Customer Reviews


370 Reviews
5 star:
 (310)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


205 of 209 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning depiction of last few days of WW II inside Hitler's bunker
This is a near flawless movie, well deserving of a wide audience. The fact that it is a German movie which required watching subtitles, may put some people off - but the reality is that the German actors give this much more resonance than any Hollywood version could have.

Much has been said about the fantastic performance of Bruno Ganz as Hitler. This is his...
Published on 9 Jan. 2007 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy

versus
59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review
I bought the regular DVD version of this film a while back and loved the film. I won't actually review the film itself as, there are already plenty to read. This is a review of the Blu-ray edition.

While the picture quality is obviously better, they have totally ruined the sound. I cannot understand why anyone in their right mind would release a version with...
Published on 4 Feb. 2011 by Dave


‹ Previous | 130 31 3237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
By 
C. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Based on fact and on Traudl Junge 's account of ..., 7 Feb. 2015
By 
Maurice C "InulasHelp" (Reading Nr. London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Based on fact and on Traudl Junge 's account of the life and times of Hitler's final days and some of his men.

In her account Traudl Junge also mentions that she visited the memorial of Sophie Scholl .

Which is why I have Sophie Scholl DVD in my collection as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downfall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both fascinating and harrowing at the same time..., 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
A truly fantastic slice of acting, and both fascinating and harrowing at the same time. It's been said before, but this is akin to "car crash" TV, where you don't want to watch, but cannot help yourself.

One of my top films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1st class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downfall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
very nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitlers downfall, 16 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film thinking it was in English, I should have taken more notice of the other reviews! Apart from this, I have seen the film before, but the German with subtitles put me off, I am now searching for an English version.
This film is a fantasticaly well made & produced film, and well worth watching again in a few years time, I cannot believe how good it is in telling the truth about Hitler and his henchmen. It is one of the best well made films I have seen (and I have seen a lot) no holds are barred in the making of it. Considering it is made by a German Director, no punches are pulled in displaying the Nazi mentality. No wonder it has recieved many alocades. It displays the germans as rather ordinary people, like anyone else,but with a Nazi mentality due to the war. Some of these people may have taken a different course had it not been for the war & Hitler. It just shows how evil & rather mad Hitler was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 130 31 3237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD]
Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD] by Oliver Hirschbiegel (DVD - 2006)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews