Customer Reviews


302 Reviews
5 star:
 (254)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


180 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning depiction of last few days of WW II inside Hitler's bunker
This is a near flawless movie, well deserving of a wide audience. The fact that it is a German movie which required watching subtitles, may put some people off - but the reality is that the German actors give this much more resonance than any Hollywood version could have.

Much has been said about the fantastic performance of Bruno Ganz as Hitler. This is his...
Published on 9 Jan 2007 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy

versus
44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Downfall Blu Ray
What a fantastic film and what a fantastic disaster of a disc. Trust the U.K edition to bring out this superb film with a bog standard compressed Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtrack. The picture quality is better than the standard DVD version but it is crying out for a DTS Master 5.1 uncompressed soundtrack. I hope either the German or better still the U.S. Blu Ray versions come...
Published on 27 Jan 2009 by Mr. S. Hollas


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

180 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning depiction of last few days of WW II inside Hitler's bunker, 9 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a near flawless movie, well deserving of a wide audience. The fact that it is a German movie which required watching subtitles, may put some people off - but the reality is that the German actors give this much more resonance than any Hollywood version could have.

Much has been said about the fantastic performance of Bruno Ganz as Hitler. This is his movie, no doubt. It should also be mentioned, however, that all of the performances are so spot on that we are removed from a theatrical overview of events, and truly become part of life in the bunker. So many movies of this period show either the two dimensional Nazi bad guys and Hitler as a raving lunatic and nothing else, or a dispassionate overview of the tactics of the battle for Berlin. This movie achieves something rare - a real personal insight into the characters and how they informed the battle tactics and actions of individuals.

Our view into this world is through the young and naive private secretary Traudl Junge, who wrote one of the books on which the movie is based. Thus, historical accuracy is very high. But what we see is an insight into the humanity of Hitler - in one moment warm and compassionate, the next brutal and vulgar. We can understand through Ganz' portrayal the charisma the man must have had to attract such loyal devotion.

Do not be fooled into thinking that a movie about life in the bunker will be small scale low budget sets.. the movie ventures outside and we get glimpses of some terrible battle scenes. Those with DTS capability for surround sound will be richly rewarded. The scenes of a war ravaged Berlin are incredibly real - in fact, shot in Saint Petersburg.

Towards the end the scenes become more and more disturbing as the veneer of normality is stripped away as the war looms closer. Scenes of suicides and murders are truly disturbing - not least the scene where Magda Goebbels, having sworn her children should not survive in a world without National Socialism, calmly murders them in their sleep, one at a time, before calmly sitting down to a game of cards.

At once compelling in the drama of a city at war, and engrossing for its insight into characters normally cinema is too scared to show as humanity, this is perhaps one of the most insightful movies into the horror of National Socialism in WW II and the man who created it. The movie is bookended by the real Traudl Junge speaking in a 2001 documentary, adding an entirely appropriate coda to the movie showing its relevance to all of us.

Thoroughly and unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent piece of film making, 14 Oct 2006
By 
Mike J. Wheeler (Kingswinford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't usually go in for watching foreign language films. Not because I dislike them, merely that living in the provinces mean we sadly don't get to see them up here! However, this had a limited run at a cinema in Birmingham and I was lucky enough to see it. This is a magnificent piece of film making.

Bruno Ganz in the lead role of Hitler is superb, capturing the very essence of the madness that was Hitler and the total self-delusion of the last days of the Third Reich. The contrast between his tenderness towards his secretaries and the complete disdain for the rest of the world is remarkable. Ganz acts out a very difficult role, but comes through with flying colours. The depiction of the secretary Traudl Junge is perhaps a little sentimentalised, but any film has to have some humanity. Perhaps she was blameless, perhaps not.

The films most chilling scene features the killing of the Goebbels children by their mother, played chillingly by Corinna Harfouch. This is particularly uncomfortable viewing.

The real reason that this film is so successful IS that it humanises the Nazis. One has a distinct respect and even sympathy with some of the characters. This is hard to take when we know what they accomplished and makes for very uncomfortable reflection. This is intelligent film-making and well worth giving over an evening for. Hitler and the end of the Reich have never been portrayed as well as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought this as a spot purchase and knowing nothing about it beforehand, my wife and I watched it. To say we were surprised would be unfair but it was so much better than I could and would have imagined. The film focuses on the very end period of the war. Hitler, in his bunker with high ranking officers of the German army with his devoted secretary Traudl Junge. It is an astonishing piece of film. Bruno Ganz is superb as Adolf Hitler. His performance ranks as one of the best I have ever witnessed. It is simply breathtaking. I would recommend this film to anyone with an interest in the 2nd World War as this focus on the very last parts of the War is very well scripted and filmed. It is one of the best films in my extensive collection. Buy it and you will be buying a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Der Untergang / The Downfall, 4 April 2008
The director, Bernd Eichinger, researched for over 20 years for this movie and it is based on the latest findings regarding incidents and characters involved. Historians both praised and severely questioned the approach since the accomplished authenticity can be misleading. For instance the last interlocution between Albert Speer and Adolf Hitler is based on a belated report by Speer only. But then the interaction between the people in the bunker is what gives them life and allows the audience a perspective that could not be achieved by a documentary. In any case, there is no purely fictitious scene to be found in this film, every single dialogue and action is based on the written record of a witness.
The bunker scenes were shot in a studio in Munich, the outside scenes in St. Petersburg. There is a lot of material on the two bonus DVDs about both. The reason why they chose St. Petersburg was because a few streets there actually look like Berlin during the last days of war. Embarrassing as it was for the authorities, they needed the money. This also allowed the film makers to cast Russians as extras who appear very Aryan with their blue eyes and blonde hair (e.g. the fanatic girl who is fighting in the streets), which is quite ironic. Also I was very touched when I learned that this movie was a German-Russian co-production.
Ulrich Matthes, who plays Joseph Goebbels, says during his interview (also on the bonus DVDs) that he had had a terrible conflict getting into Goebbels' mind because a method actor has actually to like the persona they are taking on. So he accepted an opposite role in the movie "Der neunte Tag" where he personifies a priest who is tortured by a Nazi in the concentration camp of Dachau.

Since I did not watch the English DVD but only the German I cannot comment on the quality of subtitles. But the title "The Downfall" appears to be quite well chosen: I visualize something falling down from very high above and shattering on the ground [of reality]. "Der Untergang" (going under) has a similar meaning but would be used for a translation of "The sinking of the Titanic" or "The destruction of Pompeii" - something is dead & buried.

Other films on the Third Reich that I found extremely impressive are:
Schindler's List by Spielberg; The Pianist by Polanski; and Conspiracy - a BBC/HBO production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recreating the downfall of a monstrous fantasy, 16 Nov 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Largely based on the account of Trudl Junge who, aged 22, became Hitler's secretary in 1943, "Downfall" portrays the last few days of the Nazi regime, now confined within the claustrophobia of the Berlin Bunker. The film opens with a brief interview of Frau Junge, an old woman accepting guilt for her part in the tyranny.
And then it's back to her first meeting with Hitler - an impressionable young woman, swept off her feet by an opportunity to be close to the ultimate celebrity. And then another jump through time to the Bunker and the last days, with the Red Army sweeping into Berlin.
It's a very physical performance by Bruno Ganz as Hitler; he makes the Fuhrer physically insignificant, a little man with big ideas and flamboyant but volatile emotions. Ganz's gestures, his body language, his passion, his histrionics are utterly convincing. It is a compelling piece of acting - Ganz describes (in an interview on the DVD extras) how he had to suspend his own hatred of Hitler in order to play the man. The aim was realism, accuracy, not caricature or parody. It's an astonishing performance.
Around Hitler, the fanatics cling to fantasy, believing to the end that some miracle will happen, that they will be proved right, that somehow the Fuhrer will conjure up … what? Yet others are already plotting to abandon the sunken ship, to try to save themselves. This is not the downfall of Adolf Hitler, it is the utter collapse of a regime and its ideology. All that is left is fantasy, and recrimination. Ultimately, they blame the German people for having failed them. While the monstrous fantasy persists within the Bunker, above, on the streets of Berlin and across the German countryside, there is death, destruction, and a harvest of horror being reaped.
Within the Bunker are mortal creatures who once held the power of life or death over a continent but who are now reduced to fragile psyches searching for escape, for excuses, for some tangible ray of hope. As their world implodes, fanaticism vies with panic, the instrumentalism of survival, the obligations of duty, even individual heroism.
Superb performances are almost routine in this film, but Corinna Harfouch as Frau Goebbels provides one of the most memorable, demanding, and chilling screen presences I've ever seen. She portrays an empty husk of a woman inhabited by blind devotion and belief. Again, in interview, she explains just how much this role took out of her.
You are left with an impression of Hitler's ability to beguile. The functionaries are blindly obedient. The soldiers follow their duty. The women idealise him - Eva Braun is passionately in love, Alexandra Maria Lara plays the confused innocence of Traudl Junge, and Frau Goebbels is obsessed by an almost psychotic idealism and reverence for her Fuhrer. The claustrophobia of the Bunker is echoed in the moral and intellectual straitjacket of the Nazi regime's remnants.
The film delivers a convincing authenticity. It is disturbing, frightening, horrifying. And the DVD extras underpin its quality. The discussion of the morality of making the film, the angst which clearly gripped many of the actors, the determination to deliver a valid account, free of sensationalism, special effects, hype, glitz or gloss - all this becomes clear in the interviews and commentaries available on the second disc. An astonishing, important, and absolutely compulsive piece of viewing which will leave you moved, even shaken. Absolutely first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in international cinema, 8 Sep 2006
There is little that I can say that has not already been said in the other reviews. Suffice it to say that it is groundbreaking in its mixture of genres, moving in its content, extremely well written, directed and acted. Very well done indeed by all involved. It is a landmark in historical film-making and in international cinema. For Hollywoood fans, here is a continental European film that beats all hollywood blockbusters hands down both for emotional power and for an uplifting (yet sad) message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 19 Oct 2006
Before watching Downfall I have to admit to having been slightly concerned at the length of the film (2.5 hours) considering it's one of the first films I have watched that is subtitled. As it turned out I had little reason to fear as the film was absolutely fascinating. I haven't seen a film (and I've seen quite a few) that has managed to depict the depth of the delusion that Hitler displayed in those last weeks and days of the war quite as well as this one. The mad rants, lashing out at anyone and everyone have been shown before but it is the wording of these rants (declaring the German people expendable and unfit to survive - for example) that is not often depicted and therefore shocks. For anyone interested in seeing just how spectacularly the world caved in on the Third Reich and how the various protagonists played their various parts (some more surprising that others) this is a must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good, 8 Sep 2006
By 
One of the best and most innovative films I have seen for many months. Forget mainstream war films and give this a viewing - you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I prefer this to be in German, 28 Nov 2007
By 
Kurt Decoene "Tybo" (Menen - Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To me it's strange that so many reviewers tell you that it is a brilliant movie if you can overlook the fact that it's in German.

But that - IMHO - is the great strength of this movie. Language is vitally important to grasp nuance and meaning which unfortunately subtitles never really capture. And although I understand German I do not grasp the finer nuances of what is being said. (but enough to go beyond what the subtitles are 'saying').

This is movie is absolutely brilliant and is part of a great tradition of German film-noir about WW II (Das boot, Stalingrad...). An English or American actor speaking English written by an English speaking writer can never capture what it is that makes Germans German. Creating the atmosphere and feel of the historic setting in this movie would be impossible in any other language. Language is such an important aspect of culture. The original German title 'Der Untergang' is so much more powerful than 'downfall' and it's very hard to explain why. But I really think that you can only capture the uglyness and the sureal madness of those final moments in German.

We are all too willing to deny Adolf Hitler his humanity. He - Hitler - may well be the single most evil man in history. But point is - he was human, and that to me is a terrifying thought and it is (I think) the most important statement this film makes. There are some pretty scarry people out there, even today...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films ever, 26 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. D. J. O'brien "Doctor Who Geek" (Basildon,, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Watch it. You have to.

To make sense of what happened.

It moved me.

Hitler was a shockingly 'good' leader in the WORST sense of the word - to make all these people follow him and do all these horrific things. Their loyalty to him is amazing. It shook me up to see how something so dreadful can make such sense to some people. I'm not given the plot away but the bit with the 'children' - sleeping - for the parents to do that, was so scary!! How can people do such a thing? How can people be so deluded?? It is a brilliant film that only can come from Germany - which makes it even more important than these American war movies. It was on the TV the other day and I only caught the last 10 minutes. But even that drew me in. If you are patient with subtitles - watch it. I might read the book.

And the last few lines in the whole thing makes you sick in the stomach. I came out of it, watching it in the cinema - stunned - that human kind could be driven in such a way.

One of the best movies I've ever seen as the effects of this made such an impact on our world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD]
Downfall (1 Disc Edition) [DVD] by Oliver Hirschbiegel (DVD - 2006)
9.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews