Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great transfer of an under-rated 1980's favourite
I have to admit I like this movie a lot and have watched it several times over the years so this DVD was a treat.
To be honest the acting is often well over-the-top (just superb as one character might say), the effects are so-so and the story is only fair but put that together with some brilliant camera work and the re-mastered sound track it somehow seems to gel...
Published on 5 April 2008 by I. R. Kerr

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tawny Kitaen, Naked Slave Girls, S&M Violence - what's not to like...?
I saw the trailer for this one about twenty years ago and have been fascinated with the idea of watching it ever since - it was almost like a forbidden gem for a while with its general lack of availability and bumpy BBFC history (they originally demanded quite a few cuts in the 80s, back in the day when they were much more easily offended, and this censored version -...
Published on 3 Nov 2011 by Paul WJM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great transfer of an under-rated 1980's favourite, 5 April 2008
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit I like this movie a lot and have watched it several times over the years so this DVD was a treat.
To be honest the acting is often well over-the-top (just superb as one character might say), the effects are so-so and the story is only fair but put that together with some brilliant camera work and the re-mastered sound track it somehow seems to gel. And all this for a butterfly.
There is a noticeable lull between the all action first part where lead Brent Huff flexes his muscles against various low-lifes and the last 40 minutes or so when the female leads take the centre stage in some pretty scanty outfits.
There are no household names here, of the two female heroines Tawny Kitaen as Gwendoline starred in several low budget movies like Witchboard but is better remembered for her marriage to David Coverdale and her appearance in several Whitesnake videos. Zabou Breitman is the better actress by far and has a string of films to her name as actor, writer and director and Bernadette Lafont lords it as the overdressed queen.
There are some good set pieces like the horseless chariot race and although the fight scenes are hardly world title bouts they have enough to hold the attention.
The extras are pretty reasonable too, especially the interview with writer/director Just Jaeckin and the photographs for the Lui photoshoot and as this is the "uncut" version there is a list of the original BBFC cuts that are restored here.
All in all a pretty decent package and one I will be watching often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Tosh, 4 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
What an absolute delight this movie is, and another masterpiece by director Just Jaeckin (Emmanuelle, Story of O). Based on a cult comic strip, the movie is well photographed and made in hilarious comic strip style. The story chugs along at a cracking pace with charming performances by the cute female leads (Tawny Kitaen & Zabou), and delightfully over-the-top turns by Brent Huff as the hunky can't-be-arsed hero, and the delicious Bernadette Lafont as the deranged Queen.

More female breasts on show here than you can shake a stick at, great sets and locations, superb fight scenes, some comic violence, and a great soundtrack which shifts effortlessly between dreamy romantic music and 1980's disco, all add up to make this an enjoyable watch. The story is complete tosh, but this is superior tosh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tawny Kitaen, Naked Slave Girls, S&M Violence - what's not to like...?, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Paul WJM (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the trailer for this one about twenty years ago and have been fascinated with the idea of watching it ever since - it was almost like a forbidden gem for a while with its general lack of availability and bumpy BBFC history (they originally demanded quite a few cuts in the 80s, back in the day when they were much more easily offended, and this censored version - released through Embassy video - became the only convenient way to see it in the UK). The trailer paints quite a different picture to what you eventually get to see - the film is kind of an erotic comedy fantasy adventure, and not entirely successful one (depending on perspective obviously). Personally I think the main issue is with the 'comedy' - it's quite juvenile in nature and no funnier than some of those sitcoms aimed at young teens that one happens to unfortunately catch a glimpse of when flicking channels on occasion (i.e. apathy is the primary response, rather than laughter). It does, however, have a few things going for it: there is a sense of epic adventure in there, doused in lots of imaginative touches that push it into the realms of science fiction/fantasy. Tawny Kitaen (probably one her better roles), one-time babe of David Coverdale (the lucky person, him), looks really fetching throughout, and conveys an attractive sense of innocence well, while she's joined by a host of naked and semi-naked females mainly in the latter part of the film. These factors keep things moving along in a moderately entertaining fashion and at a reasonable pace, but it feels as though it should have been better. The humour repeatedly drags things down into the realms of the silly, and the square-jawed hero/Indiana Jones-wannabe was particularly getting on my nerves. The score, which I believe partly constituted the aforementioned trailer, brings about an odd contrast to the proceedings in that there is an air of melancholy to be detected in its electronic waves - it's certainly not a score I would have guessed to be supporting on-screen comedy (perhaps the composer didn't realise it was supposed to be funny while scoring - quite possible!). All in all, there are pluses and minuses in Gwendoline, but it never quite becomes the great film it could have.

The DVD from Nucleus is a good one - anamorphic widescreen transfer (2.35:1) that holds up well (though will never compete with anything Blu-ray can now offer), ably backed up by an excellent selection of audio tracks: English stereo or 5.1, French stereo or 5.1, and director's commentary. I did watch this first time with the English (5.1) track active, though I may try the French track out next time around - material can come across very differently in foreign tongue and perhaps this oddball stuff will work better in the director's native language. There are a couple of other small extras to pad things out. The DVD cover is also reversible (not immediately noticeable when it comes in a standard black amaray case) - not a massive difference, rather you are presented with a variation on front cover.

Overall - 2.5 for the film (though I'll give it another chance in a year or so and may amend the review if I change my mind!) and 3.5 for the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure..., 17 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
I had heard of this movie some years ago, and on and off had looked for a copy on VHS but never finding one I promptly forgot about it. Then very recently a good film buff friend from New Zealand recommended the DVD to me and I was able to get to see 'Gwendoline' in its full uncut glory...

This movie musn't be taken seriously, thats the point I don't think some people get when they watch it! It was never made as a 'serious' film, but simply as an enjoyable comic book. (it is based on a popular French comic strip 'The Adventures of Sweet Gwendoline') The story resembles something akin to Raiders of the Lost Ark or Romancing the Stone, but with more nudity and some strange scenes of S&M when our heroes enter the fabled land of Yik-Yak. Even so despite the directors other movies (Emmanuel and The Story of 'O') its sexual aspects are not really that gratuitous. This movie is very silly, sexy and funny, for both the right and wrong reasons... Look out for the man eating Crocodile folks!

The cast are well suited to acting in this sort of movie. Tawny Kitain, in her first role, looks great and tries her best to get into the part of Gwendoline. Brent Huff (Who?) is the macho lead, a reluctant hero come Han Solo wannabe whose more brawn than brains... indeed Huff's lack of acting skill is perhaps a bonus for this role... But tops for me was French actress and model Zabou as Gwendoline's trusty maid/sidekick Beth, who on the one hand is a real zany and kookie sort of girl. but then on the other can be uber-sexy and worldly wise... Wait until you see her wearing a palace guard's g-string unifom :-)

The other cast members encountered in Yik-Yak are great fun, especially the OTT Queen and the sets are also pretty good in my opinion. Production values are quite high and apart from the obvious studio setting for the Hong Kong dock the jungles and deserts were actual locations in Morroco and Thailand which adds a nice exotic touch.

Gwendoline is a popular movie and if viewed in the right frame of mind its very enjoyable. Give it a go, you won't regret it and you'll find yourself a real guilty pleasure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazons on-line!, 4 Sep 2013
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
It was quite a while ago that we purchased a film off of Amazon that was,‭ ‬well sort of about Amazons.‭ ‬It was called‭ "‬Gwendoline‭" ‬and we've wanted to see it ever since seeing the trailer on a rented VHS in the‭ ‬80s,‭ ‬but never thought we would until I accidentally found some clips of it at the side of the You Tube page of one of the videos the Mother Abyss had posted.‭ ‬It's about an American débutante type called Gwendoline and her maid called Beth,‭ ‬who go out to the Far East to find Gwendoline's father when he disappears whilst on an expedition to find a new species of butterfly.‭ ‬They enlist the initially grudging help of a character very similar to Indiana Jones,‭ ‬except he has a sailor's hat instead of the hat Indiana Jones wore,‭ ‬and has a grappling iron instead of a whip.‭ ‬Anyway,‭ ‬they become mixed up with a lost kingdom called the land of the Yik Yaks,‭ ‬where due to living next to a volcano the women have mutated so that their vagina's now contain wasp like stings,‭ ‬with which they can't help fatally stinging their male lovers on the point of orgasm.‭ ‬For this reason the majority of the population are women.‭ ‬And when a man is sent to the land of the Yik Yaks by the neighboring tribes as a sacrifice to appease the volcano,‭ ‬the Yik Yak women compete in a Gladiatrix tournament to the death to prove their worthiness to copulate.‭ ‬Gwendoline has now fallen in love with the Indiana Jones rip-off character,‭ ‬but he gets captured by the Yik Yaks.‭ ‬Gwendoline tries unsuccessfully to rescue him,‭ ‬but in the attempt one of the Gladiatrixes gets killed and Gwendoline assumes her identity.‭ ‬Now the only way Gwendoline can save her suitor is to compete in the games herself and win,‭ ‬so that he gets to have sex with her instead of a stinging Yik Yak woman‭! ‬The only problem is,‭ ‬that like me,‭ ‬Gwendoline is made for loving not fighting so it seems unlikely she can win.‭ ‬Can it end happily‭? ‬Can love triumph over barbarism‭?

It's interesting that the Gladiatrix armour consists of a breast plate that barely covers the wearer's nipples,‭ ‬a G-string,‭ ‬and high heeled boots.‭ ‬I'm not an expert on ancient history but I haven't read of any great military powers in those days having armies that fought similarly equipped.‭ ‬The unspecified Eastern location has a very varied geography.‭ ‬Apparently the coast,‭ ‬a rain forest,‭ ‬a dessert,‭ ‬and an active volcano are all within walking distance of each other,‭ ‬a bit like Africa is depicted in the Tarzan books.‭

There is a really horrible bit at the beginning of the film where the Indiana Jones rip-off character,‭ ‬Gwendoline,‭ ‬and Beth,‭ ‬break out of jail.‭ ‬They make a commotion so that the jailer comes along to see what the fuss is,‭ ‬but when he does the Indiana Jones rip-off character pulls the Jailer's head through the bars so that the bars chop his ears off.‭ ‬This either kills him or renders him unconscious and they grab the keys and escape.‭ ‬Apart from being really horrible,‭ ‬it doesn‭' ‬t make any sense.‭ ‬Even if for some reason the bars have such sharp edges they chopped the poor jailer's ears off,‭ ‬why would that kill him or render him unconscious‭? ‬I mean it would hurt a lot and be very upsetting,‭ ‬but I don't see how it would help them escape.‭ ‬More than likely the jailer would say something like‭ "‬Ouch,‭ ‬what have you done,‭ ‬that really hurt‭? ‬I don't believe it,‭ ‬you've chopped my ears off‭! ‬I only came along to see if I could help because you seemed to be having some trouble and this is what you do to me‭! ‬You know,‭ ‬when I was getting ready for work this morning I noticed that I had a spot on my cheek,‭ ‬and I thought‭ '‬That's great,‭ ‬I've got a date with my girl friend tonight so of course I get a spot‭' ‬and now I'm going to have to turn up with no ears on the sides of my head‭! ‬All because I was trying to help you‭! ‬You're really horrible people‭!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars damn worth it., 6 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
It's cheesy as hell, has a terrible but awesome dialogue and host of one-liners, but contains a brilliant plot, beautiful women, locations and scenery.
Imagine Indiana jones made by the writers of Archer! Half way through it changes into a crazy jodorowsky-infused Holy Mountain epic mixed with a Barbarella-style gadgetfest. This is fantasy cheese at it's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure strip cartoon, 4 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film if you take it as an effort to transfer an erotic strip cartoon to the screen. Otherwise, the story line is a hacknied cliche, the acting terrible and the sets were obviously the smallest item in the budget(along with the ladies costumes), Apparently I am the only one to think that Tawny Kitaen, the female lead, bears an uncanny facial resemblance to Gina Davies. On balance the film is a flimsy excuse to oggle the scantily-clad female form. Absolutely nothing wrong with that, especially since any third-former has seen more than is on view here.
Its just pure fun and, considering the Director's other offerings, just a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's masterpiece revitalized !, 4 July 2006
By 
Mr. Ae Rayner "aerayner" (hampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
From the impressive opening title of a Nucleus films production you can be assured of something special -brilliant crisp picture quality in gorgeous widescreen would have you believe that this film was shot in 2006, not 1984 ! Obvious loving care has gone into the presentation of this release, now available uncut, details of which are covered in the generous special features. There's an enlightening interview with director Just Jaeckin entitled Perils of Just + audio commentary which should answer any other questions you might have about the production ! Regarding the tag line of Barabarella meets Indiana Jones I could coin a new term of `erotic - action - comedy', although it would be a bit unfair to pigeon - hole the movie as it's unlike anything I've seen before ! It starts by resembling a Hong Kong movie as our 2 heroines get involved with a bunch of crazy Chinese while trying to enlist help to find Gwen's butterfly collector Dad! American actor Brent Huff (as Willard) is coerced into assisting & shortly thereafter the threesome are captured by natives...to give any more away would be to spoil it as the film changes gear again when the trio arrive at the land of the Yek Yeik ! The 2 leading ladies are totally delectable, Tawny Kitaen being recently remembered as Deainiera, wife of Hercules in the hit TV series, whilst Zabou ( a deliciously elfin like French girl) has a prolific resume of work in Europe.

The eye catching photos used for the front & back covers of the DVD are enough to whet the appetite & the inclusion of trailers for other releases by Messrs Marc Morris & Jake West only serve to motivate the viewer to seek out future films from this new & exciting company !

Grab a copy & enjoy a great evening's entertainment !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING, 17 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
There was no real excitement in this. The characters seemed to move woodenly from one scenario to the next. At the end I wondered what I was supposed to get from it as a piece of theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gwendoline [1984] [DVD], 11 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gwendoline [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Gwendoline [1984] [DVD]
This is most definitely a classic. My vhs copy was looked after like some piece of treasure.
A kind of action film with T and A's thrown in for good measure. Very lighthearted and humorous on occasions.
Again had to wait ages before getting a copy on dvd, such are the constraints imposed on us here in the UK by the film industry in the U.S. Being a polite person will go so far as doing a GRRRRR to that. This one is definitely for entertainment - escapism.Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gwendoline [DVD] [1984] [US Import] [Region 1] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 15.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews