Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best war films I've ever seen
I thought I knew the titles of just about all British war films (and had seen most of them), but for some reason I had never even heard of this one. This made me suspect that it wasn't very good, when I saw it advertised on Amazon, but I decided to buy it anyway, on the strength of the good reviews it seemed to be getting. How glad I am that I did! It is absolutely...
Published on 10 Feb. 2007 by Denis Smith

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Days That Shook the World! Victory Snatched From Disaster!
A surprisingly great war film, this movie tells two different stories. One is about a group of British soldiers trapped behind enemy lines, desperately trying to make their way to the French coast. Meanwhile, on the other side of the channel, English civilians bravely prepare to help with the mass evacuation at Dunkirk. Near the end, the two stories converge "Tarantino...
Published on 2 Dec. 2012 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gritty drama that is also a documentary lest we forget, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] (DVD)
Many people in the 21st Century will have forgotten the significance of Dunkirk, especially as most of those who survived it are no longer with us now. This film brings back to life the very real fears and the desperately inadequate and under-prepared state of Britain in those early months of WW2. My Uncle was shot down over Germany piloting a Blenheim just a few weeks before the evacuation, and many others of my generation will also have lost a relative who served in the BEF, so for us the film really does mean something.

Bearing in mind that it was shot in 1950 when the country was still in the grip of rationing and shortages it is remarkable what a good film it is and how little of it is simple morale boosting propaganda. The action scenes used a lot of real combat equipment and personnel recently redundant from the fighting, again something impossible now without resorting to CGI, and it is a genuine snapshot on what was possible and what was done.

And then there is the consummate acting. The cast list is stellar and all perform brilliantly, again because the very real memories were still there, many of them having lived through similar experiences only a few years earlier. One of the real tragedies of that war is that those I knew (including my parents) who had survived it refused to talk about it, so it is only through films like this that we can understand what they endured, and why they fought so valiantly.

The film lasts for 130minutes and is 4:3 aspect ratio in B&W with good image quality and with Mono sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dunkirk, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
I have always thought this was a good account of the evacuation of British Troups from Dunkirk in 1940. I have always been a big fan of John Mills and he played an excellent part in this film. Of course as the passage of time elapses then more information is released about the period giving opportunities for excellent documentaries to be produced. However, in terms of entertainment I still believe this film is a must for anyones library of British Films made in the 1950's

Only sad thing is, it is not yet available on Blu Ray, I hope that will soon be rectified
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not spoken about enough!, 25 Jun. 2007
By 
S. Wilson "stuart_a_wilson" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] (DVD)
An absolute classic war film starring John Mills, with many memorable scenes. In particular when leaving an English battery in a wood to be attacked by Stukas and the horrific scenes on the beaches of Dunkirk. This film does what many war films of the time didn't and looked from the other side of war: retreat. Always on the back foot Mills squad are under massive pressure to escape the stranglehold that Germany was implementing on the British Expeditionary Force. and accurately portrays the general feeling of panic throughout the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dunkirk: A truly brilliant movie, 6 Jun. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the very best movies about WW2. There is an enormous sense of realism, almost docudrama, enhanced by the understated performances and the black-and-white photography.Intensely moving, it details how a small group of soldiers were caught up in a campaign that went disastrously wrong owing to a total lack of appreciation of Nazi power. The result was an ignominious retreat that threatened to wipe out the British army - only for it to be saved by a miraculous evacuation involving nearly a thousand naval and private vessels that turned defeat into something akin to a victory. The intervention of private boat owners sailing tiny craft into the maelstrom of bombs and shells to rescue the stranded army has become a legend. So atmospheric you believe you were there on those beaches. There has been some criticism that there were not enough big battle scenes, but they would have destroyed the pathos of individual human situations. Again, some have argued that the film should have shown more of what went wrong and what should have been done, but at the time no-one really appreciated this, and the period atmosphere is best served by this aura of disbelief and incomprehension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Drama at its Best, 4 July 2012
By 
Steven J. Gilbert "Snipe Man" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
A marvellous film comes at you from two angles, representing the soldiers trying to get away and the boat owners trying to bring them home. Brilliantly acted, excellent musical score, this film grips you from start to last. As someone who lost a great uncle in the action, it brought home the incredible bravery of the servicemen and civilians, and how we really were in it together. Set some time aside to watch this without interruption and lose yourself in it. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old but still fresh snapshot on one episode of WWII, 19 Aug. 2010
By 
Tim Anderson "Man from Oms" (Bracelona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
This is now an old movie dealing with the evocative storey of Dunkirk where patriotic myth has largely supplanted History. The film seeks to tell the storey through the experience of a few individuals caught up in the events. While the film deals with issues of patriotism, duty and self-sacrifice it does not slip into sentimentalism and is surprisingly modern in its unstinting portrayal of the horror of war. It's disturbing, haunting yet uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best underrated WW2 films, 9 April 2008
By 
alanf1135 "Al." (Greenock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] (DVD)
There are 3 types of World War 2 films, the Hollywood blockbuster, the Noel Coward stiff upper lip variety and films like Dunkirk.

Films like this one, Canterbury tales, Millions like us and Went the day well did not deal in heroics but with the sacrifices and ordeals of ordinary people whose lives where touched by war. It was made the whole lot more honest as most of the films were made during the war and with later films by people who had served in the war.

There has been criticism that that the film was too slow and took to long to get to the evacuation where the action took place. I have to disagree. Although I am no expert on WW2 history, I have enough knowledge to know that the British response to the German aggression in the early stages of the war was in a shambles and this was portrayed throughout the film.

What I liked about the film was that it concentrated on the ordinary people, both civilians who had to deal with and respond to the disaster as it unfolded and a platoon of soldiers stranded behind enemy lines trying to make their way to the beaches for evacuation.

IMHO, the film worked well as every character had a small story to tell that contributed to getting the 'big picture' of the event in the same way as all the small ships that came together and formed the massive fleet which carried out the evacuation.

Worth watching to really understand the real sacrifices that ordinary people endured to ensure that we today have the freedoms we enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel the Tension, 26 July 2010
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
Brilliantly filmed with tight editing, "Dunkirk" weaves personal tales of the evacuation at Dunkirk. While the stereotyped characters and dialogue of the "home front" scenes are a little dated, this is more than made up for by the tension faced by John Mills and his crew in France. The action scenes are superb for the time and the film really is gripping. Of course, the stories come together at the end, but who lives and who dies ?. This is one of the most intense war films I've ever seen. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dunkirk, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
L. bowen (birmingham. uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dunkirk [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
Even though our men were in retreat of the advancing germans, the bravery & courage they had was awesome. This film re-enacts the hardship they had to endure whilst stuck on the beach of Dunkirk whilst been machine gunned and dive bombed by the nazis. A lot of them didnt make it, but those that did were honourable men not bottlers, as i think it gave them determination & the will to make sure that come what may, when they go back to war this wouldt happen ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Miracle of the Little Ships, 14 Aug. 2002
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dunkirk [VHS] [1958] (VHS Tape)
The 1950s was a wonderful decade for British war movies, and this is one of them. John Mills plays a British soldier who is caught up in the long retreat through France back to the Dunkirk beaches after the German break through in May 1940. Alongside his companions, they struggle back to the beaches only to be held there for days before being evacuated by one of the "Little Ships". A fine war film, but dont expect realism seen in Saving Private Ryan. The beach scenes are well filmed, but dont show the real horrors the British and French soldiers endured during the 9 day evacuation. Picture and sound are both very good considering the film's age. If you like good old British war movies, then you have to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dunkirk [DVD]
Dunkirk [DVD] by Leslie Norman (DVD - 2006)
£11.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews