Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving on
When the Futureheads first came to national attention in 2004, they were leaders of the 'angular/post-punk' wave of bands, producing an album full of catchy, well crafted songs with clever lyrics and unusual structures. They were good.

But now they're great. This album is such a step forward. Its the sound of a band developing their sound. Its the sound of a...
Published on 19 May 2006 by Mr. MJ Spitty

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Am I missing something?
To be fair I don't have their first CD so buying this one was a bit of a punt. Having said that I paid less than £3 for this CD and still feel cheated. I really don't understand the reviews that have already been posted. I did listen to this CD twice straight through as soon as I got it. My very first impression was that this was simply one of the worst CDs I have...
Published on 4 April 2007 by The man in black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving on, 19 May 2006
By 
Mr. MJ Spitty "pinkmoon74" (Wallsend, near Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News and Tributes (Audio CD)
When the Futureheads first came to national attention in 2004, they were leaders of the 'angular/post-punk' wave of bands, producing an album full of catchy, well crafted songs with clever lyrics and unusual structures. They were good.

But now they're great. This album is such a step forward. Its the sound of a band developing their sound. Its the sound of a band on top of their game. Its the sound of a band who aren't afraid to try something new. Its brimming with intellgence, ideas and more importantly, great songs. One of which even surpasses the 4 minute mark!

Its darker than its predecessor, and not as instant. Where the first album didnt let up, this has genuine reflective moments. The gorgeous 'Thursday' is what the beach boys would have sounded like if they were from Sunderland, 'News and Tributes' is a touching accolade to the Manchester United side descimated by the Munich air disaster and the angry 'Burnt' compares love to being, well, burnt.

This new relective mode hasn't made them lose the art of crafting great melodic songs. 'Fall Out' is perhaps their best yet, 'Skip to the End' is classic Futureheads, 'Back to the Sea' and 'Favours for Favours' being other personal favourites. And stuck right in the middle is 'Return of the Berserker', the antidote to 'Danger of the Water' from their first album!

Those expecting the exhilerating post-punk rush of the debut album will be disappointed. Those who wish to hear a band who moved on, developed and improved their sound and crafted one of the finest albums you're likely to hear all year won't be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The return of Britain's unsung indie heroes, 2 Sept. 2006
By 
M. Jones "matting_lfc" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News And Tributes (Standard Cd) (Audio CD)
`News and Tributes' is a great second album by the Futureheads. It showcases the unsung heroes of British indie music at their best.

The album commences with a fast paced anthem, `Yes/No', which appears bizarre at first, but also brilliant in its simple but effective lead guitar. I had the pleasure of seeing the Futureheads live on their tour for this album, and the band played this song first to great reception, with the audience participation on the chorus almost levelling that of the great `Hounds of Love'.

The album then proceeds with my personal favourite on the album, `Cope', which has a clashing, unconventional guitar part, and the harmonised vocals for which we have all come to love the Futureheads. The song has many layers of rhythm and tunes that are somehow kept together by the strong drumming and vocals.

Other highlights on the album include the comeback single `Skip to the End, a typically punchy Futureheads song, Fallout, a moody melodic masterpiece, and `Worry About It Later', another punky fast-paced anthem.

News and Tributes will not become a bestselling album like `Whatever people say I am...' and `You could have it so much better', but anyone who makes the excellent decision to buy this album will be rewarded with a modern classic, sure to grace their music players for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Cracker from the Mackems, 18 May 2006
By 
Mr. J. Kimmitt "jonniekno1" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News and Tributes (Audio CD)
This album typifies the Futureheads and from the first track to the last it shows the cutting edge of their first album along with the maturity of a bands second.

Yes/No-8/10 The begiinning of this sounds remarkably similar to Maximo Park's Signal and Sign as the heavy drum beat kicks in there are reminders of their first album as Barry yelps "yes" and "no" at the top of his voice

Cope-9/10 This embraces manic riffs from the start to coincide with harmonic backing vocals which 'Heads fans have become accustomed to.

Fallout 8/10 It oozes oooohs and aaaaahs in its vocals and is catchy as hell.

Skip To The End 10/10- The comeback single is a classic with a jerky guitars and charismatic lyrics make it a corker.

Burnt 8/10- Perhaps the most obvious sign of a change from album no 1. It shares similarities of Danger of the Water but has much heavier bass and a stronger chorus

News & Tributes 5/10- Title tracks are either brilliant or crap. Sadly this one is a bit of a filler after a few listens. Probably the weakest on the album. Its ok

Return Of The Beserker-7/10 I have to say when i first heard this i thought "what the hell?". However, i can see it being a live favourite and is definately a grower on record.

Back To The Sea 9/10- One of Ross's strongest songs and he does it brilliant. Oh so catchy and top driving music. Quality bass line with an exuberent chorus.

Worry About It Later 7/10 I think this song is great and possibly an 8/10 but they overdo it by making it too drawn out. Im used to short sharp 2 minuters from the Futureheads and they should have cut it short by a minute or so.

Favours for Favours 10/10- Wow! dont expect decent days and nights when i say that but this is just quality and so cactchy, romantic and fabulous. Surely 2nd single material!

Thursday 8/10 When i first heard this all i could think of for the intro was either Bowie or Beach Boys. Either way its deep and brilliant.

Face 9/10 This song has a brilliant unique quality by suddenly birsting into this awesome riff mid song. However, i cant help but think there is a better song in there.

98/110 in total.

I rekon this will have a larger appeal than their first effort and anyone who loves the Futureheads will instantly fall in love with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Potent and irresistable brit-rock at its very best!, 2 July 2006
By 
Mr. Dominic L. Brown (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News And Tributes (Standard Cd) (Audio CD)
The Futureheads' self-titled first album was a cracker, exploding with energy, bursting with more ideas in those 15 songs than most bands manage in a career. Innovative vocal layering, machinegun drums, punchy and focused rhythm guitar and powerful, relentless basslines - superb. But actually much too disjointed and chaotic to be a really classic album. I wondered at the time whether they had it in them to produce an album worthy of their superb technique and invention. THIS IS THAT ALBUM.

There are a couple of duds here without doubt - The first track "Yes/No" is an poor opener, promising little. And "Thursday" is a fairly flat affair. But the band still know how to rock, and the amazingly catchy hooks are still here in abundance. UK single release "Skip to the End" is a superb hard-driving rhythm workout, and I was utterly unable to stop myself from jumping about from bar 1.

If their influences are still a little too obvious at times, this is nevertheless a departure from much of what british music is about right now. Certainly there is more on offer here than in any album released by the Arctic Monkeys, Franz Ferdinand or any of the other, bigger, "better" UK bands.

The Futureheads deserve to be MUCH better known, and this album may be the one that shows what they are really capable of. Superb and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hidden Gem, 29 Aug. 2006
This review is from: News And Tributes (Standard Cd) (Audio CD)
Hmmm, there's no doubt that most futureheads fans will love this album....this album is a lot more immediate than their first (alright, it may still need a few listens...). The quirky and witty 'riffery' and lyrics as well as the 'oh-oh's are all still correct and present!!! Perhaps the strange but brilliantly odd time signatures of the first album have been toned down a bit-all the more easy to rock out to...

Peel down each song layer by layer and you will know the thought they've put into their songs! Post punk at its frantic best!

'Thursday' is absolute genius-haunting and memorable. 'Cope', 'Face', 'Back To The Sea', 'Worry About It Later' all express on off the cliff and 'Skip To The End' with its excellent irreverent lyrics and catchy chorus is sheer brilliance. There's no doubt I will go back to the first album to hear songs other than 'Decent Days And Nights' and 'Hounds Of Love'. By the way when they played all these songs and 'Area' live at the Reading Festival it deservedly had an explosive reception!!!!!Moshpit heaven!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More mature and brilliant from the Futureheads, 1 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. J. Kimmitt "jonniekno1" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News And Tributes (Standard Cd) (Audio CD)
This album typifies the Futureheads and from the first track to the last it shows the cutting edge of their first album along with the maturity of a bands second.

Yes/No-8/10 The begiinning of this sounds remarkably similar to Maximo Park's Signal and Sign as the heavy drum beat kicks in there are reminders of their first album as Barry yelps "yes" and "no" at the top of his voice

Cope-9/10 This embraces manic riffs from the start to coincide with harmonic backing vocals which 'Heads fans have become accustomed to.

Fallout 8/10 It oozes oooohs and aaaaahs in its vocals and is catchy as hell.

Skip To The End 10/10- The comeback single is a classic with a jerky guitars and charismatic lyrics make it a corker.

Burnt 8/10- Perhaps the most obvious sign of a change from album no 1. It shares similarities of Danger of the Water but has much heavier bass and a stronger chorus

News & Tributes 5/10- Title tracks are either brilliant or crap. Sadly this one is a bit of a filler after a few listens. Probably the weakest on the album. Its ok

Return Of The Beserker-7/10 I have to say when i first heard this i thought "what the hell?". However, i can see it being a live favourite and is definately a grower on record.

Back To The Sea 9/10- One of Ross's strongest songs and he does it brilliant. Oh so catchy and top driving music. Quality bass line with an exuberent chorus.

Worry About It Later 7/10 I think this song is great and possibly an 8/10 but they overdo it by making it too drawn out. Im used to short sharp 2 minuters from the Futureheads and they should have cut it short by a minute or so.

Favours for Favours 10/10- Wow! dont expect decent days and nights when i say that but this is just quality and so cactchy, romantic and fabulous. Surely 2nd single material!

Thursday 8/10 When i first heard this all i could think of for the intro was either Bowie or Beach Boys. Either way its deep and brilliant.

Face 9/10 This song has a brilliant unique quality by suddenly birsting into this awesome riff mid song. However, i cant help but think there is a better song in there.

98/110 in total.

I rekon this will have a larger appeal than their first effort and anyone who loves the Futureheads will instantly fall in love with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to their debut release..., 3 Nov. 2006
By 
Ben (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: News And Tributes (Standard Cd) (Audio CD)
This year I've had a reoccurring argument with a friend over "News & Tributes". On the one hand, I say it's a more mature work than their debut. Whilst lacking an immediate cracking single such as the glorious "Decent Days and Nights", it's a more rounded, emotionally engaging and consistent record. It's also the sound of a band recording in one studio with one producer, whereas I found "The Futureheads" more of a 'ragbag' - and I think it lost a little ground as a result.

My friend, on the other hand, is more scathing. He says it lacks all of their earlier records vim, excitement and experimentation. It is an album by young men who took an energetic approach to their earlier records, but are now sounding rather tired, grown up and writing more traditional, and therefore increasingly boring, rock/pop songs.

It's a difficult one. For as much as I enjoy this record, I can't help but admit he's partly right. "News..." does sound like a Mature Rock Record. It is therefore not a 'very Futureheads' sounding record. The "Area" single that preceded it now sounds like a final closet clearing exercise - abandoning the final bit of the "old style" in time for this more mature approach. Mojo magazine even compared them to The Police. Playing the debut by The Young Knives, for example, and I can't help but wonder to myself that this is what the new Futurehead's album should really have sounded like.

But then I listen again and I think how well crafted "Skip To The End" sounds. What a great rush the chorus to "Yes/No" is, and how much I like singing along (rather badly) to the great pop of "Back To The Sea" and especially "Worry About It Later". What I find especially impressive are the arrangements in this record, the greatly improved harmonies (how other bands must be envious!), and how - when seeing this band live - these new songs probably do contrast rather nicely with their debut. "News & Tributes" is therefore the sound of a band progressing. Maturing, but without sounding ridiculously earnest and overwrought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not the same futureheads, 23 May 2006
By 
K. L. Fixter (Barnsley, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News and Tributes (Audio CD)
this is my favourite album of the year so far.

i remember the futureheads self titled debut album, i remember how great it was but then how i sort of 'fell out of love' with it too. the songs started to sound less fresh and perhaps a little cliched, maybe irritating.

now, news & tributes is totally different, its a much easier listen, its generally a much better album. the songs again sound fresh but i have the feeling that they are going to stay fresh this time around. skip to the end is a great song to reintroduce the futureheads back into the charts but there are much better songs included on the album;

yes/no - great song, does feel a little maximo park-ish in the middle of the song as mentioned by another reviewer, but is that such a bad thing?

return of the beserker - i can imagine this song being amazing live, seems like a perfect gig song!

fallout - very good song, has the trademark futureheads 'oooo ooo's!'

back to the sea - a slower song, very catchy, will be lodged in your head for a while.

after listening to news & tributes, i decided to crack open the futureheads debut and after a year of not being listened to, it sounds as good as it did originally so buy that CD too if you dont already have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big surprise, 20 Nov. 2006
By 
P. S. Ball "lutra99" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: News And Tributes (Standard Cd) (Audio CD)
I've had a copy of this CD lying around on my desk for the past few weeks. To be honest I took so long to get around to listening to it as I didn't think it would be very good, having found "skip to the end" a bit of a Futureheads-by-numbers track. How wrong I was! Having been pleasantly lulled into a false sense of security by the first couple of tracks, which could easily sit alongside those on the first CD, I was caught unawares by the likes of "Burnt" with its mindbending tune and, especially the title track with its heartbreaking melody. These are followed by the equally wonderful "The return of the berserkers" - a stormswept rage of a tune. Other songs on this CD have even better harmonies than on the first one. All in all a more mature, thoughtful collection - and much more satisfying in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT 2ND ALBUM, 6 Jun. 2006
This review is from: News And Tributes (Standard Cd) (Audio CD)
I LOVE the Futureheads! The first album was a bizarre but brill LP, with short but extremely sweet rocking tunes.

It seems that the clan have tried to change their style in music slightly in their 2nd album, but they pull it off with success. Some songs have familar Futureheads among them, such as 'Yes/No' and 'Worry About It Later'. Other songs take on a more gentler approach, such as 'Back To The Sea'. This makes the album much more varied, unlike the first LP; which although is still a great album, all the songs seem to sound the same.

All in all, this is a great effort on a 2nd album from the wacky Futureheads. It appears that much more production and thought has been put into it, and its a bold but great change to the Futureheads we all love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

News And Tributes (Standard Cd)
News And Tributes (Standard Cd) by Futureheads (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews