Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coulrophobia: Fear of Clowns
I vividly remember to this day the first time i watched Stephen King's IT. I was staying at my grandmother's house for a period of time and not unlike any other child of my age was immensely bored. It was in the evening, and so my nan realising my predicament decied to put a 'nice film on about clowns'. She truely did not know what she was allowing me to watch. I swear to...
Published on 16 Jun 2004

versus
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Dumbed-down Version Of A Great Horror
The first thing I have to say about this DVD is that, like reviewer Mrs Green below, I was stumped by the film apparently finishing half-way through, until I realised that the rest of it was on the reverse side of the disk. This really might have been mentioned somewhere on the sleeve, it had me flummoxed for about thirty minutes ...

"IT" is a really scary...
Published on 18 Aug 2006 by Green Man Music


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coulrophobia: Fear of Clowns, 16 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Stephen King's It [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I vividly remember to this day the first time i watched Stephen King's IT. I was staying at my grandmother's house for a period of time and not unlike any other child of my age was immensely bored. It was in the evening, and so my nan realising my predicament decied to put a 'nice film on about clowns'. She truely did not know what she was allowing me to watch. I swear to this day i am PETRIFIED of clowns.
I watched IT again last year with a group of friends and was still scared. The opening scene with Pennywise shifting in and out of the sheets on the washing line has stuck in my memory ever since. Tim Curry is amazing as Pennywise, and without wanting to sound perverse, he acts the part so well that you the audience actually believe he enjoys scaring children!
As the other reviewers have stated, this film is about childhood. The good parts and the bad, and also on a deeper issue the fallability of parents.
Although this film will undoubtedly scare you witless and forever alter your perception of the circus; it is without doubt a superb romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still enjoyable, 22 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Stephen King's It [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm in pretty much the same position as everyone else-I loved the first part of this film but the second part I find much less engaging. I loved the book, but that was similar. The first part was excellent, but the adulthood section of the book was a lot weaker and a bit disappointing.

The plot briefly is this. Children in the town of Derry are being murdered by an entity whose primary form is a clown, played brilliantly by Tim Curry. If this film didn't give you a clown phobia as a child then nothing will have. A group of 7 kids meet each other one summer and confide in what forms of IT they have come across. The adults don't see IT as they don't believe these ghouls will exist. It's different for 11 year old kids though, to them IT is very real. They decide to fight IT in the hope that they can stop it's terrorising of the children of Derry.

The child actors do reasonably well in their parts. Keep an eye out for a very young Seth Green as Ritchie Tozier. Also starring is the late Jonathan Brandis as the young Bill Denbrough. Their stories are broken up and told in a scattered, very well written way, which mirrors King's notion that the adults have only broken memories of their childhood which return to them as they return to Derry.

The second part of the film is where it goes downhill. The adult actors are uninteresting and don't have any where near the chemistry their young counterparts have. This is also where the plot and writing loses some of it's flow and you have some pointless scenes (take the 20 or so minutes of montage of them having a chinese meal as an example). To be fair to the writers though, King's book does go downhill at this stage also. The true form of IT was also extremely disappointing, but again, this mirrors the book.

Tim Curry is by far the stand out in this film, for all the variety of his lines. He looks like he's absolutely relishing playing such an unpleasant (yet curiously funny) character. Make up wise, he's everything an evil clown would look like and after one of my friends watched this movie as a kid has a fear of clowns even to this day.

The movie misses out a massive amount of information and character development present the book.

I guess in summary what I liked about this film was that the first part captuered the essence of childhood. It captured being an outcast in some form, being a victim of bullying, finding those in a similar situation and finding strength through each other. It's really a pity that IT couldn't have been ended with the kids and more time spent on building their story. The adult part of the film was a let down. Despite this, it's still one of my favourite films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Dumbed-down Version Of A Great Horror, 18 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King's It [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The first thing I have to say about this DVD is that, like reviewer Mrs Green below, I was stumped by the film apparently finishing half-way through, until I realised that the rest of it was on the reverse side of the disk. This really might have been mentioned somewhere on the sleeve, it had me flummoxed for about thirty minutes ...

"IT" is a really scary story and is an extremelly well-written book. It's the story of a group of misfit children who team up together to fight a supernatural entity, and then in their adulthood find themselves having to reunite with half-forgotten friends and memories to return to their hometown and fight it again.

There were some elements of the film that reflected the horror of the book, but there was a lot lacking. Salem's Lot, Pet Semetary and the Shining managed to capture it; this one didn't for me. The bullies which were so evil in the book were a shadow of this in the film, and I find Ronald MacDonald a million times more scary that the depiction of Pennywise in the film. The fairground musical score was also a bit off-putting - bit to jolly - but the depictions of 1950s New England were well done, and the acting, particulary from the children, upstaged their adult counterparts.

It's a farly enjoyable horror film, but those that know the book might agree that Stephen King's ability to take you into another, darker place with his writing on this occasion isn't captured by the DVD.

And a note to Warner Home Video: If it's a double-sided DVD, for heaven's sake TELL people. Don't just leave an empty box with nothing on the disk, and nothing on the packaging to say so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film right up until the last ten minutes, 31 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Stephen King's It [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is some of the greatest horror work to date in parts, and is equally an abomination mankind was never meant to suffer at others.
The film is basically split inot two halves the first half showing us the history set back in 1958 when the main characters of the film were mere children. It shows there normal lives growing up dealing with their parents, going to school and yes indeed battling a centuries old evil clown by the name of pennywise. This section of the film is the bit to see, I would storngly urge horror fans to watch the children part of this film.
However the instant they become adults it begins to spiral away. The characters who as children were cute adorable youngsters that viewers liked and empathised with. The adults they have become are irritating ridiculous characters which any viewr hungrily awaits the death of.
However even with the disappointing second half as adults, the real downfall of this film is the last ten minutes. I shall not ruin this part in my review as they're may still be some who disregard this review and choose to watch the film right the way through anyway. Woe betide thos of you that do though, my strongest suggestion to those of you interested in seeing this film would be rent it rather than buy it but either way whatever you do always ALWAYS stop the video a good 10-15 minutes before the end, it truly can only disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of two halves, 18 May 2007
This review is from: Stephen King's It [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The first hour and a half of IT is probably some of the best television to come out of the 1990s. This tells the story of a bunch of kids in a small town and how they defeat the being which is killing children in the town. The kids are played beautifully by Jonathan Brandis, Seth Green and others and show up the adult actors completely. This first episode is (mostly) brilliantly written although it is a little ham-fisted in getting all of this material into 90 minutes.

The second episode is a disaster. The adults are awful, in the main, and the writing, directing and effects are diabolical. It almost seems like a different film from charming yet scary first half. The ending is ludicrous and completely misses the entire point of the book about the decaying of society which is a shame.

As others have noted, the disc is double sided - I pity anybody who hadn't come across double sided discs before as there is no warning at all on the packaging. There is a commentary but I don't know when this was done as the director says he is proud of the way that Jonathan Brandis' (young Bill) career has panned out. Sadly Brandis committed suicide 2003 at the age of 27. It seems lazy and somewhat in bad taste to leave the directors comments in considering the region 2 release of the DVD was 3 years after the event. Even though the commentary may have been used for the US edition from a few years back, you would think that someone might have checked this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid watching if you don't want nightmares!, 5 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Stephen King's It [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have to say that I've seen 'The Exorcist' and all the other scary movies that were around when I was in my early teens, but this puppy REALLY unnerved me!

I'm not like many of the previous reviewers who seem to have a fear of 'creepy a$$ clown's', but after watching this movie, I would have to join their ranks for sure.

So what if it was a two part TV movie, it packs a massive psychological punch.

I rented this years ago and then bought it years later, but I've YET to find the courage to watch it again...arghhhhhh!

So there it sits on the shelf, until one day...I take it down, open the DVD player's tray...and press 'play'!

Yikes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quality horror film, 7 July 2003
This review is from: Stephen King's It [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The book , written by Stephen King has a terrific idea of an every changing being which adapts to whatever scares you most. The film is pretty good but I believe the book would completely petrify you. As another user said ,'Pennywise the Clown' steals the show as the evil child killer with his blood filled balloons.This character played by Tim Curry knocks back the laughs of those who laugh at clowns and will leave you with at least one sleepless night. The story is of a small group of children who one by one encounter IT (in a different form each time). Once they find out of each others rendezvous , they all vow to link and fight IT together , should IT ever return.
A quality horror film , but the only thing that will truly frighten you is Pennywise as he seems to just appear everywhere with riddley talk. The thing that greatly spoils the film is the end , as a raging climax is built but just fails to deliver. Read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creates fear from beggining to end, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stephen King's It [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the best film adaptations of a Stephen King book. It creates tension throughout the film and scares you in many places. Tim Curry is perfect as the evil child killer Pennywise and the rest of the cast fit their roles perfectly. The only criticism I have about this film is the corny ending. It never seems to live up to the rest of the film. However, it still does not diminish the sheer pleasure you will have at watching the rest of the film. If you require a truly memorable experience from this film, watch it last thing at night and I bet you will have nightmares. I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film based on an even better book, 28 Jun 2007
This review is from: Stephen King's It [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Stephen King's IT is by far my favourite book. So when I got the DVD of IT I was very excited but at the same time also a little adamant about watching it, I worried that the film would be basically rubbish. I was not disapointed.

IT is a very good adaptation of the book, with some great acting such as Tim Curry is brilliant as Pennywise the clown, along with a great supporting cast. Even though the film is 3 hours long. (To be expected as the book is over a 1000 pages long) It does very well in maintaining the audiences attention, with masterful editing swapping from the "Losers" adult and childhood. And will often have the audience on the edge of their seats.

However dont expect to see an exact copy of the book put on screen, some bits from the book have been left out, such as for anyone who has read the book will know about the chapter were the kids are lost in the sewers and relise there is only won way of knowing how to get out. But it is uderstandble why certain bits were left out as there would be almost no possible way they would be allowed in the film ( I was surprised they were allowed in the book.) But i felt that some bits were changed when there was no need to such as a lack of screen time for Michael Cole who plays Henry Bowers, as I especially found his story of descent into madness gripping in the story. And people who have read the book my be a little dissapointed at the ending as it lacks the shock and suspense of the book.

Overall this is very good adaptation of the book and a brillant underated horror flick that is well worth the watch. Buy it, rent it. And if you enjoy the film I suggest you give the book ago, just be patient its a long read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 27 Feb 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stephen King's It [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Based on stepehen kings novel,but not entirely a solid adaptation as alot of moments have been ommited,IT,the movie,is nevertheless a three hour 'film',it screened as two parts on tv in the 90s,that has enough thrills to keep you on your toes.

The film deals with fear,the fear that can destroy and in a town called Derry,seven kids who give themselves the name 'the losers' are all dealing with a demon called pennywise played brilliantly by tim curry,who is strongest when you believe in him and he wants people to join him in 'floating down here',(ie) join him dead.

Once the kids manage to work out pennywise or indeed IT's weakness then life is restored and 30 years pass until they are adults and all but one has forgotten what happened,then murders start occuring in derry again and the gang who agreed as kids to return if IT returned have to decide whether to face their fears again and the demon called pennywise who wants to destroy them.

The film is epic indeed but for the most part it doesnt drag,the scenes with the kids is better than the adults in some parts and yes there are some ropey special effects and some lazy acting in places,but this is still a film that has lasted the test of time and does provide some good scares and jumpey scenes,tim curry is superb as pennywise the clown,alot of people dislike clowns and i guess this film has something to do with that,pennywise is camp in places a la beetlejuice for example but certainly alot more evil and creepy.

This is a good film that differs alot from the book in truth but is still a very entertaining and remorseless look at fear and the lives of those within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen King's It [DVD] [2006]
Stephen King's It [DVD] [2006] by Tommy Lee Wallace (DVD - 2006)
6.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews