Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attack - 'About Time! Definitive Mod-Pop Collection, 1967-1968' (RPM)
A superb nineteen track collection of The Attack's unreleased gems, Decca singles and radio sessions. About every cut here is truly out-standing, like "Anymore Than I Do", "Feel Like Flying", "Try It" (saw the Grassroots perform this song on the oldies circuit many moons ago), the awesome "Go Your Way", the total grooving "Colour My Mind", "Lady Orange Peel" (great...
Published on 18 Jan 2008 by Mike Reed

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Lot In The Same Breathe As...................?
Seems like there`s only Mauricio talking any sense here. How the hell can one hmnn hmnn "reviewer" even mention this lot in the same breath as Fleur De Lys - how sad is that?
There`s more to it than actually Mauricio states, the band themselves did say that 'they were not Mods'! However they got escorts from scooterists to gigs etc...& so the easy stereotype was made...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by A. Foss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attack - 'About Time! Definitive Mod-Pop Collection, 1967-1968' (RPM), 18 Jan 2008
This review is from: About Time: The Definitive Mod-Pop Collection 1967-1968 (Audio CD)
A superb nineteen track collection of The Attack's unreleased gems, Decca singles and radio sessions. About every cut here is truly out-standing, like "Anymore Than I Do", "Feel Like Flying", "Try It" (saw the Grassroots perform this song on the oldies circuit many moons ago), the awesome "Go Your Way", the total grooving "Colour My Mind", "Lady Orange Peel" (great guitar licks), their happening Stones cover "Sympathy For The Devil", the uptempo "Neville Thumbcatch". Several line-up changes took place during the short time The Attack was together, but the most vital personnel appears to have been Richard Shirman-vocals, Geoff Richardson-guitar, George Watt-organ, Kenny Harold-bass and Chris Allen-drums. Comes with nicely assembled 14-page booklet packed with plenty of info, pics, art work and complete band discography. Essential UK '60's psych. Should do a LOT for fans of the Action, Q 65, Open Mind, Syn, early Who, the Creation and Les Fleurs De Lys. Another upside with this CD it is has nearly an all-different track listing as The Attack - 'Early Daze' disc that was released on the Angel Air label a few years back. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Attack,attack!, 5 Jan 2008
This review is from: About Time: The Definitive Mod-Pop Collection 1967-1968 (Audio CD)
Never heard of this group before,apart from one song on a four disc MOD set,thought I'd see if they had any albums,lucky for me they did,albeit all four singles and B-sides plus never released material! And I have got to say its the best C.D I've bought for a while! Great tracks like 'Try it' 'Go your way' and a great little pop song called 'Created by Clive'!
If you like a bit of rough sometimes heavy R & B then I recommend! I'm truely loving this record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Attack - about time too!, 3 April 2009
By 
Michael Naughton "Michael" (Liversedge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About Time: The Definitive Mod-Pop Collection 1967-1968 (Audio CD)
This group were good...very good in fact, and are right up there in sixties freakbeat folklore. If you like the Creation, Wimple Winch and freakbeat sounds, and have not yet checked this band out, then do so.

There are a couple of lesser tracks to be sure, but on the whole, this CD will not be a disappointment. I really enjoyed it and recommend it and it is Mod also as Mod music is not just the Who and the Small Faces but the glorious sounds to had here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Lot In The Same Breathe As...................?, 27 Jun 2010
By 
A. Foss "Andy 'Mod'Pie' Foss" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About Time: The Definitive Mod-Pop Collection 1967-1968 (Audio CD)
Seems like there`s only Mauricio talking any sense here. How the hell can one hmnn hmnn "reviewer" even mention this lot in the same breath as Fleur De Lys - how sad is that?
There`s more to it than actually Mauricio states, the band themselves did say that 'they were not Mods'! However they got escorts from scooterists to gigs etc...& so the easy stereotype was made & 'as is now', so to speak - "Mod" sells records. Erm just look at some of the reviewers who bought it seemingly cos it says 'Mod' on the packet - fools!
I`ve heard worse from the 60s - but if its classic Mod r&b your looking for - dont look here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mod??, 23 April 2008
By 
Mauricio Cordeiro (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About Time: The Definitive Mod-Pop Collection 1967-1968 (Audio CD)
Why people have this obsession of calling everything from the sixties as "mod"? They surely have fooled me. There's nothing mod about this guys or their songs! Nothing!
Calling this cd as "the Definitive Mod-Pop Collection" is just a way of cashing in the growing mod scene. So pretentious.
Putting that aside, the're rather an average band, some songs are just good, nothing exceptional.
If you're thinking about buying this cd, wondering if it's something like The Who's "My Generation" or the Small Faces debut, you'll be very disappointed.
Their sound, overall, is much more similar with the early 70's hard rock. They did try some psychedelic tricks, but not very successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 29 Jun 2008
This review is from: About Time: The Definitive Mod-Pop Collection 1967-1968 (Audio CD)
I agree with Mauricio from Brazil - The Attack are no 'Mod' band, not sure what they are but whatever it is, it's pretty average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews