Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars132
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2009
If, like me, you purchased this album knowing only half a dozen tracks, you will not be disappointed. The jangling guitars and tight harmonies represent a soundtrack of my childhood in the mid-sixties, and if you love the music of this era, this album will be a great addition to your collection.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
Every once in a while "So You Wanna Be A Rock 'n' Roll Star" or "Eight Miles High" or "Down In My Easy Chair" or "Chestnut Mare" or one of those great old songs pops into my head and Just Won't Leave. I gave into the temptation, and ordered the CD -- amazing how much great music these guys wrote and/or performed in their short band career. Without the Byrds, there's no jangly folk-rock (Jefferson Airplane, Fairport Convention, on to Tom Petty, the Smiths, REM or even these days' Sufjan Stevens). Well, that's slight hyperbole but in truth those artists might very well sound different today save for the 12-string Rickenbacker of McGuinn and the tight harmonies of Bob Dylan's favorite dance band. David Crosby's first group...that should tell you all you need to know. Even George Harrison went out and got a Rickenbacker! Very worthwhile for any 60's fan or for any modern musician with folk roots -- that would be all of us, right?
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2006
The Byrds along with The Velvet Underground the most underrated band of the 60s. The Byrds probably the founding fathers of Psychedelia, mixing folk,country and psychedlic rock makes them one of the most influential bands of all time.

Starting With Mr Tambourine Man one of the finest covers of all time, with a fantastic guitar riff, Turn,Turn,Turn and brilliant riff as well and one of my favourite Byrd Songs, and ofcourse the unmistakable Eight Miles High one of the finest Psychedelic songs of all time, Featuring Dave Crosby and Roger McGuinn recognisable 12 string guitar maes the Byrds in my view just as important and influential as The Beatles, Bob Dylan, and the Kinks, this is just a brilliant Compilation.
22 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
At the end of the occasionally sentimental liner note to this popular retrospective The Byrds' biographer Johnny Rogan observes that: "A month seldom passes when a music magazine does not use the phrase 'Byrds-like' in describing an act or performance. It is the ultimate compliment to their innovation that The Byrds themselves should end up as a musical sub-genre for the 21st century."

This conveniently-arranged, budget-priced selection of the folk-pop, psychedelic rock and country music that this ever-changing group made in the 1960s, gives plenty of clues as to why this adjective has become part of the lexicon of pop music journalists. Amongst its 24 songs are the lion's share of their hits such as: 'Mr Tambourine Man'; 'Turn! Turn! Turn!'; 'Fifth Dimension'; 'Eight Miles High', and 'So You Want To Be A Rock 'n' Roll Star'. These fresh-sounding, jingly-jangly melodies had me nodding my head in agreement when Rogan refers to the group's "empowering influence" on a multitude of successful bands, including: The Pretenders; Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers; REM; The Smiths; The Stone Roses, and Teenage Fanclub.

But this unchronological, descriptively-titled 70-plus minute collection isn't without its faults. The slightly less credible, concluding portion of their fruitful existence seems a little underexposed here; whilst the omission of 'Wasn't Born To Follow' and 'Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man' - which regularly feature on greatest hits sets by the group - does seems somewhat puzzling. And some of their many covers of label-mate Bob Dylan's compositions that feature here ('This Wheel's On Fire' and 'It's All Over Now, Baby Blue') have arguably been better done by other artists.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Group from 'L.A' formed in 1964, of course this was at a time when the chart-scene both sides of the Atlantic was being
dominated by acts such as 'The Beatles' 'Rolling Stones' 'Dave Clarke Five' and indeed 'The Beach Boys' so competition was
pretty fierce.
The group who indeed had numerous line-up changes over a short period of time were primarily Folk and Rock, the groups
biggest hit topping the Chart both sides of the Atlantic was a 'Bob Dylan' gem, 'Mr Tambourine Man' (1965) they also done quite
well with, another 'Bob Dylan' number 'All Really Want To Do' (Chart '4' U.K 1965 also a Top 50 Hit in the U.S) also recorded by
'Sonny and Cher'
The group had a second U.S Chart Topper with a 'Pete Seeger' Song - 'Turn Turn Turn' (Chart '26' U.K also 1965) in 1966 the
group Charted again both sides of the Atlantic with 'Eight Miles High' U.K - '24' - U.S - '14' .....Although having a number of lower
order Chart Entries in the U.S the only further significant Chart Entry in the U.K came in 1970 with - 'The Chestnut Mare' which
peaked at '19' in the U.K.
The group disbanded in 1973, coming back together as many did in 1989-91 and again briefly in 2000.
This an album of both Rock and Folk tracks, including a few more 'Bob Dylan' numbers, is probably rated overall for the songs we
remember best such as 'Mr Tambourine Man' and 'All I Really Want To Do'
For me, overall, it is about the four or five hits on-board, though there are one or two tracks among the 24 also well worth owning the
album for.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
A stunning collection of all the Byrds Classics from 8 Miles High to Mr Tambourine Man. Includes the brilliant Easy Rider theme, which few other compilations do. A 'Must' for anyone new to west-coast soft-rock, and an opportunity to consign earlier Byrds discs to the bin
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
I should imagine the younger generation have never heard of "The Byrds"let alone listened to there music ! Obviously im at the age when i do remember these musical treats ,although i must say some of the tracks i had totally forgotten about ,but after hearing them again they still sound good, well worth purchasing !!!!!!!The Very Best of the Byrds
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
I think that that this is the only album of the Byrds you will ever need, this style comes from an era of Jefferson Airplane, Vietnam and flowers. It's an excellent collection of some very good pieces; it demonstrates that Bob Dylan was at the top of his game with song writing at this time! A very good buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 September 2010
Pre Beatles we were fed a lot of US rock and roll. After what the Americans called the British invasion the US groups had a hard time making any headway.

I could hear British R& B all day long on the pirates so I was always interested to hear the Americans who of course created rock and roll. The Byrds were great with their jangling guitars and their very stylish look. Roger Mc Guinn with his tiny shades.

Mr Tambourine Man was their first and greatest hit. It showed us that although Bob Dylan was a great song writer his songs were always done better by other people who could sing and make his music melodic.

They made some great tracks and they were popular right though the sixties finishing off with Ballad of Easy Rider which must have come out in 68/69.

This is all their greatest songs and brings back a great period of US pop. I cant get enough of songs like My Back Pages and Eight Miles High. I even love So You want to be a rock and roll star?

As one of the other reviewers said they are up their with the Beatles Bob Dylan, Beach Boys and the Kinks.

Can't recommend it highly enough. Love it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
The Byrds are probably America's greatest rock group, and certainly one of its most versatile. On this album there's folk rock, country, psychedelia, Jesus rock, and Dylan covers aplenty. The Byrds were once named in the Holy Trinity of rock, along with The Beatles and Dylan. This album explains why.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)