Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Rockin'!
This album really is a 'quilty pleasure'. You wont be advertising the fact that it is part of your CD collection, but it will still be there, tucked away behind your copy of the latest Sum-41 atrocity, because you need that little slice of 80's glam-metal to still be around today. It is unbelievable how dated LWTCDI sounds but it is also one of its qualities. Nobody...
Published on 12 Dec 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Want Some Need Some
The only hardcore classic on this famous blockbuster debut from Poison is "Talk Dirty to Me", but most of the other songs are really good too, above average for the genre
Published on 10 May 2012 by Lord Anon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Rockin'!, 12 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Look What the Cat Dr (Audio CD)
This album really is a 'quilty pleasure'. You wont be advertising the fact that it is part of your CD collection, but it will still be there, tucked away behind your copy of the latest Sum-41 atrocity, because you need that little slice of 80's glam-metal to still be around today. It is unbelievable how dated LWTCDI sounds but it is also one of its qualities. Nobody could (or would) make an album like this now. It just would not sell. Back in the 80s, it was a different story. Believe it or not, this was the equivalent to nu-metal - being that it wasn't actually 'nu', rather just simply metal. This was cutting edge rebbelious stuff! Ahem.
Still, it has a wealth of tunesmithery to be proud of. If you like, they are the 80s equivalent to Andrew WK (there were a lot of them back then). It starts in sombre mood with Cry Tough, however without the saccharine sentiment that marred their later work. It is understated and quite mellow, just dragging you along, introducing you to themselves without being TOO noisy. I Want Action follows in true party spirit. It is a typical Poison song; cocky, playful, undemanding and catchy. An anthem. A slushy I Wont Forget You comes straight after and is actually one of my favouite tracks. The tracks like I Want Some... and IWFY show how adept they are at producing a nice ballad, something which held them in good stead for Every Rose Has A Thorn.
In short, you can't go wrong with Poison's first and, to my mind, best album. It has party anthems and galloping 80s glam tunes together with slow, melancholy ballads that can be quite touching, despite their overall cheesiness. I would recommend it but anyone who has been brought up on Slipknot and Blink 182 and the like are not going to be convinced. Poison, like other metal bands that started in the 80s, like Megadeth, Iron Maiden, Motley Crue etc, etc, etc, are sadly considered the exact opposite of what is 'cool' today, which is a shame, seeing as they all make such great music - or have done in the past.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look What Poison Dragged In, 21 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Behind the lipstick, eyeliner, hair spary, and rather unique clothing (to say the least) comes an album from Poison that helps them live up to the name, "The Glam Slam Kings Of Noise". The 80's sound, the glam look, and punk attitude of this album is easily recognisable. This is shown in the tracks "Play Dirty", "Want Some, Need Some", "Talk Dirty To Me", "Let Me Go To The Show", and "#1 Bad Boy". Even though a lot of people wrote this album off as a disgrace, let it be known that out of the ten tracks on this album five of them became big hits fot Poison, and ended up been on their Gold Greatest Hits CD. This is one debut album that I really like. Every Poison fan should have it, and when you have got it, go and blow up your speakers. This album needs to be played loud for maximum effect. This album provides every listener with a true dose of Poison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I won't forget this, 24 Aug 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look What the Cat Dragged in (Audio CD)
Very uncool (but somehow slipped into the ironically cool, then just cool again category) but the best guilty pleasure you're likely to experience (well this and Alice Cooper's 'The Man Behind The Mask'). The front cover oozes a Spinal Tap affiliation, despite it being deadly serious. And the material is no-frills balls to the wal rawk but ramped up to the nines. In a word it is stunning. Not only because of the cheek of it all but because it is all absolutely brilliant.

'Cry Tough' starts as you would not expect the album to start. Slow and thoughtful. It's a proper good song. 'I Want Action' is more like it! It's sleazy and (un)cool and dripping with sass. But musically it still kicks some butt. 'I Won't Forget You' slips straight back into ballad mode. And expertly so. Another favourite of mine and it hits all the emotional heartstrings. 'Play Dirty' is something of a bad boy rock classic. The title track is possibly one of the best tracks I have heard. It's REALLY heavy and has a contagious riff that should sound dumb. Nope. And by the chorus you're almost crying it's that good.

'Talk Dirty To Me' is the swagger-rock classic. It's got power chords, it's got rhythm and it's all about sex. NIce. 'Want Some, Need Some' is a good track but lacks the pizazz of the previous efforts. Still not a bad song though. 'Blame it on You' is average at best. Again, not awful but pales in comparison to the preceding might. 'No1 Bad Boy' is slightly better but is far too confident and it sounds as if they had run out of riffs by the latter half of the album's run. The closer is better still but no classic either. It's somewhat of a fan favourite though so I'm not knocking it.

As a whole it's a 4 star effort really but it has to have classic status as it not only introduced the world to the band in the stadium-rock loving 80s but it has tracks that stand up as well today as they ever have, especially when some very meh music is being peddled of present (as of 2011).

Get it. You'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars qwality nostalia!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
downloaded this amazon'z Mp3 store, used have this on the antique audio cassette, brings back qwality memories of the 80's fun times. CC's solo's r qwality talk dirty to me damn this should have been my anthem baack then SLEEZE i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dragged me along with it!, 17 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Look What the Cat Dragged in (Audio CD)
When i saw this LP in the record shop, i thought; Who are these girls? I nearly didnt buy it but as it was, nothing else new had been released in the rock section so i took a chance. First thing i found out was they werent girls, second, hey! Its actually a great record!!

Cry Tough tells you how a make-up wearing hair band lived and survived in LA's streets, anmd set the standards for the rest of the album. I Want Action is a basic, no frills sex anthem and it rocks like a rampant teen on a first date.

I Wont Forget You is the band trying its hand at the Rock Ballad and it falls between ok and so-so. The real highlights are the title track Look What The Cat Dragged In and Talk Dirty To Me. Cat Dragged is a superb slice of LA Rock, all sleazy and nasty and full of illicit promises in the back of your car. Talk Dirty is the same in a different style, and both tracks are just as good today as sing-a-long anthems.

The rest of the album is standard fare for the time, big chorus, stinging guitar from Deville and Bret's clean clear voice are excellent throughout.

80's Glam? You need this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Poison are my guilty pleasure. They were unashamadly filthy ('Talk Dirty To Me' anyone) camp (witness the listick and eyeliner) and comedic. Though nowadays they blather on about being taken seriously, in their eighties heyday they were a great rock band. Closer to kiss than Guns'n'Roses, with whom they cavorted with on the L.A rock scene, they sure had some great chops, courtesy of CC Deville who steals mercilessly from Johnny Thunders in his straight to the point riffery. This isn't the best album ever made, it has no artistic pretensions or desire to 'mean anything', but it is a hell of a lot of fun. Filthy, sleazy, laughable, and at times downwright ridiculous. Look What The cat Dragged In is an essential lighthearted addition to anyones record colection. In short: great stuff. Why fight it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Want Some Need Some, 10 May 2012
The only hardcore classic on this famous blockbuster debut from Poison is "Talk Dirty to Me", but most of the other songs are really good too, above average for the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Fun, 6 Sep 2006
This review is from: Look What the Cat Dragged in (Audio CD)
20 years later and how has Poison, the ultimate 80s glam band, aged? Well, not very well to be honest, although this debut from 1986 still has its moments. Punk riffs, songs about "doing it" in the backseat and excellent solos from C.C.Deville make this one of the best 80's rock albums and Talk Dirty To Me is still a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Look What the Cat Dragged in
Look What the Cat Dragged in by Poison (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews