Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan, 20 July 2006
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
I'd not listened to my Billy Joel CDs for years, and it's been years since he's done anything new. I bought this CD the day i heard of it's release and it's not left the car CD player since. It's a shocking reminder of how good Billy Joel really is and the lasting nature of his classic tracks. It sounds like it would have been a stunning live performance and makes me hearitly wish i'd been there. The highlights for me are 'Keeping the Faith', 'Piano Man' and 'Goodnight Saigon'. The voice has matured somewhat over the last 10-15 years and probably for the better. If you've ever liked a Billy Joel song this CD is a must, if you're unfamiliar with his work, there could be no better introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Joel Songsmith and Entertainer, 31 July 2006
By 
Iain D. Renicks "iainrenicks" (thornhill ,scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
After smashing Springsteens record by playing 12 nights sold out at Madison Sq Garden and with the sucess of the musical Movin Out,its no wonder Mr Joel is back at his brilliant best, with his voice in top condition,its no wonder NY turned out in force for these concerts,the crafting of such masterpieces as "new york state of mind" and "scenes in an italian restaurant" to the historical "we did'nt start the fire" proves the man deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as Dylan and Lennon.Good to see the early Joel represented by "miami 2017 and zanzibar" ,he even pays homage to his least favourite recording innocent man album,but if you are an old fan or someone who wishes to discover one of the best songwriters to come out of america in the last 40 years,Billy is your man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 20 Sep 2006
By 
J. E. Foxcroft "jenlozhon" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
If you have ever been to a Billy Joel concert then you simply must have this cd in your collection. From the very first bars of the first track, I was transported back to my night of seeing him in Glasgow. My very first rock concert at the tender age of 40! I could have had no better introduction to a fabulous experience and I live for being able to see him in concert again. This cd appears to stick very much to how his concerts have been playing lately from US to Britain and it will be a very happy reminder of a faboulous night brought about by a spectacular man. Billy, you rock!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Souvenir, 2 July 2009
By 
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
A great souvenir of Billy's tour of 2005/6, even if he didn't play the song 'Souvenir'. 30 songs, including some unusual choices, like 5 from 1982's 'Nylon Curtain' album, well edited and sequenced. Great package and design too. In the absence of any new songs, a worthwhile record to make and to listen to. Brilliant band of course, and all in all recorded proof that BJ still has his mojo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth adding to your collection, 15 July 2008
By 
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
I'll state my preferences up front. I love live albums. I love them because they are imperfect and, while there's usually a good deal of post-production involved, they're full of quirks that make "live" music exciting. So when I saw that Billy Joel had produced a 30 song live collection spanning his whole career I was keen to get hold of a copy. It doesn't disappoint. Bill's voice and the musical arrangements are spot on and played loud in the car, there's no better way to make a long journey much more bearable. So, why only 4 out of 5?? Personally, I'd like to have heard a bit more banter from Billy with the audience - after all, it was his home town crowd and he was playing 12 nights at possibly the most prestigious venue in NYC. However, don't let this put you off if you're interested in buying the CD because I'm sure you'll really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hidden tracks, 5 April 2014
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
32 songs in total
there are 2 hidden tracks (1 at each end of each disc)
'a room of our own' (wrongly spelt in amazon's track list)
'it's still rock'n'roll to me' (wrongly quoted What's the Matter in amazon's track list)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great entertainer, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
Give the man a crowd and he knows how to entertain. very good and has his New York style humour too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars billy joel 12 gardens, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
brilliant cd quick delivery package bit cheap looking considering the price thought it would have come in decent case but other than than i'm really pleased overall with this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The man is a legend, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
I bought this on the recommendations of other reviewers and I am happy to endorse the positive nature of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic live album, 17 Sep 2011
By 
C. J. Dean "genesis top" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12 Garden Live (Audio CD)
Having seen Billy in concert on his 2006 British tour i had to have this cd, having been a fan of his music from the beginning in the early 70's this was a must have - recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

12 Garden Live
12 Garden Live by Billy Joel (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews