soldiers came straight out of 'Allo ! Allo!' and bore no resemblance to the Arian representatives of the 'master race'. I would not recommend this film to anyone. A much better film, dealing with the V2 rocket, is Operation Crossbow. This is full of convincing action and effects and far superior in every way to this cinematic mishmash.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
When I bought this film I knew it would be a reasonable WWII story because the main actor was Michael Rennie.
I thought I had seen enough documentaries on WWII about the V1 and how they bombed London and where they were
launched from. But this theatrical production filled in more information, that the bravery of the Polish underground
was largely responsible for the British gaining details on the V1, design plans and a complete unit smuggled to
England.

For anyone interested in a good WWII movie, this is worth considering for their collection.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
I have to agree with the other review in regard to this dvd. I thought it was going to be really good. but, sadly it seem to drag on and I got to asking myself where's the action? even the german soliders did'nt really look the part and were not convincing. the story seems to split up and return. you do not see any of these flying bombs attacking London. the story is based on true events of the polish underground movement whereby two of it's members volunteer to work in a secret factory that is building flying bombs to attack England. how the information is sent out is interesting and London get's to hear just what the Germans are planning on a attack on England. but that is about it. there's a little love story in the film which seems out of place. for me this film is only good to watch on a rainy afternoon to pass the time. as for the flying bombs my copy of "Battle of The V-1 has taken off and is now heading for the second-hand shop!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2008
this film is about the german doodlebug production during the late part of the second world war and allied attempts at stopping it. its a low budget production but most of the acting is good with the exception of some of the big bad germans. one major bugbear was the german ss officers wearing the black uniforms just to make them look meaner, as the uniform was discontinued prior to the outbreak of war. with all the research done for the film this is one major ommision/deliberate wrong that frankly made me loose serious interest in the film. good for watching if there is absolutely nothing, and i mean nothing else to watch on tv, otherwise go for operation crossbow instead.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
It was a great fim of its day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
i lived it mydelf it was a very nasty time there was one thing you could hear theme come and have to take care when the motor stopped
later on with the V2 the was nothing you could do first came the explosion and as the sound went down you heared the sound of the mother because they supersonish that was really the time to be affraid of
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
This film is good if your like me and you want a good story, but less infomation on the V1. As there are Films out on the subject out there its nice for a change to have a good story about the people and the polish underground finding out things for the british every thing about the V1.

Wayne
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
ECELLENT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
OK film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Enjoyed this 50's color movie which is based on factual events, especially having visited the rocket site at Peenumunde
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)