Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it any wonder Keane sell so many records...
What a great single, sounding different with the guitar-style riff, yet still typically Keane. This single is more upbeat and punchy than stuff off Hopes and Fears. So now that the album is out, why buy the single? Well.. buy it for the second track, 'Let it Slide'. This is a great song (sounding strangely like "A-ha" in the bridge?!) and it is a mark of Keane's prolific...
Published on 13 Jun 2006 by C. Page

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Album Taster....
I pre-ordered the album on the strength of this track. It's a good catchy pop/rock record. Perhaps a little short for my liking, but then Keane are not known for their guitar bridges. Let it slide is more typical of Keane's sound, with wide piano's and crisp drums.

Why do they need a guitar? Perhaps they don't want the added ego of a guitarist. In today's...
Published on 4 Jun 2006 by D. Appleby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it any wonder Keane sell so many records..., 13 Jun 2006
By 
C. Page "cozza1969" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
What a great single, sounding different with the guitar-style riff, yet still typically Keane. This single is more upbeat and punchy than stuff off Hopes and Fears. So now that the album is out, why buy the single? Well.. buy it for the second track, 'Let it Slide'. This is a great song (sounding strangely like "A-ha" in the bridge?!) and it is a mark of Keane's prolific output that they can afford to leave songs of this quality off the album. The third offering "He used to be a lovely boy" is a nice ballad, and quite reminiscent of a Paul McCartney song. And I don't make this comparison lightly, since I believe Keane's ability to construct beautiful songs is not a million miles away from the Beatles legend.

It's the LACK of guitar and the piano-led melodies that DO give Keane an original and defining sound. And far from them being dull and fading into obscurity, I believe that, despite great popularity, their true brilliance has yet to be fully appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Evolution Of Sound, 30 May 2006
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
After Hopes and Fears I wondered where Keane could go next. Would they retain their mellow and melloncollie sound,

sticking to the basic piano sounds or would they expand their sonic pallette with synths and guitars?

Well. Thankfully, they chose the latter option. Is It Any Wonder? explodes with a synth emulating a guitar riff.

t is delay and phaser ridden and sounds euphoric and explosive, the comparisons to U2 however are quite true. It does sound a lot like Achtung Baby era U2 but is much louder.

The rest of the song is sung excellently with some intresting lyrics eg: "Nothing left inside this lonely cathedrial, only side lonely spires".

The B-Sides are also excellent and could be good album tracks. "Let It Slide" begins with an intresting piano + violin introdution and then proceeds into the typical Keane verses. The chorus is however brilliant and very uplifiting. Tom Chaplin's voice reaching a pitch unheard of this side of puberty.

"He Used To Be A Lovely Boy", with a slightly camp title, the song is a subdued and un-produced affair. Simply some piano and remorseful singing from Chaplin.

In all. A good effort from Keane, it's a bright future for them and as long as they continue in being consistantly good then they will survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better, 23 May 2006
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
Love this. Love the intro and the urgency thing that Keane are good at. Looking forward to the album even more now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it any wonder I'm officially a proper fan now?, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
When I first heard of Keane early 2004, I couldn't make up my mid whether I was a fan or not. Granted I sang their songs all the time, without thinking about it, but I wasn't sure what to make of them as a band. Maybe I thought it wasn't 'cool' to like them, who knows?

Anyway, all of that changed when I heard this song - it made me a fan. The synthesized guitar-riff at the beginning had me thinking, 'this sounds so cool'. Very different in a good way.

The lyrics are deep, if you listen carefully. I've read the lyrics are about war, which makes sense. Tom's vocals and the piano twinkling in the background, plus drums and lack of guitar make this band special. No wonder they are so popular and albums sell by truckloads. May they continue to produce good music of this quality:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keane with attitude, 5 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
Wow. I've heard this on the radio several times now, and it's powerful stuff. While still quite recognisably Keane in terms of sound and emotional impact, 'Is It Any Wonder?', rather than tending towards the melancholy, simply oozes anger! On first hearing I almost felt scared - it was like being shouted at constantly for three minutes - but I quickly began to appreciate it for the remarkable effort it is. There may not be much variety, but I'm sure that's deliberate; the music and the vocals combine to create a clear impression of someone well and truly blowing their top - and there's a certain sharpness about the lyrics (not always Keane's greatest strength). Now I really can't wait for the new album, 'Under the Iron Sea'; I love Keane so much already, and 'Hopes and Fears' is such a hard act to follow, but if even half the tracks display the increased depth of 'Is It Any Wonder?', we're in for a real treat. Well done, Tom, Tim and Richard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keane deliver in spades, 3 May 2006
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder [7" Vinyl] (Vinyl)
Oh, it would be easy to be cynical. I mean, are U2 getting any royalties for the way Keane have ripped off Zoo Station, the opening track of Achtung Baby? And why not use some real guitars, boys, rather than these (so you say) synth effects?

It would be easy to be cynical, but fact is Keane have come up with the goods with a storming, powerful 3 minutes of stadium rock that grabs you for 3 minutes, then leaves you wanting more.

Lets hope this isn't just the token fast track on the album. This is better than anything on the last record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good tune, 18 Jan 2014
By 
H. Franklin "helefra" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
I had been after this song for a while and was pleased when I found it on Amazon to download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Album Taster...., 4 Jun 2006
By 
D. Appleby (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
I pre-ordered the album on the strength of this track. It's a good catchy pop/rock record. Perhaps a little short for my liking, but then Keane are not known for their guitar bridges. Let it slide is more typical of Keane's sound, with wide piano's and crisp drums.

Why do they need a guitar? Perhaps they don't want the added ego of a guitarist. In today's modern programming world, the paradigm of a band's set-up has been shifted. Keane have their own niche and hold court with great aplomb.

Looking forward to the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 May 2006
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
Ignore the reviewers who cannot appreciate a good band if it smacked them in the mouth. Keanes debut album is the best music I have ever heard. It has everything and does not lack the "guitar" . The new album will also be brilliant although i dont think this single will be my favourite. I dont like U2 but Im sure the rest of the album will be great. Ive heard 2 songs at a concert which are on the album. Look out for "nothing in your way" , "try again" and "hamburg song" BRILLIANT. Hamburg song a definate number 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How can they possibly hope to survive?, 15 May 2006
This review is from: Is It Any Wonder (Audio CD)
Yeah, what a dire effort "is it any wonder" is. Their Hopes and fears album, although it has some good catchy tunes, was dreary and flat. This band is missing something to give it a more defining and interesting sound (maybe a guitar or something). Keane are a dull band that will just fade into obscurity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Is It Any Wonder [7" Vinyl]
Is It Any Wonder [7" Vinyl] by Keane (Vinyl - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews