Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joan Jett's Finest Hour
The only member of the short-lived Runaways who was ever going to go on to be a bigger success on her own reached her artistic apex with her first album backed by the Blackhearts. "I Love Rock N' Roll" is an excellent album: a mixture of original songs which sit very comfortably alongside some brilliant covers of rock and roll classics. In this remastered version, there...
Published on 15 Feb 2011 by PepperySalt

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rabble rousers
The title track hit cover is the obvious draw to this early 1980s album and typifies the whole disc. With its clubbing drums, forthright lyrics and party feel, it's reminiscent of the early 1970s teenybop and so-called 'glam-rock' records by the likes of Suzi Quatro, except that the guitars are a lot harder. Half of the tracks are covers, including the funny 'Nag' and a...
Published on 4 Mar 2008 by D. J. H. Thorn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joan Jett's Finest Hour, 15 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) (Audio CD)
The only member of the short-lived Runaways who was ever going to go on to be a bigger success on her own reached her artistic apex with her first album backed by the Blackhearts. "I Love Rock N' Roll" is an excellent album: a mixture of original songs which sit very comfortably alongside some brilliant covers of rock and roll classics. In this remastered version, there are numerous bonus tracks which only serve to enhance the album's quality and never feel like a weak add-on.

Of the covers, "Crimson and Clover" is one of the best of the many versions of the song recorded over the years. "Louie Louie" is a biting version, "Summertime Blues" is neither Eddie Cochran or The Who but has its own style while, of all the covers, Jett's version of "Nag" stands out the most. Only "Bits and Pieces", a cover of the Dave Clark Five song grates a little but this is down to the song which is too repetitive with too weak a hook. You will also end up skipping "Little Drummer Boy" which, although an impressive version, was probably added on for the album's original Christmas-time release. "(I'm Gonna) Run Away" and "Love Is Pain", "Victim Of Circumstance" and the Bo-Diddley beat "Be Straight" are all excellent original numbers and show Jett's prowess as a songwriter. But, of course, the title track is the stand-out song, a perfect cover which is exemplary of the quality of the band and arrangements: tight and short, snappy rock and roll with attitude. While the Blackhearts are excellent, it is Jett, of course, who makes the album with her attacking style, anger and rock and roll drive. She truly takes the songs to the next level.

As well as the bonus tracks, the special edition album comes with bonus enhanced footage when inserted in a computer: "I Love Rock N' Roll" live in New Jersey 1983, "Victim Of Circumstance" live in Texas 1983 and footage of the band on tour in Panama, 1984 which includes an awkward TV show appearance with translator required.

From the cool cover artwork to the brilliant collection of songs, this album is an underrated rock and roll classic from the final renaissance of rock and roll music. The fact that this special edition includes excellent bonus tracks and vintage footage only serves to enhance an already worthwhile addition to any rock and roll fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rock Classic that never dates!, 6 Oct 2000
This review is from: I Love Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
This album has to be a part of the collection of all Rock music afficionados. From the classic 'I Love Rock 'n' Roll' through 'Crimson and Clover' to 'Little Drummer Boy' Joan blasts out loud and clear! If this album were released as a 'new' piece today it would go straight to the top of the charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat Your Heart Out, Britney Spears!, 4 Oct 2008
This review is from: I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) (Audio CD)
This new remastered version of "I Love Rock'n'roll" is way superior to the Britney Spears version, plus you get a digital copy of the lyrics, a poster of Joan Jett, and THREE MOVIES included on the CD as well as the 15 music tracks. Stunning! I just cannot listen without getting up and dancing!
One of the included movies is their original 1980s performance of "I Love Rock'n roll", another is them performing "Victim of Circumstance" and another is of Joan Jett and the Blackhearts on tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) (Audio CD)
big fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love joan jett, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) (Audio CD)
I would recommend this product to anyone it is fab. This was the first album I bought as a kid and I am having a Joan Jett resurgence of my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) (Audio CD)
Excellent album for any rock lover and Joan Jett and the Runaways fans in particular. Pure rock and roll. Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Wild One!, 20 May 2012
This review is from: I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) (Audio CD)
Dig this one..raunchy..punchy..and out of it!..you're gonna love this c.d. this really is what 'I Love Rock 'N' Roll' is all about folks...nice one Joan!! 1982!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rabble rousers, 4 Mar 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Love Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
The title track hit cover is the obvious draw to this early 1980s album and typifies the whole disc. With its clubbing drums, forthright lyrics and party feel, it's reminiscent of the early 1970s teenybop and so-called 'glam-rock' records by the likes of Suzi Quatro, except that the guitars are a lot harder. Half of the tracks are covers, including the funny 'Nag' and a slightly ham-fisted take on Tommy James's 'Crimson and Clover.' 'Bits and Pieces' is ill-judged, though, as is 'Little Drummer Boy' (I ask you). Good fun, with some good original material, if not subtle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 19 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) (Audio CD)
I bought this on vinyl the first time out and the CD is the same, that's all I will say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yeah,I love Rock 'n' Roll, 20 May 2010
By 
This review is from: I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) (Audio CD)
Smashing sound by Joan in 1982..the single being 7 weeks at the top of the U.S.A. Billboard charts February 1982..and no.4 U.K. May the same year..Worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh)
I Love Rock & Roll (Rmst) (Enh) by Joan Jett & The Blackhearts (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews